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Over the Internet…
Learn what you need to be a safe boat operator online! 
The complete course with exciting visuals awaits you on 
the Internet. Interactive graphics help you learn and retain 

information on boating safely in Iowa. Successfully complete the online 
test, and you will receive an Iowa Department of Natural Resources 
boater education certificate by mail.

Start today at www.boat-ed.com/iowa.

1.

A Course on Responsible Boating
Boater education certification is required by law 
for some Iowa boaters. Even if it’s not required 
for you, becoming certified may save you money 
on boat insurance. You have 
three ways to be certified:

By correspondence…
Contact the Iowa Department of Natural Resources to 
find out about this home-study option.

Call 515-725-8200 for information.  
3.

IOWA

In a classroom…
Share the learning experience with other interested 
students and a qualified instructor. Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources can help you find a classroom course in 
your area.

Call 515-725-8200 for information  
or visit www.iowadnr.gov.

2.
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What Is a Vessel? 
In this handbook, the term “vessel” means every type of 
watercraft, other than a seaplane, used or capable of being 
used as a means of transportation on water or ice. 

What Are the Federal Reservoirs in Iowa?
Federal reservoirs in Iowa include Saylorville, Red Rock, 
Rathbun, and Coralville Reservoirs.
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Stay abreast of new boating laws…
 ■ For state boating law information, 

contact the Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources at:
• 515-725-8200.
• www.iowadnr.gov.

 ■ For federal boating laws, visit the U.S. Coast Guard’s 
boating safety website at www.uscgboating.org.

Information in this handbook does not replace what is 
specifically legal for boating in Iowa, which is found in Iowa 
Code and federal law.

Boating Basics
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All operators are required to obey laws that regulate your vessel’s 
registration and operation.

Registering Your Vessel
 ■ You must have an Iowa Registration Certificate and 

registration decals to operate a vessel on Iowa’s public waters 
legally. Exceptions to registration are:
• Inflatable vessels, except canoes and kayaks, that are 7 feet 

or less in length
• Canoes, kayaks, and stand-up paddleboards (SUPs) 

including inflatable canoes, kayaks, and SUPs that are  
13 feet or less in length and have no motor or sail

• Vessels properly registered in another state and using Iowa 
waters for 60 or fewer days within one calendar year

 ■ The Registration Certificate 
(pocket-sized registration 
certificate) must be on board 
and available for inspection 
by an enforcement officer 
whenever the vessel is operated.

 ■ The registration number and registration decals must be 
displayed as follows. 
• Number must be painted, applied as a decal, or otherwise 

affixed to the forward half of each side of the vessel, placed 
for maximum visibility.

• No other numbers may be displayed on either side of the bow.
• Number must read from left to right on both sides of  

the vessel.
• Number must be in at least 3-inch-high, bold,  

BLOCK letters.
• Number’s color must contrast with its background.
• Letters must be separated from the numbers by a space or 

hyphen: IA  3717  ZW or IA-3717-ZW.
• Decals must be affixed on each side of the vessel, toward 

the stern of the registration number, 4 inches from and in 
line with the number.

Before Going Out
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IA  3717  ZW   ■   

8
■  IA  3717  ZW   

 ■ If a vessel is propelled by sail alone, the registration number 
may be placed in a position to provide maximum visibility, 
including placement on the mast.

 ■ A sailboard is not required to display the registration 
number, but the decal must be placed on the bottom surface 
of the bow of the sailboard.

 ■ If your vessel requires registration, it is illegal to operate it or 
allow others to operate your vessel unless it is registered and 
numbered as described above.

Spaces or hyphens 
should appear here.

Registration Decal

IOWA
IA 3717 ZW

11036847-1

2025
Expires:  04/30/2025

Vessel’s capacity 
number 

Where to Register
The Registration Certificate and registration decals are 
obtained by presenting the proper application form and fee 
to the County Recorder. Application should be made in the 
county of residence of the owner or the county where the 
vessel is principally used if the owner is a non-resident.

Registration Questions?
Call the Iowa Department of Natural Resources at 
515-725-8200.
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Registration Fees*
(Renewals valid for a three-year cycle)
Type and Length of Vessel Fee

No Motor or Sail, any length $12.00
Motorboat or Sailboat

Less than 16 ft. long (Class I) $22.50
16 ft. to less than 26 ft. long (Class II) $36.00
26 ft. to less than 40 ft. long (Class III) $75.00
40 ft. long or longer (Class IV) $150.00

Personal Watercraft $45.00
Documented Vessel, any length $25.00
Note: An additional $2.00 writing fee is charged by the County 
Recorder for each privilege, and a fee of $3.65 per registration 
is paid to our contractor for the implementation and data 
management of the web-based system.
*Fees shall be prorated during the second and third years of the 
three-year registration cycle.

Other Facts About Titling and Registering
 ■ All vessels 17 feet long or longer must have a title when 

purchased new, transferred, or a lien exists against the vessel. 
Inflatables, kayaks, and canoes are exempt from titling. 

 ■ A Registration Certificate is valid for three years and expires 
on April 30 of the last calendar year of the registration 
period. Owners of vessels that have been registered 
previously may be sent a renewal notice to their residence.

 ■ If a numbered vessel is 
abandoned or destroyed, or if 
the owner’s address or name 
is changed, the owner must 
notify the County Recorder 
within 10 days of the event.
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 ■ If you lose or destroy your Registration Certificate or decal, 
you must apply for a duplicate and pay a $1.00 duplicate fee, 
a $2.00 writing fee, and a $1.50 administrative fee.

 ■ A vessel that has an expired registration certificate may 
be registered in Iowa when the owner submits the proper 
application, payment of all applicable registration and 
writing fees, and payment of a $5.00 penalty. 

 ■ Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may 
(at the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. 
Coast Guard (USCG). Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 
for more information. Documented vessels also must be 
registered and display only the registration decals.

Buying or Selling a Vessel
The steps for transferring ownership 
of a vessel are essentially the same 
whether the “seller” is a marine 
dealer or the “buyer” is an individual 
purchasing a pre-owned vessel from 
an individual “seller.” 

 ■ The “seller” must complete the form on the back of the 
Registration Certificate and deliver it to the “buyer” at the 
same time the vessel is delivered. If the vessel is titled, the 
“seller” must sign the back of the certificate of title and 
deliver it to the “buyer,” with an assignment on it showing 
the title in the buyer’s name. 

 ■ The “buyer” must apply for the transfer of registration, or 
for original registration of a new vessel, within 30 days of 
the purchase. In the case of a new vessel, the “buyer” may 
operate the vessel without displaying a registration number 
for a period of not more than 35 days after the purchase 
date, provided the vessel has attached a sign available from 
the dealer bearing the words “Registration Applied For,” 
the special certificate number of the dealer, and the date 
of purchase. Vessels may not be on Iowa waters without a 
current Registration Certificate and decals.

FOR SALE
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 ■ No vessel will be registered by the County Recorder until 
receipts, bills of sale, and the seller’s registration and title have 
been presented to the Recorder. 
• If the vessel is purchased new from a dealer, the 

Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO) or 
Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) and a bill of 
sale are required. 

• If the vessel is already titled, the original title is required. 
• If the vessel has an expired registration from another state, 

an additional $5.00 penalty fee is required.

Display of Vessel Capacity
 ■ The passenger capacity of a vessel must be painted on or 

attached to the starboard (right) side of the vessel within 
9 inches of the transom and be clearly visible above the 
waterline when the vessel is fully loaded. The displayed 
passenger capacity must match the passenger capacity 
designated on the Registration Certificate.

 ■ Most vessels have a USCG or manufacturer’s plate that shows 
capacity in number of persons (see “Vessel Capacity”). This 
is the capacity number that must be on the Registration 
Certificate and displayed on the right side of the vessel. If a 
vessel does not have a capacity plate, the capacity of the vessel 
is the “operator’s responsibility” (OR), and the letters OR 
must be on the Registration Certificate and displayed on the 
vessel instead of a capacity number.

 ■ The displayed capacity number (or OR) must be the same 
size as the registration number on the bow.

 ■ It is illegal to deface, destroy, remove, or alter a vessel’s 
capacity plate.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)
The Hull Identification Number (HIN) is a unique, 12-digit 
number assigned by the manufacturer to vessels built after 1972. 

 ■ These numbers distinguish one vessel from another. They are 
engraved or stamped in the hull transom, or on a metal plate 
attached to the transom, or are printed on inflated rafts and 
kayaks.

 ■ Record the HIN and put in a place separate from your vessel 
in case warranty problems arise or your vessel is stolen.
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 ■ If your vessel is homemade, 
the County Recorder may 
issue you an HIN, which you 
then must affix permanently 
to the transom.

 ■ It is illegal to destroy, 
remove, cover, or mutilate an 
HIN.

Marine Events
 ■ Permits for regattas, motorboat or other boat races, marine 

parades, tournaments, or exhibitions to be held on Iowa state 
waters must be obtained by applying to the Iowa Department 
of Natural Resources (IA DNR) at least 30 days in advance 
of the event. If the event is being held on federally controlled 
waters, a permit from the USCG is required also.

 ■ The permit application for an event to be held on Iowa state 
waters is available online at programs.iowadnr.gov/specialevents/
Default.aspx.

Who May Operate a Vessel
 ■ A person under 12 years of age may operate a vessel 

propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower (hp), 
including a personal watercraft (PWC), only if he or she is 
accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at least 
18 years old and experienced in operating the vessel.

