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CHAPTER 101 
SANITARY DISPOSAL PROJECTS 

 
DIVISION VI 

SOLID WASTE INCINERATOR OPERTOR CERTIFICATION 
 
567—101.500(455B) Purpose. The purpose of this division is to implement Iowa Code subsection 
455B.304(12) by providing the criteria for establishing the certification of operators of solid waste 
incinerators. 
 
567—101.501(455B) Applicability. The requirements of this division apply to all operators of solid waste 
incinerators. 
 
567—101.502(455B) Solid waste incinerator operator certification. Solid waste incinerator operators 
shall be trained, tested, and certified by a department-approved certification program. 

101.502(1) A solid waste incinerator operator shall be on duty during all hours of operation of a solid 
waste incinerator, consistent with the respective certification. 

101.502(2) To become a certified operator, an individual shall complete a basic operator training course 
that has been approved by the department or alternative, equivalent training approved by the department 
and shall pass a departmental examination as specified by this division. An operator certified by another 
state may have reciprocity subject to approval by the department. 

101.502(3) Biennial Certification. A solid waste incinerator operator certification is valid from the date 
of issuance until June 30 of the following even-numbered year. 

101.502(4) Basic operator training course. The required basic operator training course for a certified 
solid waste incinerator operator shall have at least eight contact hours and shall address the following areas, 
at a minimum: 

a. Description of types of wastes; 
b. Incinerator design; 
c. Interpreting and using engineering plans; 
d. Incinerator operations and safety; 
e. Combustion controls and monitoring; 
f. Applicable laws and regulations; 
g. Permitting processes; 
h. Incinerator maintenance; and 
i. Ash and residue disposal. 
101.502(5) Alternative basic operator training. Alternative basic operator training must be approved 

by the department. It shall be the applicant’s responsibility to submit any documentation the department 
may require to evaluate the equivalency of alternative training. 

101.502(6) Fees. 
a. The examination fee for each examination is $20. 
b. The initial certification fee is $8 for each one-half year of a two-year period from the date of 

issuance to June 30 of the next even-numbered year. 
c. The certification renewal fee is $24. 
d. The penalty fee is $12. 
101.502(7) Examinations. 
a. The operator certification examinations will be based on the basic operator training course 

curriculum. 
b. All persons wishing to take the examination required to become a certified operator of a solid waste 

incinerator shall complete an operator certification examination application, on a form prescribed by the 
department. A listing of dates and locations of examinations is available from the department upon request. 
The application form requires the applicant to indicate the basic operator training course taken. Evidence 
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of training course completion must be submitted with the application for certification. The completed 
application and the application fee shall be sent to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 6200 Park 
Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50321. Application for examination must be received by the department prior 
to the date of examination. 

c. A properly completed application for examination shall be valid for one year from the date the 
application is approved by the department. 

d. Upon failure of the first examination, the applicant may be reexamined at the next scheduled 
examination. Upon failure of the second examination, the applicant shall be required to wait a period of 
180 days before taking a third examination. If the third examination occurs beyond the one year timeframe 
in paragraph 101.502(7)“c,” a new operator certification examination application is required.  

e. Upon each reexamination when a valid application is on file, the applicant shall submit to the 
department the examination fee prior to the date of examination. 

f. Failure to successfully complete the examination within one year from the date of approval of the 
application shall invalidate the application. 

g. Oral examinations may be given at the discretion of the department. 
101.502(8) Certification. 
a. All operators will be required to take the basic operator training course and pass the examination 

in order to become certified. 
b. Application for certification must be received by the department within 30 days of the date the 

applicant receives written notification of successful completion of the examination. All applications for 
certification shall be made on a form prescribed by the department and shall be accompanied by the 
certification fee. 

c. Applications for certification by examination that are received more than 30 days but less than 60 
days after notification of successful completion of the examination shall be accompanied by the certification 
fee and the penalty fee. Applicants who do not apply for certification within 60 days of notice of successful 
completion of the examination will not be certified on the basis of that examination. 

