Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

 Boys fishing off the dock


Buy Your License Online

- Buy your Hunting/Fishing License
- Landowner Tenant Registration
- Check your Preference Points
- Check your Application Status
... All in one easy online system!

Turn In Poachers Hotline


Resident License Fees

Cost

Fishing (16 years of age or older)

$19.00

Fishing, 3-Year Angler's Special

$53.00

Fishing, 7-day

$13.50

Fishing, 1-day

$9.50

Trout Fee When is a Trout Fee Required?   

$13.00

Bonus Line Fee (with purchase of fishing license)

$12.00

Outdoor Combo (Fish, Hunt, Habitat)

$47.00

Lifetime Fishing (65 years of age or older)

$52.50

Lifetime Combined (disabled military veteran or POW)

$7.00

Boundary Water Sport Trotline

$22.50


Nonresident License Fees

Cost

Fishing (16 years of age or older)

$41.00

Fishing, 7-day

$32.00

Fishing, 3-day

$17.50

Fishing, 1-day

$10.50

Trout Fee When is a Trout Fee Required?   

$15.00

Bonus Line Fee (with purchase of nonresident fishing license)

$12.00

Boundary Water Sport Trotline

$42.50



Residents Under 16 Years of Age

Residents under sixteen (16) years of age can fish without a license but may need to purchase a trout fee.

Nonresidents Under 16 Years of Age

Nonresidents under sixteen (16) years of age can fish without a license but may need to purchase a trout fee.



When is a Trout Fee Required?

You must pay a trout fee to legally fish for or possess trout if you are a resident or nonresident required to have a fishing license.

When fishing for trout from a private trout hatchery or a pay-to-fish facility you must have a receipt or other evidence showing that the trout were acquired lawfully.

If you are a resident or a non-resident under 16 years of age, you must pay a trout fee to fish for or possess trout. Or, you may fish for trout with a licensed adult who has paid the trout fee, in such a case you must limit your combined catch to the daily limit for one person.



Who Can Request to Look at My License?

You must show your license, certificate, permit and any required stamp upon request to:
  • Conservation or law enforcement officers
  • the owner or person in legal control of the land or water you may be fishing



Licenses for the Deaf and Blind
Minor pupils of the State School for the Blind and State School for the Deaf can fish for free.



Special, Free Licenses
A free annual license is available to Iowa residents whose annual household income falls below the federal poverty guidelines as published by the United States Department of Health and Human Services and who are either 1) permanently disabled or 2) who are 65 years old or older. An annual application requires proof of age, income, and permanent disability benefits.
Free Annual Hunting and Fishing License Application (Form #542-8056)

A free fishing license for persons who are certified by a physician as having a permanent severe physical or mental disability:
Free Annual Resident Disabled Fishing License (Form #542-1456)



Catch Request

Conservation officers can request to look at your catch at any time to check for compliance to regulations.



Free Fishing Days
Annually the Iowa DNR hosts Free Fishing Days, for Iowa residents only, during the first Friday, Saturday and Sunday of June. All fishing regulations must be obeyed



State Institution and County Care Residents
Minor residents of other state institutions under the control of an administrator or a division of the department of human services and residents of county care facitilities or an person whi is receiving supplementary assistance under chapter 29 shall not be required to have a license to fish.



Military Personnel
Military personnel on active duty with the armed forces of the United States, on authorized leave from a duty station located outside of this state, and a legal resident of this state, may hunt or fish without a license. You must carry your leave papers and a copy of a current earnings statement showing a tax deduction for Iowa income taxes while hunting or fishing.



Veterans Lifetime License

Disabled veterans - $7.00, lifetime hunting and fishing combined license.
Prisoners of war - $7.00, lifetime hunting and fishing combined license (habitat fees must be purchased annually).

Veteran Lifetime Hunting and Fishing License Application (Form #542-1412)
A lifetime hunting and fishing license for veterans who have a service connected disability or were POW's.
(Iowa residents only) The veterans affairs division of the department of public defense will assist the DNR in verifying the status or claims of applicants.
  • "Veteran" means a person who is a resident of Iowa and who is a veteran as defined by Iowa Code 35.1(2).
  • "Disabled" means entitled to compensation under the United States Code, title 38, chapter 11 (service-connected).


Patients of substance abuse, health care, or juvenile health care facilities
Patients of substance abuse, health care, or juvenile health care facilities can fish for free:
  • Only with a valid permit
  • Must be supervised by a facility employee
Application for Annual Fishing Permit: Substance Abuse or Health Care Facilities or Juvenile Shelter Care Homes (Form #542-8058)

Menu