 ■ A person 12 years of age or older but younger than  
18 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of 
more than 10 hp, including a PWC, only if he or she:
• Has successfully completed a boater education course 

approved by the IA DNR or…
• Is accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at 

least 18 years old and experienced in operating the vessel.
 ■ Persons required to have successfully completed a boater 

education course must carry their boater education 
certificate on board and make it available upon request by an 
enforcement officer. 

 ABC  67689  B6  06
   Hull Serial       Model 
  Number  Year
 Manufacturer’s  Date of 
 Identification   Manufacture
 Code
 (MIC)
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When preparing to go out on a vessel, first check that the legally 
required equipment is on board.

Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
 ■ All vessels must have at least one USCG–approved wearable 

Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device (PFD), 
sometimes known as a life jacket, for each person on board.

 ■ In addition to the above requirement, one USCG–approved 
throwable Type IV device must be on board vessels 16 feet or 
longer except canoes or kayaks. 

 ■ If a person chooses to wear a PFD that is not USCG 
approved (when not specifically required), a properly fitting 
USCG–approved PFD must be carried on board the vessel 
to meet the state and federal carriage requirements.

 ■ Each person on board a PWC or being towed behind a 
vessel on water skis, a surfboard, or similar device must wear 
a USCG–approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD. Inflatable 
PFDs are not approved for persons on PWC or being towed. 
Windsurfers are not required to wear a PFD but must have 
one on board.

 ■ PFDs must have a legible USCG approval tag and be:
• In good and serviceable condition. PFDs must not have a 

torn or missing strap; punctured flotation bag; waterlogged 
flotation material; rotted material in straps, webbing, or 
cover; missing laces; missing hardware; torn or perforated 
envelope; torn stitching; or any other condition that 
impairs the operating efficiency. Inflatable PFDs must have 
operable gas cartridges.

Children Must Wear PFDs: While underway on a 
recreational vessel on any Iowa waters, a child under 13 years 
old must wear a USCG–approved PFD unless the child is 
in an enclosed cabin or below deck or is a passenger on a 
commercial vessel with a capacity of 25 people or more.

Required Equipment
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• Readily accessible, which means you are able to put the PFD 
on quickly in an emergency. 

• Of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is 
based on body weight and chest size.

TYPE I: Wearable Offshore Life Jackets
These vests are geared for rough or remote 
waters where rescue may take awhile. They 
provide the most buoyancy, are excellent for 
flotation, and will turn most unconscious 
persons face up in the water.

TYPE II: Wearable Near-Shore Vests
These vests are good for calm waters when 
quick rescue is likely. A Type II may not turn 
some unconscious wearers face up in the water.

TYPE III: Wearable Flotation Aids
These vests or full-sleeved jackets are good for 
calm waters when quick rescue is likely. They 
are not recommended for rough waters, as they 
will not turn most unconscious persons face up. 

TYPE IV: Throwable Devices
These cushions and ring buoys are designed to 
be thrown to someone in trouble. Because a 
throwable device is not designed to be worn, it 
is neither for rough waters nor for persons who 
are unable to hold onto it.

TYPE V: Special-Use Devices
These vests, deck suits, hybrid PFDs, and 
others are designed for specific activities such 
as windsurfing, kayaking, or water-skiing. 
To be acceptable, Type V PFDs must be used in 
accordance with their label.
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PFD Label
Every USCG–approved PFD has a label that contains important 
information. While boating, you may encounter old- or 
new-style PFD labels.

Not all PFDs available are USCG approved. Regardless if the 
PFD label is in the old or new style, there must be a USCG 
approval number, and the PFD must be used in accordance 
with the labeling information to meet the legal requirements.

 ■ The older legacy labels have a type number (Types I to V). 
• The type number indicates the conditions and the 

intended use for which the PFD is designed. 
• PFDs with these labels may still be used in the country 

where they are approved as long as they are in serviceable 
condition.

 ■ The new labels have a performance level icon that contains a 
number, typically ranging from 50 to 150.
• A lower number means the PFD is intended for near-shore 

activities in calm waters. PFDs designed for near-shore use 
offer greater mobility and comfort. However, they will not 
turn most unconscious persons face up. 

• A higher number means the PFD is intended for offshore 
activities. PFDs designed for offshore use offer greater 
flotation, turning ability, and stability.

• PFDs with these labels are approved for use in both the 
U.S. and Canada.
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Warnings
Some PFDs are not approved for 
certain activities:

Turn Ability

Water-
skiing

Tubing

PWC or 
wakeboarding

The PFD will turn an 
unconscious person 
face up. Test before use.
The PFD will not turn an 
unconscious person face 
up.Whitewater 

paddling

performance 
level

turn ability

warningsUSCG 
approved

approved for 
use in U.S. and 
Canada
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Navigation Lights
The required navigation lights must be displayed between sunset 
and sunrise and whenever the weather reduces visibility.

Power-Driven Vessels When Underway
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the lights as 
shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven vessels include 
sailboats operating under engine power. The required lights are:

 ■ Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least 
two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.

 ■ An all-round white light or both a masthead light and a 
sternlight. These lights must be visible from a distance of at 
least two miles away on a dark, clear night. The all-round 
white light (or the masthead light) must be at least 3.3 feet 
higher than the sidelights.

Sailboats When Underway 
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the lights 
as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:

 ■ Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least 
two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.

 ■ A sternlight visible from at least two miles away.

Manually Powered Vessels When Underway 
Manually powered vessels are boats that are paddled, poled, or rowed. 

 ■ If less than 23.0 feet long, these vessels should exhibit a 
white light visible for 360 degrees around the horizon and 
visible from a distance of at least one mile away if operating 
on natural lakes, Corps of Engineers impoundments, 
border rivers, or impoundments on inland rivers. If this 
light is partially obscured due to the nature of the vessel, 
an additional white light must be on hand to be shown in 
sufficient time to prevent a collision.

 ■ Regardless of length, these vessels must have on board a 
white light to be used when necessary between sunset and 
sunrise when operated on bodies of water other than those 
listed above. 
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1. Power-Driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

2. All Sailboats

3. Manually Powered Vessels and Sailboats Less Than  
 23.0 Feet

The masthead light and 
sternlight may be combined 
as an all-round white light on 
vessels less than 39.4 feet long. 

An alternative to the 
sidelights and sternlight is 
a combination red, green, 
and white light, which 
must be exhibited near 
the top of the mast. The 
red over green and white 
combination lighting may 
also be used. (Not shown 
in picture.)

All Vessels When Not Underway 
All vessels are required to display a white light visible for  
360 degrees around the horizon whenever they are moored or 
anchored outside a designated mooring area between sunset 
and sunrise.

Less than 39.4 feet only

To prevent a collision, vessel operators 
should never leave shore without a flashlight. 
Even if you plan to return before dark, 
unforeseen developments might delay your 
return past nightfall. 
If sailboats are unable to display the lighting 
described in illustration 2, they must follow 
lighting requirements for Manually Powered 
Vessels and Sailboats Less Than 23.0 Feet.
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Fire Extinguishers
Effective April 20, 2022, any non-rechargeable (disposable) 
fire extinguisher that is older than 12 years should be removed 
from service. Refer to the date of manufacturing stamped on 
the bottle; for example, “05” means “2005.” 

 ■ All vessels, including PWC, on federally controlled waters 
are required to have a Type B fire extinguisher on board if 
one or more of the following conditions exist:
• Any inboard engine
• Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or not filled 

completely with flotation materials
• Closed living spaces
• Closed compartments where flammable or combustible 

materials may be stored
• Permanently installed fuel tanks

 ■ Vessels on Iowa state waters are required to have a Type B fire 
extinguisher on board if the vessel is propelled by an 
outboard motor of greater than 10 hp.

Federally Controlled Waters
Vessels must observe federal requirements on these waters:

 ■ Coastal waters
 ■ The Great Lakes
 ■ Territorial seas
 ■ Waters that are two miles wide or wider and are connected 

directly to one of the above

The following information is effective April 20, 2022.
 ■ Vessels that have a model year of 2018 and newer may 

carry only 5-B or 20-B rated fire extinguishers with date 
stamp. 

 ■ Vessels with a model year between 1953 and 2017 may 
carry either: 
• Unexpired 5-B or 20-B rated fire extinguishers or…
• B-I or B-II rated fire extinguishers that are in good and 

serviceable condition. 
Model Year means the period beginning June 1 of a year and 
ending on July 31 of the following year and being designated 
by the year in which it ends.

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com



It’s the Law!  17

 ■ Approved types of fire extinguishers are identified by the 
following marking on the label—“Marine Type USCG 
Approved”—followed by the type and size symbols and the 
approval number.

 ■ When required by the USCG, fire extinguishers must be 
on board the vessel and readily accessible—where they 
can be easily reached. When deciding on a place to store 
a fire extinguisher, make sure to consider how easy it is to 
reach in the event of a fire. It is recommended that the fire 
extinguisher be conspicuously and securely mounted on its 
intended hanger or bracket.

 ■ Extinguishers must not be expired or appear to have been 
previously used. They must be maintained in good and 
serviceable condition. Good and serviceable condition means 
that the fire extinguisher on board: 
• Is charged and indicates it is charged if the extinguisher has 

a pressure gauge reading or indicator and…
• Has a pin lock that is firmly in place and…
• Does not show visible signs of significant corrosion or 

damage and…
• Has a discharge nozzle that is clean and free of obstructions.

