Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
snowmobile in backbone state park

Renewal Period for Registrations [Sept 1 - Dec 31]

The renewal period for snowmobile registrations without penalty is September 1st through December 31st, annually.

Be sure to register your snowmobile, annually.
All newly owned machines, or machines not yet entered into the recreational vehicle and vessel registration system (RVVRS), must be registered through the County Recorder’s Office in the owner’s county of residence.

To register you will need:

Snowmobiles which have been entered into RVVRS may be renewed either through a County Recorder's Office or the Iowa DNR Online License and Registration site. You will need to provide your DNR customer number, which is printed on your vehicle registration.

Nonresident User Permits
Nonresident user permits are available at County Recorder’s Office, any license agent that sells hunting and fishing licenses, or the Iowa DNR Online License and Registration site.

Snowmobile Registration

Purchase from a Dealer:Dealers are required to collect the registration and title fees for a machine that is required to be registered.1 The dealer will issue to the purchaser a placard bearing the words "registration applied for" and space for the purchase date. The placard entitles the purchaser to operate the machine for 45 days immediately following the purchase while the registration is being processed.

Purchase by private sale: The purchaser of a machine with a valid registration may operate it for 30 days immediately following the purchase without having completed a transfer of registration. If the registration is expired, the machine must be registered prior to operating the machine in areas where a registration is required.


Services Available at a County Recorder's Office

  • All new registrations - $33.50
  • Renewals - $33.50
  • Nonresident User Permits - $18.50
  • Duplicate registrations - $8.50
  • Titles - $13.50
  • Liens - $ 13.50

County Recorders Offices

Services Available at License Vendors

  • Nonresident User Permits - $17.50

Registration is not required for the following machines:

  • Owned by the United States, this state, or another state, or by a governmental subdivision thereof, and used for enforcement, search and rescue, or official research and studies, but not for recreational or commercial purposes. 


  • The decals shall be affixed to the windshield so they are clearly visible. 
  • If there is no windshield, the the decals shall be affixed to the area on the hood near the headlamp so that they are clearly visible.


Missing Paperwork?

Do you have a vehicle that you are unable to obtain the proper paperwork?

Visit our vehicle or vessel bonding page for complete instructions and how to contact the DNR to start the bonding process.

Iowa Snowmobile Dealers

Becoming a recreational vehicle dealer

Online Registration

Registration Information

  • Registration renewals for snowmobiles may be renewed through the Iowa DNR Online License and Registration System Sales Site.
  • Registration and decal will be delivered via USPS mail in 5 - 10 business days.
  • New registrations, transfers, and title/lien requests will still need to be processed at your County Recorder's Office in your county of residence.

User Permit Information

  • Nonresident User Permits are required for all nonresident snowmobilers operating on public land, public ice, and designated snowmobile trails. 
  • The nonresident user permit decal must be affixed to your machine for it to be legal.
  • Nonresident user permits can be purchased through the Iowa DNR Online Hunting/Fishing License System. Permits purchased online will be delivered via USPS mail in 5 - 10 business days.