Learn about the DNR's COVID-19 response and how the current health emergency is impacting DNR facilities, services and events.
Legal Services Bureau

The DNR’s Legal Services Bureau provides legal counsel to the department, the Environmental Protection Commission, and the Natural Resource Commission. DNR legal staff may also be able to answer questions from the general public regarding the laws and rules governing the State of Iowa’s natural resources and environment.



Legal Services Staff/Areas of Responsibility


Tamara McIntosh

General Counsel and Legal Services Bureau Chief
Natural Resource Commission; Environmental Protection Commission; Wildlife

Ofc: 515-725-8242
Cell: 515-901-3294

Email: Tamara.Mcintosh@dnr.iowa.gov

Kelli Book

Air Quality; Animal Feeding Operations; Environmental Audits; Field Services; Environment Covenants

Telephone: 515-210-3408
Email: Kelli.Book@dnr.iowa.gov

Aaron Brees

Docks; Fisheries; Forestry; State Lands and Waters; State Preserves

515-724-3805
Email: Aaron.Brees@dnr.iowa.gov

Emily Cohen

Human Resources; ADA; Health & Safety

515-250-9210
Email: Emily.Cohen@dnr.iowa.gov

Noah Poppelreiter

Animal Feeding Operations; Bankruptcy; Operator Certification; Septic Systems; Water Allocation; Watershed Improvements; Water Quality Monitoring & Assessment

515-669-8752

Email: Noah.Poppelreiter@dnr.iowa.gov

Anne Preziosi

Air Quality; Contracts - Universities & IT Application Development

515-238-3429

Email: Anne.Preziosi@dnr.iowa.gov

Carrie Schoenebaum

Drinking Water (water supply); State Revolving Fund; Storm Water; Wastewater

515-444-8165
Email: Carrie.Schoenebaum@dnr.iowa.gov

David Scott

Flood Plains & Dam Safety; Contaminated Sites; Business Assistance (FABA); Solid Waste; Underground Storage Tanks; Air Quality; Asbestos

319-321-8504
Email: David.Scott@dnr.iowa.gov

OPEN

Law Enforcement; State Parks; REAP; ESD Enforcement - various