Fire Extinguisher Requirements
Classification Foam Carbon Dioxide Dry Chemical

type & size minimum gallons minimum pounds minimum pounds
5-B 1¼ 4 2
20-B 2½ 15 10

Length of Vessel Without Fixed System With Fixed System*
Less than 26 ft. one 5-B none

26 ft. to less than 40 ft. two 5-B (or one 20-B) one 5-B

40 ft. to less than 65 ft. three 5-B (or  
one 20-B and one 5-B)

two 5-B (or  
one 20-B)

*refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system

Note: One 20-B portable fire extinguisher may be substituted for 
two 5-B portable fire extinguishers. For vessels with a model year 
between 1953 and 2017, one 20-B/B-II portable fire extinguisher 
may be substituted for two 5-B/B-I portable fire extinguishers. 
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Backfire Flame Arrestors
Backfire flame arrestors are designed to prevent the ignition of 
gasoline vapors in case the engine backfires. 

 ■ On Iowa state waters, all powerboats (except outboards) that 
are fueled with a volatile liquid (such as gasoline) must have 
an approved backfire flame arrestor, backfire trap, or similar 
device on each carburetor. 

 ■ Backfire flame arrestors must be:
• In good and serviceable condition and…
• USCG approved (must comply with SAE J-1928 or UL 

1111 standards).
 ■ Periodically clean the flame arrestor(s) and check for damage.

Fire Extinguisher Charge Indicators
Check the charge level of your fire extinguishers regularly. Replace 
them immediately if they are not fully charged.

green button
To check this style of extinguisher, 
depress the green button. If it is 
fully charged, the green button 
should pop back out immediately.

On this style of fire extinguisher, 
the needle indicator should be in 
the “full” range.
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Ventilation Systems
The purpose of 
ventilation systems is 
to avoid explosions 
by removing 
flammable gases. Properly 
installed ventilation systems greatly reduce the chance of a 
life-threatening explosion.

 ■ All vessels with gasoline-powered engines operating on 
federally controlled waters, and constructed in a way that 
would entrap fumes, must have at least two ventilation ducts 
fitted with cowls to remove the fumes. On Iowa state waters, 
every powerboat, except open boats, using any liquid of a 
volatile nature as fuel, must be provided with the means for 
properly and efficiently ventilating the bilges of the engines 
and fuel tank compartments so as to remove any explosive or 
flammable gases.

 ■ If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting your engine. 

 ■ If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation 
system (for example, a PWC), open the engine compartment 
and sniff for gasoline fumes before starting the engine.

Vessels built after July 31, 1980, that contain power exhaust 
blowers in gasoline engine compartments must have the 
above warning sticker placed near the instrument panel. 

WARNING:
Gasoline vapors can explode. Before 

starting engine, operate blower for four 
minutes and check (using your nose) 

engine compartment for gasoline vapors.
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Mufflers and Noise Limits
 ■ The exhaust of every internal combustion engine on any 

powerboat must be effectively muffled by equipment 
constructed and in use to reasonably muffle vessel noise. 

 ■ Powerboats must meet the following SAE sound level tests.
• Stationary sound level test: Engines manufactured before 

January 1, 1993, must not exceed a noise level of 90 dBA. 
Engines manufactured on or after January 1, 1993, must 
not exceed a noise level of 88 dBA.

• Shoreline sound level test: Engines must not exceed a 
noise level of 75 dBA.

 ■ All muffling devices used on powerboats must be in good 
working order and in constant operation to prevent excessive 
or unusual noise.

 ■ The use of cutouts is prohibited, except for vessels competing 
in an authorized marine event.

Sound-Producing Devices
In periods of reduced visibility or whenever a vessel operator 
needs to signal his or her intentions or position, a sound-
producing device is essential. 

If on State Waters or on the Mississippi River, Missouri 
River, or Federal Reservoirs*
Less than 16 feet long 
(Class I)

None required, but at least a whistle is 
recommended

16 feet long or longer but 
less than 26 feet long 
(Class II)

Whistle or other sound-producing device 
required

26 feet long or longer (Class 
III or IV)

Whistle or other sound-producing device 
and a bell required

*Federal reservoirs in Iowa include Saylorville, Red Rock, Rathbun, and 
 Coralville Reservoirs.
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If on Federally Controlled Waters
Less than 39.4 feet long 
(includes PWC)

Some way of making an efficient sound 
signal, such as handheld air horn, athletic 
whistle, an installed horn, etc.

39.4 feet long or longer Device that can make an efficient sound 
signal that is audible for one-half mile 
and lasts for 4 to 6 seconds

Sound Signals
Some common sound signals that you should be familiar 
with as a recreational boater are as follows.

Changing Direction
 ■ One short blast tells other boaters, “I intend to pass you 

on my port (left) side.”
 ■ Two short blasts tell other boaters, “I intend to pass you 

on my starboard (right) side.”
 ■ Three short blasts tell other boaters, “I am operating 

astern propulsion.” For some vessels, this tells other 
boaters, “I am backing up.”

Restricted Visibility
 ■ One prolonged blast at intervals of not more than two 

minutes is the signal used by power-driven vessels when 
underway.

 ■ One prolonged blast plus two short blasts at intervals of 
not more than two minutes is the signal used by sailboats 
under sail.

Warning
 ■ One prolonged blast is a warning signal (for example, 

used when coming around a blind bend or exiting a slip).
 ■ Five (or more) short, rapid blasts signal danger or signal 

that you do not understand or that you disagree with the 
other boater’s intentions.
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Visual Distress Signals (VDSs)
Visual distress signals (VDSs) allow vessel operators to signal for 
help in the event of an emergency. 

 ■ VDSs are not required on Iowa state waters, but it is strongly 
recommended that you carry VDSs on your vessel.

 ■ Vessels on federally controlled waters must be equipped with 
VDSs that are USCG approved, in serviceable condition, 
and readily accessible. When operating on federally 
controlled waters, here are the requirements.
• All vessels, regardless of length or type, are required to carry 

night signals when operating between sunset and sunrise.
• Most vessels must carry day signals also; exceptions to the 

requirement for day signals are:
 - Recreational vessels that are less than 16 feet in length
 - Non-motorized open sailboats that are less than 26 feet 
in length

 - Manually propelled vessels
 ■ If pyrotechnic VDSs are used, they must be dated. Expired 

VDSs may be carried on board, but a minimum of three 
unexpired VDSs must be carried in the vessel.

 ■ The following combinations of signals are examples of 
VDSs that could be carried on board to satisfy USCG 
requirements:
• Three handheld red flares (day and night)
• One handheld red flare and two red meteors (day and 

night)
• One handheld orange smoke signal (day), two floating 

orange smoke signals (day), and one electric light (night 
only)

 ■ It is prohibited to display VDSs while on the water unless 
assistance is required to prevent immediate or potential 
danger to persons on board.
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Arm Signal
Although this signal does not meet 

VDS equipment requirements, 
wave your arms to summon help 
if you do not have other distress 

signals on board.

VDSs are classified as day signals (visible in bright sunlight), 
night signals (visible at night), or both day and night 
signals. VDSs are either pyrotechnic (smoke and flames) or 
non-pyrotechnic (non-combustible).

Day
Handheld Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)

Floating Orange Smoke (Pyrotechnic)

Orange Flag (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Night
Electric Light (Non-Pyrotechnic)

Day and Night
Red Meteor (Pyrotechnic)

Red Flare (Pyrotechnic)
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Unlawful Operation of a Vessel
In Iowa, these dangerous operating practices are illegal.

 ■ Reckless or Negligent Operation of a vessel or the reckless 
manipulation of water skis, a surfboard, or similar device is 
operating in a manner that causes danger to the life, limb, or 
property of any person. 

 ■ Improper Speed or Distance (the most common violation) 
is not maintaining a proper speed or distance while operating 
a vessel. Specifically, it is illegal to operate a vessel:
• At greater than “slow, no wake speed” in any posted “no 

wake zone”
• At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet of 

another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
• At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel that 

is underway at greater than 5 mph
• At greater than 10 mph unless vision is unobstructed for at 

least 200 feet ahead
• At greater than 10 mph within 300 feet of shore (except 

in specially zoned areas) on any inland lake or federal 
impoundment

• At greater than 5 mph within 300 feet of shore on any lake 
in Dickinson County

• At greater than 25 mph between one-half hour after sunset 
and sunrise on any lake in Dickinson County

• At greater than 10 mph between one hour after sunset and 
one hour before sunrise on Lake Delhi

Top Three Violations by Iowa Boaters
 ■ Various registration violations
 ■ Inadequate personal flotation devices
 ■ Improper speed or distance

On the Water
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 ■ Overloading is loading the vessel with more passengers and 
gear than the capacity number recorded on the Registration 
Certificate. It is illegal to operate a vessel if its capacity would 
be exceeded by the persons in the vessel plus the persons 
being towed on water skis, a surfboard, or similar device.

 ■ Overpowering is powering the vessel beyond the 
recommended carrying hp shown on the capacity plate 
installed by the vessel manufacturer. 

 ■ Interference With Search or Rescue is operating a vessel 
in areas where search-and-rescue operations are being 
conducted or in an area affected by a natural disaster, 
unless authorized to be there by the officer in charge of the 
operation. If authorized to enter, you must operate your 
vessel at a “slow, no wake speed” and keep clear of all vessels 
engaged in the search-and-rescue or disaster operation.

 ■ Leaving Vessel Unattended is leaving an unattended vessel 
tied or moored to a dock that is located immediately 
adjacent to a public boat launching ramp or to a dock that is 
posted for loading and unloading. It also is illegal to leave a 
vessel anchored away from the shore and unattended unless 
it is attached to a legal mooring buoy. Permits are required 
for using a mooring buoy. Applications may be obtained 
through the IA DNR.

