
Turn In Poachers

1-800-532-2020 or
www.iowadnr.gov/tip

This booklet contains rules and regulations most likely needed for hunting in Iowa. However, it is not a 
complete list of all hunting regulations or laws, nor is it a legal document. For more information, go to 
www.iowadnr.gov or contact the DNR Central Office in Des Moines at 515-725-8200.

2020-21 
Iowa Hunting, Trapping & 
Migratory Game Bird Regulations
www.iowadnr.gov

2020-21 
Iowa Hunting, Trapping & 
Migratory Game Bird Regulations
www.iowadnr.gov
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unioncountyiowatourism.com

Feed Your Sense of Adventure
The natural beauty of Iowa — from scenic landscapes to thrilling outdoor activities — 

is the perfect place to satisfy anyone’s appetite for adventure.

Known as Iowa’s Great Lakes region, Okoboji offers its 
visitors a year-round playground with opportunities for 
boating, fishing and swimming. Or experience one of 
the premier sailing destinations in the Midwest at Clear 
Lake, where visitors can enjoy birdwatching, wildlife 
experiences, unique water trails and tournament fishing. 

Creston and Union County boast five lakes and 
more than 6,000 acres of parks, woodland, prairies 
and wetlands for outdoor recreation. Three-Mile Lake’s 
open waters are popular for sailing, powerboating and 
waterskiing, while acres of underwater structures make 
for some of the best fish habitat in Iowa.

The state’s largest off-highway vehicle park in Fort Dodge 
features 65 miles of trails and tracks for all experience 
levels through rolling hills and timber. The park serves 
as a destination for ATVs, dirt bikes, side by sides and 
snowmobiles. 

In all, Iowa’s County Parks offer over 215,000 acres 
featuring 2,024 parks, 240+ cabins, 11,000 campsites, 
close to 2,000 miles of trails and over 26,000 programs 
and events. This includes some of the most unique 
lodging around, such as tiny cabins and repurposed 
authentic Iowa grain bins. 

For stunning views of the Des Moines River Valley and 
Lake Red Rock, climb 170 steps to the top of the 
Midwest’s tallest observation tower, located in Cordova 
Park near Pella.

Seeking a more relaxed pace? Come aboard America’s 
most authentic Mississippi River experience, the 
Riverboat Twilight in Le Claire. Take a seat or lay on 
the deck of this Victorian-inspired ship while the captain 
narrates your journey through breathtaking river views 
and diverse wildlife. 

Off the water, Iowa is home to some of the most beautiful, 
naturally crafted overlooks in the country. Breathe in fresh 
air while hiking on top of the limestone bluffs that line 
Mason City, the world-renowned Loess Hills or one of 
the many trails in the Trail Capital of Iowa, Pottawattamie 
County. 

vacationokoboji.com

travelnorthiowa.com

fortdodgecvb.com mycountyparks.com

visitpella.com

riverboattwilight.com

wattawayia.com

There is no wrong way to 
experience the natural beauty 
that Iowa has to offer. 
For more information on outdoor-related 

events and festivals at these and other 

great Iowa destinations, check out our 

online calendar at traveliowa.com.
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The Iowa DNR is committed to fighting the spread of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD).  A harvested infected 
deer can no longer make direct contact with other deer, helping slow the disease. CWD is 100 percent fatal to 
infected deer. Infected deer may not display symptoms, and testing is the only way to know if a deer is infected.  

HUNTERS: Help Fight Chronic Wasting Disease

1. PROVIDE THE SAMPLE. The DNR collects tissue samples in 
every county. By thorough testing, the disease can be tracked. Call your 
local wildlife unit (p. 45) and they can make arrangements if additional 
samples are needed from your hunting area. 
2. STOP THE SPREAD. Do not use feed or salt-mineral licks to 
attract deer. High concentrations of deer can lead to the spread of the 
disease. 
3. PROPERLY TRANSPORT AND DISPOSE. Do not leave a 
carcass or bones to decay on the land. Disposal with residential waste 
is permissible. Contact your local waste hauler for requirements. Make 
absolutely sure not to transport and dump carcasses outside of the area 
where the deer were shot, as this will spread the disease to new areas.

Three ways you can fight CWD:

HUNTERS: Help Fight Chronic Wasting Disease

Iowans visit public wild places in high numbers during 
COVID-19

This spring when the world around us came to a screeching halt, Iowans rediscovered their 
love of our natural wild places. Being released from our scheduled out lives, we were free to take 
our families outside exploring our forests, prairies, lakes and wetlands.

Iowans enjoyed these areas responsibly in small groups, as did hunters during the spring 
turkey season where strong hunter turnout culminated in a record harvest.

We at the DNR are committed to providing high quality natural places because we know 
these places fill an important role in the lives of Iowans. These areas are developed using native 
ecotype wild flowers, grasses, trees and shrubs to provide high quality habitat that will, in turn, 
produce and sustain wildlife and make a positive impact on our air and water quality.

We’re not only the land manager, we also use these areas – we bring our friends and fami-
lies to these same places for hunting, hiking and fishing and to watch wildlife.

During the self isolating, these places became an important escape for our families. As 
society begins to reacclimate to public life, we will continue to manage these areas for all to enjoy 
with the hope that these public wild places continue to fill an important role for recreation and for 
our wellbeing.

As a hunter, you play a significant role in supporting these areas through your license pur-
chases and by continuing our great outdoor traditions. Thank you for being a hunter and I’ll see 
you in the field.

Kayla Lyon
Director, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
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Hunting 16 years old and older................. $22.00
Habitat Fee (Age 16-64)............................ $15.00
Hunting & Habitat Fee Combo.................. $35.00
Hunting 3-Year with Habitat Fee................ $101.00
Migratory Game Bird Fee.......................... $11.50
Federal Duck Stamp................................ $28.50
Apprentice (includes hunting & habitat)................. $35.00
Furharvester Age 16 & Older .................... $26.00
Furharvester Under 16.............................. $7.50
Hunting, Fishing, Habitat Fee Combo....... $55.00 
Hunting Preserve....................................... $7.00
Lifetime Hunting (Age 65 & older)............. $61.50
Lifetime Furharvester (Age 65 & Older).... $61.50
DEER & TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Deer Licenses
	 General Deer.......................................... $33.00
	 Anterless-only, First License................... $28.50
	 Anterless-only Second & All Others........ $15.00
Paid Wild Turkey...................................... $28.50
Landowner-Tenant - Farm Unit Only
	 General Deer.......................................... $2.00
	 Antlerless-only........................................ $2.00
	 Reduced Fee Antlerless-only.................. $15.00
	 Wild Turkey............................................. $1.00

Hunting 18 years & older............................$131.00
**Hunting 16 - 18 years old .......................$32.00 
*Hunting 5-day 18 years & older................$77.00
Habitat Fee.................................................$15.00
Hunting & Habitat Fee Combo 
18 & Older..................................................$144.00
Migratory Game Bird Fee...........................$11.50
Federal Duck Stamp.................................$28.50
*Apprentice (includes hunting & habitat)...................... $144.00
Furharvester & Habitat Fee Combo...........$247.00

*May not be used for deer or turkey hunting.
**Nonresidents under age 16, see p. 12.

LICENSES are available online at 
www.iowadnr.gov or at any of the 
retail outlets across the state

DONATE TO TURN IN POACHERS
Hunters and anglers may donate $2 to the 
TIP program when purchasing a license. 
The contribution will help put fish and wildlife 
poachers out of business.

TIP
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Nonresident licenses for 2021 are on sale Jan. 1, 2021. 
2020 nonresident licenses expire Jan. 10, 2021.
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1License not required for residents under 16 if accompanied by a licensed adult (18 years or older). See p. 12. 2Lifetime 
hunting license available to residents who qualify. Deer and Turkey licenses, Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee and Federal 
Waterfowl Stamp must be purchased annually. 3License not required for qualifying resident and nonresident landowners or 
tenants or their juvenile children when hunting or trapping on their own land. See p. 13.  4Unless under 16 years old. 5Required 
for hunting and trapping all furbearers, except coyote and groundhog, which may also be taken on a hunting license.  6Except 
residents under 16 or 65 and older. See wildlife habitat fee on p. 12. 7Needed to hunt ducks, geese, gallinule, rails, snipe 
and woodcock. 8See p. 12 and 13. 9Hunting license and habitat fee required for all nonresidents hunting deer and turkey. 
10Residents issued a disabled veteran lifetime hunting license are exempt from the habitat fee.
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You need the resident or nonresident licenses and stamps listed below to hunt or trap in Iowa. All licenses, 
fees and stamps must be carried on your person while hunting or trapping. 

R = Resident  NR = Nonresident    = License or fee required  Blank = Not required  a
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HIGHLIGHTS & CHANGES

n

DEER
The Antlerless-only license quotas in 21 coun-
ties has changed. See p. 8.
New Deer Management Zones have been 
established in 12 areas impacted by Chronic 
Wasting Disease and the January antlerless 
season will not be offered this year. See p. 33.
The early muzzleloader buck-only restriction 
has been removed from counties in northwest 
Iowa.
The age to qualify for senior antlerless cross-
bow license has been lowered to 65. 

WATERFOWL SEASONS, LIMITS, STAMPS
Bag limit for scaup has changed. See p. 9.
The Light Geese Conservation Order has 
been extended to close on May 1. See p. 9.  
If using the Federal E-stamp, the physical 
stamp will be mailed to the address on file - 
make sure your address on file is correct. 

n

ATTENTION HUNTERS - Give us your thoughts & feedback on your hunting experiences at the  
annual public meetings in late winter. Go to www.iowadnr.gov/hunting for dates, time & locations. 

HUNTERS: MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD

n

n

a a a a

a a a a a

a a a a

a

a a a

n

FURHARVESTERS
Boone and Webster counties are now open to 
bobcat harvest. See p. 32.
The quota for river otters has been increased 
to 3 per licensed furharvester. See p. 33.
The DNR will NOT be collecting otter and 
bobcat skulls and lower jaws this year for tooth 
aging purposes. 

n

a

n

n

n

n
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SPECIES	 SEASON	 SHOOTING HOURS		 BAG LIMITS
			   DAILY		 POSSESSION
Rooster Pheasant (Youth)1	 Oct. 24-25	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 1		  2
Rooster Pheasant	 Oct. 31 - Jan. 10, 2021	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 3		  12
Bobwhite Quail	 Oct. 31 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 8		  16
Gray Partridge	 Oct. 10 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.	 8		  16
Ruffed Grouse	   Oct. 3 - Jan. 31, 2021	 Sunrise to Sunset	 3		  6
Rabbit (Cottontail)	 Sept. 5 - Feb. 28, 2021	 Sunrise to Sunset	 10		  20
Rabbit (Jack)	 CLOSED		  0		  0
Squirrel (Fox and Gray)	 Sept. 5 - Jan. 31, 2021	 No Restrictions	 6		  12
Groundhog2	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
Crow	 Oct. 15 - Nov. 30 and	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
	 Jan. 14 - March 31, 2021				  
Pigeon 	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
Coyote2, 3	 Continuous Open Season	 No Restrictions	 No Limit		  No Limit
1 Residents age 15 or younger. See p. 14 for complete requirements	
2 May be hunted on either a hunting or furharvester license.  3See p. 31 for trapping information.  
Coyote or groundhog may be hunted on a hunting or furharvester license.

2021 SPRING TURKEY HUNTING 	 SEASON DATES
COMBINATION GUN/BOW LICENSES
Youth Season (Residents Only)	 April 9-11
Season 1	 April 12-15
Season 2 	 April 16-20
Season 3	 April 21-27
Season 4	 April 28-May 16
RESIDENT ARCHERY-ONLY LICENSES: 	 April 12-May 16

BAG LIMIT: Daily bag and season possession limit is one bearded or male wild turkey for 
each valid license and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 
SHOOTING HOURS: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset.
See p. 46 for Spring Turkey regulations.

The pheasant population survey is available in early September at www.iowadnr.gov/pheasantsurvey
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The NONRESIDENT spring turkey application period is Jan. 1 to the last Sunday in January.  
The application is available in December at http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Nonresident-Hunting

The Ruffed Grouse hunting zone is that por-
tion of northeast Iowa bordered by U.S. High-
ways 63, 20 and 151, and Iowa Highways 13 
and 64. Ruffed Grouse hunters are  
required to wear blaze orange. See p. 14. 

RUFFED GROUSE HUNTING ZONE

**HUNTERS -- Just a reminder, annual licenses, stamps and fees expire on January 10. As the  
opportunity to hunt extends later into January, be sure to replace those that have expired.

HUNTING SEASONS AND LIMITS
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SEASONS	 SEASON DATES	 LICENSE ON-SALE DATES
Youth Season5	 Sept. 19-Oct. 4	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Disabled Hunter Season1	 Sept. 19-Oct. 4	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Archery Season6		
	 Early Split	 Oct. 1-Dec. 4	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
	 Late Split	 Dec. 21 - Jan. 10, 2021	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Early Muzzleloader2, 5	 Oct. 17-25	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Late Muzzleloader	 Dec. 21 - Jan. 10, 2021	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Shotgun		
	 Season 1	 Dec. 5-9	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
	 Season 2	 Dec. 12-20	 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Nonresident Holiday Season 3,4 	 Dec. 24 - Jan. 2, 2021	 Dec. 15 - End of Season
1 Requires permit to acquire from DNR. See p. 40.      2 Purchase until quota (7,500) is reached.
3 Purchase until nonresident antlerless quota is reached. 4 Nonresident deer zone maps are available online at 
www.iowadnr.gov/nonresidenthunting.  5 Residents only, see p. 40 for details.   
6 Includes senior antlerless-only licenses, see p. 40 for details.

Counties in Red: Antlered deer only during first shotgun season. The restriction does not apply to  
Landowner-Tenant licenses.

ANTLERLESS QUOTAS AND ANTLERED ONLY COUNTIES FOR  RESIDENT HUNTERS

Licenses are available from the sales date through the end of the season, or until quota fills. A  
current hunting license and habitat fee is also required. See p. 39 for resident deer license options. 
Shooting hours for all deer seasons are half-hour before sunrise to half-hour after sunset.

2020 DEER HUNTING SEASONS & QUOTAS
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DEER POPULATION MANAGEMENT ZONES 
Deer population management zone hunts are listed online at  

www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/DeerHunting/DeerManagementHunts See p. 41.

NONRESIDENTS: 
The nonresident deer application period is the first Saturday in May through the first Sunday in June. 
The application is available in December at http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Nonresident-Hunting
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2020-2021 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS SEASONS & LIMITS
SHOOTING HOURS: 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset for all species except woodcock and the  
September teal season which is sunrise to sunset. 

SEASON	 NORTH ZONE          	SOUTH ZONE          	 MISSOURI RIVER 
YOUTH WATERFOWL   	 Sept. 19-20	 Sept. 26-27	 Oct. 3-4

DUCKS, MERGANSERS & COOTS   	Sept. 26-Oct. 2 &	 Oct. 3-9 &      	 Oct. 10-16 &
  	 Oct. 10-Dec. 1  	 Oct. 17-Dec. 8   	 Oct. 24-Dec. 15

BAG LIMITS: 
DUCKS: Daily limit 6, including no more than 4 mallards (of which no more than 2 may be female), 
3 wood ducks, 2 redheads, 1 pintail, 2 black ducks, and 2 canvasback. Scaup bag limit: 1 for first 15 
days of the season, 2 for the remaining 45 days.
MERGANSERS: Daily limit 5, including no more than 2 hooded mergansers. 
COOTS: Daily limit 15. 
YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING DAYS: Shooting hours and daily bag limits will conform to those set 
for the regular waterfowl seasons.

SEASON	 NORTH ZONE          	 SOUTH ZONE          	 MISSOURI RIVER 
DARK GEESE & LIGHT GEESE	 Sept. 19-Oct 4 &	 Sept. 26-Oct. 11 &	 Oct. 3-18 &	
 	 Oct. 10-Dec. 1 &	 Oct. 17-Dec. 8 &	 Oct. 24-Dec. 15 &
	 Dec. 12-Jan. 9, 2021	 Dec. 19-Jan. 16, 2021	 Dec. 26-Jan. 23, 2021
	
BAG LIMITS: 
DARK GEESE: The daily bag limit for Canada geese, white-fronted geese, brant and any other 
geese that are not light geese is 5 and may include no more than 2 Canada geese through October 
31 and no more than 3 Canada geese from November 1 through the end of the season. 
LIGHT GEESE: The daily bag limit for white and blue-phase snow geese and Ross’ geese is 20. 

STATEWIDE
SPECIAL SEPTEMBER TEAL Sept. 1-16	 Daily limit is 6
(Blue-winged, Green-winged & Cinnamon only) 
DOVES (Mourning & Eurasian Collared) Sept. 1-Nov. 29	 Daily limit is 15 
SNIPE Sept. 5-Nov. 30	 Daily limit is 8 
RAIL (Sora & Virginia) Sept. 5-Nov. 15	 Daily limit is 12
WOODCOCK Oct. 3-Nov. 18	 Daily limit is 3 

SPECIAL SEPTEMBER CANADA GOOSE SEASONS 
Only in designated zones around Des Moines, Cedar Rapids/Iowa City and Cedar Falls/Waterloo. 
Special regulations apply. See Special September Canada Goose Season maps at select license 
agents in hunt zones and online at http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Migratory-Game-Birds
CANADA GEESE Sept. 5-13	 Daily limit is 5

LIGHT GEESE CONSERVATION ORDER (additional regulations apply)
White & blue phase snow geese & Ross’ geese Jan. 26-May 1, 2021	

POSSESSION LIMITS: 
Possession limits are three times the daily bag limit for all migratory birds, except light geese for 
which there is no possession limit. 
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2020 FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING INFORMATION
NONRESIDENTS are not eligible 
for fall turkey hunting licenses.

LICENSE TYPE	 SEASON DATES	 SHOOTING HOURS
Gun/Bow1	 Oct. 12-Dec. 4	 Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset
Archery Only2	 Oct. 1 - Dec. 4 &	 Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset
		  Dec. 21- Jan. 10, 2021
1 Sold until quotas are filled.	
2 Sold until last day of the season. No quota. 
Bag Limit: Daily Bag & Season Possession Limit is one wild turkey of either sex for each valid license 
and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 

GUN/BOW  
	 Zone  Quota
	 4	 1,500
	 5	 650
	 6	 1,400
	 7	 250
	 8	 200
	 9	 200

Hunters may purchase 
up to two licenses begin-
ning Aug. 15. 
See p. 45 for more infor-
mation. 

FALL TURKEY ZONES
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FALL TURKEY HUNTING

FURBEARER SEASONS AND LIMITS

SPECIES	 SEASON	 TRAPPING HOURS	 DAILY	 POSSESSION
Coyote, Mink3, Muskrat3, 	 Nov. 7 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit	 No Limit
Weasel, Striped Skunk, 
Badger, Opossum, Fox
(Red and Gray), Raccoon
Beaver3	 Nov. 7 - April 15, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit	 No Limit
Otter1, 3	 Nov. 7 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 3	 3
Bobcat2	 Nov. 7 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 See p. 32	 See p. 32
Civet Cat (Spotted Skunk)	 Continuous Closed
Gray Wolf	 Continuous Closed

FURBEARER TRAPPING INFORMATION

1Only three otters are allowed per licensed furharvester. See p. 33. 
2A total of up to three bobcats are allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. The 
bag limit is based on the zone where the bobcat was taken. Additional requirements & zone map on p. 32. 
3Taking by shotgun or spear is prohibited.

