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APPLICATION FOR ELIGIBILITY TO ACQUIRE AN  
IOWA NONRESIDENT SEVERELY DISABLED DEER HUNTING LICENSE 

Please include $2.00 for the processing/writing fee. 

If completing online, please use the “TAB” key to navigate your way through this form. Do not press Enter. 

APPLICANT INFORMATION: 

Full Name: Phone #: 

Address: 

City/State/Zip: 

*Social Security #: DNR Customer # (If known): Birth Date: 

Eye Color: Height:  ft.       in. Weight:  lbs. Hair Color: 

Gender:  Male   Female Email: 

*The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is required to collect social security numbers from all persons obtaining a hunting, fishing or other recreational license 
under section 252J.8 of the Code of Iowa and 42 US Code 666(a)(13). You social security number will serve as your principal identification number to determine your 
eligibility for licenses. It will be provided to law enforcement agencies and the Iowa Child Support Collection Unity to establish, modify, and enforce child support 
obligations and to collect liabilities owed to the state or a state agency. It WILL NOT appear on your license.

I certify that the information provided on this form is correct, that I am a person severely disabled and meet the requirements of 
Iowa Code Section 321L.1(8), and that I have not applied for more than my legal limit of licenses. I understand that providing false 
information makes this application invalid. Therefore, any and all licenses issued as a result will also be invalid and may be subject 
to penalties for making a false entry in a public record under Iowa Code 714.8(4), and for hunting, fishing, or trapping without a 
valid license under Iowa Code 483A. 

Applicant Signature Date 

PHYSICIAN’S CERTIFICATION 

I, Dr. do hereby certify that I am a physician and declare that the above 

named applicant is a person with a disability as defined in Iowa Code 321L.1(8). 

Physician’s Name: Physician’s Phone: 

Street Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

I certify and declare that said applicant is: (CHECK ONE):  TEMPORARILY DISABLED 
 PERMANENTLY DISABLED 

Signature of Physician: 

Under Iowa Code Section 321L.1(8), a “person with a disability” means a person that has a limited or impaired ability to walk including: 

 A person that cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;

 A person that cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or
other assisting device;

 A person restricted by lung disease to the extent that the person’s forced expiratory volume for one second, when measure by
spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest;

 A person that must use portable oxygen;

 A person with a cardiac condition classified as severity class 3 or 4 by the American Heart Association
o CLASS 3- Persons with cardiac disease resulting in marked limitation of physical activity. The person is comfortable at rest, but

less than ordinary activity causes fatigue, palpitation, dyspnea or angina pain;
o CLASS 4- Persons with cardiac disease resulting in inability to carry on any physical activity without discomfort. Symptoms of

heart failure or the angina syndrome may be present even at rest. If any physical activity is undertaken, discomfort is increased.

 A person severely limited in ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological or orthopedic condition.
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INFORMATION 
Nonresident persons who are severely disabled may 
obtain a paid deer hunting license to hunt during the 
Disabled Hunter Season. 

This form is an application for eligibility only to acquire 
a nonresident severely disabled deer hunting license. 

Nonresidents who are permanently disabled need to 
submit this form only one time. Once the criteria has 
been met, their Electronic License System of Iowa (ELSI) 
record will be updated indicating this eligibility, allowing 
them to apply to purchase a Severely Disabled Deer 
Hunting License each year without recertifying. 

Nonresidents who are temporarily disabled will need to 
resubmit the form each year they qualify and wish to 
purchase a license. 

Do not send payment for the deer hunting license with 
this application for eligibility.  

HOW TO APPLY 

 Read the “Definition of a person with a disability”
to determine if you qualify.

 Fill out the application on the reverse side.

 Have a physician complete the “Physician’s
Certification” form on the reverse side or obtain a
copy of your state department of transportation
issued disabilities parking permit.

 Either fax or mail the application form, including
the Physician’s Certification form or a copy of
your state department of transportation
disabilities parking permit, to the DNR central
office in Des Moines by 4:30pm CST at least five
(5) working days prior to applying for or
purchasing the deer license. The FAX number is
515-725-8201. The DNR office address is at the
top of this form.

 Nonresidents must then apply for the nonresident
severely disabled deer license through the
Electronic Licensing System for Iowa (ELSI)
telephone order system or the ELSI Internet
license sales Web site (see www.iowadnr.gov).

 Please include $2.00 for the processing/writing
fee. Payment may be made by check or money
order payable to ‘Iowa DNR’ and mailed with the
forms. You may also fax forms to the IDNR Central
Office at 515-725-8201 and make payment by
credit card after the forms are received. To make
a credit card payment, please contact the IDNR
Central Office at 515-725-8200.

LEGAL WEAPONS 
Legal weapons for the Severely Disabled Deer Hunting 
Season include bow, shotgun, muzzleloading rifle or 
pistol as described in the current Iowa Hunting and 
Trapping Regulations available in print at most license 
vendors or online at www.iowadnr.gov. Hunters age 16 
and under may not use any handguns. Hunters age 17-
20 must be accompanied by a parent, guardian or 
spouse who is at least 21 years only to use a handgun.  

SEASON 
The Severely Disabled Deer Hunting Season is 16 
consecutive days beginning on the third Saturday in 
September. 

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS 
In addition to purchasing a deer license, nonresidents 
must have a valid small game license and pay the 
habitat fee, if normally required, to have them hunt 
deer. 

PUBLIC RECORD 
After a privilege has been issued, limited recipient 
information will become part of the Natural Resources 
Commission official public record. 

ADDITIONAL REGULATIONS 
For additional information see the current Iowa Hunting 
and Trapping Regulations, typically available in mid-
August through the DNR or most Iowa license vendors. 
They are also available on the DNR’s website at 
www.iowadnr.gov or by contacting the DNR at 515-725-
8200. 
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