Legal Services Bureau

The DNR’s Legal Services Bureau provides legal counsel to the department, the Environmental Protection Commission and the Natural Resource Commission.  DNR legal staff may also be able to answer questions from the general public regarding the laws and rules governing the State of Iowa’s natural resources and environment.



Legal Services Staff/Areas of Responsibility


Ed Tormey

DNR General Counsel - Legal Services Bureau Chief

Telephone: 515-725-8373

Email: Ed.Tormey@dnr.iowa.gov

Kelli Book

Air Quality; Animal Feeding Operations; Field Services

Telephone: 515-725-9572

Email: Kelli.Book@dnr.iowa.gov

Aaron Brees

Conservation & Recreation; State Lands and Waters

515-725-8250

Email: Aaron.Brees@dnr.iowa.gov

John Crotty

Human Resources; Operator Certification; Private Septic Systems; Wastewater; Water Allocation

515-725-8249

Email: John.Crotty@dnr.iowa.gov

Christina Iiams

Contracts; Rulemaking Activities

515-725-8240

Email: Christina.Iiams@dnr.iowa.gov

Tamara McIntosh

Conservation & Recreation

515-725-8242

Email: Tamara.Mcintosh@dnr.iowa.gov

Noah Poppelreiter

Bankruptcy; Conservation & Recreation; Watershed Improvements; Water Quality Monitoring & Assessment

515-725-8248

Email: Noah.Poppelreiter@dnr.iowa.gov

Anne Preziosi

Air Quality; Contracts

515-725-9551

Email: Anne.Preziosi@dnr.iowa.gov

Carrie Schoenebaum

Flood Plains; Drinking Water (water supply); Storm Water; Wastewater

515-725-8244

Email: Carrie.Schoenebaum@dnr.iowa.gov

David Scott

Contaminated Sites; Groundwater Hazard Statement; Solid Waste; Underground Storage Tanks

515-725-8239

Email: David.Scott@dnr.iowa.gov