A furharvester license is required to hunt or trap furbearers. Coyote or groundhog may be hunted on a 
hunting or furharvester license.

FURBEARER HUNTING INFORMATION
SPECIES	 SEASONS	 SHOOTING HOURS	 DAILY	 POSSESSION
Raccoon, Opossum,	 Nov. 7 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 No Limit	 No Limit	
Badger, Striped Skunk,
Fox (Red and Gray)	
Bobcats1	 Nov. 7 - Jan. 31, 2021	 8 a.m. on First Day	 See p. 32	 See p. 32
Coyote	 Continuous Open	 No Restrictions	 No Limit	 No Limit
1A total of up to three bobcats are allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. The 
bag limit is based on the zone where the bobcat was taken. Additional requirements & zone map on p. 32.   
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SPECIAL LICENSES FOR RESIDENTS
Iowa offers free annual hunting and fishing licens-

es and veteran lifetime hunting and fishing licenses 
to qualifying residents. For qualifications and special 
license applications, contact the DNR at 515-725-
8200.

HUNTER EDUCATION
Resident and nonresident hunters born after Jan. 

1, 1972, must satisfactorily complete a hunter edu-
cation course in order to obtain a hunting license. A 
person who is 11 years-old or older may enroll in a 
course, but those who are 11 and successfully com-
plete the course shall be issued a certificate of com-
pletion, which becomes valid on that person’s 12th 
birthday. Residents under the age of 12 can be issued 
deer and turkey licenses, but the youth hunter must 
be accompanied by, and under the immediate control 
of, or direct supervision of, a licensed adult hunter.

For class dates and locations, call  
515-725-8200 or go to www.iowadnr.gov/huntered 

Alternative. A hunter education certificate is-
sued by another state or certain foreign nations will 
meet the above requirement. Proof of completion 
is required when purchasing your first Iowa hunting 
license.

PURCHASING A LICENSE
The Iowa Department of Natural Resources 

is required to collect social security numbers 
from all persons obtaining a hunting, fishing or 
other recreational license under section 252J.8 
of the Code of Iowa and 42 U.S. Code 666(a)
(13). Your social security number will serve as 
your principal identification number to determine 
your eligibility for licenses. It will be provided 
to enforcement agencies to establish, modify 
and enforce child support and tax obligations. 
It WILL NOT appear on your hunting or fishing 
license.

HUNTING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

REQUIREMENTS FOR PURCHASING  
RESIDENT LICENSES 

A NONRESIDENT is a person who is not a resi-
dent of Iowa. NOTE: Iowa residents who have previ-
ously hunted, fished and/or trapped as nonresidents 
are urged to plan ahead to obtain license privileges. 
The electronic licensing system for hunting, fishing 
and trapping automatically identifies people who 
have previously obtained licenses as nonresidents. 
This law change was made to identify a growing 
problem in Iowa of nonresidents falsifying records to 
illegally obtain (invalid) resident licenses. Hunters, 
anglers and trappers who previously held a nonresi-
dent Iowa license but are now eligible for resident 
licenses need to fill out and return a form that can be 
accessed at www.iowadnr.gov/license. Former non-
residents are encouraged to do this as soon as pos-
sible as changes may take up to two weeks. License 
vendors CANNOT make this change at the point of 
sale and it cannot be done over the phone. For ques-
tions, contact the local conservation officer.

RESIDENT means a natural person who meets 
one of the following criteria. 

1. Has physically resided in this state as the per-
son’s principal and primary residence or domicile for 
a period of not less than 90 consecutive days imme-
diately before applying for or purchasing a resident 
license, and has an Iowa driver’s license or non-op-
erators ID. Factors to determine the domicile include, 
but are not limited to: place of employment, mailing 
(street) address, utility records, real estate records, 
vehicle registrations.

A person is not considered a resident under this 
paragraph if the person is residing in the state only 
for a special or temporary purpose including, but not 
limited to; engaging in hunting, fishing or trapping. 

2. Is a full-time student at an accredited educa-
tional institution in Iowa and resides in Iowa while 
attending the educational institution, or is a full-time 
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student under 25 years of age at an accredited 
educational institution outside the state as long as at 
least one parent or legal guardian maintains a princi-
pal and primary residence in Iowa. 

3. Is a nonresident under 18 years of age with a 
parent who is a legal resident of Iowa.

4. Is a member of the armed forces of the United 
States who is serving on active duty and meets any 
of the following qualifications: 

(1) Claims residency in this state and has filed 
a state individual income tax return as a resident 
pursuant to chapter 422, division II, for the preceding 
tax year.

(2) Is stationed at a federal military installation in 
this state, or at a federal military installation contigu-
ous to a county in this state, and is domiciled within 
this state.

(3) Is stationed at and resides or is domiciled 
within a federal military installation located contigu-
ous to a county in this state.

Dual Residency Not Permitted: Unless you 
qualify under 2, 3 or 4 in the previous paragraph, a 
person shall not purchase or apply for any resident 
license or permit if that person has claimed residency 
in any other state or country. 

LICENSES, FEES & STAMPS REQUIRED
Iowa residents 16 years and older, and 

nonresidents regardless of age, are required to have 
a valid Hunting License on their person, and have 
paid all applicable fees and possess all required 
stamps while hunting game or participating in the 
hunt. See p. 6. Participation in a hunt includes, but is 
not limited to: handling firearms or ammunition during 
the hunt; trying to attract game, driving, flushing, or 
locating game; and working dogs.

WILDLIFE HABITAT FEE - Iowa residents age 
16-64 and nonresidents regardless of age who are 
required to have a Hunting or Furharvester License 
must pay the Wildlife Habitat Fee to hunt or trap. 

IOWA MIGRATORY GAME BIRD FEE - All 
residents and nonresidents (16 years or older) must 
pay the Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee to hunt wild 
geese, brant, ducks, snipe, rail, woodcock, gallinule 
or coot. The fee must be paid even if a Hunting 
License is not required.

FEDERAL MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING & 
CONSERVATION STAMP - The law requires that 
each waterfowl hunter 16 years of age and older 
must carry on his person a Migratory Bird Hunting 
and Conservation Stamp (Federal Duck Stamp) that 
is validated by the hunter signing the stamp in ink 
across the face of the stamp. The Stamp is required 
even if a Hunting License is not required. 

E-Stamp: The physical stamp will be mailed to the 
address on file. Hunters need to make sure their ad-
dress is current. 

DEER & TURKEY HUNTERS - Residents and 
nonresidents who hunt deer or wild turkey must have 
a valid resident or nonresident Deer or Wild Turkey 
License on their person while hunting. Residents 
must also have a valid resident Hunting License 
and have paid the Habitat Fee if normally required 
to have them to hunt.  All nonresidents must have a 
valid nonresident Hunting License and have paid the 
Habitat Fee.  

FURHARVESTERS - All residents and 
nonresidents regardless of age must have a 
Furharvester License to trap or hunt furbearing 
animals. Residents 16 to 64 years old and all 
nonresidents regardless of age must also have paid 
the Habitat Fee. A Hunting License is not needed 
to hunt furbearers. Coyote and groundhog may 
be hunted with either a Furharvester License or a 
Hunting License. Nonresident furharvesters wanting 
to purchase an Iowa nonresident Furharvester 
License may do so only if their state of residence also 
sells a nonresident Furharvester/Trapping License to 
Iowa residents.

APPRENTICE LICENSE - Allows the apprentice 
age 16 and older to hunt under the direct supervision 
of a mentor (age 18 or older) who has a current 
hunting license and habitat fee, without completing a 
hunter education course. Apprentice licenses may be 
purchased twice in a lifetime. The hunter must then 
satisfactorily complete a hunter education course to 
obtain a Hunting License. Apprentices must have paid 
all applicable fees and possess all required stamps 
while hunting game or participating in the hunt.

NONRESIDENT FALCONRY PERMIT - All 
nonresident falconers, regardless of age, who intend 
to hunt with a bird of prey must purchase and have 
in their possession a nonresident Falconry Permit, 
a nonresident Hunting License, and have paid the 
Habitat Fee. These permits are available wherever 
hunting licenses are sold or may be purchased online 
at www.iowadnr.gov. Call 515-725-8200 for details.

THE FOLLOWING DO NOT NEED A HUNTING 
LICENSE AND/OR PAY CERTAIN FEES:

1a) Residents and nonresidents under 16 
years old who hunt under the direct supervision 
of their properly licensed parent, guardian, or other 
competent adult with the consent of the parent or 
guardian do not need a Hunting License or pay the 
Habitat or Migratory Game Bird fee. One properly 
licensed adult must accompany each unlicensed 
hunter under 16 years old.

1b) Residents 12 to 15 years old may hunt 
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without adult supervision, but must have a Hunting 
License and must have passed a hunter education 
course (see p. 11 for hunter education training 
requirements). 
Persons exempted under 1a) or 1b) must 
have a Deer & Turkey Hunting License to 
hunt deer & turkey  

2) Military personnel that qualify as a 
resident of Iowa, that are on active duty with 
the armed forces of the United States, and are on 
authorized leave from a duty station outside of Iowa, 
do not need a Hunting License, Deer License, Wild 
Turkey License, or pay the Habitat Fee. They must 
possess a Federal Migratory Waterfowl Stamp and 
pay the Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee to hunt 
migratory game birds. They must carry their leave 
papers on their person while hunting and a copy 
of their current earnings statement showing a tax 
deduction for Iowa income taxes for the previous 
year. They may claim residency in lieu of their 
earnings statement by being registered to vote in 
Iowa. If a deer or wild turkey is taken, a conservation 
officer must be contacted immediately to obtain a 
transportation tag for the animal. They are allowed 
only one turkey and one deer per calendar year. 
Conservation officer cell phone numbers are listed 
on p. 52.

3) Persons with a dog entered in a 
licensed field trial may participate in the event 
and train their dog on the same area where the 
field trial will be held during the 24-hour period 
immediately preceding the trial. 

HUNTING LICENSES FOR  
LANDOWNERS & TENANTS THAT  
FARM AGRICULTURAL LAND

1) Small game and furbearers. Resident 
and nonresident owners and tenants that farm 
agricultural land in Iowa and their juvenile children 
(see below) do not need licenses to hunt and trap 
on such lands and may shoot by lawful means 
ground squirrels, gophers, and woodchucks upon 
adjacent roads.  Deer and Wild Turkey Licenses are 
required to hunt deer and wild turkey. Nonresidents 
hunting deer or wild turkey must also have a Hunting 
License and pay the Habitat Fee. A valid Federal 
Migratory Waterfowl Stamp and an Iowa Migratory 
Game Bird Fee is required to hunt waterfowl and 
other migratory game birds if they are 16 years old 
or older. 

2) Deer and Wild Turkey. Iowa residents 
who are owners of agricultural land or tenants that 
farm agricultural land, or are a spouse or child of 
the owner or tenant that reside with the owner or 
tenant, are eligible for Landowner-Tenant Deer and 
Wild Turkey Hunting Licenses, commonly called 
landowner-tenant licenses. Owning land in Iowa 
does not confer residency. Nonresident landowners 
and tenants are not eligible for these licenses. See 
p. 11 for residency requirements.

Landowner-Tenant deer and turkey licenses 
are valid for taking the appropriate species, but 
only on the farm unit of the owner or tenant. Land 
registration is required. To register, or for more 
information, go to www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/
Landowner-Assistance/Landowner-Registration. 
The qualifying landowner or tenant does not have 
to reside on the farm, but must qualify under the 
definitions below.  
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LANDOWNER OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must have legal ownership in qualifying land, be  
a resident of Iowa, and meet one or more of the fol-
lowing:
l	 Operator on the farm unit.
l	 Make annual decisions about the farm operation.
l	 Raise specialty crops.
l	 Land is enrolled in a conservation reserve  
program.
l	 Rent entire farm to an adult child who operates 
the farm unit.

TENANT OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must be a resident of Iowa and rents and actively 
farms agricultural land owned by another person. 
Rental includes cash rent or share crop arrange-
ments.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS
Spouse or child (under 18 years old or 18 or 19 and in 
high school or a general equivalency degree program) 
who resides with owner or tenant.

DEER TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l	 One General Deer Tag
l	 One Antlerless Deer Tag
l	 Two paid Antlerless Deer Tags
l	A Youth Season Deer Tag counts as one tag of 
the farm unit’s total. Youth up to age 18 are eligible.

TURKEY TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l	 One Spring Turkey Tag
l	 One Fall Turkey Tag

LANDOWNER/TENANT QUALIFICATION OVERVIEW
Two or more contiguous acres operated as a farm unit for agricultural purposes.
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UPLAND GAME HUNTING 
License Requirements and Fees

See p. 6 and 12. 

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIRED
To hunt pheasant, quail, gray partridge and 

ruffed grouse you must wear at least one of 
the following articles of visible, external appar-
el with at least 50 percent of its surface area 
solid blaze orange in color: hat, cap, vest, 
coat, jacket, sweatshirt, shirt or coveralls. 

TRANSPORTING PHEASANTS
A foot, fully feathered wing, or fully feath-

ered head must remain attached to any 
pheasant transported within the state. The 
bird may be field dressed, but the carcass 
must remain intact.

YOUTH PHEASANT SEASON
Resident hunters ages 15 or younger may 

hunt rooster (male) pheasants during the 
Youth Pheasant Season without having a 
Hunting License, paying the Habitat Fee, or 
passing a hunter education course. The youth 
hunter must be accompanied by an adult 18 
years old or older who has a valid Hunting 
License and has paid the Habitat Fee if nor-
mally required to do so to hunt. Only the youth 
may shoot pheasants. The adult may shoot 
other game if seasons are open. All other 
regulations in effect for the regular pheasant 
season apply during the youth hunt. 

HUNTING ACCIDENTS MUST BE REPORTED
Anyone involved in a hunting accident involv-

ing a firearm, which results in a personal injury 
or property damage exceeding $100, must report 
the accident within 12 hours to the sheriff’s office 
in the county where the accident occurred, to the 
local conservation officer, or if neither are avail-
able and it is between 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. M-F, to 
the DNR in Des Moines at 515-725-8200.

GENERAL HUNTING REGULATIONS
DEFINITIONS
Please read the definitions of these terms, 
commonly used in the hunting regulations 
summary, before referring to the rest of the 
text.

“Hunting” means any pursuing, hunting, 
killing, trapping, snaring, netting, searching 
for or shooting at, stalking or lying in wait for 
any game, animal, bird or fish protected by the 
state laws or rules adopted by the commission 
whether or not such animal is captured, killed or 
injured. 

“Limits” Daily Bag Limit or Possession Limit 
is the number of a species permitted to be taken 
or held in a specified time. 

“Physically handicapped person,” when 
used in reference to crossbow permits for deer 
and turkey hunting, means a person having a 
physical impairment of the upper extremities 
that makes a person physically incapable of 
shooting a bow and arrow. This includes diffi-
culty in lifting and reaching with arms as well as 
difficulty in handling and fingering a bow.

“Severely disabled person,” when used 
in reference to the Disabled Hunter deer sea-
son, means a person that qualifies as severely 
disabled under Iowa Code Chapter 321L.1.8, 
including those who have difficulty walking due 
to lung or heart disease or an arthritic, neuro-
logical or orthopedic condition.

“Trespass” means entering property without 
the express permission of the owner, lessee or 
person in lawful possession, with the intent to 
commit a public offense; to use, remove there-
from, alter, damage, harass, or place anything 
animate or inanimate, or to hunt, fish or trap on 
the property, including the act of taking or at-
tempting to take a deer which is on or in the 
property by a person who is outside the property. 
The term trespass does not mean entering the 
right-of-way of a public road or highway. Railroad 
right-of-ways are considered private property.

This paragraph does not prohibit the  
individual unarmed shooter (not entire party) 
from taking the most direct route in pursuit of 
game or furbearing animals lawfully injured or 
killed that come to rest on, or escape to, the 
property of another. 

G
E

N
E

R
A

L 
 

R
E

G
U

LA
T

IO
N

S



15

G
E

N
E

R
A

L 
 

R
E

G
U

LA
T

IO
N

S

POSSESSION & STORAGE 
A person having lawful possession of game 

or furbearing animals or pelts taken with a 
valid license by that person, may hold, pos-
sess or store the game or furbearing animals 
or pelts in an amount that does not exceed the 
possession limit until the day before the first 
day of the next open season for that game or 
furbearing animal. Any person may possess 
up to 25 pounds of deer venison if the deer 
was lawfully obtained.  

OBSTRUCTION OF HUNTING OR TRAPPING
A person shall not interfere with the lawful 

hunting or trapping activities of another person 
where hunting or trapping is authorized by a 
custodian of public property or an owner or 
lessee of private property. Acts that could be 
considered as interfering, obstructing or ha-
rassing include, but are not limited to:
•	 intentionally placing oneself in a location 

where human presence may affect the 
behavior of a furbearing animal, game bird 
or other game or the feasibility of killing or 
taking a furbearing animal, game bird or 
other game; 

•	 intentionally creating a visual, audio, olfac-
tory or physical stimulus for the purpose 
of affecting the behavior of a furbearing 
animal, game bird or other game;

•	 intentionally affecting the condition or alter-
ing the placement of personal property 
used for the purpose of taking furbearing 
animals, birds or other game.

This rule does not prohibit a landowner, 
tenant or an employee of the landowner or 
tenant from performing normal agricultural 
operations or a law enforcement officer from 
performing official duties.

BLINDS
A blind can either be portable or stationary. A 

blind can be a constructed place of concealment 
for hunting, observing or photographing wildlife. 
You may construct a blind on a game manage-
ment area using only the natural vegetation 
found in the area, except that no trees or parts 
of trees other than willows can be cut for that 
purpose. The use of all blinds on game manage-
ment areas is on a first-come, first-served basis 
regardless of blind type or construction. 

SHOWING LICENSE TO OFFICER
Upon request, you must show your license, 

certificate or permit to any peace officer or the 
owner or person in lawful control of the land 
or water on which you are hunting or trap-
ping. You must have in your possession either 
in license form or electronically, your license, 
certificate or permit.

USE OF CB, MOBILE TRANSMITTER, CELL 
PHONE 

You cannot use a one or two-way mobile 
radio transmitter to communicate the location 
or direction of game or furbearing animals, or 
to coordinate the movement of other hunters. 

Exceptions: Coyote hunters may use two-
way radios, except during the two shotgun 
deer seasons. A falconer may use a one-way 
mobile transmitter to recover a free-flying bird 
of prey that is properly banded and covered on 
a falconry permit. Hunters with dogs may use 
a one-way mobile transmitter to track or aid in 
the recovery of the dog. 

UNLAWFUL TRANSPORTATION 
You cannot ship, carry or transport, in any 

one day, game, fish, birds or animals (except 
furbearing animals) in excess of the number le-
gally permitted to be possessed, unless autho-
rized by a special license such as a Taxidermy 
License.

GAME BROUGHT INTO THE STATE 
You may possess game that has been 

lawfully taken outside the state and lawfully 
brought into the state, but you must be able 
to prove it was legally killed and legally trans-
ported into the state. See p. 38 for big game 
exceptions. 

RETRIEVAL & WASTE OF GAME
While taking or attempting to take game or 

furbearing animals, you cannot abandon the 
injured animal without making a reasonable 
effort to retrieve it from the field. You cannot 
leave a usable portion of the game or furbear-
ing animal in the field. “Usable portion” in this 
instance means the following: 1) for game, that 
part of an animal that is customarily processed 
for consumption; and 2) for furbearing animals, 
the fur or hide of the animal.
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You cannot drive or otherwise place any nail, 
spike, pin or any other object, metal or otherwise, 
into any tree on a game management area to 
construct a blind or to make access to a blind or 
to a hunting location above the ground. 

