Air Quality Staff
Air Quality Bureau
Department of Natural Resources - Environmental Services Division
502 E. 9th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319

General Phone Number: 515-725-8200

Fax number: 515-725-9501

Notice: The Bureau Chief and Attorneys listed below are part of the Air Quality Bureau, not a specific section.

Air Quality Bureau Chief

Fitzsimmons, Catharine --Telephone: 515-725-9534, email: Catharine.Fitzsimmons@dnr.iowa.gov

Attorneys

Book, Kelli - Attorney, Air Quality, Asbestos --Telephone: 515-210-3408, email: Kelli.Book@dnr.iowa.gov

Preziosi, Anne - Attorney, Air Quality, Controlled Sites --Telephone: 515-238-3429, email: Anne.Preziosi@dnr.iowa.gov

Wuehr, Tom - Asbestos Program Unit Leader: Abatement and Demolition Projects, Training Fires, Controlled Burns of Demolished Buildings --Telephone: 515-725-9576, email: Tom.Wuehr@dnr.iowa.gov

To report open burning violations, contact your local DNR field office. For training fires or asbestos-related open burning questions, contact Tom Wuehr at 515-725-9576.

Contractor Certification Permits

Any business or individual compensated to remove asbestos containing materials is required by the Iowa Division of Labor to obtain a certified asbestos contractor permit. Call 515-281-6175 for details or visit the Iowa Division of Labor Services website.

Asbestos Database and Notification Fee Payment Assistance

For assistance with questions related to the Asbestos Notification System or questions regarding submittal of fees for notifications, please contact Norma Gentry at 515-423-6415 or by email at Norma.Gentry@dnr.iowa.gov.

Section Supervisor

Hutchins, Brian Telephone: 515-681-3136, email: Brian.Hutchins@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts

Fitzsimmons, Sean - Unit Leader: Ambient Air Monitoring --Telephone: 515-669-8317, email: Sean.Fitzsimmons@dnr.iowa.gov

Fields, Mark - Unit Leader: Compliance and Stack Testing --Telephone: 515-343-6589, email: Mark.Fields@dnr.iowa.gov

Wuehr, Tom - Unit Leader: Asbestos Abatement, Demolition Projects --Telephone: 515-725-9576, email: Tom.Wuehr@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts

Bootman, Jasmine - Ambient Air Monitoring --Telephone: 515-414-9780, email: Jasmine.Bootman@dnr.iowa.gov

Duke, Julie - Compliance --Telephone: 515-669-8474, email: Julie.Duke@dnr.iowa.gov

Gering, John - Ambient Air Monitoring --Telephone: 515-380-6874, email: John.Gering@dnr.iowa.gov

Mousel, Sarah - NESHAP Coordinator --Telephone: 515-418-7304, email: Sarah.Mousel@dnr.iowa.gov

Tenborg, Lucas - Compliance --Telephone: 515-443-9508, email: Lucas.Tenborg@dnr.iowa.gov

Russell, Todd - Ambient Air Monitoring --Telephone: 515-204-3728, email: Todd.Russell@dnr.iowa.gov

Section Supervisor

Hutchins, Brian --Telephone: 515-681-3136, email: Brian.Hutchins@dnr.iowa.gov

Contacts

Staff picture: Mark Fields  

Fields, Mark - Stack Test Unit Leader
Telephone: 515-343-6589
Email: Mark.Fields@dnr.iowa.gov

   

Randall, Alex - Stack Test Observation
Telephone: 515-777-8224
Email: Alex.Randall@dnr.iowa.gov

   

Schult, Kristofer - Stack Test Observation
Telephone: 515-218-4155
Email: Kristofer.Schult@dnr.iowa.gov

   

Mousel, Sarah - Stack Test Observation and Compliance
Telephone: 515-418-7304
Email: Sarah.Mousel@dnr.iowa.gov

Section Supervisor

McGraw, Jim --Telephone: 515-689-1439, email: Jim.Mcgraw@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Program Development)

Ashton, Brad - Lead Worker, Dispersion Modeling --Telephone: 515-725-9527, email: Brad.Ashton@dnr.iowa.gov

Johnson, Matthew - Lead Worker, Long Range Planning and Regional Modeling --Telephone: 515-725-9554, email: Matthew.Johnson@dnr.iowa.gov

Paulson, Christine - Planning Lead Worker, Administrative Rules, Air Toxics --Telephone: 515-725-9510, email: Christine.Paulson@dnr.iowa.gov

