Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

Urban Forestry awards recognize local dedication to trees and outreach

  • 4/7/2020 12:42:00 PM
  • View Count 3134
  • Return

DES MOINES, Iowa – Every year the Urban Forestry Awards luncheon recognizes cities, college campuses and utilities that demonstrate a variety of dedication to the importance of trees in their respective

All awards are presented on behalf of the Arbor Day Foundation and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources. This is the 30th year for the awards presentations.

The Urban Forestry Award luncheon, originally scheduled for April 2, was cancelled due to COVID-19 concerns. A full list of award winners follows.

Tree City USA Award – To qualify for the Tree City USA award, a city must have either a city forester or an active city tree board, have a tree ordinance, spend at least $2 per capita annually for its community forestry program, and have a tree planting and maintenance plan. The 2020 award recipients are below:

·         Adel

·         Glenwood

·         Odebolt

·         Ames

·         Greene

·         Oelwein

·         Arnolds Park

·         Grimes

·         Onawa

·         Atlantic

·         Hampton

·         Osage

·         Badger

·         Harlan

·         Oskaloosa

·         Bondurant

·         Hopkinton

·         Ottumwa

·         Boone

·         Hudson

·         Parkersburg

·         Burlington

·         Indianola

·         Red Oak

·         Carroll

·         Iowa City

·         Rock Rapids

·         Cedar Falls

·         Jefferson

·         Sioux City

·         Clarinda

·         Keystone

·         Spencer

·         Clarksville

·         Lisbon

·         Urbandale

·         Clive

·         Livermore

·         Washington

·         Council Bluffs

·         Luxemburg

·         Waterloo

·         Cresco

·         Manchester

·         Webster City

·         Dallas Center

·         Maquoketa

·         West Des Moines

·         Davenport

·         Marquette

·         Westphalia

·         Decorah

·         Muscatine

·         Westside

·         Denison

·         Nevada

·         Mt Vernon

·         Dubuque

·         Newton

·         Pleasant Hill

·         Fort Dodge

·         North Liberty

·         Winterset


Tree City USA Growth Award – To qualify for the Tree City USA Growth award, cities must provide education and public relations, partnerships, planning and management, and tree planting and maintenance in their community. The 2020 award recipients are below (these award winners also are recipients of the Tree City USA award listed above):

·         Allison

·         Glidden

·         Bettendorf

·         Hiawatha

·         Cedar Rapids

·         Marion

·         Clinton

·         Mason City

·         Coralville

·         Polk City

·         Des Moines

·         Story City

·         Dysart

·         Waverly


Tree Campus USA Award – To qualify for the Tree Campus USA award, a campus must have a campus Tree Advisory Committee, a tree care plan, a tree program with dedicated annual expenditures, an annual Arbor Day observance, and a service learning project to engage the student body. The 2020 award recipients are below:

·         Clarke University

·         Drake University

·         Iowa State University

·         Kirkwood Community College

·         University of Iowa


Tree Line USA Award – To qualify for the Tree Line USA award, a utility must meet five minimum requirements, including quality tree care, annual worker training, tree planting and public education, a tree-based energy conservation program, and an annual Arbor Day celebration. The 2020 award recipients are below:

·         Alliant Energy

·         ITC Midwest

·         Mid American Energy

·         Waverly Utilities