Portable blinds shall be prohibited from one 
hour after sunset until midnight each day. Porta-
ble blinds which are built on, or are part of, a boat 
shall be considered as removed from an area 
when the boat and blind are tied up or moored at 
an approved access site. No boat shall be an-
chored away from shore and left unattended un-
less it is attached to a legal buoy. Portable blinds 
left on game management areas do not guaran-
tee the owner exclusive use of the blind when 
unattended, or exclusive use of the site. Portable 
blinds placed in trees (treestands) and used for 
purposes other than hunting waterfowl may be 
left on an area for a continuous period of time 
beginning seven days prior to the open season 
for hunting deer or wild turkey and ending seven 
days after the final day that open season. See p. 
36 for deer blinds.

DECOYS 
Live animals may not be used as decoys for 

any type of hunting. A “decoy” is a likeness of a 
bird or animal used to lure game within shooting 
range. Decoys cannot be left unattended for 
more than 30 minutes between midnight and 
one-half hour after sunset.

SELLING GAME 
You cannot buy or sell, dead or alive, a bird 

or animal, including fish, or any part of one that 
is protected. This does not apply to furbearing 
animals and the skins, plumage and antlers of 
legally taken game. You cannot purchase, sell, 
barter or offer to purchase, sell or barter migra-
tory game birds; and for millinery or ornamental 
use, the same applies to the feathers of migra-
tory game birds.

TRANSPORTING FIREARMS
A person, except as permitted by law, shall not 

have or carry a gun in or on a vehicle on a public 
highway, unless the gun is taken down or totally 
contained in a securely fastened case, and its 
barrels and attached magazines are unloaded. 
Handguns must be transported unloaded in 
a closed and fastened container or securely 

wrapped package too large to conceal on your 
person or in a cargo or luggage compartment 
that is not readily accessible to any person in 
the vehicle. Muzzleloaders must be cased but 
will be considered unloaded if the cap is re-
moved from the nipple or the priming charge is 
removed from the pan. 

PROHIBITED HUNTING NEAR BUILDINGS 
You cannot discharge a firearm, or shoot 

or attempt to shoot, a game or furbearing ani-
mal within 200 yards of a building inhabited by 
people or domestic livestock or a feedlot unless 
the owner or tenant has given consent to do so. 
Feedlot means a lot, yard or corral where live-
stock is confined for the purpose of feeding and 
growth prior to slaughter. Pastures, hayfields or 
cropfields where animals are allowed to graze 
are not considered feedlots.

PROTECTION OF PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS 
If a public hunting area was in place prior to 

the construction of an adjacent feedlot or building 
inhabited by people or livestock and such con-
struction occurred on or after May 14, 2004, then 
consent is not required to shoot on the public 
hunting area or within 200 yards of the feedlot or 
building. This act protects existing uses of public 
hunting areas from infringements caused by new 
construction and development.

As used in this subsection, “public hunting 
area” means public lands or waters available for 
hunting by the public and identified as a public 
hunting area by the city, county, state or federal 
government. 

ARTIFICIAL LIGHT & LASER SIGHTS
Sights that project a light beam, including laser 

sights, are not legal for hunting. You cannot cast 
the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light on a highway or in a field, woodland or for-
est for the purpose of spotting, locating, taking or 
attempting to take or hunt a bird or animal, while 
having in possession or control, either singly or 
as one of a group of persons, any firearm, bow or 
other device capable of killing or taking a bird or 
animal. This rule does not apply to hunting rac-
coons or other furbearing animals when they are 
treed with the aid of dogs.

A person may use an infrared light source to 
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hunt coyotes as long as the infrared light source 
is mounted to the method of take or to a scope 
mounted on the method of take. HOWEVER, no 
person shall use an infrared light source to hunt 
coyotes during any established muzzleloader, 
bow, or shotgun deer hunting season.

SHOOTING RIFLE OVER WATER  
OR HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any of 
the public highways or waters of the state or any 
railroad right-of-way. You cannot discharge a 
shotgun shooting a slug, pistol or revolver on or 
over a public roadway (see diagram below). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a 
handgun from a highway; or discharge a shotgun 
shooting slugs from a highway north of U.S. High-
way 30, while deer hunting.

“Roadway” means the portion of the highway 
improved, designed or ordinarily used for ve-
hicular travel, including the shoulder.

“Highway” means the entire width between 
property lines, from fenceline to fenceline (in-
cludes the ditches). 

HUNTING FROM AIRCRAFT OR  
SNOWMOBILES PROHIBITED
	 A person shall not intentionally kill or wound, 
attempt to kill or wound, or pursue any animal, 
fowl, or fish from or with an aircraft in flight, or 
from or with any vehicles commonly known as 
snowmobiles.  

MOTOR VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS 
The use of motor vehicles on all game  

management areas is restricted.
Motor vehicle means any self-propelled  

vehicle, including ATVs and snowmobiles. 
Roads and parking lots. Motor vehicles are 

prohibited on a game management areas ex-

cept on constructed and designated roads and 
parking lots unless specifically permitted.

Mobility disabled persons. Any person who 
has a physical (or mental) impairment that sub-
stantially limits their ability to walk, stand, bend, 
or lift may access game  
management areas with a manually-operated or 
power-driven wheelchair or scooter if the device 
is designed primarily for use by an  
individual with a mobility disability for either  
indoor or outdoor locomotion. Mobility  
disabled persons who wish to use some other 
power-driven device for mobility assistance, 
such as an ATV, golf cart, or Segway, must con-
tact the manager (p. 51) prior to accessing any 
game management area.  

LIQUIDATED DAMAGES
In addition to penalties assessed by the court, 

a person convicted of unlawfully selling, taking, 
catching, killing, injuring, destroying or having in 
their possession any animal, shall reimburse the 
state for the value of the animal as follows:
•	 Antlered deer 150 gross inches or less: 

$2,000-$5,000 plus 80 hours of community 
service; without community service, $4,000-
$10,000, as deemed by the court

•	 Antlered deer more than 150 gross inches: 
$5,000-$10,000 plus 80 hours of community 
service; without community service, $10,000-
$20,000 as deemed by the court

•	 For each deer: $1,500
•	 For each bobcat, wild turkey, beaver, mink,  

otter, red fox, gray fox or raccoon: $200
•	 For each animal or bird or the raw pelt or 

plumage of such animal or bird for which  
damages are not otherwise prescribed: $50

•	 For each reptile, mussel or amphibian: $15
•	 For each animal classified by the Natural 

Resource Commission as an endangered or 
threatened species: $1,000

•	 For each wild elk, antelope, buffalo or  
moose: $2,500

•	 For each swan or crane: $1,500
•	 For each conviction of unlawfully harvesting 

ginseng, the state will be reimbursed 150 per-
cent of the market value as determined by the 
department.
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The DNR has designated portions of some wildlife management areas as “wildlife  
refuges” or “waterfowl refuges.” 
WILDLIFE REFUGES
Restrictions: It shall be unlawful to hunt, pursue, kill, trap, or take any wild animal, 
bird, or game on Wildlife Refuges at any time, and no one shall carry firearms thereon, 
except where and when specifically authorized by the DNR. It shall also be unlawful to 
trespass in any manner on the following areas, where posted, during the dates posted, 
both dates inclusive, except that DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may 
enter the area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the super-
vision of department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

WATERFOWL REFUGES
Restrictions. It shall be unlawful to hunt ducks and geese on the following areas, 
where posted, at any time during the year. After the final day of the duck season, entry 
into the Waterfowl Refuge is allowed to hunt non-waterfowl species for which there is an 
open season (i.e. pheasant, rabbit, deer, squirrel, etc.) and trapping is allowed. Hunt-
ers must be aware that some Waterfowl Refuges are also located within zones closed 
to Canada Goose hunting. DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may enter the 
area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the supervision of 
department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

AREA................................... COUNTY
South Twin Lake.....................Calhoun
Ventura Marsh................. Cerro Gordo
Allen Green Refuge.......... Des Moines
Henderson............................Dickinson
Ingham Lake.............................Emmet
Crystal Hills............................ Hancock
Hawkeye Wildlife Area............Johnson

AREA................................... COUNTY
Colyn Area..................................Lucas
Gladys Black Eagle Refuge...... Marion
Five Island Lake.................... Palo Alto
Polk City Refuge........................... Polk
Smith Area.....................Pottawattamie
Green Valley Lake......................Union

AREA....................................................COUNTY
Lake Icaria.................................................Adams
Pool Slough Wildlife Area.................... Allamakee
Rathbun Area........................ Appanoose, Lucas, 
	 Wayne
Sedan Bottoms...................................Appanoose
Sweet Marsh............................................ Bremer
Big Marsh....................................................Butler
Union Hills........................................ Cerro Gordo
Round Lake...................................................Clay
Jemmerson Slough Complex............... Dickinson
Forney Lake............................................Fremont
Riverton Area...........................................Fremont
Dunbar Slough......................................... Greene
Bays Branch............................................. Guthrie

AREA....................................................COUNTY 
Eagle Flats............................................. Hancock
Eagle Lake............................................. Hancock
Green Island Area...................................Jackson
Muskrat Slough.......................................... Jones
Red Rock Area................... Marion, Polk, Warren
Badger Lake............................................ Monona
Chichaqua Area............................................. Polk
McCausland.................................................Scott
Princeton Area..............................................Scott
Otter Creek Marsh....................................... Tama
Rice Lake Area...................................Winnebago
Snyder Bend Lake................................Woodbury
Elk Creek Marsh..........................................Worth

IOWA REFUGES

RESTRICTED AREA
In addition, portions of some wildlife areas may be posted as “restricted areas.” It is 
unlawful to trespass in any manner within the posted boundaries of restricted areas, 
except department personnel and law enforcement officials may enter these areas 
at any time in performance of their duties.
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MULTIPLE OFFENDER PROGRAM FOR 
FISH AND WILDLIFE VIOLATORS 

Convictions are assigned point values as deter-
mined by the Iowa Administrative Code. Licenses 
will be suspended or revoked for a specific period 
as determined by the number of points accumu-
lated. 

WILDLIFE VIOLATOR COMPACT is an agree-
ment between participating states that prohibits 
a person whose hunting or fishing privileges are 
suspended in one state from participating in those 
activities in another state (see Iowa Courts On-
line).  

Massachusetts and Hawaii are in the process of 
becoming members. All other states are members 
of the compact. 

BENTON County, Iowa River Corridor; 
BOONE County, Harrier Marsh WMA; 
BUENA VISTA County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas; 
CALHOUN County, South Twin Lake; 
CERRO GORDO County, all land enrolled in IHAP, 
all state & federal areas; 
CLAY County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all state & 
federal areas except the Ocheyedan WMA target 
shooting range; 
DICKINSON County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas except the Spring Run WMA 
target shooting area;  
EMMET County, all state & federal areas; 
FRANKLIN County, all state & federal areas; 
GREENE County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas except Rippey Access & North 
Raccoon River;  
GUTHRIE County, McCord Pond, Lakin Slough & 
Bays Branch WMAs, excluding the target shooting 
range at Bays Branch WMA.
HAMILTON County, Little Wall Lake, Gordon Marsh 
& Bauer Slough WMAs; 
HANCOCK County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas;  

IOWA WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS REQUIRING NONTOXIC SHOT FOR 
ALL HUNTING [excluding deer and wild turkey]

POACHING IS A CRIME!

If you observe or know of 
a fish or wildlife violation, 
report it to TIP as soon 
as possible by calling 
1-800-532-2020. Provide 
as much information as 
possible when you call, 
such as a description of the individual, vehicle 
and time and location of the violation.

A conservation officer will be dispatched to 
investigate. Since the TIP program began in 
1985, about $260,000 has been approved in 
reward payments.

TURN IN POACHERS
1-800-532-2020

or online at www.iowadnr.gov
You can remain anonymous!

HUMBOLDT County, all state & federal areas; 
IOWA County, Iowa River Corridor; 
JASPER County, Chichaqua WMA; 
KOSSUTH County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas;  
OSCEOLA County, all state & federal areas;  
PALO ALTO County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas;  
POCAHONTAS County; all state & federal areas 
except Kalsow Prairie; 
POLK County, Paul Errington Marsh WMA & 
Chichaqua WMAs; 
SAC County, all state & federal areas except 
White Horse Access & Sac City Access; 
STORY County, Colo Bog & Hendrickson Marsh; 
TAMA County, all land enrolled in IHAP & Iowa 
River Corridor;  
WINNEBAGO County, all land enrolled in IHAP, 
all state & federal areas;  
WORTH County, all state & federal areas;  
WRIGHT County, all land enrolled in IHAP, all 
state & federal areas. 
Target shooting on these areas will also require the 
use of nontoxic shot.
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DUCK & GOOSE HUNTING ZONES

North Zone

South Zone

30 30

175

183 141

37

29
Interstate

Missouri 
River 
Zone

Marshalltown

Cedar 
Rapids

Carroll
Clinton

The state is divided into three zones: 
North, South and Missouri River. The 
NORTH ZONE is all of Iowa north of a 
line beginning on the South Dakota-Iowa 
border at Interstate 29, southeast to State 
Hwy. 175, east to State Hwy. 37, south-
east to State Hwy. 183, northeast to State 
Hwy. 141, east to U.S. Hwy. 30, and along 
U.S. Hwy. 30 to the Iowa-Illinois border. 
The MISSOURI RIVER ZONE includes all 
lands and waters in Iowa west of Interstate 
29. The SOUTH ZONE is the remainder of 
the state not in the North or Missouri River 
zones.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
Federal regulations require all hunters to reg-

ister with the Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
before hunting migratory game birds in the United 
States. Hunters must register in each state in 
which they hunt migratory game birds. Hunters 
that purchase the migratory bird fee in Iowa are 
automatically registered with HIP. Dove hunters 
are not required to purchase the migratory bird 
fee, but they must register with HIP. Dove hunters 
can register with HIP when they buy their small 
game hunting license or by calling 1-855-242-3683 
or by registering online. Go to www.iowadnr.gov 
and click on the “Buy Your License” sales site link.  

Hunters should answer the HIP questions accu-
rately. Answers to the HIP questions are not used 
to directly estimate the numbers of migratory game 
birds shot by hunters. They are used to group 
hunters with similar hunting success. A sample 
of hunters from each group is mailed a diary and 
asked to record the number of migratory birds they 
harvest each day they hunt. The information from 
these diaries is used to estimate the number of 
migratory game birds harvested in each state.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD SEASONS & 
LIMITS

See p. 9.   
LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES

See p. 6 and 12.
SHOOTING HOURS 

See p. 9. 

SPECIAL HUNTING REGULATIONS 
THAT APPLY TO MIGRATORY GAME 
BIRD HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also 
apply to Migratory Game Bird hunters. See 
p. 14.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD REGULATIONS

REPORT BANDED BIRDS
www.reportband.gov 

Reporting the harvest of banded  
waterfowl provides valuable information which 
helps sustain waterfowl populations and hunt-
ing for the future. 

As of July 2, 2017, band reports will no  
longer be accepted by phone. All reports must 
be through www.reportband.gov even if the 
band has a phone number inscribed on it. 

Questions regarding band reporting should 
be directed to bandreports@usgs.gov or Orrin 
Jones at 641-357-3517 ext. 23,  
Orrin.Jones@dnr.iowa.gov. 

Thank you for helping manage migratory 
birds!
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SPECIAL HUNTS
SPECIAL SEPTEMBER CANADA GOOSE 
SEASONS

Special September Canada goose seasons 
are open on specified dates during the first 
two weeks of September (see p. 9) in the Des 
Moines, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City, and Waterloo-
Cedar Falls zones. The daily bag limit in these 
zones is 5 Canada geese. The zone boundary 
maps are available on the DNR’s web site at  
http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Migratory-
Game-Birds. 

SPECIAL SEPTEMBER TEAL SEASON
The Special September teal season allows 

hunters additional days to pursue teal. Hunt-
ers must be aware that only teal are legal and 
the shooting hours are sunrise to sunset. All 
general migratory game bird hunting regulations 
apply. More information is available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/teal

YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING DAYS
Resident hunters ages 15 or younger may 

hunt waterfowl on Youth Waterfowl Hunting 
Days without purchasing a hunting license, or 
federal duck stamp, or paying the Iowa habi-
tat or migratory game bird fees. Each youth 
hunter must be accompanied by an adult 
18 years old or older. The adult must have a 

RESTRICTED AREAS
Some parts of wildlife management areas may be posted as “restricted areas.” It is unlawful to 

trespass in any manner on areas posted as restricted areas, except that DNR personnel, law  
enforcement officials and anyone specifically authorized by the DNR may enter the area at any 
time in performance of their duties.

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES
Some parts of the National Wildlife Refuges under the management of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service in Iowa are closed to hunting. In addition, there may be other regulations that limit the species 
that can be hunted on these national wildlife refuge properties, as well as when and how they can be 
hunted.  

For more details on hunting on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Wildlife Refuge lands go to:  
http://www.fws.gov/midwest/news/iowa.html and click on the refuge for which you want informa-
tion. Or, write to: Regional Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 5600 American Boulevard West, 
Suite 990, Bloomington, MN  55437-1458.

For questions about interpretations of Federal regulations call 515-961-5094 or send questions to 
1306 North 14th Street, Indianola, IA 50125 or by FAX 515-961-5429.

hunting license and have paid the Iowa wildlife 
habitat and migratory game bird fees, if normally 
required to do so to hunt waterfowl. Only the 
youth may hunt ducks, geese, mergansers and 
coots. The accompanying adult may hunt any 
game that is in season, including other migratory 
game birds that may be in season, provided he/
she possesses a federal duck stamp. The daily 
bag and possession limit for ducks, geese,  
mergansers and coots for the youth season are 
the same as for the regular season. All other 
regulations in effect for the regular waterfowl 
seasons apply during the youth hunt.

LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER
Only light geese (white- and blue-phase snow 

geese and Ross’ geese) can legally be taken 
during the Light Goose Conservation Order.  
Hunters must have a valid resident or nonresi-
dent hunting license and have paid the current 
Iowa wildlife habitat and migratory game bird 
fees. A federal duck stamp is not required.

Shooting hours are 1/2-hour before sunrise 
until 1/2-hour after sunset each day. There is 
no daily bag or possession limit during the Light 
Goose Conservation Order. Hunters may use 
electronic callers and unplugged shotguns  
during the Light Goose Conservation Order.
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1. Emmet County; Regional Office in Spirit 
Lake and Prairie Lakes Wildlife Unit near 
Wallingford.
2. Clay/Palo Alto counties; Regional Office 
in Spirit Lake and Prairie Lakes Wildlife Unit 
near Ruthven.
3. Dickinson County; Regional Office in 
Spirit Lake and Great Lakes Wildlife Unit 
near Spirit Lake.
4. Worth/Winnebago counties; Regional 
Office in Spirit Lake and Clear Lake Wildlife 
Unit in Ventura.
5. Lucas County; Regional Office in Brigh-
ton and Rathbun Wildlife Unit near Russell.

Canada goose hunting is closed in posted portions of 16 counties. Maps of the closed areas are online 
at www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Migratory-Game-Birds, and available from local conservation officers 
or DNR facilities near the Canada goose closed areas.

