Learn about the DNR's COVID-19 response and how the current health emergency is impacting DNR facilities, services and events.
Air Quality Staff
Air Quality Bureau Department of Natural Resources - Environmental Services Division 502 E. 9th St. Des Moines, IA 50319

General Phone Number: 515-725-8200 Fax number: 515-725-9501

 

Notice: The Bureau Chief and Attorneys listed below are part of the Air Quality Bureau, not a specific section.

Air Quality Bureau Chief

Fitzsimmons, Catharine Telephone: 515-725-9534, e-mail: Catharine.Fitzsimmons@dnr.iowa.gov

Attorneys

Book, Kelli - Attorney, Air Quality, Asbestos Telephone: 515-725-9572, e-mail: Kelli.Book@dnr.iowa.gov

Preziosi, Anne - Attorney, Air Quality, Controlled Sites Telephone: 515-725-9551, e-mail: Anne.Preziosi@dnr.iowa.gov

Wuehr, Tom - Asbestos Program Unit Leader: Abatement and Demolition Projects, Training Fires, Controlled Burns of Demolished Buildings Telephone: 515-725-9576, e-mail: Tom.Wuehr@dnr.iowa.gov

To report open burning violations, contact your local DNR field office. For training fires or asbestos-related open burning questions, contact Tom Wuehr at 515-725-9576.

Contractor Certification Permits

Any business or individual compensated to remove asbestos containing materials is required by the Iowa Division of Labor to obtain a certified asbestos contractor permit. Call 515-281-6175 for details or visit the Iowa Division of Labor Services website.

Asbestos Database and Notification Fee Payment Assistance

For assistance with questions related to the Asbestos Notification System or questions regarding submittal of fees for notifications, please contact Norma Gentry at 515-725-9513 or by email at Norma.Gentry@dnr.iowa.gov.

Section Supervisor

Hutchins, Brian Telephone: 515-725-9550, e-mail: Brian.Hutchins@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts

Fitzsimmons, Sean - Unit Leader: Ambient Air Monitoring Telephone: 515-725-9528, e-mail: Sean.Fitzsimmons@dnr.iowa.gov

Fields, Mark - Unit Leader: Compliance and Stack Testing Telephone: 515-725-9526, e=mail: Mark.Fields@dnr.iowa.gov

Wuehr, Tom - Unit Leader: Asbestos Abatement, Demolition Projects Telephone: 515-725-9576, e-mail: Tom.Wuehr@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts

Bermel, Reid - Compliance Telephone: 515-725-9535, e-mail: Reid.Bermel@dnr.iowa.gov

Bootman, Jasmine - Ambient Air Monitoring Telephone: 515-725-9514, e-mail: Jasmine.Bootman@dnr.iowa.gov

Duke, Julie - Compliance Telephone: 515-725-9565, e-mail: Julie.Duke@dnr.iowa.gov

Gering, John - Ambient Air Monitoring Telephone: 515-725-9530, e-mail: John.Gering@dnr.iowa.gov

Mousel, Sarah - NESHAP Coordinator Telephone: 515-725-8403, e-mail: Sarah.Mousel@dnr.iowa.gov

Russell, Todd - Ambient Air Monitoring Telephone: 515-725-9561, e-mail: Todd.Russell@dnr.iowa.gov

Section Supervisor

Hutchins, Brian Telephone: 515-725-9550, e-mail: Brian.Hutchins@dnr.iowa.gov

Contacts

Staff picture: Mark Fields  

Fields, Mark - Stack Test Unit Leader
Telephone: 515-725-9526
E-mail: Mark.Fields@dnr.iowa.gov

   

Randall, Alex - Stack Test Observation
Telephone: 515-725-9512
E-mail: Alex.Randall@dnr.iowa.gov

   

Schult, Kristofer - Stack Test Observation
Telephone: 515-725-9545
E-mail: Kristofer.Schult@dnr.iowa.gov
 

   

Mousel, Sarah - Stack Test Observation and Compliance
Telephone: 515-725-8200
E-mail: Sarah.Mousel@dnr.iowa.gov
 

Section Supervisor

McGraw, Jim Telephone: 515-725-9543, e-mail: Jim.Mcgraw@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Program Development)

Ashton, Brad - Lead Worker, Dispersion Modeling Telephone: 515-725-9527, e-mail: Brad.Ashton@dnr.iowa.gov

Johnson, Matthew - Lead Worker, Long Range Planning and Regional Modeling Telephone: 515-725-9554, e-mail: Matthew.Johnson@dnr.iowa.gov

Paulson, Christine - Planning Lead Worker, Administrative Rules, Air Toxics Telephone: 515-725-9510, e-mail: Christine.Paulson@dnr.iowa.gov