Remember—As an owner of a vessel, you are responsible for 
any injury or damage caused by the negligent operation of 
your vessel.

“Slow, No Wake Speed”—This is a speed at which the vessel 
does not produce a wake. “Wake” means any movement of 
water created by a vessel that adversely affects the activities 
of another person or that may adversely affect the natural 
features of the shoreline.
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Diver-Down Flag
 ■ Scuba divers, skin divers, and snorkelers must display a 

diver-down flag that marks their diving area. 
 ■ Vessels not engaged in diving operations must stay at least  

50 feet away from a displayed diver-down flag.
 ■ Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.

Obstructing Navigation
It is illegal to:

 ■ Operate any vessel in such a way that it will interfere 
unnecessarily with the safe navigation of other vessels.

 ■ Anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river or channel 
in a way that will prevent or interfere with any other vessel 
passing through the same area.

 ■ Moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (other than a mooring 
buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid placed on 
public waters by proper authorities.

 ■ Move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any 
navigational aid.

 ■ Obstruct a pier, wharf, boat ramp, or access to any facility.

Homeland Security Restrictions 
 ■ Do not approach within 100 yards and slow to minimum 

speed within 500 yards of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you 
need to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for 
safe passage, you must contact the U.S. Naval vessel or the 
USCG escort vessel on VHF-FM channel 16. 

A rectangular red flag with 
a white diagonal stripe, 
attached to a vessel, float, or 
buoy

A blue-and-white 
International Code Flag A 
(or Alfa flag), flown from a 
vessel

Divers 
Flag

Alfa 
Flag
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 ■ Observe and avoid 
all security zones. 
Avoid commercial 
port operation areas, 
especially those that 
involve military, 
cruise-line, or 
petroleum facilities.

 ■ Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power 
plants, etc. 

 ■ Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in the channel. 
 ■ Keep a sharp eye out for anything out of the ordinary. 

Report all activities that seem suspicious to the local 
authorities, the USCG, or the port or marina security.

Enforcement
IA DNR conservation officers have the authority to enforce 
Iowa’s boating laws. The USCG also has enforcement authority 
on federally controlled waters.

 ■ Officers have the authority to stop and inspect a vessel 
being launched, being operated, or being moored on Iowa 
waters to determine whether the vessel is properly registered, 
numbered, and equipped.

 ■ Officers may board a vessel in the course of an inspection 
if the operator is unable to supply visual evidence that the 
vessel is properly registered and equipped.

 ■ It is illegal to fail to bring your vessel to a stop, or to 
attempt to elude an officer, after being given a visual and 
audible signal to stop. An officer may signal you to stop by 
displaying a blue light or flashing blue and red lights, or by 
sounding a horn or siren.
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Alcohol and Drugs
Iowa law prohibits anyone from 
boating while intoxicated (BWI). 
This includes the operation of 
any vessel or manipulation of any 
water skis, surfboard, or similar 
device while under the influence 
of alcohol; marijuana; a narcotic, 
hypnotic, or other drug; or any 
combination of these substances. Alcohol and drugs cause 
impaired balance, blurred vision, poor coordination, impaired 
judgment, and slower reaction times. 

 ■ Iowa law states that a person is considered to be boating 
while intoxicated if he or she:
• Is under the influence of alcohol or other drug or a 

combination of such substances or…
• Has a blood, breath, or urine alcohol concentration of 

0.08% or more or…
• Has any amount of a controlled substance present in his or 

her person, as measured in blood or urine.
 ■ Iowa law establishes the following penalties for BWI.

• Upon a first conviction, a person may be fined up to 
$1,000, jailed for at least 48 hours, and prohibited from 
operating a vessel for one year.

• Upon a second conviction, a person may be fined up to 
$5,000, jailed for at least seven days, and prohibited from 
operating a vessel for two years.

• Upon the third and subsequent convictions, a person 
may be fined up to $7,500, jailed for up to one year, and 
prohibited from operating a vessel for six years.

• In addition, persons convicted of BWI will be assigned to 
substance abuse evaluation/treatment and must attend a 
course for drinking drivers.

• Persons convicted of BWI who caused the death or injury 
of someone will receive severe penalties in addition to those 
above.

Just remember this simple rule:  
Don’t Drink and Boat!
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Boating Accidents and Casualties
 ■ An operator involved in a boating accident must:

• Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the 
accident and…

• Assist anyone injured or in danger from the accident, 
unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her own 
vessel or passengers and…

• Give, in writing, his or her name, address, and vessel 
identification (registration number) to anyone injured and 
to the owner of any property damaged by the accident.

 ■ Vessel operators involved in an accident must report the 
accident to the IA DNR. 
• The operator must report the accident in writing to IA 

DNR within 48 hours of the occurrence in cases that result 
in death, disappearance, or personal injuries requiring 
medical treatment.

• The operator must report the accident in writing to IA 
DNR within five days if damage to the vessel and/or other 
property exceeds $2,000.

 ■ Accidents should be reported on accident report forms 
available from the IA DNR. Report forms are available 
online on IA DNR’s website at www.iowadnr.gov.

Top Three Boating Accidents in Iowa
 ■ A boat collides with an object while cruising.
 ■ A water-skier, tuber, or kneeboarder falls.
 ■ A boat is operated in a reckless manner.
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Discharge of Trash
 ■ It is illegal to dump refuse, garbage, or plastics into any state 

or federally controlled waters. Store trash in a container on 
board, and place it in a proper receptacle on shore. 

 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel is  
26 feet or longer, you must display a Garbage Disposal 
Placard that is at least 4 x 9 inches and notifies passengers 
and crew about discharge restrictions.

Discharge of Oil and Other Hazardous 
Substances

 ■ You are not allowed to discharge oil or hazardous substances 
into the water.

 ■ You are not allowed to dump oil into the bilge of the vessel 
without means for proper disposal. 

 ■ You must dispose of oil waste at an approved reception 
facility. On recreational vessels, a bucket or bailer is adequate 
for temporary storage.

 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel is 
26 feet or longer, you must display a 5 x 8-inch placard near 
the bilge pump switch stating the Federal Water Pollution 
Control Act’s law.

If your vessel discharges oil or hazardous substances 
into the water:

 ■ Immediately call the National Response Center 
at 1-800-424-8802. 

 ■ Also notify the IA DNR, Emergency Response Unit, by 
calling 515-725-8694.
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Discharge of Sewage and Waste 
 ■ If you have a recreational vessel with installed toilet facilities, 

it must have an operable marine sanitation device (MSD) on 
board.
• Vessels 65 feet long or less may use a Type I, II, or III MSD. 
• Vessels over 65 feet long must install a Type II or III MSD. 

 ■ All installed devices must be USCG certified. 

Types of MSDs
There are three 
types of MSDs.

 ■ Types I and II MSDs are usually found on large vessels. 
Waste is treated with special chemicals to kill bacteria 
before the waste is discharged. Types I and II MSDs with 
Y valves that would direct the waste overboard must be 
secured so that the valve cannot be opened. This can 
be done by placing a lock or non-reusable seal on the Y 
valve or by taking the handle off the Y valve in a closed 
position.

 ■ Type III MSDs provide no treatment and are either 
holding tanks or portable toilets. Collected waste should 
be taken ashore and disposed of in a pump-out station or 
onshore toilet.

Drainage to  
pump-out station

Y valve must 
be secured
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Aquatic Invasive Species
 ■ Introducing non-native species into Iowa waters can 

upset the balance of the ecosystem, thereby harming the 
environment. 

 ■ Aquatic invasive species, such as zebra mussels, quagga 
mussels, milfoil, and purple loosestrife, most often 
spread between waterways by hitching a ride on vessels 
and trailers. When transplanted into new waters, these 
organisms and many other invasive species proliferate, 
displacing native species and damaging the water resource.

 ■ In Iowa, it is illegal to possess, introduce, import, 
purchase, sell, barter, propagate, or transport aquatic 
invasive species in any form. It is also illegal to transport 
on a public road, or place, or attempt to place into waters 
of the state any water-related equipment that has an 
aquatic invasive species or aquatic plant attached to or 
within the water-related equipment. A person violating 
any of these regulations is subject to a $500 fine. A person 
shall drain all water from water-related equipment when 
leaving the waters of the state and before transporting the 
water-related equipment off a water access area or riparian 
property. Drain plugs, bailers, valves, or other devices 
used to control the drainage of water from ballast tanks, 
bilges, and live wells shall be removed or opened while 
transporting water-related equipment. A person violating 
any of these regulations is subject to a $75 fine.  

 ■ To help protect Iowa waters:
• Inspect your boat, trailer, and equipment and remove any 

visible plants, animals, or mud before leaving the area.
• Drain the water from your boat, motor, live well, and 

bilge on land before leaving the area.
• Dispose of unwanted bait in the trash. Never release 

fish, animals, or plants into a body of water unless they 
came from that body of water.

• Rinse or dry your boat, trailer, and fishing equipment 
to remove or kill species that were not visible when you 
left a body of water. Before transporting to another body 
of water, rinse your vessel with high pressure and/or hot 
water or air-dry it for at least five days.

• Learn to identify aquatic invasive species, and report any 
suspected sightings to the nearest DNR fisheries station.
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PWC operators must obey additional legal requirements that 
apply specifically to the operation of PWC on Iowa waters.

Requirements Specific to PWC
 ■ Each person on board a PWC must wear a USCG–approved 

Type I, II, III, or V 
personal flotation device 
(PFD). Inflatable PFDs 
are not approved for use 
on PWC.

 ■ PWC may not be 
operated between sunset 
and sunrise.

