Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

EPC to meet at Three Mile Lake April 17

  • 4/5/2018 2:34:00 PM
  • View Count 2918
  • Return

AFTON - The Iowa Environmental Protection Commission will meet April 17 at Three Mile Lake Lodge about two miles north of Afton.  

Preceding the business meeting, commissioners and the public may tour several sites in Union County which highlight small communities successes and challenges. Attendees must pre-register for the April 16 tours by contacting Jerah Sheets at or calling 515-313-8909 by April 12.

 On April 17, an overview of state rulemaking will begin at 8:30 before the business meeting starts at 10 a.m. The meeting is open to the public with an opportunity for public comment after the monthly reports.

At the top of the agenda, commissioners will receive an update on the new electronic manure management plan application. Also on the agenda, DNR will ask commissioners to approve two contracts and amendments to wastewater discharge permits.

At 11 a.m. commissioners will hear Buena Vista County’s demand for a hearing on a construction permit application for two swine finishing confinement buildings.

The complete agenda follows:

Approval of Agenda
Approval of the Minutes
Monthly Reports
Public Participation
Director’s Remarks
Update for the new Electronic Manure Management (eMMP) System
Adopted and Filed – Amendments to Chapter 64 to include NPDES General Permits 8 and 9
Contract - Beaver Creek WMA Planning Grant
Solid Waste Alternatives Program – Contract Recommendation
Demand for Hearing – Buena Vista County
General Discussion
Items for Next Month’s Meeting

  • May 15 – EPC Business Meeting – Iowa State Capitol
  • June 19 – EPC Business Meeting – Iowa State Capitol

The complete agenda and item briefs are available on the DNR website.

Commissioners include: Ralph Lents, Menlo, chair; Joe Riding, Altoona, vice chair; Nancy Couser, Nevada; Mary Boote, Des Moines; Howard Hill, Cambridge; Harold Hommes, Windsor Heights; Barbara Hovland, Mason City; Rebecca Guinn, Bettendorf; and Bob Sinclair, Sigourney. Chuck Gipp is the director of the DNR.