DNR events have been cancelled due to the Covid-19 outbreak. Safety of our users, attendees, partners and staff is most important. When possible, events will be rescheduled and that information will be distributed accordingly. Please check this site frequently for the latest closures, postponements and updates.
NPDES Section Staff Roster

NPDES Section Administration

Wiklund, Eric - Supervisor, NPDES Section.
Telephone: 515-725-0313, email: Eric.Wiklund@dnr.iowa.gov

Lasnek, Mark - Clerk, Storm Water program administration, Individual NPDES permit applications, special projects.
Telephone: 515-725-3403, email: Mark.Lasnek@dnr.iowa.gov


NPDES Storm Water General Permits

Griffin, Joe - Storm Water Program Coordinator, General Permits #1 (Industrial storm water), #2 (Construction storm water), and #3 (Other Industrial storm water), Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) permits, Storm water permit fees, Online Storm Water General Permits Database.
Telephone: 515-725-8417, email: Joe.Griffin@dnr.iowa.gov

Schiel-Larson, Deb - Storm Water Permitting Program, General Permits #1 (Industrial storm water), #2 (Construction storm water), and #3 (Other Industrial storm water), Online Storm Water General Permits Database.
Telephone: 515-725-8415, email: Deb.Schiel-larson@dnr.iowa.gov


NPDES Wastewater Permits


Individual NPDES Permit Coordination:

Cswercko, Courtney - Database Administration (NPDS and WWPIE), Rulemaking, Individual NPDES Permit Fees.
Telephone: 515-725-8411, email: Courtney.Cswercko@dnr.iowa.gov


Industrial Permitting, including general permits for Mining, Quarrying, Well Construction, Pesticides, Hydrostatic Testing, Ballasting, Water Lines, Dewatering and Residential Geothermal systems:

Hieb, Wendy - Industrial Permit Coordinator, water treatment plant wastewater permits, state operation permits, General Permits #6 (Wells), #7 (Pesticides), #8 (Hydrostatic Testing, Ballasting, and Water Lines) and #9 (Dewatering and Residential Geothermal), GP 5, 8, & 9 Database.
Telephone: 515-725-8405, email: Wendy.Hieb@dnr.iowa.gov

McCoy, Melinda - Individual industrial permits, water treatment plant wastewater permits, General Permit #7 (Pesticides).
Telephone: 515-725-8402, email: Melinda.McCoy@dnr.iowa.gov

Schelling, David - Individual industrial permits, water treatment plant wastewater permits, General Permit #5 (Mining and Quarries).
Telephone: 515-725-8407, email: David.Schelling@dnr.iowa.gov


Municipal and Semi-public Permitting:

Hucka, Ben - Municipal and Semi-public Permit Coordinator, pretreatment program, combined sewer overflows, treatment agreements.
Telephone: 515-725-8406, email: Ben.Hucka@dnr.iowa.gov

Faas, Julie - Municipal pretreatment program and treatment agreements.
Telephone: 515-725-8409, email: Julie.Faas@dnr.iowa.gov

Lodden, Karen - Municipal and Semi-public permits.
Telephone: 515-725-8416, email: Karen.Lodden@dnr.iowa.gov

Mueller, Marlon - Municipal and Semi-public permits, AFO NPDES Permits.
Telephone: 515-725-8410, email: Marlon.Mueller@dnr.iowa.gov

Olive, Ryan - Municipal and Semi-public permits.
Telephone: 515-725-1235, email: Ryan.Olive@dnr.iowa.gov

Seda, Ann - Municipal and Semi-public permits.
Telephone: 515-725-8418, email: Ann.Seda@dnr.iowa.gov


Private Septic Systems (Onsite) Wastewater

Frank, Cory - Onsite Wastewater Program Coordinator, Onsite Wastewater Assistance Programs, Time of Transfer Program, County Sanitarian Contact, Septic Pumper Licensing, General Permit #4 (Private Sewage Disposal).
Telephone: 515-725-8404, email: Cory.Frank@dnr.iowa.gov

Grotheer, Tim - Onsite Wastewater Assistance Programs, Septic Pumper Licensing, General Permits #4 (Private Sewage Disposal) and #5 (Mining and Quarries), GP 5, 8, & 9 Database.
Telephone: 515-725-8414, email: Tim.Grotheer@dnr.iowa.gov