 ■ If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type engine cut-off 
switch (ECOS), it must be maintained in an operable 
condition and must be attached to the person, clothing, or 
PFD of the operator whenever the PWC is running and in use.

 ■ It is illegal to operate a PWC in a careless, reckless, or 
negligent manner that endangers the life, limb, or property 
of anyone. For example, it is illegal to operate:
• At greater than “slow, no wake speed” in any posted “no 

wake zone”
• At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet of 

another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
• At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel that 

is underway at greater than 5 mph
• At greater than 10 mph unless vision is unobstructed for at 

least 200 feet ahead
• At greater than 10 mph within 300 feet of shore (except 

in specially zoned areas) on any inland lake or federal 
impoundment

 ■ It is illegal to chase or harass wildlife with a PWC.

Specifically for PWC
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Remember—there are age and boater education 
restrictions for PWC operators:

 ■ A person under 12 years of age may operate a PWC only 
if accompanied on board by a responsible person at least 
18 years old and experienced in operating a PWC.

 ■ A person 12 years of age or older but younger than 
18 may operate a PWC only if he or she has completed 
successfully an approved boater education course or is 
accompanied on board by a responsible person at least  
18 years old and experienced in operating a PWC.
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Specifically for Skiing
Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, or 
other similar device have additional laws to follow.

Requirements for Towing Skiers
 ■ Every vessel towing a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, or 

other device must have 
on board, in addition 
to the operator, a 
responsible person in a 
position to observe the 
progress of the person(s) 
being towed.

 ■ All persons being towed behind a vessel on water skis, a 
surfboard, or other device must wear a USCG–approved 
personal flotation device (PFD). Inflatable PFDs are not 
approved for use by persons being towed.

 ■ A boat may tow a person(s) on water skis, a surfboard, or 
other device between sunrise and one-half hour after sunset 
only. If the towing vessel is a PWC, it may tow between 
sunrise and sunset only.

 ■ It is illegal to operate any vessel in a careless, reckless, or 
negligent manner. It is illegal to operate a vessel:
• At greater than 5 miles per hour (mph) within 100 feet of 

another vessel that is underway at 5 mph or less
• At greater than 5 mph within 50 feet of another vessel that 

is underway at greater than 5 mph
 ■ Local speed restrictions exist. It is illegal to operate at:

• Greater than 25 mph between one-half hour after sunset 
and sunrise on any lake in Dickinson County

• Greater than 10 mph between one hour after sunset and 
one hour before sunrise on Lake Delhi
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Knowing proper hand signals will help the skier(s) 
communicate with their boat operator or the observer.

Hand Signals for Skiers

Stop

Turn rightTurn left

Speed OK

Slow downSpeed up

Skier OK Skier down—watch!

 ■ A person may not operate a vessel if its capacity would be 
exceeded by the persons in the vessel plus the persons being 
towed. If towing a person with a PWC, the PWC must 
be rated to carry at least three people—the operator, the 
observer, and the person being towed.

 ■ Exemptions exist for exhibitions authorized by IA DNR.
 ■ It is recommended that boaters use a skier-down flag that is 

at least 12" x 12" in size and blaze orange in color. This flag 
should be raised into the air when the towed person(s) is in 
the water preparing to be towed or awaiting pickup by the 
towing vessel.
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Avoiding Propeller Strike Injuries
Most propeller strike accidents result from 
operator error. Victims include swimmers, 
scuba divers, fallen water-skiers, and boat 
operators or passengers. Most propeller 
accidents can be prevented by following basic 
safe boating practices.

 ■ Maintain a proper lookout. The primary 
cause of propeller strike accidents is operator inattention.

 ■ Make sure the engine is off so that the propeller is not 
rotating when passengers are boarding or leaving a boat.

 ■ Never start a boat with the engine in gear.
 ■ Slow down when approaching congested areas and 

anchorages. In congested areas, always be alert for swimmers 
and divers.

 ■ Learn to recognize warning buoys that mark swimming and 
hazardous areas.

 ■ Keep the boat away from marked swimming and diving 
areas. Become familiar with the red-and-white or blue-
and-white diver-down flags signaling that divers are below 
the surface.

 ■ Make sure that passengers are seated properly before getting 
underway. Some operators of larger boats with several 
passengers have caused injuries by putting the engine in gear 
while people were still swimming or diving from the boat.

 ■ Never ride on a seat back, gunwale, transom, or bow.

Devices That Reduce Propeller Strikes
There are several new technologies designed to reduce 
propeller strikes. The effectiveness of the devices varies, 
depending on the boat and the operating environment. For 
more information, visit the USCG’s boating safety website at 
www.uscgboating.org/recreational-boaters.
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Before going out on the water, take steps to 
make the outing safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length Classes
 ■ A vessel’s length class dictates the equipment 

necessary to comply with federal and 
state laws.

 ■ Vessels are divided into length classes:
• Less than 16 feet (Class I)
• 16 feet to less than 26 feet (Class II)
• 26 feet to less than 40 feet (Class III)
• 40 feet to less than 65 feet (Class IV)

 ■ Length is measured from the tip of the bow 
in a straight line to the stern. This does not 
include outboard motors, brackets, rudders, 
bow attachments, or swim platforms and 
ladders that are not a molded part of the hull.

Vessel Capacity
 ■ Always check the capacity plate, which is usually found near 

the operator’s position or on the vessel’s transom. You must 
not exceed either the maximum weight capacity or the 
maximum number of whole people stated on the plate.

 ■ Personal watercraft (PWC) and some 
other vessels are not required to have 
a capacity plate. Always follow the 
recommended capacity in the owner’s 
manual and on the manufacturer’s 
warning decal.

Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel 
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the 
water or on a commercial fueling ramp. 

MAXIMUM CAPACITIES

THIS BOAT COMPLIES WITH U.S. COAST GUARD 
SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT ON THE DATE 

OF CERTIFICATION
ABC  BOATS 

XYZ MANUFACTURING, INC.  

ANYWHERE, USA   99999

7 PERSONS OR 1050 LBS.
1400 LBS. PERSONS, MOTORS, GEAR
130 H. P. MOTOR

Le
ng

th
Le

ng
th

Inboards

Outboards

Before Going Out
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 ■ Before beginning to fuel:
• Dock the boat securely and ask all passengers to exit.
• Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.
• Check all fuel lines, connections, and fuel vents. 
• Turn off anything that might cause a spark—engines, fans, 

or electrical equipment.
• Shut off all fuel valves and extinguish all open flames, such 

as galley stoves and pilot lights.
• Close all windows, ports, doors, and other openings to 

prevent fumes from entering the boat.
• Remove portable fuel tanks and fill them on the dock.

 ■ While filling the fuel tank:
• Keep the nozzle of the fuel-pump hose in contact with the 

tank opening to prevent producing a static spark.
• Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or the water. 
• Never fill a tank to the brim—leave room to expand.
• Wipe up any spilled fuel.

The most important safe fueling practice…
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting your engine to remove gas vapors in the bilge.

 ■ After fueling:
• Open all windows, ports, doors, 

and other openings.
• Before starting the engine, 

sniff the bilge and engine 
compartment for fuel vapors.

Additional Safety Procedures for PWC
 ■ Do not tip the PWC in order to fill it all the way up. If the 

tank is overfilled, the fuel may expand and spill into the 
water.

 ■ After fueling, open the door of the engine compartment and 
sniff to check for any evidence of gas fumes. Do this before 
starting the engine. If you do smell gas fumes, determine the 
source and make repairs immediately.
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Fuel Selector Switch on a PWC
This switch can help you avoid becoming 
stranded without fuel. 

 ■ Use the “Off” position when the 
PWC’s engine is turned off.

 ■ Use the “On” position while you are 
underway.

 ■ Use the “Reserve” position if you run out of fuel while 
underway. This will allow you to return to shore. Don’t 
forget to switch back to “On” after refueling.

Preventing Theft
Defend against theft of your vessel and equipment.

 ■ Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed. 
• Store your vessel and trailer in a locked garage or  

storage area.
• Park another vehicle in front of the trailer, or lock the 

trailer to a fixed object in a well-lit area.
• Secure the vessel and trailer to a fixed object with a good-

quality chain and lock. If moored, secure the vessel to the 
dock with a steel cable and lock.

• Remove a trailer wheel if parked for an extended time.
• Purchase a quality trailer hitch lock and use it.

 ■ Chain and lock the motor and fuel tanks to the vessel.
 ■ Mark or engrave all equipment with an identifier such as 

your driver’s license number.
 ■ Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your 

vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional 
gear and equipment. Make a complete inventory of your 
equipment, vessel, and trailer.

 ■ Remove expensive electronics or other valuables if the vessel 
is left unattended. 

 ■ Cover your vessel and always remove the keys.
 ■ Title and register your vessel.
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Trailering Your Vessel Safely
 ■ Before leaving home:

• Secure all gear in the vessel and arrange it so that the 
weight is evenly distributed in the vessel.

• Properly secure the vessel with several tie-down straps  
and/or safety lines to prevent it from shifting. If 
transporting a canoe or kayak, make sure it is fastened 
securely to your vehicle. 

• Tilt and secure the engine to 
increase clearance. 

• Crisscross the safety chains 
when attaching them to the 
towing vehicle.

• Make sure the trailer brakes and lights are working.
 ■ On the road:

• Think farther ahead on the road than usual. Remember 
the length added by your trailer. 

• Be aware that there may be lower speed limits for vehicles 
with trailers.

