Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

Central Iowa & Portable Plant Minor Source Emissions Inventory Reports Due May 15

  • 1/24/2020 9:55:00 AM
  • View Count 2124
  • Return

Minor source facilities located in the central third of Iowa (counties listed below) must submit their Minor Source Emission Inventory (MSEI) for calendar year 2019 emissions to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) Air Quality Bureau by May 15, 2020.

Letters have been sent to facilities required to complete this year’s report. A complete air pollutant inventory is required by Iowa Administrative Code (567) sub rule IAC 21.1(3). The data collected from an emissions inventory is used to identify emission levels and trends throughout the state, track Iowa's progress towards meeting national air quality standards, and develop control and maintenance strategies required by the federal Clean Air Act.

SLEIS (State and Local Emissions Inventory System) - Online emissions reporting tool:

Instructions, forms, and example calculations:

Emissions estimate tools (including spreadsheets for many processes):

Exemptions, FAQs and tips to complete the inventory:

Facilities with less than 100 employees may also contact the Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program (IAEAP) at the University of Northern Iowa for free training in order to complete their Minor Source Emissions Inventory. For more information regarding free training through the IAEAP, please visit

For questions related to the emissions inventory, please contact:

Seth Anderson - (515) 725-9559 or

Krysti Mostert - (515) 725-9567 or

Nick Page - (515) 725-9544 or


Below is a list of Central Iowa counties included in the 2019 Minor Source Emissions Inventory:

DNR Field Office 2:  Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Webster, Winnebago, Worth, and Wright.

DNR Field Office 5:  Appanoose, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, Warren, and Wayne.