Recreational Dealer Registration

Recreation Vehicle Dealers, or those wanting to become one, can find resources and information on this page. Applications and requirements to become a Boat, OHV or Snowmobile Dealer can be found under the corresponding tab. Requirements, fees, forms, and supply information can also be found under each tab.

Boat/Snowmobile/ATV Regulations Poster

Dealer Resources
Information on this page concerning guidelines and responsibilities for Iowa dealers, distributors, and manufacturers covers the most commonly asked questions the department receives. Please review the full applicable Iowa Code with your legal advisor to assure you are in compliance.

“Dealer” means a person who engages in whole or in part in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging vessels either outright or on conditional sale, bailment, lease, security interest, or otherwise, and who has an established place of business for sale, trade, and display of vessels.


You are not required by Iowa Code to become a boat dealer.

             

 Items to include with your new dealer application:

1. Completed Boat Dealer or Manufacturer Application for Special Certificates (542-0488)   

Boat Dealer or Manufacturer Application 542-0488  
Boat Dealer or Manufacturer Application 542-0488
2. Special Certificate and Duplicate fees as indicated on the application

(Note: If a manufacturer or dealer has an established place of business in more than one city, the manufacturer or dealer shall secure a separate and distinct special certificate and general distinguishing number for each such place of business.)

Remit the completed application(s) and fees to: Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Licensing Section, 502 East 9th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0034

Fees
New Registrations: $18.65 includes one Boat Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $5.65 each; new registrations shall expire on April 30, 2019 for the current registration period (2016-2019)

Renewal Registrations: $19.90 includes one Boat Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $6.90 each; Renewal registrations can be processed at the the county recorder's office in the county in which the business is located

Duplicates: May be requested from the county recorder in the county in which the business is located for $6.90 each
 
Registration Expiration
April 30, 2019

Renewal information
A notice will be mailed to you prior to the renewal period. A valid dealer registration is required prior to processing a purchaser's vessel registration. All current boat dealers must renew dealer certification(s) with the county recorder in the county in which the business is located. 

New Dealers will receive the following items upon approval of the department:
1. Special Certificate for dealer  
A manufacturer or dealer owning, storing, repairing, or altering a vessel required to be registered under this chapter
may operate the vessel for purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or selling the vessel without registering each
such vessel, provided that any such vessel displays thereon a special certificate issued to the manufacturer or dealer as
provided in this chapter. This special certificate shall not be used for any vessel offered for hire or for any work or service
vessels owned by a manufacturer or dealer.
2. Registration Applied For cards   
Allows the customer to use the vessel for 35 days while the registration if being processed by the county recorder. The
registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder.
Placing a completed application for registration and required fee in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an
application. 
3. Applications for vessel registration  
Application for vessel registration 542-8067
Application for vessel registration 542-8067
4. Boat Dealer manual
5. List of boat registration fees 
Current Boat Registration Fees

Dealer Requirements
The registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder. Placing a completed application for registration and required fee in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an application.

Dealer’s record of vessel bought, sold, or transferred. Every dealer shall maintain for three years a record of any vessel bought, sold, exchanged, or received for sale or exchange. This record shall be open to inspection by department representatives during reasonable business hours. 

Number assigned – special signs. The commission, upon granting any such application, shall issue to the applicant a special certificate containing the applicant’s name and address, the general distinguishing number assigned to the applicant, the word “manufacturer” or  "dealer”, and such other information as the commission may prescribe. The manufacturer or dealer shall have the number so awarded printed upon or attached to a removable sign or signs to be temporarily but firmly mounted upon or attached to the vessel being used, and the display must meet the requirements of this chapter and the rules and regulations of the commission.

Iowa Boat Dealers

To request additional applications for vessel registrations and/or registration applied for cards, please send an email to: webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov or call DNR customer service at 515-725-8200.

*All-terrain vehicles, Off-Road Utility Vehicles, Off-Road Motorcycles

Information on this page concerning guidelines and responsibilities for Iowa dealers and manufacturers covers the most commonly asked questions the department receives. Please review the full applicable Iowa Code with your legal advisor to assure you are in compliance.
 

“Dealer” means a person who engages in whole or in part in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging all-terrain vehicles required to be registered under this chapter and who has an established place of business for that purpose in this state.