 ■ Launching your vessel from a trailer:
• Prepare your vessel well away from the boat ramp. 
• Back the vessel into the water until the lower unit of the 

engine can be submerged while on the trailer. 
• Once the engine is warmed up, back the trailer further 

until the vessel floats. Then back slowly off the trailer.
 ■ Retrieving your vessel:

• Back the trailer into the water so that approximately 
two-thirds of the rollers or bunks are submerged.

• Move the vessel onto the trailer far enough to attach the 
winch line to the bow eye of the vessel. Finish pulling it 
onto the trailer by cranking the winch. 

• Tow the vessel off the ramp out of the way of others.
• While at the ramp area, remove all weeds from the vessel, 

remove the drain plug, and drain live wells. 
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Filing a Float Plan
Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave a 
float plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local marina. 
A float plan is especially important for those participating in 
paddlesports. A float plan should: 

 ■ Describe the vessel, including its registration number, length, 
make, horsepower, and engine type.

 ■ State where you are going, the detailed route, your planned 
departure time, and your expected return time.

 ■ Give the name, address, and telephone number of each 
person on board and an emergency contact. 

Complete this form before going out on your boat, and leave it with a reliable person who will notify the Coast 
Guard and local authorities if you do not return as scheduled. If you are delayed and it is not an emergency, 
inform the person with your float plan to avoid an unnecessary search.

FLOAT PLAN

1.  Name of person filing this plan:  _____________________________________________________________________
 Telephone #: (_________)  _________________ - _______________________

2. Description of boat:      Registration number:_________________  Type: ________________  Make: _________________
 Color: _______________  Trim: _________________________  Length: ______________  Name: _________________

3. Names of persons on board:                              Age:          Address:

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

 _______________________________   _______   ____________________________________________________
   Telephone #: (_________)  ____________ - __________________

4. Description of engine:  Type: ____________  Horsepower: _________  # of engines: ___________ Fuel capacity: ________

5. Survival equipment on board. Check as appropriate:
      Life Jackets (PFDs)          Flares           Flashlight            Signal mirror               Anchor(s)                   Raft or dinghy

      Smoke Signals                 Horn             Water                  Paddles                      Food

6. Radio       Yes                 No        Type: _______________  Frequencies: __________  Call sign: ______________________

7. Trip expectations
 Leaving from: _____________________________________  Going to: _______________________________________
 Departing on: ___________ / __________     am         pm         Returning: ___________ / __________      am         pm
                              date                   time                                                                 date                   time
8. Other pertinent information: _________________________________________________________________________

9. Description of automobile:                                     Trailer license #: _____________  License Plate #: ___________________
 Make: __________  Model: _______________  Color: ____________  Where parked: ____________________________

10. If not returned by: ___________ / __________     am         pm
 Call:                                   date                   time
 U.S. Coast Guard telephone #: (__________) _____________ - __________________________
 Local authority: ___________________________  Telephone #: (_________) ___________ - ______________________

❏ ❏ ❏ ❏ ❏

❏ ❏ ❏ ❏ ❏ ❏

❏ ❏

❏ ❏ ❏ ❏

❏ ❏
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Pre-Departure Checklist
You can help ensure a good time while operating your vessel 
by performing this pre-departure check.

 ✓ Check the weather forecast for the area and time frame 
during which you will be boating.

 ✓ Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate 
properly and all lights are working properly.

 ✓ Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, and 
carburetor.

 ✓ Check the engine compartment for oil leaks.
 ✓ Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make sure 
hose clamps are tight. 

 ✓ Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be sure 
the bilge plug is replaced and secure.

 ✓ Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery 
and fire extinguishers. 

 ✓ If so equipped, make sure the engine cut-off switch (ECOS) 
and wrist lanyard are in good order.

 ✓ Make sure you have the required number of personal 
flotation devices (PFDs), and check that they are properly 
fitted for each person on board and in good condition.

 ✓ Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative.
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Safe navigation on Iowa waterways is everyone’s responsibility. 
All operators are equally responsible for taking action as 
necessary to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels
There are some rules that every operator should follow when 
encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of both 
operators to take the action needed to avoid a collision. 

Encountering Vessels With Limited Maneuverability
 ■ When operating a power-driven vessel, you must give 

way to:
• Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or 

disabled vessel
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a 

vessel towing another or laying cable, or one constrained by 
its draft, such as a large ship in a channel

• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing
• A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking

 ■ When operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to:
• Any vessel not under command
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver
• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing

 ■ When operating a power-driven vessel or a vessel under sail, 
you must give way to any manually propelled vessel.

To prevent collisions, every operator should follow the 
three basic rules of navigation.

 ■ Practice good seamanship. 
 ■ Keep a sharp lookout. 
 ■ Maintain a safe speed and distance.

On the Water
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Navigation Rules 
There are two terms that help explain these rules.

 ■ Stand-on vessel: The vessel that should maintain its course 
and speed 

 ■ Give-way vessel: The vessel that must take early and 
substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing 
down, or changing course

Give 
way! Give 

way! Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Power vs. Power Power vs. Sail
Meeting Head-On
Power vs. Power: Neither 
vessel is the stand-on vessel. 
Both vessels should keep to the 
starboard (right).

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel.

Crossing Situations
Power vs. Power: The vessel on 
the operator’s port (left) side is 
the give-way vessel. The vessel 
on the operator’s starboard (right) 
side is the stand-on vessel. 

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel. 

Overtaking
Power vs. Power: The vessel that 
is overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The vessel that is 
overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.
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Nighttime Navigation
Be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels when boating at 
night. Several types of lights serve as navigational aids at night. 
There are four common navigation lights.

 ■ Sidelights: These red and green lights are called sidelights 
(also called combination lights) because they are visible 
to another vessel approaching from the side or head-on. 
The red light indicates a vessel’s port (left) side; the green 
indicates a vessel’s starboard (right) side. 

 ■ Sternlight: This white light is seen only from behind or 
nearly behind the vessel.

 ■ Masthead Light: This white light shines forward and 
to both sides and is required on all power-driven vessels. 
A masthead light must be displayed by all vessels when 
under engine power. The absence of this light indicates a 
sailboat under sail.

 ■ All-Round White Light: On power-driven vessels 
less than 39.4 feet in length, this light may be used to 
combine a masthead light and sternlight into a single 
white light that can be seen by other vessels from any 
direction. This light serves as an anchor light when 
sidelights are extinguished. In Iowa, an all-round white 
light is required on manually powered vessels while 
underway and at anchor.

sternlight
sidelights 
(combination)

masthead light 
(225 degrees)

sidelights 
(combination)

all-round white light 
(360 degrees)
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Encountering a  
Sailboat at Night
When you see only a red light 
or only a green light, you may 
be approaching a sailboat under 
sail and you must give way. 
The sailboat under sail is always 
the stand-on vessel.

Encountering Vessels at Night
When you see only a white light, 
you are overtaking another vessel. 
It is the stand-on vessel whether it 
is underway or anchored. You may 
go around it on either side.

When you see a green and a white 
light, you are the stand-on vessel. 
However, remain alert in case the 
other vessel operator does not 
see you or does not know the 
navigation rules.
When you see a red and a white 
light, you must give way to the 
other vessel. Slow down and 
allow the vessel to pass, or you 
may turn to the right and pass 
behind the other vessel.

Encountering a Manually 
Powered Boat at Night

When you see only a white  
light, you may be approaching  

a manually powered boat  
and you must give way. 

Give way

Give way

Stand on, but 
be prepared 
to give way!

Give way

Give way

Give way
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U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON)
Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel 
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify 
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and 
information. As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will 
need to know the lateral navigation markers and non-lateral 
markers of the U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON).

Lateral Markers
These navigation aids mark the edges of safe water areas; for 
example, directing travel within a channel. The markers use 
a combination of colors and numbers, which may appear on 
either buoys or permanently placed markers.

Red colors, red lights, and even numbers 
indicate the right side of the channel  

as a boater enters from the open  
sea or heads upstream. 

Green colors, green lights, and odd 
numbers indicate the left side of the channel 
as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream.

Red and green colors and/or lights indicate 
the preferred (primary) channel. If green is 
on top, the preferred channel is to the right 

as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream; if red is on top, the preferred channel 

is to the left.
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Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct course when returning from open 

waters or heading upstream. 

open waters open waters

Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys 
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped buoys 
marked with odd numbers.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors 
and numbers discussed above; in addition, they 
have a matching colored light.

Daymarks are permanently placed 
signs attached to structures, such 
as posts, in the water. Common 

daymarks are red triangles (equivalent 
to nuns) and green squares (equivalent 

to cans). They may be lighted also.
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Non-Lateral Markers
Non-lateral markers are navigational aids that give information 
other than the edges of safe water areas. The most common 
are regulatory markers which are white and use orange 
markings and black lettering. These markers are found on lakes 
and rivers.

Information
Squares indicate where to find food, supplies, 
repairs, etc., and give directions and  
other information.

Controlled
Circles indicate a controlled area such as speed 
limit, no fishing or anchoring, ski only or no 
skiing, or “slow, no wake.”

Exclusion
Crossed diamonds indicate areas off limits to 
all vessels such as swimming areas, dams,  
and spillways.

Danger
Diamonds warn of dangers such as rocks, 
shoals, construction, dams, or stumps. Always 
proceed with caution.
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Other Non-Lateral Markers

Safe Water Markers are white 
with red vertical stripes and mark 

mid-channels or fairways. They 
may be passed on either side.

Inland Waters Obstruction Markers are 
white with black vertical stripes and indicate 
an obstruction to navigation. You should 
not pass between these buoys and the 
nearest shore.