AREAS CLOSED TO CANADA GOOSE HUNTING

LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH

SIOUX O'BRIEN CLAY PALO ALTO HANCOCK CERRO GORDO

PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

3 1 4

5

7

8

9

2

11

13

1415

16

7. Guthrie County; Regional Office in Lewis and Saylorville Wildlife Unit near Panora.
8. Adams County; Regional Office in Lewis and Grand River Wildlife Unit near Mt. Ayr.
9. Monona/Woodbury counties; Regional Office in Lewis and Missouri River Wildlife Unit near Whiting.  
11. Jackson County; Regional Office in Manchester and Maquoketa Wildlife Unit near 
Green Island.
13. Van Buren County; Regional Office in Brighton and Sugema Wildlife Unit near Keosauqua.
14. Bremer County; Regional Office in Manchester and Cedar-Wapsi Wildlife Unit near Tripoli.
15. Butler County; Regional Office in Manchester and Cedar-Wapsi Wildlife Unit near Parkersburg. 
16. Union County; Regional Office in Lewis and Grand River Wildlife Unit near Mt. Ayr.

AREAS CLOSED TO WATERFOWL HUNTING
The entire state is open to waterfowl hunting 
except for the following areas and the refuges 
identified on p. 18:  
l	 The east-west road adjacent to Forney Lake in 

Fremont County;
l	 U.S. Highway 30 adjacent to Desoto National 

Wildlife Refuge in Harrison County;
l	 County roads adjacent to Union Slough  

National Wildlife Refuge in Kossuth County;
l	 Marked county roads near the Port Louisa Na-

tional Wildlife Refuge in Louisa County;
l	 Posted dikes at Green Island Wildlife Manage-

ment Area in Jackson County;
l	 Posted dikes at Otter Creek Wildlife Manage-

ment Area in Tama County;
l	 Posted lands adjacent to Rathbun Reservoir in 

Appanoose and Lucas counties;
l	 Portions of Summit Lake in Union County;
l	 Posted portions of Clear Lake and Ventura 

Marsh in Cerro Gordo County.
l Within 150 feet of the center of Army Road from 

New Albin to the boat ramp on the  
Mississippi River, in Allamakee County.
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TRUMPETER SWAN ID 

Be Sure of Your Target BEFORE You Shoot
Trumpeter and tundra swans are protected by 

state law and cannot be shot in Iowa. Shooting a 
swan will result in a fine and a liquidated damage 
fee of $1,500. 

Trumpeter swans differ from snow geese and 
Canada geese. Trumpeter swans weigh up to 
35 pounds, have 8-foot wingspans and are com-
pletely white, including their wing feathers (gray 
if they are immature swans). Snow geese weigh 
only 6 pounds, have 4-foot wingspans and the tips 
of their wing feathers are black.

Trumpeter Swan

Tundra Swan

Canada Goose

Snow Goose

White-fronted Goose
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NO PERSONS SHALL TAKE MIGRATORY 
GAME BIRDS:
l  With a trap, snare, net, crossbow, rifle, pistol, 
swivel gun, shotgun larger than 10 gauge, punt 
gun, battery gun, machine gun, fish hook, poi-
son, drug, explosive, or stupefying substance.
l  With a shotgun capable of holding more than 
three shells, unless it is plugged with a one-
piece filler that is incapable of being removed 
without disassembling the gun.
l  From a sinkbox or any other type of low float-
ing device having a depression affording the 
hunter a means of concealment beneath the 
surface of the water.
l  From or with the aid or use of any motor  
vehicle or other motor-driven land conveyance 
or aircraft of any kind, except that paraplegics 
and persons missing one or both legs may take 
from any stationary motor-driven land convey-
ance.
l  From or by means of any motorboat or other 
craft having a motor attached, or any sailboat, 
unless the motor has been completely shut off 
and/or the sails furled, and its progress there 
from has ceased. 
l  By the use or aid of live birds as decoys. It 
shall be unlawful to take migratory waterfowl 
on an area where tame or captive live ducks or 
geese are present unless such birds have been 
confined within an enclosure that substantially 
reduces the audibility of their calls and totally 
conceals such birds from the sight of migratory 
waterfowl for a period of 10 consecutive days 
prior to such taking.
l  By the use or aid of recorded or electrically 
amplified bird calls or sounds, or recorded or 
electrically amplified imitations of bird calls or 
sounds. This restriction does not apply dur-
ing the Conservation Order for light geese (i.e. 
greater and lesser snow and Ross’s geese).
l  By means or aid of any motor-driven land, 
water, or air conveyance, or any sailboat used 
for the purpose of concentrating, driving, rally-

GENERAL MIGRATORY GAME BIRD HUNTING REGULATIONS

ing, or stirring up any migratory bird.
l  By the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited 
area, where a person knows or reasonably 
should know that the area is or has been baited. 
A baited area is any area on which salt, grain, or 
other feed has been placed, exposed, deposited, 
distributed, or scattered, if that salt, grain, or 
other feed could serve as a lure or attraction for  
migratory game birds to areas where hunters 
are attempting to take them. Any such area will 
remain a baited area for ten days following the 
complete removal of all such salt, grain, or other 
feed. 

It is legal to take migratory game birds,  
including waterfowl and coots, on or over the 
following areas that are not otherwise baited:
l  Standing crops or flooded standing crops  
(including aquatics).
l  Standing, flooded, or manipulated natural 
vegetation; flooded harvested croplands; or 
lands or areas where seeds or grains have been 
scattered solely as the result of a normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipula-
tion or normal soil stabilization practices.
l  From a blind or other place of concealment 
camouflaged with natural vegetation.
l  From a blind or other place of concealment 
camouflaged with vegetation from agricultural 
crops, as long as such camouflaging does not 
result in the exposing, depositing, distributing or 
scattering of grain or other feed; or
l  Standing or flooded standing agricultural 
crops where grain is inadvertently scattered 
solely as a result of a hunter entering or exit-
ing a hunting area, placing decoys, or retrieving 
downed birds.
For more information on federal baiting regula-
tions, go to https://www.fws.gov/le/waterfowl-
hunting-and-baiting.html

FEDERAL REGULATIONS SUMMARY
A more detailed synopsis of the federal regulations governing the hunting of migratory game 

birds can be found at: www.iowadnr.gov/huntingregs 
A complete version of all the federal regulations governing the hunting of migratory game birds 

can be accessed at www.fws.gov/birds/policies-and-regulations.php 
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BAITING RULES FOR MOURNING DOVES
Federal regulations governing baiting for 

doves are different in some respects than those 
governing baiting for waterfowl. You may hunt 
doves on, over or from:
l  Lands or areas where seeds or grains have 
been scattered solely as the result of normal 
agricultural operations, which include normal 
agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-
harvest manipulations, or normal agricultural 
practices. 
l  Lands planted by means of top-sowing or 
aerial seeding where seeds have been scat-
tered solely as the result of a normal agricultural 
planting, a planting for agricultural soil erosion 
control, or a planting for post-mining land recla-
mation. 
l  Lands or areas where grain or feed has been 
distributed or scattered solely as the result of the 
manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed 
on the land where grown. 
l  Standing crops. 
l  Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided 
the seed is planted in a manner consistent with 
Cooperative State Research, Education, and 
Extension Service recommendations for the 
planting of wildlife food plots. In states without 
Cooperative Extension Service recommenda-
tions for the planting of food plots, the seed must 
be planted in accordance with Extension Service 
guidelines for producing a crop. 
l  Lands planted as pasture improvements or 
for the purpose of grazing livestock. (The Fish 
and Wildlife Service will not make a distinc-
tion between agricultural fields planted with the 
intent to gather a crop and those planted without 
such intent provided the planting is carried out in 
a manner consistent with the recommendations 
of State Extension Specialists). 
l  Standing or manipulated natural vegetation. 
l  A blind or other place of concealment camou-
flaged with natural vegetation. 
l  A blind or other place of concealment camou-
flaged with vegetation from agricultural crops, 
provided your use of such vegetation does not 
expose, deposit, distribute or scatter grain or 
other feed.  You should be aware that seeds 
or grains from such vegetation could create a 
baited area. 
For more information on the federal regulations 
that govern baiting for doves, go to:  
http://www.fws.gov/le/HuntFish/WhatisLegal.htm 

WANTON WASTE OF MIGRATORY GAME 
BIRDS  

No person shall kill or cripple any migratory 
game bird without making a reasonable effort to 
retrieve the bird, and retain it in his/her actual 
custody, at the place where taken or between 
that place and either (a) his/her vehicle or prin-
cipal means of land transportation; or (b) his/her 
personal abode or temporary or transient place 
of lodging; or (c) a migratory bird preservation 
facility; or (d) a post office; or (e) a common car-
rier facility.

NONTOXIC SHOT  
No person may take ducks, geese (including 

brant), rails, snipe, or coots while possessing 
shot (either in shotshells or as loose shot for 
muzzleloading) other than approved nontoxic 
shot. For a list of approved nontoxic shot, see 
https://www.fws.gov/birds/bird-enthusiasts/
hunting/nontoxic.php

DOVES 
Dove hunters are required to have have a 

plug in their gun limiting them to three shells. 
Hunters can use lead shot to hunt doves, except 
on the wildlife areas listed on p. 19. 

DEFINITIONS: 
DAILY BAG LIMIT: The maximum number of 
migratory game birds of a single species or com-
bination (aggregate) of species permitted to be 
taken by one person in any one day during the 
open season in any one specified geographic 
area for which a daily bag limit is prescribed.

AGGREGATE DAILY BAG LIMIT:The maxi-
mum number of migratory game birds permitted 
to be taken by one person in any one day during 
the open season when such person hunts in 
more than one specified geographic area and/or 
for more than one species for which a combined 
daily bag limit is prescribed. The aggregate daily 
bag limit is equal to, but shall not exceed, the 
largest daily bag limit prescribed for any one 
species or for any one specified geographic 
area in which taking occurs.
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FIELD POSSESSION LIMIT  
No person shall possess, have in custody, or 

transport more than the daily bag limit or  
aggregate daily bag limit, whichever applies, of 
migratory game birds, tagged or not tagged, at 
or between the place where taken and either (a) 
his vehicle or principal means of land transporta-
tion; or (b) his personal abode or temporary or 
transient place of lodging; or (c) a migratory bird 
preservation facility; or (d) a post office; or (e) a 
common carrier facility.

POSSESSION LIMIT 
The maximum number of migratory game 

birds of a single species or a combination of 
species permitted to be possessed by any one 
person when lawfully taken in the United States 
in any one specified geographic area for which a 
possession limit is prescribed.

AGGREGATE POSSESSION LIMIT 
The maximum number of migratory game 

birds of a single species or combination of spe-
cies taken in the United States permitted to be 
possessed by any one person when taking and 
possession occurs in more than one specified 
geographic area for which a possession limit 
is prescribed. The aggregate possession limit 
is equal to, but shall not exceed, the largest 
possession limit prescribed for any one of the 
species or specified geographic areas in which 
taking and possession occurs.

PERSONAL ABODE 
One’s principal or ordinary home or dwelling 

place, as distinguished from one’s temporary 
or transient place of abode or dwelling such as 
a hunting club, or any club house, cabin, tent 
or trailer house used as a hunting club, or any 
hotel, motel or rooming house used during a 
hunting, pleasure or business trip.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION  
REQUIREMENT FOR TRANSPORTATION  

No person shall transport within the United 
States any migratory game birds, except doves 
and band-tailed pigeons, unless the head or one 
fully feathered wing remains attached to each 
such bird at all times while being transported 
from the place where taken until they have ar-
rived at the personal abode of the possessor or 
a migratory bird preservation facility.

TRANSPORTATION OF BIRDS  
OF ANOTHER  

No person shall transport migratory game 
birds belonging to another person unless such 
birds are properly tagged.

TAGGING REQUIREMENT  
No person shall put or leave any migratory 

game birds at any place (other than at his per-
sonal abode), or in the custody of another per-
son for picking, cleaning, processing, shipping, 
transportation, or storage (including temporary 
storage), or for the purpose of having taxidermy 
services performed, unless such birds have a 
tag attached, signed by the hunter, stating his 
address, the total number and species of birds, 
and the date such birds were killed. Migratory 
game birds being transported in any vehicle as 
the personal baggage of the possessor shall not 
be considered as being in storage or temporary 
storage.

CUSTODY OF BIRDS OF ANOTHER  
No person shall receive or have in custody 

any migratory game birds belonging to another 
person unless such birds are properly tagged.

GIFT OF MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS  
No person may receive, possess, or give to  

another, any freshly killed migratory game birds 
as a gift, except at the personal abodes of the 
donor or donee, unless such birds have a tag  
attached, signed by the hunter who took the 
birds, stating such hunter’s address, the total 
number and species of birds and the date such 
birds were taken.
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BLINDS
A blind is a constructed place of concealment 

for hunting, observing or photographing wildlife. 
You may construct a blind on a game manage-
ment area using only the natural vegetation 
found on the area, except that no trees or parts 
of trees other than willows can be cut for that 
purpose. The use of such blinds is on a first-
come, first-served basis whether or not you con-
structed the blind. You cannot drive or otherwise 
place any nail, spike, pin or any other object, 
metal or otherwise, into any tree on a game 
management area to construct a blind or to 
make access to a blind or to a hunting location 
above the ground. Portable blinds are prohib-
ited on game management areas from one hour 
after sunset until midnight of each day. Portable 
blinds which are built on, or are part of, a boat 
shall be considered as removed from an area 
when the boat and blind are tied up or moored 
at an approved access site. No boat may be 
anchored away from shore and left unattended 
unless it is attached to a legal buoy. Special 
regulations regarding the use and construction 
of blinds on parts of the Mississippi River are 
described below.

DECOYS
A “decoy” is a likeness of a bird or animal 

used to lure game within shooting range. De-
coys are prohibited on all game management ar-
eas from one hour after sunset until midnight of 
each day. Decoys are considered removed from 
an area if they are in a boat or other container at 
an approved access site. Decoys cannot be left 
unattended for more than 30 minutes between 
midnight and one-half hour after sunset. Special 
regulations regarding the use of decoys on parts 
of the Mississippi River are described below.

STATIONARY BLINDS & USE OF DE-
COYS ON MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 
14-18 

Hunters wishing to build a stationary blind on 
Pool 14 downstream of Upper Mississippi River 
National Wildlife and Fish Refuge River Mile 
502, near Princeton, Iowa, and Pools 15, 16, 

IOWA REGULATIONS SUMMARY
17 and 18 of the Mississippi River must register 
their blind site with the Department of Natural 
Resources by completing a registration card 
and designating the blind’s location on a map. 
Registration is held in August at a site publicly 
announced by the Department. Registration is 
for a five-year period and requires a fee of $100. 
The blind registration number must be visibly 
posted at the blind’s entrance. Blinds must be 
at least four feet by eight feet in size, but can-
not have a floor space larger than 500-square 
feet, not including a boat hide. Blinds must be 
constructed of biodegradable materials. Treated 
lumber, treated plywood, woven wire, chicken 
wire, cattle panels, tin and sheet metal, vinyl and 
plastic, and other non-biodegradable  
materials are not allowed unless they are  
removed within three days after the close of the 
waterfowl season. The use of metal and  
nylon fasteners including but not limited to nails, 
screws, lag bolts, staples and ties is allowed. 
No brush or trees, other than willows, may be 
removed around the blind. Blind registrants must 
occupy their blind by the opening of shooting 
time each day to claim the blind for that day.  
After this time, unoccupied blinds will be avail-
able to any other hunters. No person will claim 
or attempt to claim a blind that is legally  
occupied and no person will harass, in any 
manner, the occupants of a blind that has been 
legally occupied. Blinds may not be locked. 
Decoys may be left out for the entire waterfowl 
season but must be picked up and removed 
from the area within three days after the close of 
the waterfowl season. All jugs and other floating 
devices used to attract waterfowl are considered 
decoys.

POSSESSION OF LIVE BIRDS
Wounded birds reduced to possession must 

be immediately killed and included in the daily 
bag limit.

SHOOTING OR HAWKING HOURS
You cannot take migratory game birds except 

during the hours open to shooting and hawking. 
For complete falconry information, visit the Iowa 
DNR’s web site at  
www.iowadnr.gov/huntingregs.
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HUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORY
GUIDES / OUTFITTERS GUIDES / OUTFITTERS

563.321.8190
Call and book your hunt today!
www.ken�armsiowa.com

#1 county in
thecountry
for trophy
whitetail
bucks. Colorado Ou�i�er License #2981

Colorado Elk Outfi�er, LLC is an equal opportunity service employer and
provider. Colorado Elk Outfitter, LLC operates under a special use permit
issued by the USDA Forest Service, Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest.

Colorado Elk hunts for all
levels of physical fitness.

Rifle
MuzzleloaderArchery

WWhhiitteettaaiill DDeeeerr && TTuurrkkeeyy
22,,550000 AAccrreess SSEE IIoowwaa

SShhoottgguunn,, AArrcchheerryy,, MMuuzzzzlleellooaaddeerr

Brad Wittstock
Family-Owned & Operated

Oklahoma’s finest hog and exo�c
hun�ng ranch. Located just 45

south of OKC. Featuring a 10,000
sq. foot lodge. Purcell, Oklahoma

WILD HOG HUNTS

405.464.9453

Trophy Iowa Deer Hunts
Zones 4 and 5 Chama

New Mexico•Elk
•Deer
•Antelope
•Fishing

RRoobb FFaaeetthh –– MMaannaaggeerr

FFoorrtt MMaaddiissoonn,, IIAA || 331199..447700..11550022

wwwwww..ffaaeetthhssffoowwllppllaayy..ccoomm
UUppllaanndd BBiirrddss

•• PPhheeaassaanntt
•• QQuuaaiill

•• CChhuukkaarr

WWhhiitteettaaiill
ZZoonnee 66

• Elk • Black Bear • Wolf
• Deer • Mountain Lion

443-375-1598

yorkou�i�ers.com

Chad Bohn

Wyoming
• Antelope Hunts
• Elk Hunts
• Mule Deer Hunts
• Prairie Dogs
Predator Hunts

Book your
Hunt!

WYLIC#BG349

GUIDES / OUTFITTERS
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HUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORY
GUIDES / OUTFITTERS

MEAT PROCESSING

GUNS / GUNSMITHS

515-230-9397Book
Now! tailsofthehunt.com

Providing Trophy
Class Whitetail

Hunts in SW Iowa
(Unit 4) & NW Missouri

Aaron & Jodi Volkmar (Owners)
1403 Bent St. • Bedford, Iowa 50833

771122--330088--77113311
sscchhmmiittzzccuussttoommaarrmmss..ccoomm
CCuussttoomm IIoowwaa DDeeeerr RRii��lleess
FFuullll--SSeerrvviiccee GGuunnssmmiitthhiinngg
LLee MMaarrss,, IIoowwaa

• Servicing Iowa • Local Agents
• Qualified Buyers • Family-Owned
• Hunting Land Experts • Land Auc�ons

515-962-5048

www.brokenbrowou�i�ers.com

CCRRPP SSEERRVVIICCEESS

319-325-0367
Native grass/CRP seedmixes

Custom CRP planting
Controlled burns
CRP Spraying

Brush removal/land clearing
Offering guided deer & pheasant hunts

Serving Iowa & Illinois

*New & Used Firearms *Gun Customization
*Sell, Buy and Trade Firearms *Ammunition

Austin Maas

226 E. 2nd Street, Muscatine, IA 52761

319-325-0367

Licensed Real Estate Salesperson in Iowa
austinmaas@ruhlland.com

Tillable farmland
Recreational/hunting land
Investment properties
Leaseback options

883322 AAvvee.. GG SStt..
FFoorrtt MMaaddiissoonn,, IIoowwaa

331199..337722..22779922

Open
for 96
years!