“Engaged in the business,” or similar wording, means doing any of the following acts for the purpose of selling all-terrain vehicles at retail: acquiring, selling, exchanging, holding, offering, displaying, brokering, accepting on consignment or conducting a retail auction, or acting as an agent for the purpose of doing any of these acts. A person selling at retail more than five all-terrain vehicles during a 12-month period may be presumed to be engaged in the business.

You are required by Iowa Code to become a certified dealer with the DNR if you sell at retail more than 5 vehicles annually.

Dealers must meet the following requirements, in addition to submitting a new dealer application:
1. Have an established place of business, to include a) landline telephone service and b) adequate office area for keeping business records to include but is not limited to: manufacturers’ certificates of origin, certificates of title or other evidence of ownership for all-terrain vehicles for sale

2. Comply with applicable local zoning ordinances

3. Provide a copy of the business’s sales tax permit with their application
         

Items to include with your new dealer application
1. Completed OHV Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application for Special Certificates (542-0485) 

        OHV* Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application 542-0845
        OHV* Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application 542-0845

2. Special Certificate and Duplicate fees as indicated on the application

3. Copy of the business’s sales tax permit

(Note: If a manufacturer or dealer has an established place of business in more than one city, the manufacturer or dealer shall secure a separate and distinct special certificate and general distinguishing number for each such place of business.)

Remit the completed application(s), copy of sales tax permit, and fees to: Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Licensing Section, 502 East 9th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0034


Fees
New Registrations: $46.50 includes one Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $6.50 each; new registrations shall expire on December 31, 2018 for the current registration period (2016-2018)

Renewal Registrations: $47.75 includes one Off-Highway Vehicle Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $7.75 each;

Duplicates: May be requested from any county recorder for $7.75 each

Registration Expiration/Registration period
Current registration period: December 31, 2015 – December 31, 2018

Renewal information
A notice will be mailed to you prior to the renewal period.  A valid dealer registration is required prior to processing a purchaser's vehicle registration. All current OHV dealers must renew dealer certification(s) with a county recorder.

New Dealers will receive the following items upon approval of the department:
1. Special Certificate for dealer
   A manufacturer, distributor, or dealer owning an all-terrain vehicle required to be registered under this chapter may operate
   the all-terrain vehicle for purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or selling it without the all-terrain vehicle being
   registered, except that a special registration decal issued to the owner as provided in this chapter shall be displayed on the
   all-terrain vehicle in the manner prescribed by the rules of the commission. The special registration decal shall not be used
   on an all-terrain vehicle offered for hire or for any work or service performed by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer.

2. Registration Applied For cards
   Allows the customer to use the vessel for 45 days while the registration is being processed by the county recorder. The
   registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder.
   Placing a completed application for registration and required fees in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an
   application.

3. Applications for vehicle registration 
   Application for vehicle registration 542-8067
  Application for vehicle registration 542-8067
 

4. OHV Dealer manual

5. List of OHV registration fees
   OHV Registration Fees

Dealer Requirements
The manufacturer, distributor, or dealer has the assigned identification number printed upon or attached to a removable sign which is temporarily but firmly attached to the all-terrain vehicle being used.

The registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder. Placing a completed application for registration and required fee in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an application. A dealer shall make application and pay all registration and title fees if applicable on behalf of the purchaser of an all-terrain vehicle.

At the time of sale, a dealer shall provide all purchasers the following webpage link: http://www.iowadnr.gov/Things-to-Do/Off-Highway-Vehicles, so they may obtain:
     (1) a copy of current all-terrain vehicle laws and regulations governing the usage of all-terrain vehicles in the state of Iowa,

     (2) the most up-to-date list of public places open for all-terrain vehicle usage.

Information provided on the department’s web site shall be deemed current and the most up-to-date information for purposes of this rule.

Iowa OHV Dealers 

To request additional applications for OHV registrations and/or registration applied for cards, please send an email to: webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov or call DNR customer service at 515-725-8200.

Information on this page concerning guidelines and responsibilities for Iowa dealers and manufacturers covers the most commonly asked questions the department receives. Please review the full applicable Iowa Code with your legal advisor to assure you are in compliance.
 