Mooring Buoy
Mooring buoys are white with a blue 
horizontal band and are found in 
marinas and other areas where vessels 
are allowed to anchor.
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Weather Emergencies
Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected 
situations for boat operators. Even meteorologists have trouble 
predicting rapid weather changes. You should always monitor 
weather developments. One way is to tune a VHF radio to 
the frequencies.

What to Do if Caught in Severe Weather 
 ■ Prepare the boat to handle severe weather.

• Slow down, but keep enough power to maintain headway 
and steering.

• Close all hatches, windows, and doors to reduce the 
chance of swamping.

• Stow any unnecessary gear.
• Turn on your boat’s navigation lights. If there is fog, sound 

your fog horn. 
• Keep bilges free of water. Be prepared to remove water by 

bailing.
• If there is lightning, disconnect all electrical equipment. 

Stay as clear of metal objects as possible.
 ■ Prepare your passengers for severe weather.

• Have everyone put on a U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)–
approved PFD. If passengers are already wearing their 
PFDs, make sure they are secured properly. 

• Have your passengers sit on the vessel floor close to 
the centerline for their safety and to make the boat 
more stable. 

 ■ Decide whether to go to shore or ride out the storm.
• If possible, head for the nearest shore that is safe to 

approach. If already caught in a storm, it may be best to 
ride it out in open water rather than try to approach the 
shore in heavy wind and waves.

• Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. PWC 
should head directly into the waves.
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• If the engine stops, drop a “sea anchor” on a line off the 
bow to keep the bow headed into the wind and reduce 
drifting while you ride out the storm. In an emergency, a 
bucket will work as a sea anchor. 

• If the sea anchor is not sufficient, anchor using your 
conventional anchor to prevent your boat from drifting 
into dangerous areas.

VHF Frequencies Broadcasting NOAA Weather Reports

162.400 MHz
162.425 MHz

162.450 MHz
162.475 MHz

162.500 MHz
162.525 MHz

162.550 MHz

These are the most commonly used VHF channels on United 
States waters.
Channel 6 Intership safety communications.
Channel 9 Communications between vessels (commercial and 
recreational), and ship to coast (calling channel in designated 
USCG districts).
Channel 13 Navigational use by commercial, military, and 
recreational vessels at bridges, locks, and harbors.
Channel 16 Distress and safety calls to USCG and others, and 
to initiate calls to other vessels; often called the “hailing” 
channel. (Some regions use other channels as the hailing 
channel.) When hailing, contact the other vessel, quickly 
agree to another channel, and then switch to that channel to 
continue conversation.
Channel 22 Communications between the USCG and the 
maritime public, both recreational and commercial. Severe 
weather warnings, hazards to navigation, and other safety 
warnings are broadcast on this channel.
Channels 24–28 Public telephone calls (to marine operator).
Channels 68, 69, and 71 Recreational vessel radio channels and 
ship to coast.
Channel 70 Digital selective calling “alert channel.”
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Remember—no power means no steering control…
Most PWC and other jet-drive vessels must have power 
in order to maintain control. If you allow the engine on a 
PWC or other jet-propelled vessel to return to idle or shut 
off during operation, you may lose all steering control. Many 
PWC will continue in the direction they were headed before 
the engine was shut off, no matter which way the steering 
control is turned. New PWC allow for off-throttle steering.

Although a PWC is considered an inboard vessel and comes 
under the same rules and requirements of any other vessel, there 
are specific considerations for the PWC operator.

Steering and Stopping a PWC
 ■ PWC are propelled by drawing water 

into a pump and then forcing it out 
under pressure through a steering nozzle 
at the back of the unit. This “jet” of 
pressurized water is directed by the 
steering control—when the steering 
control is turned, the steering nozzle 
turns in the same direction. For example, 
if the steering control is turned right, the 
nozzle turns right and the jet of water 
pushes the back of the vessel to the left, 
which causes the PWC to turn right.

 ■ Most PWC do not have brakes. Always allow plenty of 
room for stopping. Just because you release the throttle or 
shut off the engine does not mean you will stop immediately. 
Even PWC that have a braking system do not stop 
immediately.

Engine Cut-Off Switch (ECOS)
 ■ Most PWC and powerboats come equipped by the 

manufacturer with an important device called an emergency 
engine cut-off switch (ECOS). If properly worn, this is a 
safety device that is designed to shut off the engine if the 
operator is thrown from the proper operating position. The 
USCG requires that operators of vessels equipped with an 
ECOS use the device at all times.

steering control

steering nozzle

Specifically for PWC
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 ■ A lanyard is attached to the 
ECOS and the operator’s wrist 
or PFD. The switch shuts off the 
engine if the operator falls off the 
PWC or out of the powerboat. 
If your vessel does not come 
equipped with an ECOS, you 
should have one installed.

 ■ If the PWC is equipped with a lanyard-type ECOS, it 
must be maintained in an operable condition and must be 
attached to the person, clothing, or PFD of the operator 
whenever the PWC is in use.

Remember…
Beginning April 2021, a new federal rule requires operators 
of recreational vessels less than 26 feet in length to use the 
ECOS if the vessel is equipped with such a device. Operators 
must use the ECOS whenever the vessel is operating on plane 
or above displacement speed.
Be sure to check with the state boating agency where you 
are boating to determine how this new USCG rule applies 
locally. For more information on this requirement, visit  
uscgboating.org/recreational-boaters/engine-cut-off-switch-faq.php.

Reboarding a Capsized PWC
After a fall, the PWC could be overturned completely. You 
should be familiar with the proper procedure to right the PWC 
and to reboard from the rear of the craft.

 ■ Most manufacturers have 
placed a decal at the rear 
or bottom of the craft that 
indicates the direction to roll 
your PWC to return it to an 
upright position. If no decal 
exists, check your owner’s 
manual or ask the dealer. If 
you roll it over the wrong way, you could damage your PWC.

 ■ Practice reboarding with someone else around to make sure 
you can handle it alone. Don’t ride your PWC if you are 
very tired because reboarding would be difficult. Also, avoid 
riding where there are strong currents or winds, which could 
hamper your reboarding efforts.
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Courtesy When Encountering Other Vessels
 ■ Jumping the wake of a passing boat, or riding too close to 

another PWC, a boat, or a canoe/kayak, creates risks and 
is restricted or even prohibited in some states. The vessel 
making the wake may block the PWC operator’s view of 
oncoming traffic and also conceal the PWC operator from 
approaching vessels.

 ■ Excessive noise from PWC often makes them unwelcome 
with other vessel operators and people on shore. Be a 
courteous PWC operator.
• Vary your operating area, and do not keep repeating the 

same maneuver.
• Avoid congregating with other PWC operators near shore, 

which increases annoying noise levels.
• Avoid making excessive noise near residential and camping 

areas, particularly early in the morning.
• Avoid maneuvers that cause the engine exhaust to lift out 

of the water because that increases noise levels.
• Do not modify your engine exhaust system if it increases 

the noise. Improperly modified exhausts will not make 
your PWC faster and may raise the noise to an illegal level.

Environmental Considerations
When operating your PWC, consider the effect you may have 
on the environment.

 ■ Make sure that the water you operate in is at least 30 inches 
deep. Riding in shallow water can cause bottom sediments 
or aquatic vegetation to be 
sucked into the pump, damaging 
your PWC and the environment.

 ■ Avoid causing erosion by 
operating at slow speed and 
by not creating a wake when 
operating near shore or in narrow 
streams or rivers.
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 ■ Do not dock or beach your PWC in reeds and grasses. This 
could damage fragile environments.

 ■ Take extra care when fueling your PWC in or near the 
water. Oil and gasoline spills are very detrimental to the 
aquatic environment. Fuel on land if possible.

 ■ Never use your PWC to disturb, chase, or harass wildlife.

Other PWC Considerations
 ■ Remember that everyone on board a PWC must wear a PFD. 
 ■ Keep hands, feet, loose clothing, 

and hair away from the pump intake 
area. Before cleaning debris away 
from the pump intake, be sure to 
shut off the engine.

 ■ Keep everyone clear of the steering 
nozzle unless the PWC is shut 
off. The water jet can cause severe 
injuries.

 ■ Frequently inspect your PWC’s 
electrical systems (e.g., starter and engine gauge 
connections) to ensure there is no potential for electrical 
spark. Gas fumes could collect in the engine compartment, 
and an explosion could occur. After fueling, sniff the engine 
compartment for any evidence of gas fumes.

 ■ Every operator and passenger should know how to swim.
 ■ Never exceed the manufacturer’s recommended capacity for 

your PWC.
 ■ Know your limits, and ride according to your abilities.
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Paddling down a 
river can be safe 
and enjoyable. 
But, according to 
statistics, paddlers 
in small crafts, such 
as canoes, kayaks, 
rafts, and stand-up 
paddleboards (SUPs), 
are more than twice as likely to drown as those operating other 
types of vessels. 
Paddlers need to consider themselves “boaters.” They must 
adhere to the same laws as operators of any other type of vessel 
and should follow the same safety practices. 

Preparing for Safety
As a paddler, you can take steps to help ensure your safety. 

 ■ Always wear a PFD.
 ■ Make sure you have the skills needed to operate a small, 

unstable craft safely and to reboard the craft from the water. 
These skills are best learned through hands-on training. 

 ■ Never paddle alone. Bring along at least one other boater. 
Three crafts with two paddlers each is recommended. 
If unfamiliar with the waterway, be sure to paddle with 
someone who is knowledgeable about it. 

 ■ Never overload the craft. Tie down gear, and distribute 
weight evenly. Maintain a low center of gravity and three 
points of contact. Keep your weight centered in the craft. 
Leaning a shoulder over the edge of the craft can destabilize 
it enough to cause it to capsize.

