Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Pine Lake, trees

Iowa Urban Tree Council

The Iowa Urban Tree Council (IUTC) is a volunteer council that works to advance the conservation and maintenance of urban forests throughout Iowa. The Council provides assistance and advice to the state urban and community forestry program, administered by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR). We work in partnership with all sectors to address local urban forestry issues by bringing together professionals, academics, government, industry, volunteers, and the general public.

Urban and Community Forestry has been defined by the Iowa Urban Tree Council (IUTC) as the planning, planting, and maintenance of trees and forest ecosystems within Iowa communities.

Mission Statement
Recognizing that trees and forest ecosystems are vital components of Iowa communities, the mission of the Iowa Urban Tree Council is to provide guidance, leadership, and assistance to public officials, professionals, volunteers, and organizations in implementing urban forestry solutions.

2024 Iowa Urban Tree Council Award Nominations - Deadline Feb. 21, 2024


2024 Iowa Tree Council Award Winners

Outstanding Professional
Lynn :Porter, Council Bluffs, Iowa

Outstanding Volunteer
Mary Jane Paez, Johnston, Iowa
Mike Bock, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Outstanding Youth Program
Orchard Hill Elementary Students, Cedar Falls, Iowa

Outstanding Local Partner
Chevron REG Philanthropy Committee
Monarch Research Project

Outstanding Community Organization
Iowa City Area Rotary Clubs District 6000
Burlington Tree Advisory Board


2023 Iowa Tree Council Award Winners

Outstanding Volunteer
Robyn Clark-Bridges, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Bill McCarthy, Cascade, Iowa
Ron Schulz, West Des Moines, Iowa

Outstanding Professional
Mike Cimprich, Marion, Iowa
Debra Stantic, New Albin, Iowa

Outstanding Civic Leader
Laura Roussell, Dubuque, Iowa

Outstanding Youth Program
Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois

2022 Iowa Tree Council Award Winners

Outstanding Volunteer
Duane Kent, Aurelia, Iowa
John Uselding, Huxley, Iowa

Outstanding Professional
Charly Stevens, Page County, Iowa
Dave Nemitz, Denison, Iowa

Outstanding Council member
John Olds

Outstanding Local Partner
HNI Corporation, Muscatine, Iowa


Executive Council

Zac Hall - President

Josh Worrell - Vice President

Phil Chen - Treasurer

Gabbi Edwards - Secretary 

Clayton Ender - Past President

Non-profit 501(c)(3)

The Iowa Urban and Community Forestry Council became a non-profit in 2013. With our new status, we had a name change and are now the Iowa Urban Tree Council. This process was done so the council could become more active in advancing urban forestry throughout iowa. With the council's 501(c)(3) status it can now accept donations.

If you would like to support the Iowa Urban Tree Council's mission please send your donation, made out to the iowa urban tree council, to:

Kevin Conn
West Des Moines Parks and Recreation
PO Box 65320
West Des Moines, Ia 50265-0320

If you have any questions about donations, please contact the council's treasurer: Zac Hall,