Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

EPC meeting scheduled for Jan. 17 in Des Moines

  • 1/11/2018 3:57:00 PM
  • View Count 2930
  • Return

DES MOINES--The Environmental Protection Commission will meet at 1 p.m., Jan. 17, in the Fourth Floor Conference Room at the Wallace Building, 502 E. Ninth St. in Des Moines to discuss air and water quality rule proposals. A joint meeting with the Natural Resources Commission at 10 a.m. in the Second Floor Conference Room 2N will precede the EPC’s regular meeting.

Commissioners will be asked to approve a proposal to increase fees for asbestos notifications from $100 to $200. Notification is required for demolition and renovation projects involving asbestos removal and disposal under federal regulations for hazardous air pollutants. Two stakeholder groups recommended the fee increase to ensure adequate staffing for oversight, education and outreach.

Two new general permits for wastewater discharges under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) is also proposed. The proposed permits relate to the discharge of hydrostatic testing and ballast water, and the discharge of groundwater. Both permits establish minimum requirements to ensure discharges comply with water quality standards.

The complete agenda follows:

  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of the Minutes
  • Monthly Reports
  • Public Participation
  • Director’s Remarks
  • Proposed Rule – Amendments to Chapter 64 to include NPDES General Permits 8 and 9
  • Notice of Intended Action: Asbestos Notification Fee – Chapter 30
  • General Discussion  
  • Items for Next Month’s Meeting
  • Feb. 20 – EPC Business Meeting – Windsor Heights
  • March 20 – EPC Business Meeting – Windsor Heights 

The complete agenda and item briefs are available on the DNR website.

Commissioners include Chad Ingels, Randalia, chair; Ralph Lents, Menlo, vice chair; Joe Riding, Altoona, secretary; Mary Boote, Des Moines; Nancy Couser, Nevada; Howard Hill, Cambridge; Barbara Hovland, Mason City; Rebecca Guinn, Bettendorf; and Bob Sinclair, Sigourney. Chuck Gipp is the director of the DNR.