Lazy K Ou�i�ng
Food plots, CRP Acres,

Trails, Na�ve Grass

110088 CCeeddaarr SSttrreeeett
TTiippttoonn,, IIAA 5522777722
556633--888866--22110066

wwwwww..ttiippttoonnlloocckkeerr..ccoomm

* AKC & UKC Black & Yellow Lab Pups
* Started Dogs & Finished Dogs
* Retriever Foundation Training
* Hunt Test Training * Gun Dog Training

starkeeperkennels.com

Peosta, Iowa

REAL ESTATE / LAND MANAGEMENT

TAXIDERMY DOGS / KENNELS



30



31

FU
R

B
E

A
R

E
R

S

HUNTING AND TRAPPING  
FURBEARERS
FURHARVESTER LICENSE

Hunters and trappers must have a furharvest-
er license and have paid the habitat fee (see 
p. 6) to hunt all furbearers, except coyote and 
groundhog, and to trap any furbearing animal. A 
hunting license is not needed when hunting fur-
bearers. Coyote and groundhog may be hunted 
with a hunting or furharvester license. It is illegal 
to kill an otter or beaver with a shotgun or spear. 

LICENSED FUR DEALERS
A current list of licensed fur dealers is  

available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Trapping-Fur-Harvesting 

PERMIT TO HOLD HIDES (see p. 15).

DISTURBING DENS 
You cannot molest or disturb, in any manner, 

any den, lodge or house of a furbearing animal 
or beaver dam except by written permission of 
an officer appointed by the director of the DNR. 
You cannot use any chemical, explosive, smok-
ing device, mechanical ferret, wire, tool, instru-
ment or water to remove furbearing animals 
from their dens. 

BOX TRAPS  
A person shall not use or attempt to use 

colony traps in taking, capturing, trapping or 
killing any game or furbearing animals except 
muskrats. Box traps capable of capturing more 
than one game or furbearing animal at each 
setting are prohibited. A valid hunting license is 
required for box trapping cottontail rabbits and 
squirrels. 

REMOVAL OF ANIMALS FROM TRAPS & 
SNARES 

All animals or animal carcasses caught in 
any type of trap or snare, except those that are 
placed entirely under water and designed to 
drown the animal immediately, must be removed 
from the trap or snare by the trap or snare user 
immediately upon discovery and within 24 hours 
of the time the animal is caught.

SNARES 
For the purpose of law enforcement, snares 

are considered to be traps. 

No person shall set or maintain any snare 
in any public road right-of-way so the snare, 
when fully extended, can touch any fence. A 
snare set on private land other than roadsides 
within 30 yards of a pond, lake, creek, drainage 
ditch, stream or river must have a loop size of 
11 inches or less in horizontal measurement. All 
other snares must have a loop size of 8 inches 
or less in horizontal measurement, except for 
snares with at least one-half of the loop under 
water. Snares cannot be attached to a drag. All 
snares must have a functional deer lock which 
will not allow the snare loop to close smaller 
than 2 1/2 inches. 

MECHANICAL SNARES 
It is illegal to set any mechanically-powered 

snare designed to capture an animal by the 
neck or body unless the snare is placed com-
pletely under water. 

BODY-GRIPPING & CONIBEAR-TYPE 
TRAPS

You cannot set or maintain any body-grip-
ping or conibear-type trap on any public road 
right-of-way within 5 feet of any fence. 

Humane traps, or traps designed to kill 
instantly, with a jaw spread as originally 
manufac-
tured with 
an outside 
measure-
ment that 
exceeds 8 
inches, are 
unlawful to use except when placed entirely 
under water.

PUBLIC ROADSIDE LIMITATIONS 
You cannot set or maintain any snare or 

conibear-type trap within any public road 
right-of-way within 200 yards of the entry to a 
private drive serving a residence or buildings 
inhabited by humans unless a resident of the 
dwelling adjacent to the public road right-of-
way has given permission, or unless the body-
gripping or conibear-type trap is completely 
under water or at least one-half of the loop of 
the snare is under water. This does not limit 
the use of foothold traps or box-type live traps 
in public road right-of-ways. A person may not 
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place a trap, stake or non-indigenous set mak-
ing material upon any public road right-of-way 
except during a period of time that begins two 
weeks before the trapping season opens and 
ends on the last day of the season.

FOOTHOLD & LEGHOLD TRAPS 
You cannot set or maintain, on land, any foot-

hold or leghold trap with metal serrated jaws, 
metal-toothed jaws or a spread inside the set 
jaws greater than 7 inches as measured to the 
outside edge. 

TRAP TAG REQUIREMENTS 
All traps and snares, whether set or not, 

possessed by a person who can reason-
ably be presumed to be trapping must have 
a metal tag attached, plainly labeled with 
the user’s name and address. Officers ap-
pointed by the DNR can confiscate such 
traps and snares when not properly labeled 
or checked. 

EXPOSED BAIT 
You cannot set or maintain any foothold or 

body-gripping trap or snare within 20 feet of 
exposed bait on land anywhere in the state, 
or over water in the following areas:

a) MISSISSIPPI RIVER CORRIDOR - Allama-
kee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, 
Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and Lee coun-
ties.

b) MISSOURI RIVER CORRIDOR - Those 
portions of Woodbury, Monona, Harrison, Pot-
tawattamie, Mills and Fremont counties west of 
Interstate 29. 

c) DES MOINES RIVER CORRIDOR - 
Boone, Dallas, Polk, Marion, Mahaska, Wapello 
and Van Buren counties. 

“Exposed bait” means meat or viscera of any 
animal, bird, fish, amphibian or reptile with or 
without skin, hide or feathers that is visible to 
soaring birds.

TRAPPING ON GAME MANAGEMENT 
AREAS MARKING TRAP SITES 

You cannot place on any game management 
area any trap, stake, flag, marker or any other 

item or device to trap furbearers, or to mark 
or otherwise claim any site to trap furbearers, 
except during the open season for trapping 
furbearers.

BOBCAT HUNTING & TRAPPING
Hunters and trappers must have a furhar-

vester license and pay the habitat fee to har-
vest bobcats, if normally required to have them 
to trap. A regular Hunting License will not be 
adequate.

SEASON LIMIT: No more than 3 bobcats 
total can be legally harvested by a furharvester in 
a season. 

The season bag limit for bobcats either hunted 
or trapped in Audubon, Boone, Cedar, Cherokee, 
Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Guthrie, Harrison, 
Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Lyon, Monona, 
Muscatine, Plymouth, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, 
Shelby, Sioux, Webster and Woodbury County 
(counties in gray) is 1 bobcat per person.  

The season bag limit for bobcats, either 
hunted or trapped, in Adair, Adams, Appanoose, 
Cass, Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, 
Fremont, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, 
Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Mon-
roe, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Ring-
gold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, 
Washington and Wayne County (counties in red) 
is 3 bobcats per person.
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BOBCAT SEASON IN SHADED COUNTIES ONLY 
LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH

SIOUX O'BRIEN CLAY PALO ALTO HANCOCK CERRO GORDO

PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

Bobcat Harvest
Closed

  Bobcat Harvest
Closed
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RIVER OTTER TRAPPING
Trappers must have a furharvester license and 

pay the habitat fee to trap otter, if normally re-
quired to have them to trap.

Season Limit: 3 otters per licensed furhar-
vester.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Furharvesters must contact a Conservation Of-

ficer within 24 hours of taking an otter or bobcat to 
receive a CITES tag. The CITES tag must remain 
with the animal until it is sold. Animals kept for 
taxidermy or other display or educational purpos-
es must have the CITES tag retained at all times.

Otters and bobcats accidentally captured after 
the season has closed and bobcats accidentally 
captured in an area of the state closed to bobcat 
harvesting, must be turned over to the DNR with-
out penalty. 

OTTER & BOBCAT PARTS COLLECTION
ATTENTION FURHARVESTERS: The DNR 
will NOT be collecting otter and bobcat skulls 
and lower jaws this year for tooth aging pur-
poses. We thank you for your cooperation 
with this in previous years.
 
HAVE A QUESTION?

Call the DNR office in Des Moines at  
515-725-8200, or a regional office on p. 51.
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CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD) IN IOWA DEER 

The Iowa DNR monitors for chronic wasting disease statewide with emphasis in counties (shaded 
on map p. 34) where the disease has been confirmed in wild deer. The DNR partners with hunters to 
slow the spread of the disease. We encourage hunters to keep hunting and to help manage CWD by 
harvesting additional deer in CWD zones and providing a sample. All license types are valid within 
the CWD Deer Management Zones. More information is available online at www.iowadnr.gov/cwd.

County CWD Deer Management Zone (DMZ) Licenses: Hunters may use these licenses as a 
separate pool of licenses not connected to or restricted by regular deer license purchases. Eligible 
resident hunters may utilize all seasons and purchase multiple licenses. Licenses are issued for a 
specific season and all rules apply for that season. Cost of the first antlerless license, regardless of 
type, is $28.50 and additional antlerless licenses are $15. 

CWD Zone Licenses: These special focused CWD zone hunts have been established inside the 
boundaries of the respective DMZ County CWD Perimeters. A January antlerless season puts em-
phasis on harvest of antlerless deer in targeted areas based on CWD prevalence. Legal method 
of take for the January season is bow, muzzleloader, handgun, shotgun, crossbow, and allowable 
straight wall rifles.

Corydon CWD Incentive Zone Licenses: Hunters must call 641-203-2970 and pre-certify to pur-
chase antlerless tags in this zone. To qualify for the incentive any sex tag, hunters must harvest a 
minimum of three female deer (adults, yearlings or fawns), and check in all deer, submit CWD sam-
ples of all deer, and register all harvested deer with the Iowa DNR. Any antlerless male deer are 
legal but will not count towards an incentive license. Hunters who qualify for an incentive license 
will have their choice of deer seasons in 2021. The 2021 incentive licenses cost $33, and will be 
valid throughout the Wayne County Deer Management Zone and require mandatory check / lymph 
node sample.
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1. ALLAMAKEE DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE – 900 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Barry’s MiniMart 563-586-2281, Donahue’s One Stop 563-586-2557, River N Ridge Outdoors 
563-538-4188 / DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-379-5725
2. CLAYTON DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE – 1,050 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Coast to Coast 563-245-2521, Clayton County Recorder 563-245-2710
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-929-6001
3. CORYDON CWD INCENTIVE ZONE – 250 Antlerless Licenses – January 16-24, 2021
Licenses: Corydon Hy-Vee 641-872-1564, T/K Guns 641-873-4755, Wayne County Recorder 641-872-
1676 / DNR CWD inquiries - mandatory check: 319-330-5578 or 641-208-5411 or  
wayneCWD@dnr.iowa.gov 
4. DECATUR DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE – 500 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Leon Hy-Vee 641-446-6132, Decatur County Recorder 641-446-4322
Check Station: Decatur CCB, 20485 NW Little River Rd., Leon - Dec. 5-6, 12-13, & 19-20  
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 515-975-8318 or andrew.kellner@dnr.iowa.gov
5. DECORAH-CRESCO CWD ZONE – 130 Antlerless Licenses - January 16-24, 2021
Licenses: Winneshiek County Recorder 563-277-5292, Fisk Farm & Home 563-382-8822, Howard 
County Recorder 563-547-9210 / DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-379-5725
6. DUBUQUE DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE – 400 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Bait Shack 563-582-9395, Tri State Outdoors 563-582-8514
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-929-6001
7. ELKADER-WEST UNION CWD ZONE – 450 Antlerless Licenses – January 16-24, 2021
Licenses: Coast to Coast 563-245-2521, Clayton County Recorder 563-245-2710, West Union Hardware 
563-422-5646, Fayette County Recorder 563-422-3687 / DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-929-6001
8. FAYETTE DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE – 300 Antlerless Licenses - Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: West Union Hardware 563-422-5646, Fayette County Recorder 563-422-3687
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 319-213-2815
9. HARPERS FERRY CWD ZONE - 300 Antlerless Licenses - January 16-24, 2021
Licenses: Barry’s MiniMart 563-586-2281, Donahue’s One Stop 563-586-2557, River N Ridge Outdoors 
563-538-4188 / DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-379-5725
10. WAYNE DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE - 150 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Corydon Hy-Vee 641-872-1564, T/K Guns 641-873-4755, Wayne County Recorder 641-872-1676 
Check Station: Fire Station, 213 S. Washington St., Corydon - Dec. 5-6, 12-13, & 19-20
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 641-208-5411 or wayneCWD@dnr.iowa.gov

LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH
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WEBSTER
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HARDIN
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2020 DEER HUNTING INFORMATION

High quality habitat supports all wildlife  

DEER SEASONS, LICENSE PURCHASE 
DATES, ANTLERLESS QUOTAS & ANTLERED 
RESTRICTIONS

See p. 8.   

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
See p. 6 and 12.

SPECIAL HUNTING REGULATIONS 
THAT APPLY TO DEER HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also apply to 
deer hunters. See p. 14.

SHOOTING HOURS 
Shooting hours for all deer seasons are 

half-hour before sunrise to half-hour after sunset.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The head and antlers (if any) must remain 

attached to the carcass until it is processed for 
consumption. Hunters in the Youth, Disabled 
Hunter, Bow, Early Muzzleloader, and Late 
Muzzleloader seasons must shoot their own 
deer and tag only the deer they shoot.  

Hunters in both shotgun seasons may shoot 
deer for each other, provided that all tagging 

Creating high quality 
habitat to support wildlife and 
provide quality outdoor experi-
ences has been our top priority 
for years and we continue to 
look at ways to improve the 
end product. We continue to 
diversify our grasslands, add-
ing more native grass and wild 
flowers. We are taking steps to 
improve our timber to benefit 
wildlife through forest steward-
ship plans emphasizing mast 

producing trees like oaks and hickories. 
What we’ve learned is that getting the right 

plant community in place coupled with active 
management, allows these areas to go to work – 
all day, every day, all year long –serving as critical 
building blocks toward creating highly produc-
tive, dynamic landscapes that provide a variety 

of environmental benefits and a place all wildlife 
can call home. The Habitat Fee paid by hunters is 
dedicated toward these activities and is critical for 
their success.

As recreational use outside hunting seasons 
increase, it’s important to educate new users 
about responsible and compatible uses that do not 
negatively impact the value these areas provide 
to all Iowans - working to support wildlife, improve 
water quality, reduce erosion, remove excess 
nutrients from the soil, make our air quality bet-
ter and, as we saw last spring, serve as a place 
where Iowans can go during uncertain times. 

These are public places and we encour-
age everyone to spend some time enjoying what 
Mother Nature has to offer, but any activity must 
be compatible with the primary use which is to 
provide quality wildlife habitat and a quality hunt-
ing experience. 
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Todd Bishop, chief 
DNR Wildlife Bureau

11. WINNESHIEK DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE - 400 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Winneshiek County Recorder 563-277-5292, Fisk Farm & Home 563-382-8822
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 563-379-5725
12. WOODBURY DEER MANAGEMENT ZONE - 200 Antlerless Licenses – Fall Deer Seasons
Licenses: Mills Fleet Farm 712-454-7306, Scheels 712-252-1551, Dick’s Bait & Tackle #2 712-252-4000
DNR CWD inquiries - sampling: 712-420-2437 or doug.chafa@dnr.iowa.gov

SAMPLE DROP SITES: DNR, 427 N 1st St-Harpers Ferry / Bait Shack, 2095 Kerper Blvd–Dubuque
Swiss Valley Nature Center, 13606 Swiss Valley Rd- Peosta / Osborne Park, 29862 Osborne Rd–Elkader
DNR Hatchery, 2325 Siewers Spring Rd–Decorah / Gilbertson Nature Center, 22850 A Ave-Elgin
CARCASS DUMPSTER SITES: DNR, 427 N 1st St-Harpers Ferry / Gilbertson Nature Center, 22850 A 
Ave-Elgin / Swiss Valley Nature Center, 13606 Swiss Valley Rd- Peosta / Osborne Park, 29862 Osborne 
Rd–Elkader / DNR Hatchery, 2325 Siewers Spring Rd–Decorah / Decatur CCB, 20485 NW Little River 
Rd-Leon / City Park, ½ mile west Hwy 2-Corydon 
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requirements are followed, and the deer will be 
considered in the possession of the hunter whose 
tag is affixed to it. 

No person shall tag a deer with a tag that was 
purchased after the deer was taken. 

A hunter may not carry a deer license or transpor-
tation tag issued to another hunter while deer hunt-
ing. See p. 42. 

Deer hunters may not possess a tag belonging to 
another hunter while in the field. 

PAID DEER LICENSES see p. 39.
Resident hunters may obtain the following types of 

deer licenses:
General Deer Licenses are valid statewide in the 

season selected by the hunter at the time the license 
is purchased. General deer licenses are valid for 
taking deer of either sex for all counties except those 
listed on the map on p. 8. A hunter may have one 
General deer license for the Bow Season and one 
General deer license for one of the following sea-
sons: Early Muzzleloader, Late Muzzleloader, Shot-
gun Season 1, or Shotgun Season 2. Exceptions:
l	Youth, Disabled Season hunters see p. 40.
l	There is a quota of 7,500 Early Muzzleloader Sea-

son General deer licenses. These are sold first-
come first-served until the quota is filled or until the 
last day of the Early Muzzleloader Season. 
Paid Antlerless-only Licenses are valid for taking 

only antlerless deer. An antlerless deer is a deer 
with no forked antler. These licenses are valid 
only in the county and season or deer population 
management zone and season selected by the 
hunter at the time the license is purchased.   

Quotas for Antlerless-only Licenses are set for 
each county to direct the additional harvest of does 
to areas with the greatest number of deer. The quota 
is the maximum number of Antlerless-only Licenses 
that will be sold for each county for all deer seasons. 
Licenses are sold first-come first-served until the 
quota is reached. See p. 8.

ALLOWABLE COMBINATIONS  
OF PAID DEER LICENSES

See table on p. 39.

BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT 
For Shotgun Season 1 and Shotgun Season 2 

seasons, the daily bag and possession limit is one 
deer for each unfilled transportation tag issued to a 
hunter who is present in the party.  

For all other deer seasons, the daily bag and pos-

session limit is one deer for each license and trans-
portation tag issued to the hunter for that season.

The annual possession limit is one deer for 
each license and transportation tag obtained by 
the hunter for all seasons.

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS 
Resident and nonresident deer hunters with a valid 

deer hunting license may hunt with and assist other 
deer hunters only in the season specified on their 
license. Party hunting is allowed in the Shotgun 1 
and Shotgun 2 seasons. Helping does not include 
retrieval of game on private property. Hunters must 
have a valid tag for the county in which they are hunt-
ing. See tagging requirements on p. 42.

BLAZE ORANGE REQUIRED 
To hunt deer with a firearm in any season you must 

wear one of the following articles of external, vis-
ible, solid blaze orange clothing: vest, jacket, coat, 
sweatshirt, sweater, shirt or coveralls. An orange hat 
alone is not sufficient. No person shall use a blind for 
hunting deer during the regular shotgun deer seasons 
unless such blind exhibits a solid blaze orange mark-
ing with a minimum of 144 square inches visible in all 
directions. 

