
How to Drive on Public Roads
• Do not exceed 35 MPH.
• Driver must be age 18 or older with a valid driver’s license.
• Do not drive while impaired or with open alcohol container.
• Headlight(s) must be on at all times.

What is Required for the Vehicle
• Proof of insurance.
•  Registered with Iowa DNR and 

sticker displayed on rear of vehicle.
•  Out-of-state vehicle must have an 

Iowa DNR nonresident user permit 
sticker.

•  Functioning required equipment, 
including but not limited to: horn, 
mirrors, headlight(s), tail lights, and 
brake lights.

•  Display slow-moving vehicle sign.

When and Where You Can Ride
•  Operation allowed day or night.
•  Roadway use allowed (except interstates and four-lane 

roads).
•  Use state two-lane or county highways only on the most 

direct, accessible route to: an ATV/UTV/ORV park or trail, 
the nearest county road, an authorized city street, or your 
residence.

•  Crossing multi-lane highways allowed only at intersections 
from authorized roads.

DRIVING YOUR ATV OR UTV/ORV  
ON IOWA PUBLIC ROADS AND STREETS

Know the Law. Ride Responsibly.

ATV  
(All-Terrain Vehicle)

Handlebars

1-2 riders  
straddle seat

3,4, or 6 wheels

UTV/ORV  
(Utility Task Vehicle) 
(Off-Road Utility Vehicle)

Steering wheel

2-6 riders sit 
inside bench or 
bucket seat

4 or 6 wheels 

ATV vs. UTV/ORV: Key Differences

Exemptions for Ag Use on 
Public Roads   
(Implements of Husbandry)

• No DNR registration required.
•  No license needed if within  

2 miles of farm. Class C license 
required if beyond 2 miles.

•  Operation allowed only between 
sunrise and sunset.
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Slow-Moving 
Vehicle Sign

Reflective 
sign with 
an orange 

triangle and dark red 
border that must be 
displayed on rear 
of vehicle for ag or 
personal use.  
(Iowa Code 321.383)

ATVs/UTVs and Iowa Law 
ATVs/UTVs are regulated for use on roadways by 
Iowa code sections 321I and 321.234A. 
Always refer to the most current version of the 
Iowa Code for legal guidance. 

321I 321.234A

Prioritize Your Safety

Wear a helmet.

Use a safety harness, if available.

Drive sober.

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2024/321I.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2024/321.234A.pdf


I. Non-Ag Operation Requirements
 A. General Requirements:

•	 Driver’s License: Valid license required — (Iowa Code 321.234A(2))
•	 Insurance: Valid liability insurance — (321.234A(2))
•	 Minimum Age: 18 years old — (321.234A(2))
•	 Registration Decal: Shall be affixed on rear of vehicle — (IA Admin Code 571-46.7; 321.234A(4))
•	 Required Equipment: As specified in Iowa Code Chapter 321 — (321.234A(3))

 B. Lighting and Safety Equipment:
•	 Headlamp(s): Must be illuminated at all times — (321.384, 321.386)
•	 Horn: Required — (321.432)
•	 Mirror: Required — (321.437)
•	 Rear Lamp: Required — (321.387)
•	 Signal Lamps: Required — (321.404)
•	 Slow-Moving Vehicle Sign: Displayed on rear — (321.383(2))
•	 Windows: Frontside windows and windshield shall not be excessively dark — (321.438)

 C. Operational Guidelines:
•	 Direct Crossing: Allowed on highways not part of the interstate — (321.234A(f); 321I.10)
•	 Paved County Secondary Roads: Permitted if authorized by county or for direct access — (321.234A(f); 

321I.10(2–4))
•	 Road Use - State Highways: Only on undivided, two-lane roads for direct access — (321.234A(f); 321I.10(2–4))
•	 Road Use - City Streets: Permitted if authorized by city or for direct access — (321.234A(f); (321I.10(5))
•	 Road Use - Unpaved County Roads: Operation allowed — (321.234A(f); 321I.10(2–4))
•	 Speed Limit: Must not exceed 35 MPH — (321.234A(2))

II. Ag Operation Exemptions
 A. License Requirement Exemption:

•	 Not required if used for farm purposes — (321.176) 
(Note: Cannot operate if license is suspended, barred, or revoked.)

•	 2-mile limitation for ag operations — (IA Admin Code 761-605.3; 321.176)

 B. Operation Hours:
•	 Only between sunrise and sunset — (321.234A(1))

 C. Registration Exemption:
•	 Not required if used as an implement of husbandry — (321.234A)

 D. Speed Limit:
•	 Must not exceed 35 MPH — (321.234A(2))
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