Catfish Creek, Dubuque, Iowa

Environmental Protection Commission (EPC)

The Environmental Protection Commission (EPC) is a panel of nine citizens who provide policy oversight over Iowa's environmental protection efforts. EPC members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by vote of the Senate for four year terms. Meetings are typically conducted on the third Tuesday of the month.

At times the commission may decide to meet in a location outside of Des Moines. If you are interested in the time and place of the meeting for the current month, the agenda will be published at this site prior to the meeting.


Upcoming meeting:

May 16, 2023, 9 a.m.

EPC Meeting Packet and Agenda


The Shores at Five Island
14 N Lawler St, Emmetsburg, IA 50536
EMU Conference Room

Teleconference Dial  (631) 618-4607‬ and PIN: ‪484733354‬#

Fiscal Year 2021 and 2022 EPC Report

For information regarding scheduling an opportunity to speak to the Commission or general EPC questions please contact Alicia Plathe at or 515-313-8909.


To apply for a seat on the board, visit Iowa Talent Bank to apply. 

sign up icon  Sign up for Environmental Regulatory Updates  

Client Contact Group (CCG)

The Iowa Department of Natural Resources recognizes the need to provide the public with a way to learn about new programs and requirements related to Environmental Services programs. The Client Contact Group is an open forum to discuss new rules or program developments on the state and federal level. These meetings are a good source of information for anyone who works with or has an interest in activities related to environmental management.

The Client Contact Group meetings are held at the Wallace State Office Building in Des Moines. Meetings will be on the Thursday prior to each month's Environmental Protection Commission Meeting. All meetings are open to the public. If you are unable to attend the meeting in Des Moines, please feel free to join via a conference call.


Upcoming meeting:    CC Agenda

Conference call: Dial (423) 657-0219 PIN: 776 491 552#

Video call link:


EPC Commissioners

Amy Echard, Secretary
Vacant, Vice Chair 

Lisa Gochenour
Mark Stutsman
Brad Bleam
Harold Hommes, Chair
Rebecca Dostal
Roger Zylstra
Patricia Foley
Board Administrator 
Alicia Plathe
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Wallace State Office Building
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
office/cell: 515-313-8909

Upcoming EPC/CCG Meetings

Environmental Protection Commission Minutes Archive