Walker, Wendy - Budget, Administrative Rules, Program Development, State Implementation Plans, PPA/PPG Workplan Telephone: 515-725-9570, e-mail: Wendy.Walker@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Support)

Connolly, Kevin - EASY Air Data Administrator Telephone: 515-725-9569, e-mail: Kevin.Connolly@dnr.iowa.gov

Craig, Jim - Records Center Telephone: 515-725-9553, e-mail: James.Craig@dnr.iowa.gov

Dowie, Jason - EASY Air and SLEIS Helpdesk Telephone: 515-725-9523, e-mail: Jason.Dowie@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Program Development)

Jensen, Alyssa - Dispersion Modeling Telephone: 515-725-9566, e-mail: Alyssa.Jensen@dnr.iowa.gov

Reese McIntyre, Jessica - Program Development Telephone: 515-725-9547, e-mail: Jessica.ReeseMcIntyre@dnr.iowa.gov

Rongkavilit, Virun - Program Development Telephone: 515-725-9515, e-mail: Virun.Rongkavilit@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Support)

Friedman, Tammy - Data Entry and Administrative Support Services Telephone: 515-725-9573, e-mail: Tamara.Friedman@dnr.iowa.gov

Gentry, Norma - Asbestos Data Entry and Administrative Support Services Telephone: 515-725-9513, e-mail: Norma.Gentry@dnr.iowa.gov

Section Supervisor

Piziali, Sarah Telephone: 515-725-9549, e-mail: Sarah.Piziali@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts

Hermsen, Michael - PSD, NSPS, NESHAP & Construction Permitting Questions Telephone: 515-725-9577, e-mail: Michael.Hermsen@dnr.iowa.gov

Kuhn, Karen - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions Telephone: 515-725-9560, e-mail: Karen.Kuhn@dnr.iowa.gov

Roling, Chris - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions Telephone: 515-725-9557, e-mail: Chris.Roling@dnr.iowa.gov

Smith, Gary - PSD, Construction Permitting Questions Telephone: 515-725-9563, e-mail: Gary.Smith@dnr.iowa.gov

Zayudis, Peter - PSD, SIP, NonAttainment & Construction Permitting Questions Telephone: 515-725-9578, e-mail: Peter.Zayudis@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts

Corbin, Shawn - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9521, e-mail: Shawn.Corbin@dnr.iowa.gov

Curtin, John - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9522, e-mail: John.Curtin@dnr.iowa.gov

Detter, Corey - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9517, e-mail: Corey.Detter@dnr.iowa.gov

Dvorak, Ashley - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9540, e-mail: Ashley.Dvorak@dnr.iowa.gov

Painuly, Priyanka - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9546, e-mail: Priyanka.Painuly@dnr.iowa.gov

Quill, Rachel - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9556, e-mail: Rachel.Quill@dnr.iowa.gov

Tatar, Nate - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9536, e-mail: Nate.Tatar@dnr.iowa.gov

Zulic, Danjin - Reviews Construction Permit Application, Writes Construction Permits Telephone: 515-725-9571, e-mail: Danjin.Zulic@dnr.iowa.gov

Construction Permit Helpline

Toll free: 877-AIR-IOWA (877-247-4692)

Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Section Supervisor

Stein, Marnie Telephone: 515-725-9525, e-mail:Marnie.Stein@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Operating Permits)

Kjellmark, Chris - Lead Worker, Operating Permits and Acid Rain Telephone: 515-725-9537, e-mail: Chris.Kjellmark@dnr.iowa.gov

Arndt,Jeremy - Lead Worker, Operating Permits Telephone: 515-725-9511, e-mail: Jeremy.Arndt@dnr.iowa.gov

Primary Contacts (Emissions Inventory)

Page, Nick - Lead Worker: Emissions Inventory – Point Sources Telephone: 515-725-9544, e-mail: Nick.Page@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Operating Permits)

Dailey, Taylor - Reviews and Writes Operating Permits Telephone: 515-725-9539, e-mail: Taylor.Dailey@dnr.iowa.gov

James, Jeremy - Reviews and Writes Operating Permits Telephone: 515-725-9580, e-mail: Jeremy.James@dnr.iowa.gov

Peters, Zane - Reviews and Writes Operating Permits Telephone: 515-725-9531, e-mail: Zane.Peters@dnr.iowa.gov

Peterson, Emilie - Reviews and Writes Operating Permits Telephone: 515-725-9548, e-mail: Emilie.Peterson@dnr.iowa.gov

Secondary Contacts (Emissions Inventory)

Anderson, Seth - Emissions Inventory Telephone: 515-725-9559, e-mail: Seth.Anderson@dnr.iowa.gov

Mostert, Krysti - Emissions Inventory Telephone: 515-725-9567, e-mail: Krysti.Mostert@dnr.iowa.gov