Walker, Wendy - Budget, Administrative Rules, Program Development, State Implementation Plans, PPA/PPG Workplan --Telephone: 515-725-9570, email: Wendy.Walker@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Support)

Connolly, Kevin - Iowa EASY Air Data Administrator --Telephone: 515-725-9569, email: Kevin.Connolly@dnr.iowa.gov

Craig, Jim - Records Center --Telephone: 515-725-9553, email: James.Craig@dnr.iowa.gov

Dowie, Jason - Iowa EASY Air and SLEIS Helpdesk --Telephone: 515-204-3749, email: Jason.Dowie@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Program Development)

Jensen, Alyssa - Dispersion Modeling --Telephone: 515-725-9566, email: Alyssa.Jensen@dnr.iowa.gov

Reese McIntyre, Jessica - Program Development --Telephone: 515-725-9547, email: Jessica.ReeseMcIntyre@dnr.iowa.gov

Rongkavilit, Virun - Program Development --Telephone: 515-689-7136, email: Virun.Rongkavilit@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Support)

Friedman, Tammy - Data Entry and Administrative Support Services --Telephone: 515-446-0179, email: Tamara.Friedman@dnr.iowa.gov

Gentry, Norma - Asbestos Data Entry and Administrative Support Services --Telephone: 515-423-6415, email: Norma.Gentry@dnr.iowa.gov

Section Supervisor

Piziali, Sarah --Telephone: 515-725-9549, email: Sarah.Piziali@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts

Hermsen, Michael - PSD, NSPS, NESHAP & Construction Permitting Questions --Telephone: 515-725-9577, email: Michael.Hermsen@dnr.iowa.gov

Kuhn, Karen - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions --Telephone: 515-725-9560, email: Karen.Kuhn@dnr.iowa.gov

Roling, Chris - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions --Telephone: 515-725-9557, email: Chris.Roling@dnr.iowa.gov

Smith, Gary - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions --Telephone: 515-725-9563, email: Gary.Smith@dnr.iowa.gov

Zayudis, Peter - PSD, SIP, NonAttainment & Construction Permitting Questions --Telephone: 515-201-4596, email: Peter.Zayudis@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts

Corbin, Shawn - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-229-6208, email: Shawn.Corbin@dnr.iowa.gov

Curtin, John - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-689-3625, email: John.Curtin@dnr.iowa.gov

Detter, Corey - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-725-9517, email: Corey.Detter@dnr.iowa.gov

Dvorak, Ashley - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-725-9540, email: Ashley.Dvorak@dnr.iowa.gov

Painuly, Priyanka - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-321-1936, email: Priyanka.Painuly@dnr.iowa.gov

Quill, Rachel - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-400-6204, email: Rachel.Quill@dnr.iowa.gov

Tatar, Nate - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-725-9536, email: Nate.Tatar@dnr.iowa.gov

Zulic, Danjin - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits --Telephone: 515-418-0977, email: Danjin.Zulic@dnr.iowa.gov

Construction Permit Helpline

Toll free: 877-AIR-IOWA (877-247-4692)

Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Section Supervisor

Stein, Marnie --Telephone: 515-725-9525, email:Marnie.Stein@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Operating Permits)

Kjellmark, Chris - Lead Worker, Operating Permits and Acid Rain --Telephone: 515-725-9537, email: Chris.Kjellmark@dnr.iowa.gov

Arndt,Jeremy - Lead Worker, Operating Permits --Telephone: 515-725-9511, email: Jeremy.Arndt@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Emissions Inventory)

Page, Nick - Lead Worker: Emissions Inventory – Point Sources --Telephone: 515-725-9544, email: Nick.Page@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Operating Permits)

Dailey, Taylor - Reviews and writes operating permits --Telephone: 515-725-9539, email: Taylor.Dailey@dnr.iowa.gov

James, Jeremy - Reviews and writes operating permits --Telephone: 515-725-9580, email: Jeremy.James@dnr.iowa.gov

Peters, Zane - Reviews and writes operating permits --Telephone: 515-725-9531, email: Zane.Peters@dnr.iowa.gov

Peterson, Emilie - Reviews and writes operating permits --Telephone: 515-725-9548, email: Emilie.Peterson@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Emissions Inventory)

Anderson, Seth - Emissions Inventory --Telephone: 515-725-9559, email: Seth.Anderson@dnr.iowa.gov

Mostert, Krysti - Emissions Inventory --Telephone: 515-725-9567, email: Krysti.Mostert@dnr.iowa.gov