 ■ Leave a float plan with a friend or relative. Map a general 
route with a timetable when embarking on a long trip. 

 ■ Know the weather conditions before you head out. While 
paddling, watch the weather and stay close to shore. Head 
for shore if the waves increase.

Specifically for Paddlesports

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com
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Safety While Paddling
 ■ Always wear a PFD. Also wear a helmet when paddling on 

rapid waters.
 ■ Don’t overload the craft with passengers or gear. 
 ■ Stay seated. Standing up or moving around in a small craft 

can cause it to capsize. 
 ■ Fasten down all ropes so that there is no danger of becoming 

entangled in case you overturn. 
 ■ If you capsize, stay at the upstream end of the craft. If carried 

by the current, float on your back with your feet pointed 
downstream, keeping your toes up and your feet together. 
Never try to stand unless the water is too shallow to swim. 

 ■ Be alert to changing weather conditions. Get out of the 
water before a storm hits.

 ■ Before paddling on a river, make sure you understand the 
special challenges you may encounter.
• Consult a map of the river, and know where any low-head 

dams are located. Water going over a low-head dam creates 
a strong recirculating current at the base of the dam, which 
can trap you against the face of the dam under the water. 
Always carry your craft around a low-head dam.

• When approaching rapids, go ashore well upstream 
and check them out before continuing. In dangerous 
conditions, carry your craft around rapids. 

• Be alert for strainers, which are river obstructions that 
allow water to flow through but block vessels and could 
throw you overboard and damage or trap your craft.

Stand-Up Paddleboards (SUPs)
The use of SUPs on lakes and rivers is growing in popularity. 
The USCG classifies SUPs as vessels.

 ■ Paddleboarders must comply with recreational boating laws 
and rules.

 ■ Paddleboards must have:
• A PFD for each person on board
• A sound-producing device such as a whistle when used on 

federally controlled waters
• Navigation lights when used between sunset and sunrise—

this may be a flashlight or a headlamp with a white light
• VDSs when used on federally controlled watersCopyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com
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A vessel equipped with any size motor may be operated only at “a speed 
not greater than 5 mph” on artificial lakes that are under the custody of the 
Department of Natural Resources and are more than 100 acres in size. Lakes 
included in the regulation are: 
Lake  County (Cty)
Ahquabi Warren 
Anita  Cass 
Badger Creek  Madison 
Big Creek  Polk
Brushy Creek  Webster 
Darling  Washington 
Geode  Henry 
Green Valley*  Union 
Hawthorn  Mahaska 
Icaria*  Adams 
Little River  Decatur 
Lost Grove Scott
Miami  Monroe 

Lake  County (Cty)
Pleasant Creek  Linn
Prairie Rose  Shelby
Rock Creek  Jasper
Sugema  Van Buren
Swan  Carroll
Three Mile*  Union
Twelve Mile  Union
Union Grove  Tama
Viking  Montgomery
Volga  Fayette
Wapello  Davis
West  Clarke

*Special regulations exist. 
On artificial lakes less than 100 acres in size, only a powerboat equipped with 
one or more outboard battery-operated electric trolling motors is allowed. There 
is no motor restriction on natural lakes or federal reservoirs.
Other lakes managed by counties and municipalities also have regulations. 
Always check local regulations. Please note that:

• On Lake Macbride, Johnson County, a boat with a motor exceeding 
10 horsepower (hp) may be used from the day after Labor Day to the 
Thursday prior to Memorial Day weekend inclusively and operated at “a 
speed not greater than 5 mph.”

• Only motors of 100 hp or less may be used on Loch Ayr, Ringgold 
County.

Motors of any hp operated at “a speed not greater than 5 mph” only are allowed 
on the following lakes: 

Lake  County
Beaver Lake Dallas
Beeds Lake Franklin
Black Hawk Pit Sac
Crawford Creek Lake Ida
Deer Creek Lake Plymouth
Fogle Lake Ringgold
George Wyth Lake Black Hawk 

Lake  County
Lake Iowa Iowa
Lake of Three Fires Taylor
Meadow Lake Adair
Otter Creek Lake Tama
Silver Lake Delaware
Thayer Lake Union
Williamson Pond Lucas

Motor Regulations  
for Lakes

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com
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Water occurring in any river, stream, or creek having definite 
banks and bed with visible evidence of the flow of water is 
declared to be public waters of the state of Iowa and subject to 
use by the public for navigation purposes in accordance with law.

Specific Regulations and Zoning
Special Regulations regarding zoning; safety areas; and other 
right-of-way, speed, and distance restrictions apply to the 
following areas:

Black Hawk Lake, Sac Cty
Brown’s Lake, Woodbury Cty
Carter Lake, Pottawattamie Cty
Cedar River, Black Hawk Cty
Cedar River, Floyd Cty  

(Charles City)
Cedar River, Mitchell Cty
Cedar River, Chickasaw Cty 

(Nashua)
Coralville Lake, Johnson Cty
Crystal Lake, Hancock Cty
Des Moines River, Lee Cty
East & West Okoboji Lakes, 

Dickinson Cty
Five Island Lake, Palo Alto Cty
Harpers Slough, Allamakee Cty
Ingham Lake, Emmet Cty
Iowa River, Hardin Cty
Iowa River, Johnson Cty
Joyce Slough Area, Clinton Cty
Lake Odessa, Louisa Cty
Lake Icaria, Adams Cty
Lake Manawa, Pottawattamie Cty
Little Wall Lake, Hamilton Cty
Lost Island Lake, Palo Alto  

Cty/Clay Cty

Maquoketa River/Lake Delhi, 
Delaware Cty

Massey Slough, Dubuque Cty
Mississippi River, above and below  

all navigation lock and dam 
structures and other designated 
areas (Contact Conservation 
Officer, Corps of Engineers, or 
lock master for special rules.)

Mt. Ayr City Lake (Loch Ayr), 
Ringgold Cty

Raccoon River Regional Park Lake, 
Polk Cty

Rathbun Lake, Appanoose Cty
Red Rock Lake, Marion Cty
Saylorville Lake, Polk Cty
Shell Rock River (Greene 

Impoundment), Floyd Cty
Snyder Bend Lake, Woodbury Cty
Spirit Lake, Dickinson Cty
Storm Lake, Buena Vista Cty
Swan Slough, Clinton Cty
Three Mile Lake, Union Cty
Upper Gar Lake, Dickinson Cty
Wapsipinicon River, Linn Cty

The specific regulations for each area may be obtained online 
at www.legis.iowa.gov/law/administrativeRules/agencies (look for 
Natural Resource Commission Code 571, Chapter 40).

Public Use Waters

Copyright © 2023 Kalkomey Enterprises, LLC and its divisions and partners, www.kalkomey.com
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1. Required for operators under 18 years of age. 
2. Every person on board a PWC must wear a PFD at all times. 
3. Required on inboard and stern drives only.
4. None required, but at least a whistle is recommended. 
5. Required only if operating on federally controlled waters. 
6. Some items are not applicable to PWC, as these vessels may not be operated 

between sunset and sunrise.
Note: Other equipment requirements may apply to vessels longer than 40 feet.

Iowa Required  
Equipment Checklist

PWC
Boat Less 

Than 16 Ft.

Boat 16 
Ft. to Less 
Than 40 

Ft.

Boater Education Certificate on 
Board

 ✓1  ✓1  ✓1

Registration Certificate on Board ✓ ✓ ✓
Registration Decals Displayed ✓ ✓ ✓

Vessel Capacity Displayed ✓ ✓ ✓
Wearable PFDs  ✓2 ✓ ✓

Throwable Device ✓
Type 5-B Fire Extinguisher ✓ ✓ ✓

Backfire Flame Arrestor ✓  ✓3  ✓3

Ventilation System ✓ ✓ ✓
Muffler ✓ ✓ ✓

Horn, Whistle, or Bell 4 ✓
Daytime VDSs  ✓5

Nighttime VDSs 6  ✓5  ✓5

Navigation Lights 6 ✓ ✓
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Des Moines Office 515-725-8200
TTY Users—Contact Relay Iowa—1-800-735-2942

24-Hour Emergency Response (Spills) 515-725-8694
TIP, Turn In Poachers 1-800-532-2020

REGIONAL OFFICES
(DNR Fish, Wildlife, and Law Enforcement)

HEADQUARTERS
Wallace State Office Bldg. 
502 E. 9th St. 
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
515-725-8200

NORTHEAST
Manchester Fish Hatchery 
22693 205th Ave.
Manchester, IA 52057 
563-927-3276

NORTH CENTRAL
Fish and Wildlife Station 
1203 North Shore Dr.
Clear Lake, IA 50428 
641-357-3517

NORTHWEST
Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery 
122 252nd Ave.  
Spirit Lake, IA 51360 
712-336-1840 

SOUTHWEST
Cold Springs State Park 
57744 Lewis Rd. 
Lewis, IA 51544 
712-769-2587

SOUTHEAST
Lake Darling State Park 
110 Lake Darling Rd.
Brighton, IA 52540  
319-694-2430

SOUTH CENTRAL
Rathbun Fish Hatchery
15053 Hatchery Pl.
Moravia, IA 52571
641-647-2406

www.iowadnr.gov

In Case of a Boating Accident or Emergency, Contact a 
Conservation Officer or a Public Safety Communication Center.

Cedar Falls ................ 319-277-4761
Cedar Rapids  ............ 319-396-4414

Des Moines  ............... 515-323-4360
Storm Lake  ............... 712-732-1341

Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources

parks

fishing

boating

regulations
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