A blind is defined as a place of concealment 
constructed, either wholly or partially from man-made 
materials, which is used for the purpose of hiding a 
person who is hunting from sight. A blind is not a nat-
urally occurring landscape feature or an arrangement 
of natural or agricultural plant material that a hunter 
uses for concealment. In addition to the requirements 
above, hunters using blinds must also satisfy the 
requirements of wearing blaze orange.

TREE STANDS
You may not construct a permanent tree stand on 

state public hunting areas. You may not drive or in 
any other way place any nail, spike, pin, or any other 
metal object into a tree on state public hunting areas 
to construct a blind or to provide hunting access to a 
location above the ground.

Tree stands may be left on a state public hunting 
area from 7 days prior to the start of deer hunting 
season until 7 days after the final day of that open 
season.

PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES 
You may not use dogs, domestic animals, bait, 

radios, handguns, rifles and crossbows (except as 
described below), automobiles, aircraft, electronic 
calls or any mechanical conveyance or device to hunt 
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deer. Persons who meet one or more of the follow-
ing conditions would be considered eligible for a 
non-ambulatory deer license and able to hunt from a 
stationary motor driven conveyance: paralyzed from 
the waist down; the loss or partial loss of both legs; or 
any other physical affliction which makes it impossible 
to walk from place to place successfully.  

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, hay, 
salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural food materi-
als, commercial products containing natural food ma-
terials, or by-products of such materials transported 
to or placed in an area for the purpose of attracting 
wildlife. Bait does not include livestock feed placed 
during normal agricultural activities.

SHOOTING FIREARMS OVER WATER OR 
HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any of the 
public highways or waters of the state or any rail-
road right-of-way. You cannot discharge a shotgun 
shooting a slug, pistol or revolver on or over a 
public roadway (see diagram). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a hand-
gun from a highway; or discharge a shotgun shooting 
slugs from a highway north of U.S. Highway 30, while 
deer hunting. 

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
ARCHERY: Longbows, recurve bows, and 

compound bows shooting broadhead arrows are 
permitted. No explosive or chemical devices may 
be attached to the arrow or broadhead.  There are 
no minimum draw weights for bows or minimum 
diameter for broadheads. Arrows must be at least 
18 inches long. Draw locks on compound bows are 
legal.

Crossbows are not legal except that a physically 
handicapped person, as defined on p. 14, may 
obtain a permit from the DNR to use a crossbow. 
Applications are available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting - click on “Licenses 

and Laws” and then on “License Applications,” 
or by visiting the DNR central office or any of the 
district offices (p. 51), or by calling the DNR at 515-
725-8200. Residents 65 and older may obtain one 
Antlerless-only statewide crossbow deer license. See 
p. 40 for details. Hunters may not carry a handgun 
while hunting under an archery tag, unless they have 
an unfilled transportation tag for a season that allows 
handguns or a valid permit to carry.

SHOTGUNS: 10-, 12-, 16-, and 20-gauge shot-
guns shooting single slugs only. 

MUZZLELOADERS: Flintlock or percussion 
cap muzzleloading rifles or muskets between .44 
and .775 caliber shooting single projectiles; muzzle-
loading pistols .44 caliber or larger. Muzzleload-
ers equipped with electronic ignition are not 
allowed. In-line and disk-type muzzleloaders are 
allowed. Riflescopes may also be used.

HANDGUNS/RIFLES: Center-fire handguns 
.357 caliber or larger, and rifles shooting straight 
wall ammunition with an expanding-type bullet 
(non full metal jacket). 

Deer hunters age 16 and under may not use any 
handguns. Deer hunters ages 17 through 20 must 
be accompanied by a parent, guardian or spouse 
who is at least 21 years old to use a handgun.

ALLOWABLE STRAIGHT-WALLED  
CARTRIDGE CRITERIA 

	■ Center-fired straight-walled rimless cartridges 
with bullets from 0.357” to 0.500” diameter as 
published by manufacturer and a case length from 
0.850” to 1.800.”

	■ Center-fired straight-walled rimmed cartridges 
with bullets from 0.357” to 0.500” diameter as 
published by manufacturer with a case length from 
1.285” to 1.800.”

	■ The following cartridges do not meet the above 
criteria, but are allowed: .444 Marlin, .375 Win-
chester and .45-70 Govt.

}
Private Property

Private Property

Highway or
Right-of-Way

Fence

Fence

Ditch

Ditch

Roadway
(includes
shoulder){
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Rimmed
Cartridge
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LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE BY SEASON
						      Straight wall
SEASON	 Archery	 Muzzleloader	 Handgun	 Shotgun	 Crossbow	 Rifles
Youth/Disabled	 X	 X	 X1	 X		  X6

Bow3,4	 X		
Early Muzzleloader		  X	 X2			 
Late Muzzleloader	 X	 X	 X		  X5	
Shotgun 1		  X	 X	 X		  X6

Shotgun 2		  X	 X	 X		  X6

Nonresident Holiday Season	 X	 X	 X			 
1 Only disabled hunters that are otherwise eligible may use a handgun. 2 Muzzleloading pistols only.
3Antlerless Senior (65 years old and older) Statewide Crossbow License during the bow season only. 
4Cannot carry a handgun while hunting with a bow tag, unless hunter has an unfilled transportation tag for a  
season that allows handguns or a valid permit to carry.
5Resident hunters only. 6Only rifles shooting straight-walled cartridges are allowed. See p. 37.

GOING OUT OF STATE TO HUNT?
DNR regulations prohibit bringing back whole carcasses of deer, elk, moose or caribou into the state 

from areas where CWD has been identified, whether they were taken from wild, free-ranging animals or 
shot on a hunting preserve.

Currently, CWD has been detected in free-ranging populations in Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Iowa, 
Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New 
York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wiscon-
sin, Wyoming and in Alberta and Saskatchewan, Canada. It has been detected in captive facilities in Colo-
rado, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsyl-
vania, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin and Wyoming, and in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Quebec, Canada.

If you take a deer, elk, moose or caribou in a CWD endemic area, you may bring back only the boned 
out meat, skin (cape) and antlers. Antlers may be attached only to a clean skull plate from which all brain 
and connective tissue has been removed. Animals taken outside of identified CWD areas may be trans-
ported in any manner that is otherwise legal.  

It is very unlikely that CWD could be contracted by eating venison from Iowa deer. However, for con-
cerned hunters, the best preventive measures are:
 Avoid shooting obviously sick or emaciated deer.   
 Wear latex or rubber gloves while field dressing to reduce the chance of contracting any disease.  
 Bone out the meat from your animal.
 Minimize handling and avoid eating the brain, spinal cord, eyes, spleen, tonsils and lymph nodes of 

harvested animals.
 Wash hands and instruments thoroughly after field dressing is complete.
 Thoroughly cook all meat (or meat products like sausage or jerky) until juices run clear. 

Any dead deer that is obviously emaciated or with unnatural lesions or growths on the internal  
organs or chest cavity should be reported to a DNR wildlife biologist or conservation officer.
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CARING FOR DEER AFTER HARVEST
•	 Know how the locker wants to receive the meat. 
•	 Properly field-dress within 30 minutes of harvest 
with special attention to removing the intestines, 
especially important above 45 degrees.
•	 Wear disposable gloves and use clean tools – keep 
the meat clean.
•	 ONLY use bags and containers designed for food 
– NOT garbage bags.
•	 A link to a guide on proper field-dressing is  
available at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting. 

CROSSBOW: A legal weapon for residents 
during the Late Muzzleloader season. A cross-
bow consists of a bow mounted transversely on a 
stock or frame and designed to fire a bolt, arrow 
or quarrel by the release of the bow string, which 
is controlled by a mechanical trigger and work-
ing safety. Crossbows equipped with pistol grips 
and designed to be fired with one hand are illegal 
for taking or attempting to take deer or turkey. All 
projectiles used in conjunction with a crossbow for 
deer hunting must be equipped with a broadhead. 
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BONUS DEER HUNTS
YOUTH DEER SEASON

Iowa residents who are younger than 16 years 
old on the day they obtain a license are eligible 
for the Youth Season subject to the following 
restrictions:
l	 While hunting, youth hunters must be under 

the direct supervision of an adult mentor who 
has a valid Hunting License and has paid the 
Habitat Fee, if the adult is normally required to 
have them to hunt. Only one youth hunter may 
accompany each adult mentor.

l	 Clothing requirements, method of take and all 
other deer hunting regulations in effect during 
the regular deer seasons are in effect during 
the youth season, if hunting deer with a firearm. 

l	 If a youth hunter turns 16 while utilizing a youth 
license, they must purchase a hunting license 
and habitat fee, if normally required.

Youth hunters may hunt with a bow, shotgun, 
straight-wall cartridge rifle or muzzleloader as 
defined on p. 37.  

UNFILLED YOUTH TAG
Youth hunters with a Youth Deer License who 

do not take a deer during the youth deer hunt-
ing season may use the Youth Deer License and 
unused tag during any following deer season. 
The youth must follow all other rules specified 
for each season. Party hunting is not allowed 
while hunting with a youth tag, regardless of 
the season. The deer must be harvested by the 
youth whose name is on the tag. Youth hunters 
may also obtain deer licenses for other seasons 
like any other hunter. 

	
SEVERELY DISABLED DEER LICENSE

A severely disabled (see p. 14) Iowa resident 
may be issued one General Deer License to 
hunt deer during the Youth Season with a bow, 
shotgun, straight-wall cartridge rifle or muzzle-
loader as defined on p. 37. A person obtaining 
this license may obtain any other deer hunting 
licenses for which they are eligible. Applications 
for a severely disabled deer license permit are 
available online at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting 
then clicking on Licenses and Laws, or any of the 
regional or district offices listed on p. 51, or by 
calling the DNR at 515-725-8200. After approval 
and filing of the permit application with the DNR, 

severely disabled hunters may purchase this spe-
cial license at any ELSI agent.  

NON-AMBULATORY DEER LICENSE
	A non-ambulatory Iowa resident may be  

issued one General deer license which may be 
used to hunt deer during any established deer 
hunting season using the method of take for that 
season until the license is filled. A person obtain-
ing this license may obtain any other deer hunting 
licenses for which they are eligible. Applications 
for a non-ambulatory license permit are available 
online at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then click-
ing on Licenses and Laws, or any of the regional 
or district offices listed on p. 51, or by calling the 
DNR at 515-725-8200. After approval and filing of 
the permit application with the DNR, non-ambula-
tory hunters may purchase this special license at 
any ELSI agent.  

CROSSBOW LICENSE FOR SENIORS
Resident hunters 65 years old and on the day 

they purchase a license, may purchase one state-
wide Antlerless-only License to hunt deer with a 
crossbow. This license may be obtained in addi-
tion to any other deer license. 
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"Full Line Benelli -Franchi-Stoeger-Uberti Dealer" 

 

1118 4th Ave S, Denison, IA 51442 
support@bwoutfitters.org 
(712) 393-4867 
Mon-Sat: 10am-6pm  

 
 

309 Truman Rd, Anita, IA 50020 
support@bwoutfitters.org 
(712) 762-3374 
Mon-Sat: 9am-5pm, Thur: 9am-8pm  
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LANDOWNERS TENANT DEER LICENSES
Landowners, tenants and their eligible family 
members must register with the DNR before 
obtaining Landowner-Tenant Licenses (LOT). 
See p. 13 to determine who is eligible.

If there is more than one owner, there is still 
a maximum of four licenses for the farm unit. Li-
censes may be divided among qualifying family 
members. It is illegal to use a LOT deer license 
to hunt on land owned or controlled by another 
individual.

LOT GENERAL DEER LICENSES are valid 
for taking a deer of either sex during the season 
selected by the hunter at time of purchase (you 
must meet eligibility requirements to purchase 
for the Youth or Disabled deer seasons).  If 
a LOT General license is purchased for the 
shotgun season, it is valid for both shotgun 
seasons, but only one deer may be harvested 
and tagged. There is one General Deer 
license available for purchase per farm unit for 
landowners, and their eligible family members, 
even if there are multiple landowners registered 
on the same farm unit. There is one General 
Deer license available for purchase per farm 
unit for tenants, and their eligible family 
members, even if there are multiple tenants 
registered on the same farm unit. 

LOT YOUTH DEER LICENSES A youth age 
18 or younger who resides with and is a member 
of the family of a landowner or tenant who is 
eligible for Landowner-Tenant Deer Licenses may 
obtain a Landowner-Tenant License for the Youth 
Season. The Landowner-Tenant Youth License 
will count as the one Landowner-Tenant 
General Deer License the landowner or tenant 
family is entitled to for all deer seasons.

LOT ANTLERLESS-ONLY LICENSES 
are valid for taking an antlerless deer during 
the season selected by the hunter at the 
time of purchase (you must meet eligibility 
requirements to purchase for the Youth or 
Disabled deer seasons).Up to three LOT 
Antlerless-only licenses are available for 
purchase per farm unit for landowners, and 
their eligible family members, even if there are 
multiple landowners registered on the same 
farm unity. Up to three LOT antlerless-only 
license are available for purchase per farm unit 
for tenants, and their eligible family members, 
even if there are multiple tenants registered 
on the same farm unit. One of the three LOT 
antlerless-only licenses is $2 and the other two 
are $15 each. 

How many LOT licenses can I buy? The 
landowner, and their eligible family members, 
and/or co-owners of a farm unit must be 
registered on the same land parcel. Landowners 
registerd on the same parcel share a maximum 
of four Landowner-Tenant licenses, one General 
deer and three Antlerless-only licenses.These 
license may be divided among the registered 
landowners in any way the family or co-owners 
choose. If there is no tenant on the property, the 
maximum number of licenses available is still 
four for the farm unit.  
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POPULATION MANAGEMENT ZONES
Deer population management zones are used to reduce or maintain deer numbers. Each 

management zone has its own license quota, season dates, license restrictions and proficiency 
requirements. Most licenses are Antlerless-only. 

Management zone hunts are listed online at  
http://www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/DeerHunting/DeerManagementHunts.aspx 

Licenses for these hunts will not count in determining the number of licenses an individual 
may have, or against the county quota for Antlerless-only Licenses.  

DEERDEER
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MANDATORY HARVEST REPORTING FOR 
DEER AND WILD TURKEY

	Hunters who harvest a deer or wild 
turkey must report the harvest to the DNR 
by midnight on the day after it is tagged, or 
before taking it to a locker or taxidermist, 
or before processing it for consumption, or 
before transporting it out-of-state, whichever 
occurs first. The hunter whose name is on the 
transportation tag is responsible for making 
the report. If no animal is harvested, no report 
is necessary. Failure to report or reporting 
falsely may result in a misdemeanor 
citation and possible loss of hunting 
privileges.

There are four options to report the 
harvest:

	1) Online at www.iowadnr.gov, available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week. 

	2) By phone at the toll-free phone number 
printed on the harvest report tag, available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week.  

	3) Through a license vendor during regular 
business hours. 

4) NEW: Simply text your registration 
number to 1-800-771-4692 and follow the 
prompts.

The Harvest Reporting System will issue a 
confirmation number to the hunter that must 
be written on the Harvest Report Tag and at-
tached to the leg of the animal. Failure to do 
so may result in a misdemeanor citation.  

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Iowa Deer and Turkey tags consist of two 

portions. The lower portion of the tag is the 
Transportation Tag and the upper portion is the 
Harvest Report Tag (see p. 43). Each performs 
different functions.

Antlerless

Antlered

TRANSPORTATION TAG
A Transportation Tag with the date 

of kill properly shown shall be visibly 
attached to the deer or turkey within 
15 minutes of the time it is located 
after being taken or before the 
carcass is moved to be transported 
by any means, whichever occurs 
first, in a manner that the tag can-
not be removed without mutilating 
or destroying it. However, the 
carcass may be moved away 
from an obstacle, entangle-
ment, waterway, roadway or 
other area if that location would 
be a safety hazard, but only so 
far as necessary to avoid the 
hazard, then tagged immedi-
ately before being moved to 
be transported. 

For antlerless deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag to the 
leg as shown. 

For antlered deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag on 
the main beam between two 
points as shown. 

No person shall tag a deer 
with a Transportation Tag issued to another 
person. 

During the youth season, disabled hunter 
season, bow season, early muzzleloader sea-
son and late muzzleloader season, the hunter 
who killed the deer must tag the deer by using 
the Transportation Tag issued in that person’s 
name.  

During the first and second regular gun sea-
sons, anyone present in the hunting party may 
tag a deer with a tag issued in that person’s 
name. Party hunting is not allowed while 
hunting with a youth tag, regardless of the 
season. 

This tag shall be proof of possession and 
remain affixed to the carcass until the animal 
is processed for consumption. The head, and 
antlers if any, shall remain attached to the deer 
while being transported from the place where 
taken to the processor or commercial preserva-
tion facility or until the deer has been processed 
for consumption.
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The Iowa Elks Association collects deer 
hides for use in the Iowa Veterans Leather 
Program. Veterans learn valuable skills while 
making leather products from the hides. 

Contact your local Elks Lodge for informa-
tion on the deer hides donation program and 
collection location. 

THANK YOU deer hunters for supporting 
Iowa Veterans.

DONATE DEER HIDES
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HARVEST REPORT TAG
The Harvest Report Tag, with the confirmation 

number properly recorded, must be attached to 
the leg of the animal after reporting and before 
the reporting deadline (pictured below). The 
Harvest Report Tag must be attached so that 
it is easily visible and cannot be removed with-
out being mutilated or destroyed and remain 
attached to the carcass until the animal is pro-
cessed for consumption. 

TIPS ON TAGGING/REPORTING DEER  
AND TURKEYS
1)	 Remove the Transportation Tag from 

backing and attach to antlers if it is an 
antlered deer, otherwise attach to deer or 

turkey leg. Press halves of the tag together 
to bond. The hunter’s name, registration 
number and date of harvest must be 
readable. 

2) 	 Follow instructions on the Harvest Report 
Tag to report the animal. When reporting, 
you will need the harvest registration number 
from your tag and the Iowa county where 
the animal was harvested. For deer, report 
whether it was a doe, button buck, antlered 
buck, or shed-antler buck. For turkeys, report 
the length of the beard (fall) or length of the 
longest spur (spring).

3)	 Keep both the Transportation Tag and the 
Harvest Report Tag attached to the animal 
until it is processed for consumption.

Iowa law allows lawfully taken game carcasses and waste from home meat processing to be 
disposed with other residential waste, although your solid waste hauler may have some restrictions 
regarding the maximum size or weight of an individual bag. The waste should be sealed in plastic 
bags in lots that are similar in size and weight to a typical bag of residential waste. Contact your 
local waste hauler or landfill for the specific waste disposal requirements in your area.  

Dumping a game carcass in a road ditch or on other public property creates a nuisance and is 
subject to enforcement under the littering laws.

GAME CARCASS DISPOSAL 

NOTE: The actual tag may differ slightly in appearance. 

Harvest Registration 
Number listed here

Harvest Registration 
Number also listed here

Write confirmation 
number here
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PROPERLY CARING FOR DEER -  
Remember to take care of your harvest especial-
ly if donating to HUSH. It’s your job to keep the 
meat from spoiling. Every Harvest - remove the 
entrails, reproductive organs, clean out the chest 
cavity, split the pelvis and remove anal cavity 
then rinse the cavity well with water as soon as 
possible and before taking it to the locker. If air 
temperature is above 50 degrees, place bags 
or blocks of ice, or frozen milk jugs of water in 
the cavity to cool; replace every 24 hours. Place 
deer on garage floor to pull heat from the animal. 
Make arrangements with the locker before drop-
ping off the deer.

