NPDES Staff


NPDES Section Administration


NPDES Storm Water General Permits

  • Vacant - Storm Water Program Coordinator, General Permits #1 (Industrial storm water), #2 (Construction storm water), and #3 (Other Industrial storm water), Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permits, Storm water permit fees, Online Storm Water General Permits Database.
    Please contact Mark Lasnek or Eric Wiklund (information above) for storm water inquiries.

NPDES Wastewater Permits

Individual NPDES Permit Coordination

  • Cswercko, Courtney - Database Administration (NPDS and WWPIE), Rulemaking, Individual NPDES Permit Fees, Special projects.
    Telephone: 515-322-2157, email: Courtney.Cswercko@dnr.iowa.gov

Industrial Permitting

Including general permits for Mining, Quarrying, Well Construction, Pesticides, Hydrostatic Testing, Ballasting, Water Lines, Dewatering, and Residential Geothermal systems:
  • Hieb, Wendy - Industrial Permit Coordinator, Water Treatment Plant wastewater permits, State Operation permits, General Permits #6 (Wells), #7 (Pesticides), #8 (Hydrostatic Testing, Ballasting, and Water Lines) and #9 (Dewatering and Residential Geothermal), GP 5, 8, & 9 Database.
    Telephone: 515-808-3039, email: Wendy.Hieb@dnr.iowa.gov
  • McCoy, Melinda - Individual Industrial permits, Water Treatment Plant wastewater permits, General Permit #7 (Pesticides).
    Telephone: 515-217-0873, email: Melinda.McCoy@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Schelling, David - Individual Industrial permits, Water Treatment Plant wastewater permits, State Operation permits, General Permit #5 (Mining and Quarries).
    Telephone: 515-217-0875, email: David.Schelling@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Sundall Gaspar, Eric - Individual Industrial permits, Water Treatment Plant wastewater permits, State Operation permits.
    Telephone: 515-601-8795, email: Eric.Sundall@dnr.iowa.gov

Municipal, Semipublic, and AFO Permitting

  • Hucka, Ben - Municipal and Semipublic Permit Coordinator, Pretreatment program, Treatment Agreements, Combined Sewer Overflows, Municipal State Operation permits.
    Telephone: 515-537-3015, email: Ben.Hucka@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Dusenbery, Derek - Municipal and Semipublic permits.
    Telephone: 515-631-9298, email: Derek.Dusenbery@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Faas, Julie - Municipal Pretreatment program and Treatment Agreements for Significant Industrial Users.
    Telephone: 515-725-8409, email: Julie.Faas@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Lodden, Karen - Municipal and Semipublic permits.
    Telephone: 515-401-4092, email: Karen.Lodden@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Olive, Ryan - Municipal and Semipublic permits.
    Telephone: 515-452-6235, email: Ryan.Olive@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Mueller, Marlon - Animal Feeding Operation (AFO) NPDES Permits.
    Telephone: 515-452-6421, email: Marlon.Mueller@dnr.iowa.gov

Private Septic Systems (Onsite) Wastewater

  • Frank, Cory - Onsite Wastewater Program Coordinator, Onsite Wastewater Assistance Programs, Time of Transfer Program, County Sanitarian Contact, Septic Pumper Licensing, General Permit #4 (Private Sewage Disposal).
    Telephone: 515-689-7941, email: Cory.Frank@dnr.iowa.gov
  • Grotheer, Tim - Onsite Wastewater Assistance Programs, Septic Pumper Licensing, General Permits #4 (Private Sewage Disposal) and #5 (Mining and Quarries), GP 5, 8, & 9 Database.
    Telephone: 515-452-7646, email: Tim.Grotheer@dnr.iowa.gov