Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know
Hunt Iowa, Iowa Hunter Education Program

Iowa Hunter Education Program

Thank you for your dedication, passion and interest in Iowa’s wildlife and natural resources!

The goals of the DNR Hunter Education Program are as follows:

  • Educate Iowans about hunter safety
  • Promote hunter education and ethics
  • Train volunteer instructors to teach hunter education
  • Continue to keep hunting the safe activity it has become

By providing hunter education to the public, the DNR will help ensure the safety of hunters throughout our state by continuing to promote ethics and fair chase, hunter responsibility and landowner relations. The safety, recruitment, and retention of hunters are important in continuing the tradition of hunting in Iowa's GREAT Outdoors!

Hunter education is a mandatory program that is designed to introduce students to several life-long skills that are important to the many different types of outdoor recreational opportunities. The course teaches students basic survival and first aid skills, water safety, wildlife identification, and the basics of wildlife management, hunting laws, and firearm/archery safety. Hunter education also stresses the importance of individual responsibility and outdoor ethics.

Iowa law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1972 must be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Iowa hunting license. The minimum number of hours to complete the class is 10. Typically there is no charge for the course, unless lunch is furnished or room rental is required. Iowa recognizes hunter education certificates issued by another state and some foreign nations.

A person who is 11 years old or older may enroll in a course, but those who are 11 and successfully complete the course shall be issued a certificate which becomes valid on that person's 12th birthday. Iowa residents under the age of 12 can be issued a deer or turkey license; however, a licensed adult hunter must accompany each youth hunter. If the certificate is lost, a replacement certificate may be obtained from any ELSI vendor during regular business hours for $4.50.

Classes are typically held from March 1 - November 15 each year. Our courses are taught by volunteer instructors who are hunters so there are very few classes that take place after November 15.

Hunter Education - Register Now

Safe Hunting in Iowa

Bowhunter Education
The bowhunter program is designed to teach bowhunters safe and ethical hunting techniques and to install responsible attitudes toward people, wildlife and the environment. 

Hunter Education Instructors
Interested in becoming a Volunteer Hunter Education Instructor?

Mentored Hunts
Find an upcoming mentored hunt in your backyard.


Logan's Law


Logan’s Law, named after Logan Luft, was enacted in 2019 and allows hunting, fishing and trapping license buyers to declare as an organ, eye and tissue donor, when purchasing hunting and fishing licenses, very similar to declaring when purchasing or renewing a driver’s license.

By registering as an organ donor you authorize your organs, eyes, and tissues to be donated at the time of your death. Organs, eyes and tissues will be recovered for the purpose of transplantation; however, in the event a donated organ, eye or tissue cannot be used for transplant, an effort will be made to use the donation for research.

For more information visit the Iowa Donor Registry FAQ online.

Logan's Story

Logan's Law: Logan's Story
YouTube: IowaDonorNetwork

2023 Hunting Incidents

Personal Injuries 8                 
Property Damage 2                
Fatalities 2

Total Incidents 12                                

Last Updated: 11/27/2023


Need a duplicate certificate?

Follow these simple steps to purchase a duplicate hunter education certificate online:

1. Go to
2. Click the blue Login button.
3. Type in your login information including your date of birth, last name and last four of SSN or customer id or drivers license.
4. Click the shopping cart at the top that says make a purchase.
5. Search for duplicate hunter education or scroll to type 860.
6. Click the blue +Add To Cart button and check out.

If you have any trouble, please contact:

Iowa DNR Customer Service
Mon-Fri, 8:00am - 4:30pm

Don't have internet access?
You can also visit any one of our license vendors (anywhere that sells hunting or fishing licenses) in Iowa and purchase a duplicate hunter education certificate, if you have provided your certificate for a prior purchase.

ABCDs of Tree Stand Safety

Follow the ABCD's of tree stand safety!



4 Basic Rules

Following these simple four firearms safety rules will prevent most hunting related incidents.


Effectiveness of Blaze Orange

This short video provides tips about how wearing blaze orange can keep you safe in the field, provided by

Visit the Go Outdoors Iowa website to find a course in your area and to get registered.

  • If, as a student, you require reasonable accommodations to participate in a classroom type education program, please advise the listed contact person at the time of pre-registration.

The online hunter education course was designed for the busy student or working adult that cannot fit a traditional class into their schedule. The department recommends that students of the online coursework be age 16 or older. is authorized to provide the online hunter education coursework for Iowa and the student still needs to attend an Iowa Hunter Education Field Day class. Field day classes are limited and students will want to locate and register for a hunter education online field day class in their area, prior to completing the online course work. Upon completion of the online coursework, the student is issued a field day admission voucher which is valid for only one year. They are to print the voucher and present that voucher to the instructor on the day of their field day.

  • Students taking the hunter education online coursework cannot substitute a portion of a traditional hunter education class as the field day in order to complete their hunter education certification.
  • Students must present a copy of their field day voucher to the instructor at the field day class. The field day class includes some classroom instruction and a possibility of live fire exercises. Students will then take a final exam where a score of 75% or better is needed to pass and obtain the certificate of completion.

Sign up for the online hunter education course. is the only online hunter education course that can be taken on any device, including smartphones, tablets and computers. Learn from the courses award-winning videos, interactive animations and illustrations.

Get certified and start hunting in three easy steps:

1. Complete the Iowa online course work.

2. Complete a hunter education field day class.

3. Receive your Iowa hunter education certificate.  

If you are 11 to 17 years of age, complete the online hunter education course work and then register for the field day portion to complete your hunter education certification. Sign up the youth course. uses the same information that is taught in the today’s hunter manual. 

Sign up for the online hunter education course.

Notice: You must be 18 years of age or older to take this course.

The adult online only course has the same general content as the traditional classroom course and online/field day course but requires state specific information to be covered along with a final exam in which the student must achieve a score of 75% or better to pass.

This course is designed for adults that have prior hunting and/or firearms handling experience. If you do not have prior hunting or firearms handling experience it is recommended that you take a traditional classroom course or attend a field day in order to receive one on one firearms handling training with a certified hunter education instructor is the only online hunter education course that can be taken on any device, including smartphones, tablets, and computers. Learn from the courses award-winning videos, interactive animations, and illustrations.

Get certified and start hunting in three easy steps:

  1. Complete the iowa online course.
  2. Complete age-dependent certification requirements.
  3. Receive your iowa hunter education certificate. uses the same information that is taught in the Today’s Hunter manual.

Notice: You must be 21 years of age or older and an Iowa resident in order to complete this course.

Link to conceleader carry education course

Iowa's only approved dual hunter education and handgun safety course that meets the training requirements per Iowa law to apply for a nonprofessional permit to carry firearms. This course covers the same general content as the traditional classroom hunter education course, but also includes expanded information on handgun safety and laws. is the only combo hunter & concealed carry education course designed specifically for the state of iowa. This safety course is fully mobile-friendly and is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer. The course includes easy-to-understand handgun safety instructions and self-defense information, all taught by professional educators.

Get certified in three easy steps:

  1. Study and pass the Iowa online course.
  2. Print your combo hunter & concealed carry education certificate.
  3. Apply for your Iowa permit to carry weapons through your local Sheriff's Office.