Any hunter may donate any legally taken, 
field-dressed, wild Iowa deer of any sex from 
any season to the HUSH program. A list of 
lockers participating in HUSH is available 
online at www.iowahush.com. Last year, 
around 3,700 deer were donated to the HUSH 
program providing about 620,000 meals to 
Iowans in need. 

Lockers may be added before deer season so 
check the webpage for the latest information. 

USH
Help Us Stop Hunger
H
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Coupon Expires July 31, 2021

Regular Price Of Any One Item In
Stock With Coupon 

20% OFF
* Exclusions may be mandated by the manufacturers.  Excludes: Firearms, ammunition,
licenses, Nike, Perception, select TaylorMade, select Callaway, Carhartt, Costa, Merrell
footwear, Oakley, Ray-Ban, New Balance, Terrain Blinds, Under Armour, Yeti,
Columbia, Garmin, Tennis balls, Titleist golf balls, GoPro, Nerf, Lego, Leupold, Fitbit,
arcade cabinets, bats and ball gloves over $149.98, shanties, large bag deer corn,
GPS/fish finders, motors, marine batteries, motorized vehicles and gift cards. Not valid
for online purchases. Cannot be used with another offer, coupon, current sale or 
clearance item. Only one coupon per customer. Not valid on previous purchases. Void
if copied. Not for resale.

20-P-212

*

®

Big Names....Low Prices!

Dunham’s Rewards
Receive money saving coupons 
and more. 

www.dunhamsrewards.com

Sportsmen Club
Are you a member of a Sportsmen’s Club
with 25 or more members?

www.dunhamssports.com/sportsmen

$avings Coupon

22,000 ACRES

For maps and details: 
www.iowadnr.gov/ihap 
Iowa Habitat and Access Program (IHAP)

THANK YOU to Iowa 
landowners for opening private 

land for public hunting

WALK-IN 
HUNTING AREAS

Walk-in hunting only, all other activies are prohibited
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LICENSE TYPES, PURCHASE DATES, 
HUNTING ZONES, QUOTAS, SEASON 
DATES, BAG LIMITS & SEX

See p. 10.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS THAT MAY APPLY  
TO FALL TURKEY HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 14.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES 
See p. 6 and 12.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached to 

the carcass of any wild turkey being transported 
within the state during any wild turkey hunting 
season and the tag must remain attached to the 
carcass until it is processed for consumption. 
See p. 42. 

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters who shoot a turkey must report the 

harvest through the DNR’s Harvest  
Reporting System. Hunters who do not shoot 
a turkey do not need to report. See p. 42 for 
details.

FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING NONRESIDENTS are not eligible 
for fall turkey hunting licenses

FALL TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Combination Gun/Bow Licenses are 

valid only in the zone selected by the hunter 
when the license is purchased.  Paid Gun/Bow 
Licenses are sold first-come first-served until the 
zone quotas are filled or the end of the season, 
whichever comes first. 

Paid Archery-only Licenses are valid 
statewide. There are no quotas and licenses are 
sold until the end of the season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow & Landowner-
Tenant Archery-only Licenses for eligible 
landowners and tenants or their family members 
are issued until the end of the respective 
season. Only one Landowner-Tenant Turkey 
License may be obtained per landowner family 
and one per tenant family. Landowner-Tenant 
Licenses are valid only on the farm unit of the 
landowner or tenant. See p. 13 to determine 
who is eligible for Landowner-Tenant fall Turkey 
Licenses, and how to register as a landower or 
tenant.

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum of 
two fall turkey hunting licenses: two Combination 
Gun/Bow Licenses, or two Archery-only 
Licenses, or one Combination Gun/Bow License 
and one Archery-only License. One of these 
licenses may be a Landowner-Tenant License if 
the hunter is eligible.  

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset.
Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to half-hour 

after sunset.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
See p. 46.

USE OF DOGS FALL SEASON ONLY 
Dogs may be used to locate, flush and retrieve 

wild turkeys as long as the hunter has a valid 
wild turkey license with an unfilled transportation 
tag in his or her possession. 
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Create Habitat 
for Wildlife

The State Forest Nursery has packets designed 

just for turkey, pheasant, quail, and songbirds.

TURKEY 
PACKET 

CREATE-
A-PACKET

QUAIL 
PACKET 

PHEASANT 
PACKET 

ORDER BY PHONE: 800.865.2477 
OR ONLINE: 

iowadnr.gov/Conservation/Forestry

ORDER YOUR 
TREES & SHRUBS TODAY!
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LICENSE TYPES, SEX, BAG LIMITS &  
SEASON DATES

See p. 7.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS THAT APPLY  
TO SPRING TURKEY HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 14.

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun/Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to  

sunset.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
Licenses go on sale Dec. 15.  

See p. 6 and 12.

ALL PAID LICENSES ARE VALID STATEWIDE

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached 

to the carcass of any wild turkey being trans-
ported within the state during any wild turkey 
hunting season and the tag must remain at-
tached to the carcass until it is processed for 
consumption. See p. 42.

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters who shoot a turkey must report 

the harvest through the DNR’s Harvest  
Reporting System. Hunters who do not shoot 
a turkey do not report. See p. 42 for details.

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Combination Gun/Bow Licenses are 

valid statewide in the season selected by the 
hunter at the time of purchase. Paid Gun/Bow 
Licenses are sold until the end of the season 
selected at the time of purchase. 

Paid Archery-only Licenses are valid 
statewide for all four seasons. There are no 
quotas and licenses are sold until the end of 
the fourth season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow licenses 
and Landowner-Tenant Archery-only 
Licenses for eligible landowners and tenants 

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY HUNTING
or their family members are sold until the end 
of the season selected at the time the license 
was purchased. See p. 13 to determine 
who is eligible for Landowner-Tenant Spring 
Turkey Licenses and how to register as a 
landowner or tenant. 

The following restrictions apply: Landowner-
Tenant Gun/Bow Licenses are valid in the 
season selected by the hunter at the time 
of purchase. Landowner-Tenant Archery-
only Licenses are valid in all four seasons. 
Landowner-Tenant Licenses are valid only 
on the farm unit of the landowner or tenant 
(see p. 13). One Landowner-Tenant Turkey 
License may be obtained per landowner farm 
unit and one per tenant farm unit. 

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum 
of two spring turkey hunting licenses. One of 
these may be a Landowner-Tenant License, if 
the hunter is eligible. 

License choices: two Archery-only (or) one 
Archery-only and one Combination Gun/Bow 
Season 4 (or) two Combination Gun/Bow of 
which at least one must be Season 4.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE SPRING & FALL
RESIDENT ARCHERY-ONLY LICENSE 

Longbows, recurve bows, and compound 
bows are permitted. No explosive or chemi-
cal devices may be attached to the arrow or 
broadhead. Blunthead arrows with a minimum 
diameter of 9/16-inch may also be used.  Ar-
rows must be at least 18 inches long.  

Crossbows are not legal, except that a 
physically handicapped person incapable of 
shooting a bow may obtain a permit from the 
DNR to use a crossbow (see p. 14).  
Applications are available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting - click on  
“Licenses and Laws” or call the DNR at  
515-725-8200.T
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participate, may obtain two licenses for the 
regular spring turkey seasons like any other 
hunter.

PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES
You may not use live decoys, dogs (except in 

the fall), horses, phones, radios, motorized ve-
hicles, aircraft, bait, recorded or electronically 
amplified turkey calls or electronically amplified 
imitations of turkey calls or sounds when hunt-
ing turkeys. Persons who meet one or more of 
the following conditions would be considered 
eligible for a non-ambulatory license and able 
to hunt from a stationary motor driven convey-
ance: paralyzed from the waist down; the loss 
or partial loss of both legs; or any other physi-
cal affliction which makes it impossible to walk 
from place to place successfully.  

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, 
hay, salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural 
food materials, commercial products containing 
natural food materials, or by-products of such 
materials transported to or placed in an area 
for the purpose of attracting wildlife. Bait does 
not include food placed during normal agricul-
tural activities. 

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS
A resident hunter with a valid spring turkey 

hunting license for any season may assist  
other hunters in any season. A nonresident 
may assist other hunters only in the zone and 
season indicated on his or her license. The 
hunter doing the assisting may not carry a 
shotgun or bow or shoot a turkey unless he or 
she has a valid license and an unfilled  
transportation tag for that zone and season.

RESIDENT GUN/BOW LICENSE 
Archery equipment as defined on p. 46, 

and 10-, 12-, 16- and 20-gauge shotguns or 
muzzleloading shotguns shooting number 4 
through 8 lead or nontoxic shot. Hunters may 
not have shot sizes other than those listed 
above on their person while hunting turkeys. 
Muzzleloading rifles may not be used to 
hunt turkeys.

YOUTH TURKEY HUNTING SEASON 
(RESIDENTS ONLY)

Hunters younger than 16 years old on the 
day they purchase a license may participate 
in the Youth Turkey Season. The Youth Wild 
Turkey License will be a Combination Gun/
Bow License valid statewide. The youth does 
not have to have a Hunting License or have 
completed a hunter education course in order 
to participate. A Youth Season License is 
valid for the Youth Season or if unfilled 
may be used in any other spring season.  

Youth hunters must be under the direct 
supervision of an adult mentor while hunting 
during the Youth Season. The mentor must 
have a valid Wild Turkey License for one of 
the spring seasons, a valid Hunting License, 
and have paid the Habitat Fee if the adult is 
normally required to have them to hunt. The 
mentor must not carry a bow or firearm and 
must be in the direct company of the youth 
at all times. There may be no more than 
one youth with each properly licensed adult 
mentor. The youth and mentor must comply 
with all spring turkey hunting regulations.

A youth who resides with and is a member 
of a family of a landowner or tenant who is 
eligible for a Landowner-Tenant Wild Turkey 
Hunting License may obtain a Landowner-
Tenant License for the Youth Season. The 
Landowner-Tenant Youth License will 
count as the one Landowner-Tenant Wild 
Turkey Hunting License the landowner or 
tenant family is entitled to for the spring 
turkey seasons.

Youth hunters may obtain one additional 
Gun/Bow License for Season 4, or one 
Archery-only License. Hunters that are eligible 
for the Youth Season, but choose not to 
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OTHER INFORMATION
FALCONRY

Game may be taken by licensed falcon-
ers. All falconers who pursue game must carry 
a copy of their Iowa Falconry License and 
have a valid resident or nonresident Hunting 
License and pay the Habitat Fee. 

Falconry regulations for hunting, including 
bag and possession limits and the listing of 
permitted game species, can be found at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then click on  
Licensing and Laws and scroll to the bottom 
of the page, or by calling 515-725-8200 from 
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. M-F. The minimum age of 
falconers is 14. 

FALCONRY SEASON
SMALL GAME	 OPEN	 CLOSE
Pheasant, Quail,	
Partridge & Grouse	 Oct. 1	 March 31
Rabbit	 Sept. 1	 March 31
WATERFOWL		
Ducks: All Zones	 Jan. 6	 Feb. 3
Geese	 Same as conventional seasons

HUNTING SHED ANTLERS  
It is permissible for people to hunt for shed 

antlers. Shed antlers are antlers that have 
naturally fallen from a whitetail deer. Shed ant-
lers can be collected on public land including 
state parks. Permission must be granted from 
the landowner on private land. (See trespass 
law on p. 14.) Antlers that are still attached to 
the skull or any other parts of a deer can only 
be possessed with approval and tag from an 
Iowa DNR conservation officer.

CROWS 
A migratory bird stamp is not required to hunt 

crows. 

TAXIDERMY
A taxidermist is a person engaged in the 

business of preserving or mounting game, fish 
or furbearing animals. A license is required for 
anyone to practice taxidermy and the taxider-
mist must contact a DNR conservation officer 
prior to operating. 

A federal permit is required for activities 
involving migratory birds. Obtain the permit by 
contacting the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service at 
612-713-5449. 

PROTECTED NONGAME
Protected nongame species include wild 

birds, fish, bats, reptiles and amphibians or 
their eggs or nests, their dead body or dead 
body parts or a product made from their parts. 
Any bat, with the exception of the Indiana bat, 
that is found within a building occupied by  
humans is not protected.

UNPROTECTED NONGAME
The European starling, the house sparrow, 

and the common garter snake are not protect-
ed species. Timber rattlesnakes are protected 
in Allamakee, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, 
Dubuque, Fayette, Henry, Jackson, Jones, 
Lee, Madison, Van Buren and Winneshiek 
counties but not including an area of 50 yards 
around houses actively occupied by humans in 
those counties.

OHV USE AND HUNTING
The following regulations apply when using Off-

Highway Vehicles (OHV) for hunting purposes:
 It is illegal to operate an OHV on DNR Wild-
life Management Areas. Physically handicapped 
persons may be eligible for a permit to operate an 
OHV on DNR lands. Permission for access is still 
required. See p. 17.
 Any firearm being transported on an OHV must 
be unloaded and enclosed in a carrying case, 
except as otherwise provided. A person shall not 
discharge a firearm while on an OHV, except that 
a nonambulatory person may discharge a firearm 
from an OHV while lawfully hunting if the person 
is not operating or riding a moving OHV. Refer 
to a current copy of Iowa’s OHV regulations for 
more details.  

Iowa’s OHV Regulations are available from lo-
cal conservation officers, county recorders, DNR 
offices or online at www.iowadnr.gov.
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DOG RESTRICTIONS
RABIES VACCINATION. Hunters bringing dogs four months of age or older into Iowa must have in 

their possession a health certificate verifying the rabies and other vaccinations of the dog(s).
WHERE RESTRICTED. All dogs are prohibited on all state-owned game management areas be-

tween March 15 and July 15 of each year, except that dog training is permitted on designated training 
areas. Field and retriever meets are restricted to designated sites.

A permit must be obtained from the DNR for field and retriever meets. The permit shall show the exact 
designated site of the meet and all dogs shall be confined to that site.

TRAINING DOGS. Hunters need a valid Hunting License and have paid the Habitat Fee to train a 
bird dog on game birds. An Iowa Migratory Bird Fee and Federal Waterfowl Stamp are required if using 
waterfowl taken from the wild. A valid Furharvester License and Habitat Fee is required to train a coon 
hound, fox hound or trailing dog on any furbearing animals at any time of the year, including during the 
closed season on such birds or animals. The animals, when pursued to a tree or den, shall not be fur-
ther chased or removed in any manner from the tree or den. Hunters must have a Hunting License or a 
Furharvester License and Habitat Fee to train a dog on coyote or groundhog.

Only a pistol, revolver or other gun shooting blank cartridges shall be used while training dogs during 
closed hunting seasons.

If a dog is entered in a licensed field trial the hunter does not need any type of Hunting  
License to participate in the event or to exercise the dog on the area on which the field trial is to be held 
during the 24-hour period preceding the trial. 

Pen-raised game birds of either sex may be used and shot in the training of bird dogs. Before any bird 
is released or used in the training of dogs, the bird must be banded with a band from the DNR. Contact 
the DNR at 515-725-8200.

OTHER INFORMATION

A feral hog is any hog, including Russian and Eu-
ropean wild boar, that is not identified by ear tags or 
other identification and is roaming freely on public 
or private land. 

Feral hogs are not native to Iowa and releasing 
pigs intentionally to hunt is illegal. 

Hunters are encouraged to report feral hog 
sightings while in the field to the Iowa DNR’s forest 
wildlife biologist at 641-774-2958 or the USDA. The 
DNR would like to collect a blood sample.  

Feral hogs can spread diseases to humans, pets 
and all domestic livestock, especially pigs. These 
animals damage crops and forest lands and com-
pete with native wildlife for food. They eat anything 
they can catch, including reptiles, amphibians, deer 
fawns, bird eggs and newly born livestock.

Photo courtesy of Kenton Lohraff, wildlife biologist, 
Directorate of Public Works Natural Resources Branch, 
Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri.
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OTHER INFORMATION
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Iowa DNR Shooting Ranges

1. Banner Shooting Range
13796 Elkhorn Street, Hwy. 65/69, between Des 
Moines and Indianola. Fees collected. Range 
safety officer on site during hours of operation. 
bannerrange@dnr.iowa.gov or 515-961-6408.

2. Bays Branch Shooting Range
2 miles north of Panora, 2.5 miles east on 190th 
Street.

3. Brushy Creek Shooting Range 
[Two ranges] Both ranges are at Brushy Creek 
State Recreation Area. One is south of the park office, 
about half-mile north of County Road D-46. The other 
is a trap range. Take 250th from County Road P-73 
and turn right on Taylor Ave. 

4. Charles “Butch” Olofson Shooting Range
4.7 miles north of Polk City on NW Madrid Blvd. Fees 
collected. Range safety officer on site during hours of 
operation. 515-795-4000. 

5. Hawkeye Wildlife Shooting Range
3/4 mile east of Swisher on F12, 2.5 miles south 
on Hwy. 965, 2 miles west on Amana Road. Range 
safety officer on site during peak hours.

6. Hull Shooting Range
4 miles west of Oskaloosa on Hwy. 92.

7. Ocheyedan Shooting Range
5 miles west of Spencer on West 4th Street.

8. Oyens Shooting Range
2.5 miles north of Oyens on County Road K-64.

9. Pine Ridge Shooting Range
1 mile west of Steamboat Rock off County Road S-56.

10. Princeton Shooting Range
Half-mile north of Princeton on Hwy. 67, 1 mile north on 
285th Ave., east on 266th Street. Range safety officer on 
site during peak hours. 563-210-8213.

11. Spring Run Shooting Range
3 miles east of Spirit Lake on Hwy. 9, 2.5 miles south on 
280th Ave.

Hours of operation are sunrise to sunset except for Banner and Olofson, which are posted.
For detailed information and area maps, go to http://www.iowadnr.gov/ranges

SHOOTING 
SP  RTS

PRECAUTIONS ABOUT LEAD IN VENISON
Deer shot with bullets containing lead can have particles of lead remaining in the meat, some too small 

to see or feel. Although lead can be harmful to humans, even in low amounts, there is no known  
evidence that links human consumption of venison to lead poisoning. Children under 6 years and  
pregnant women are at the greatest risk from lead exposure. Since 1992, about 500,000 Iowans under 
6 years and 25,000 adults have been tested for lead poisoning, and no elevated blood lead levels have 
been attributed to venison or any other wild game. 

To minimize potential exposure to lead in venison: 
• Remind your meat processor to, or if you process your own venison, trim a generous distance away 

from the wound channel and discard any meat that is bruised, discolored, or contains hair, dirt or bone 
fragments. 

• Avoid consuming internal organs.
• Practice marksmanship and outdoor skills to get closer, cleaner, lethal shots away from major  

muscle areas. (Don’t shoot at running deer.)
• Consider non-lead alternative such as copper or others that have high-weight retention.
Call the Iowa Department of Public Health at 1-800-972-2026 for information Lead Poisoning  

Prevention.
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For questions concerning wildlife damage to 
private property, contact the depredation staff for 
your county, listed on the map below.

