Iowa law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1972 must be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Iowa hunting license. Iowa recognizes hunter education certificates issued by another state and some foreign nations.
There are three ways to complete hunter education. The first option is to take a traditional course. These in-person classes are typically taught March 1 - November 15 each year by volunteer instructors. The in-person class are often 8-10 hours of instruction and demonstration focused on safe firearm use, hunter ethics, game identification, and conservation management, followed by a multiple choice test.
The second option is a hybrid format. This option is traditionally attended by persons under 18 or individuals with busy schedules. The student completes all course work online at www.hunter-ed.com/iowa. When the online work is completed, the student will print off a voucher and then attend a 4 hour in-person field day. During the field day, students recap their learning, have hands-on instruction, learn about Iowa laws and complete a multiple choice test. To find upcoming field day classes, visit gooutdoorsiowa.com
The third option is completed 100% online. This options is designed for persons over the age of 18. Students register and pay for the course at www.hunter-ed.com/iowa.
Apprentice Hunting License
Looking to go hunting with another licensed adult mentor? The apprentice hunting license allows hunters age 16 and older to bypass the hunter education requirement for purchasing a hunting license while they hunt under the direct supervision of a licensed hunter. You may purchase the apprentice hunting license up to two times without having completed hunter education.
Apprentice Hunting License Info