“Dealer” means a person who engages in whole or in part in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging snowmobiles required to be registered under this chapter and who has an established place of business for that purpose in this state.

“Engaged in the business,” or similar wording, means doing any of the following acts for the purpose of selling snowmobiles at retail: acquiring, selling, exchanging, holding, offering, displaying, brokering, accepting on consignment or conducting a retail auction, or acting as an agent for the purpose of doing any of these acts. A person selling at retail more than five snowmobiles during a 12-month period may be presumed to be engaged in the business.

You are required by Iowa Code to become a certified dealer with the DNR if you sell at retail more than 5 vehicles annually.
 

Dealers must meet the following requirements in addition to submitting a new dealer application:
1. Have an established place of business, to include a) landline telephone service and b) adequate office area for keeping business records to include but is not limited to: manufacturers’ certificates of origin, certificates of title or other evidence of ownership for snowmobiles for sale
 

2. Comply with applicable local zoning ordinances
 

3. Provide a copy of business's sales tax permit with their application

Items to include with your dealer application
1. Completed Snowmobile Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application for Special Certificates (542-0846)
        Snowmobile Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application 542-0846
        Snowmobile Dealer, Manufacturer, or Distributor Application 542-0846

2. Special Certificate and Duplicate fees as indicated on the application

3. Copy of the business’s sales tax permit

(Note: If a manufacturer or dealer has an established place of business in more than one city, the manufacturer or dealer shall secure a separate and distinct special certificate and general distinguishing number for each such place of business.)

Remit the completed application(s), copy of sales tax permit, and fees to: Iowa Department of Natural Resources, Licensing Section, 502 East 9th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0034


Fees
New Registrations: $46.50 includes one Snowmobile Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $6.50 each; new registrations shall expire on December 31, 2018 for the current registration period (2015-2018)

Renewal Registrations: $47.75 includes one Snowmobile Dealer Special Certificate; additional certificates may be requested at the time of application for $7.75 each;

Duplicates: May be requested from any county recorder for $7.75 each

 

Registration Expiration/Registration period
Current registration period: December 31, 2015 – December 31, 2018

Renewal information
A notice will be mailed to you prior to the renewal period.  A valid dealer registration is required prior to processing a purchaser's snowmobile registration. All current snowmobile dealers may renew dealer certification(s) with any county recorder.

New Dealers will receive the following items upon approval of the department:
1. Special Certificate for dealer
   A manufacturer, distributor, or dealer owning a snowmobile required to be registered under this chapter may operate
the snowmobile for purposes of transporting, testing, demonstrating, or selling it without the snowmobile being
registered, except that a special registration decal issued to the owner as provided in this chapter shall be displayed on the
snowmobile in the manner prescribed by the rules of the commission. The special registration decal shall not be used on a
snowmobile offered for hire or for any work or service performed by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer.
 

2. Registration Applied For cards
    Allows the customer to use the vessel for 45 days while the registration is being processed by the county recorder. The 
    registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder. 
    Placing a completed application for registration and required fees in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an 
    application. 

3. Applications for vehicle registration 
    Application for vehicle registration 542-8067
    Application for vehicle registration 542-8067

4. Snowmobile Dealer manual

5. List of snowmobile registration fees
    Snowmobile Registration Fees


Dealer Requirements
The manufacturer, distributor, or dealer has the assigned identification number printed upon or attached to a removable sign which is temporarily but firmly attached to the snowmobile being used.

The registration applied for card may be used only after an application for registration has been made to the county recorder. Placing a completed application for registration and required fees in the mail to the recorder shall constitute making an application. A dealer shall make application and pay all registration and title fees if applicable on behalf of the purchaser of snowmobile.

At the time of sale, a dealer shall provide all purchasers the following webpage link: http://www.iowadnr.gov/Things-to-Do/Snowmobiles, so they may obtain:
   (1) a copy of current snowmobile laws and regulations governing the usage of snowmobiles in the state of Iowa,

   (2) the most up-to-date list of public places open for snowmobile usage.

Information provided on the department’s web site shall be deemed current and the most up-to-date information for purposes of this rule.


Iowa Snowmobile Dealers

To request additional applications for Snowmobile registrations and/or registration applied for cards, please send an email to: webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov or call DNR customer service at 515-725-8200.