1) BLACK HAWK UNIT__________712-661-9726
2) CEDAR-WAPSI UNIT_________319-213-2815
3) CLEAR LAKE UNIT___________641-425-2814
4) GRAND RIVER UNIT_ ________515-238-5708
5) GREAT LAKES UNIT_ ________712-330-4543
6) IOWA RIVER UNIT___________319-330-7013
7) MAQUOKETA UNIT_ _________563-357-2035
8) MISSOURI RIVER UNIT_______712-420-2437
9) NISHNABOTNA UNIT_________712-350-0147
10) ODESSA UNIT_ ____________319-551-8459
11) PRAIRIE LAKES UNIT_ ______712-330-2563
12) RATHBUN UNIT____________641-535-6765
13) RED ROCK UNIT_ __________515-238-6936
14) SAYLORVILLE UNIT_________712-330-6685
15) SUGEMA UNIT_____________641-799-0793
16) UPPER IOWA UNIT_ ________563-380-3422

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT BIOLOGISTS
PHONE NUMBERS
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For information on the following species, 
contact:
NONGAME WILDLIFE, DEER, PHEASANTS,  
QUAIL & RABBITS 
Boone Research Station 
1436 255th Street, Boone 50036  
515-432-2823

WILD TURKEY, SQUIRREL  
& RUFFED GROUSE
Chariton Research Station 
24570 US Hwy. 34, Chariton 50049  
641-774-2958 

WATERFOWL & FURBEARERS
Clear Lake Fish & Wildlife Station
1203 N. Shore Drive, Clear Lake 50428  
641-357-3517

DISTRICT OFFICES
(DNR Fish, Wildlife and Law Enforcement)
HEADQUARTERS: Wallace State Office Bldg. 
502 E. Ninth St., Des Moines 50319-0034  
515-725-8200
NORTHWEST: Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery  
122 252nd Ave., Spirit Lake 51360 
712-336-1840
NORTHEAST: Manchester Fish Hatchery 
22693 205th Ave., Manchester 52057 
563-927-3276
SOUTHWEST: Cold Springs State Park 
57744 Lewis Rd., Lewis 51544 
712-769-2587
SOUTHEAST: Lake Darling State Park 
110 Lake Darling Rd., Brighton 52540 
319-694-2430

BLACK HAWK OFFICE 
116 South State Road, Lake View 51450
712-657-2638

RATHBUN FISH HATCHERY 
15053 Hatchery Place, Moravia 52571
641-647-2406 
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Darrin Jones
515-777-8079

Inga Roen
515-518-7788

Andy Kellner
515-975-8318

Helga 
Offenburger
641-203-2970

Greg Harris
319-330-5578

Ross Ellingson
563-929-6001
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JONES 	 Lucas Dever.........................319-480-0397
KEOKUK 	 Wesley Gould.......................641-660-3441
KOSSUTH 	 Virginia Schulte....................712-260-1003
LEE 	 Ben Schlader........................319-470-0788
LINN 	 Angela Jansen.....................319-350-2863
		  Ron Lane..............................319-350-2871
LOUISA 	 Joe Fourdyce.......................563-260-1225
LUCAS 	 Kyle Jensen..........................641-414-2175
LYON 	 Tait Anderson.......................712-260-1006
MADISON 	 Craig Lonneman..................515-238-5005
MAHASKA 	 John Steinbach....................641-660-0741
MARION 	 Eric Hoffman........................641-891-2004
	 	 Ken Kenyon..........................641-891-1246
MARSHALL 	 Tyson Brown........................641-751-5246
MILLS 	 Richard Price........................712-520-0121
MITCHELL 	 Jacob Fulk............................319-240-9174 
MONONA 	 Gary Sisco............................712-420-1486
MONROE 	 Dallas Davis.........................641-777-2163
	 	 Adam Arnold........................641-777-2164
MONTGOMERY	 Vacant...................................712-520-0507
MUSCATINE 	 Derrick Slutts.......................563-260-1223
O’BRIEN 	 Joe Yarkosky (east 1/2)........712-260-1004
		  John Sells (west 1/2) ...........712-260-1019
OSCEOLA 	 Tait Anderson.......................712-260-1006
PAGE 	 Vacant...................................712-520-0507
PALO ALTO 	 Chris Subbert.......................712-260-1009
PLYMOUTH 	 Chad Morrow........................712-260-1023
POCAHONTAS 	 Nathan Haupert....................712-330-8462
POLK 	 Nate Anderson.....................515-238-4849
	 	 Aaron Arthur........................515-238-5006
POTTAWATTAMIE 	Adam Gacke.........................712-520-5570
		  Richard Price (west 1/2).......712-520-0121
POWESHIEK 	 John Steinbach....................641-660-0741
RINGGOLD 	 Corey Carlton.......................641-414-2173
SAC 	 Kirby Bragg..........................712-661-9237
SCOTT 	 Jeff Harrison.........................563-349-9418
	  	 Travis Graves.......................563-349-8953
SHELBY 	 Aaron Johnson....................712-249-2015
SIOUX 	 John Sells.............................712-260-1019
STORY 	 Brandon Bergquist..............515-290-0177
		  Vacant...................................515-290-0527
TAMA 	 Brett Reece...........................641-751-0931
TAYLOR 	 Andrea Bevington................712-520-0508
UNION	 Corey Carlton.......................641-414-2173
VAN BUREN 	 Chris Flynn...........................641-919-9115
WAPELLO 	 Matt Rush.............................641-777-7805 
		  Bob Stuchel..........................641-777-2169
WARREN 	 Craig Cutts...........................515-238-4847
WASHINGTON 	 Wesley Gould.......................641-660-3441
WAYNE 	 Kyle Jensen..........................641-414-2175
WEBSTER 	 Bill Spece..............................515-571-0127
WINNEBAGO 	 Vacant...................................641-425-0821
WINNESHIEK 	 Brian Roffman......................563-380-0496
WOODBURY 	 Stacey Bragg........................712-301-6735
		  Steven Griebel......................712-301-4009
WORTH 	 Vacant...................................641-425-0821
WRIGHT 	 Ken Lonneman.....................641-425-0823

RECREATION SAFETY OFFICERS
NORTHWEST 	 Marty Eby..............................712-260-1036
NORTHEAST	 Pat Jorgensen......................319-240-8640	
SOUTHEAST  	 Terry Nims............................563-357-1812 
SOUTHCENTRAL	 Jeffrey Barnes......................515-290-4907	
SOUTHWEST	 Allen Crouse.........................515-238-4955

COUNTY 
ADAIR	 Grant Gelly...............................712-250-0303
ADAMS 	 Andrea Bevington....................712-520-0508
ALLAMAKEE	 Jared Landt..............................563-794-1224
APPANOOSE	 Adam Arnold............................641-777-2164
		  Dallas Davis.............................641-777-2163
AUDUBON	 Jeremy King.............................712-250-0061
BENTON	 Brett Reece (west 1/2)..............641-751-0931
		  Ron Lane (east 1/2)..................319-350-2871
BLACK HAWK	 Vacant.......................................319-240-5034
BOONE 	 Vacant.......................................515-290-0527
		  Brandon Bergquist..................515-290-0177
BREMER 	 Vacant.......................................319-240-5034
	 	 Chris Jones..............................319-939-4448
BUCHANAN	 Dakota Drish.............................563-920-0566
BUENA VISTA	 Brent Koppie............................712-260-1010
BUTLER	 Jordon Hansen.........................319-240-8033
CALHOUN 	 Nathan Haupert........................712-330-8462
CARROLL	 Vacant,......................................515-370-0422
CASS 	 Grant Gelly...............................712-250-0303
CEDAR 	 Eric Wright................................319-530-6121
CERRO GORDO Matt Washburn.........................641-425-0822
		  Ben Bergman...........................641-425-0828
CHEROKEE 	 Brent Koppie (east 1/2) ...........712-260-1010
		  Chad Morrow (west 1/2)...........712-260-1023
CHICKASAW 	 Marc Waterlander.....................319-240-6662
CLARKE 	 Michael Miller...........................641-414-2174
CLAY 	 Joe Yarkosky............................712-260-1004
CLAYTON 	 Jerry Farmer.............................563-880-0422
		  Burt Walters.............................563-880-0108
CLINTON 	 Lucas Webinger.......................563-357-1078
CRAWFORD 	 Gary Sisco................................712-420-1486
DALLAS 	 Dustin Eighmy..........................515-883-0228
DAVIS 	 Bob Stuchel..............................641-777-2169
		  Matt Rush.................................641-777-7805
DECATUR 	 Michael Miller...........................641-414-2174
DELAWARE 	 Dakota Drish.............................563-920-0566
DES MOINES 	 Paul Kay....................................319-759-0751
DICKINSON 	 Vacant.......................................712-260-1017
		  Steve Reighard.........................712-260-1018
DUBUQUE 	 Andrew Keil..............................563-590-1945
		  Nate Johnson...........................563-590-1944
EMMET 	 Chris Subbert...........................712-260-1009
FAYETTE 	 Chris Jones..............................319-939-4448
FLOYD 	 Jacob Fulk................................319-240-9174
FRANKLIN 	 Jordon Hansen.........................319-240-8033
FREMONT 	 Marlowe Wilson........................712-520-0506
GREENE 	 Vacant.......................................515-370-0422
GRUNDY 	 Tyson Brown............................641-751-5246
GUTHRIE 	 Jeremy King.............................712-250-0061
HAMILTON 	 Vacant.......................................515-238-2047
HANCOCK 	 Ken Lonneman.........................641-425-0823
HARDIN 	 Vacant.......................................515-238-2047
HARRISON 	 Aaron Johnson........................712-249-2015
HENRY 	 Dan Henderson........................319-653-1636
HOWARD 	 Marc Waterlander.....................319-240-6662
HUMBOLDT 	 Bill Spece..................................515-571-0127
IDA		 Kirby Bragg..............................712-661-9237
IOWA 	 Brad Baker...............................319-430-1630
JACKSON 	 Lucas Dever.............................319-480-0397
		  Andrew Keil..............................563-590-1945
JASPER 	 Will Brickel...............................641-521-2003
JEFFERSON 	 Chris Flynn...............................641-919-9115
		  Dan Henderson........................319-653-1636 
JOHNSON 	 Erika Billerbeck........................319-330-9710
		  Brad Baker...............................319-430-1630

COUNTY 
CONSERVATION OFFICERS 

OFFICER CELL PHONE OFFICER CELL PHONE
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  The sunrise-sunset schedule 
above represents Zone 1 in eastern 
Iowa (See map at left).

 Add four minutes for each zone 
west of Zone 1 (see map).

SUNRISE-SUNSET TABLE
Daylight Savings Time is in effect from the 
second Sunday in March to the first Sunday 
in November.

The schedule is based on Central Stan-
dard Time (shaded).

	 Sept. 20	 Oct. 20	 Nov. 20	 Dec. 20	 Jan. 21	 Feb. 21	 Mar. 21	 April 21	 May 21
Day	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	 Set	 Rise	Set	 Rise	   Set	 Rise   Set	Day
	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	 p.m.	 a.m.	   p.m.	a.m.   p.m.      
01	 6:29	 7:35	 7:00	 6:43	 6:36	 4:56	 7:12	 4:32	 7:31	 4:42	 7:15	 5:18	 6:37	 5:53	 6:45	 7:29	 5:58	 8:02	 01
02	 6:30	 7:34	 7:01	 6:42	 6:37	 4:54	 7:13	 4:31	 7:31	 4:43	 7:14	 5:19	 6:36	 5:54	 6:43	 7:30	 5:57	 8:03	 02
03	 6:31	 7:32	 7:02	 6:40	 6:39	 4:53	 7:14	 4:31	 7:31	 4:44	 7:13	 5:20	 6:34	 5:56	 6:41	 7:31	 5:55	 8:04	 03
04	 6:32	 7:30	 7:03	 6:38	 6:40	 4:52	 7:15	 4:31	 7:31	 4:45	 7:12	 5:22	 6:32	 5:57	 6:40	 7:32	 5:54	 8:05	 04
05	 6:33	 7:29	 7:05	 6:36	 6:41	 4:51	 7:16	 4:31	 7:31	 4:46	 7:11	 5:23	 6:31	 5:58	 6:38	 7:33	 5:53	 8:06	 05
06	 6:34	 7:27	 7:06	 6:35	 6:42	 4:50	 7:17	 4:31	 7:31	 4:47	 7:10	 5:24	 6:29	 5:59	 6:36	 7:34	 5:52	 8:07	 06
07	 6:35	 7:25	 7:07	 6:33	 6:44	 4:49	 7:18	 4:31	 7:31	 4:48	 7:09	 5:26	 6:27	 6:00	 6:35	 7:35	 5:50	 8:09	 07
08	 6:36	 7:23	 7:08	 6:31	 6:45	 4:48	 7:19	 4:31	 7:31	 4:49	 7:07	 5:27	 6:26	 6:01	 6:33	 7:36	 5:49	 8:10	 08
09	 6:37	 7:22	 7:09	 6:30	 6:46	 4:46	 7:20	 4:31	 7:30	 4:50	 7:06	 5:28	 6:24	 6:03	 6:31	 7:38	 5:48	 8:11	 09
10	 6:38	 7:20	 7:10	 6:28	 6:47	 4:45	 7:20	 4:31	 7:30	 4:51	 7:05	 5:29	 6:22	 6:04	 6:30	 7:39	 5:47	 8:12	 10
11	 6:39	 7:18	 7:11	 6:26	 6:48	 4:44	 7:21	 4:31	 7:30	 4:52	 7:04	 5:31	 6:21	 6:05	 6:28	 7:40	 5:46	 8:13	 11
12	 6:40	 7:16	 7:12	 6:25	 6:50	 4:44	 7:22	 4:31	 7:29	 4:53	 7:02	 5:32	 6:19	 6:06	 6:26	 7:41	 5:45	 8:14	 12
13	 6:41	 7:15	 7:14	 6:23	 6:51	 4:43	 7:23	 4:31	 7:29	 4:54	 7:01	 5:33	 6:17	 6:07	 6:25	 7:42	 5:44	 8:15	 13
14	 6:42	 7:13	 7:15	 6:22	 6:52	 4:42	 7:24	 4:32	 7:29	 4:55	 7:00	 5:35	 7:16	 7:08	 6:23	 7:43	 5:43	 8:16	 14
15	 6:43	 7:11	 7:16	 6:20	 6:53	 4:41	 7:24	 4:32	 7:28	 4:57	 6:58	 5:36	 7:14	 7:10	 6:22	 7:44	 5:42	 8:17	 15
16	 6:44	 7:09	 7:17	 6:18	 6:55	 4:40	 7:25	 4:32	 7:28	 4:58	 6:57	 5:37	 7:12	 7:11	 6:20	 7:45	 5:41	 8:18	 16
17	 6:45	 7:08	 7:18	 6:17	 6:56	 4:39	 7:26	 4:33	 7:27	 4:59	 6:55	 5:38	 7:11	 7:12	 6:18	 7:46	 5:40	 8:19	 17
18	 6:46	 7:06	 7:19	 6:15	 6:57	 4:38	 7:26	 4:33	 7:27	 5:00	 6:54	 5:40	 7:09	 7:13	 6:17	 7:48	 5:39	 8:20	 18
19	 6:47	 7:04	 7:20	 6:14	 6:58	 4:38	 7:27	 4:33	 7:26	 5:01	 6:53	 5:41	 7:07	 7:14	 6:15	 7:49	 5:38	 8:21	 19
20	 6:49	 7:02	 7:22	 6:12	 6:59	 4:37	 7:27	 4:34	 7:25	 5:03	 6:51	 5:42	 7:05	 7:15	 6:14	 7:50	 5:37	 8:22	 20
21	 6:50	 7:01	 7:23	 6:11	 7:01	 4:36	 7:28	 4:34	 7:25	 5:04	 6:50	 5:43	 7:04	 7:16	 6:12	 7:51	 5:36	 8:23	 21
22	 6:51	 6:59	 7:24	 6:09	 7:02	 4:36	 7:28	 4:35	 7:24	 5:05	 6:48	 5:45	 7:02	 7:17	 6:11	 7:52	 5:35	 8:24	 22
23	 6:52	 6:57	 7:25	 6:08	 7:03	 4:35	 7:29	 4:36	 7:23	 5:06	 6:47	 5:46	 7:00	 7:19	 6:09	 7:53	 5:35	 8:25	 23
24	 6:53	 6:55	 7:26	 6:06	 7:04	 4:35	 7:29	 4:36	 7:23	 5:08	 6:45	 5:47	 6:58	 7:20	 6:08	 7:54	 5:34	 8:26	 24
25	 6:54	 6:54	 7:28	 6:05	 7:05	 4:34	 7:30	 4:37	 7:22	 5:09	 6:44	 5:48	 6:57	 7:21	 6:06	 7:55	 5:33	 8:27	 25
26	 6:55	 6:52	 7:29	 6:04	 7:06	 4:34	 7:30	 4:37	 7:21	 5:10	 6:42	 5:50	 6:55	 7:22	 6:05	 7:57	 5:33	 8:27	 26
27	 6:56	 6:50	 7:30	 6:02	 7:08	 4:33	 7:30	 4:38	 7:20	 5:11	 6:40	 5:51	 6:53	 7:23	 6:04	 7:58	 5:32	 8:28	 27
28	 6:57	 6:48	 7:31	 6:01	 7:09	 4:33	 7:30	 4:39	 7:19	 5:13	 6:39	 5:52	 6:52	 7:24	 6:02	 7:59	 5:31	 8:29	 28
29	 6:58	 6:47	 7:32	 6:00	 7:10	 4:32	 7:31	 4:40	 7:18	 5:14			   6:50	 7:25	 6:01	 8:00	 5:31	 8:30	 29
30	 6:59	 6:45	 7:34	 5:58	 7:11	 4:32	 7:31	 4:40	 7:17	 5:15			   6:48	 7:26	 5:59	 8:01	 5:30	 8:31	 30
31			   7:35	 5:57			   7:31	 4:41	 7:16	 5:17			   6:46	 7:28			   5:30	 8:32	 31
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PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

123456

+20 min +16 min +12 min +8 min +4 min In Table
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Through purchase of licenses, stamps 
and manufacturers’ taxes on firearms, 
ammunition and other outdoor equip-
ment, hunters and trappers continue 
to support the acquisition, develop-
ment and management of Iowa’s 
wildlife areas.

EQUAL OPPORTUNITY
Federal and State law prohibits discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, mental and/or physi-
cal disability, gender identity, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex, or sexual orientation in 
employment and public accommodation. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any 
program, activity or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please contact the 
Iowa Civil Rights Commission at 1-800-457-4416, or write to:
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Office of Diversity and Inclusive Workforce Management,
MS: ODIWM, Attention: Public Civil Rights,
5275 Leesburg Pike
Falls Church, Virginia 22041
(or via email at publiccivilrights@fws.gov)

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS & ALTERNATIVE FORMATS
If you need accommodations to access the DNR’s programs or services because of a disability, 
requests may be made by contacting your local field office or the department’s ADA coordinator at 
515-725-8200.

This information is available in alternative formats upon request by contacting the DNR at 515-725-
8200. TTY users - Contact Relay Iowa at 800-735-2942.

Iowa Dept of Natural Resources
502 E. Ninth Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0034
515-725-8200
www.iowadnr.gov
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Habitat is keyHabitat is key

Download from 
the App Store 

or Google Play Store

Scan to 
download

the app

Download the 
go outdoors iowa app 
and buy yours today

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

• Wildlife needs quality habitat to survive
• The Habitat Fee provides important funding  
to acquire and develop public wild places

• These places support local and  
migrating wildlife

• Anyone can buy a Habitat Fee
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330 S. Main St. | Lidderdale, IA
712-822-5780 | shopsommerfeld.com

LARGEST  
SELECTION  OF  

OUTDOOR  GEAR
SHOP  IN  STORE  OR  ONLINE

WESTERN  IOWA'S