d. For applicants who have been certified under a mandatory certification program in another state, 
the equivalency of which has been previously reviewed and accepted by the department, certification 
without examination will be recommended. 

e. For applicants who have been certified under voluntary certification programs in another state, 
certification will be considered. The applicant must have successfully completed a basic operator training 
course and an examination generally equivalent to the Iowa examination. The department may require the 
applicant to successfully complete the Iowa examination. 

f. Applicants who seek Iowa certification pursuant to paragraph 101.502(8)“d” or “e” shall submit 
an application for examination accompanied by a letter requesting certification pursuant to this subrule. 
Application for certification pursuant to this subrule shall be received by the department in accordance with 
paragraphs 101.502(8)“b” and “c.” 

101.502(9) Duration and renewal of certification. All certificates shall expire every two years, on even-
numbered years, and must be renewed every two years to maintain certification. The renewal application 
and fee are due prior to expiration of certification. 

a. Late application for renewal of a certification may be made provided that such late application shall 
be received by the department or postmarked within 30 days of the expiration of the certification. Such late 
application shall be on a form prescribed by the department and accompanied by the penalty fee and the 
certification renewal fee. 

b. If a certificate holder fails to apply for renewal within 30 days following expiration of the 
certification, the right to renew the certification automatically terminates. Certification may be allowed at 
any time following such termination, provided that the applicant successfully completes the examination. 
The applicant must then apply for certification in accordance with subrule 101.502(8). 

c. An operator shall not continue to operate a solid waste incinerator after expiration of a certification 
without renewal thereof. 

d. Continuing education credits must be earned during the two-year certification period. All certified 
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operators must earn six contact hours per certification during each two-year period. The two-year period 
will begin upon issuance of certification. 

e. Only those operators fulfilling the continuing education requirements before the end of each two-
year period will be allowed to renew their certifications. The certifications of operators not fulfilling the 
continuing education requirements shall be void upon expiration, unless an extension is granted. 

f. All activities for which continuing education credit will be granted must be related to the subject 
matter of the particular certification to which the credit is being applied. 

g. The department may, in individual cases involving hardship or extenuating circumstances, grant an 
extension of time of up to three months within which the applicant may fulfill the minimum continuing 
education requirements. Hardship or extenuating circumstances include documented health-related 
confinement or other circumstances beyond the control of the certified operator that prevent attendance at 
the required activities. All requests for extensions must be made prior to expiration of certification. 

h. The certified operator is responsible for notifying the department of the continuing education 
credits earned during the period. The continuing education credits earned during the period shall be shown 
on the application for renewal. 

i. A certified operator shall be deemed to have complied with the continuing education requirements 
of this division during periods that the operator serves honorably on active duty in military service; or 
during periods that the operator is a resident of another state or district having a continuing education 
requirement for operators and meets all the requirements of that state or district for practice there; or during 
periods that the person is a government employee working as an operator and is assigned to duty outside of 
the United States; or during other periods of active practice and absence from the state approved by the 
department. 

 
567—101.503(455B) Discipline of certified operators. 

101.503(1) Disciplinary action may be taken on any of the following grounds: 
a. Failure to use reasonable care or judgment or to apply knowledge or ability in performing the duties 

of a certified operator. Duties of certified operators include compliance with rules and permit conditions 
applicable to solid waste incinerator operation. 

b. Failure to submit required records of operation or other reports required under applicable permits 
or rules of the department, including failure to submit complete records or reports. 

c. Knowingly making any false statement, representation, or certification on any application, record, 
report, or document required to be maintained or submitted under any applicable permit or rule of the 
department. 

101.503(2) Disciplinary sanctions allowable are as follows: 
a. Revocation of a certification. 
b. Probation under specified conditions relevant to the specific grounds for disciplinary action. 

Additional education or training or reexamination may be required as a condition of probation. 
101.503(3) The procedure for discipline is as follows: 
a. The department shall initiate disciplinary action. The commission may direct that the department 

investigate any alleged factual situation that may be grounds for disciplinary action under subrule 
101.503(1) and report the results of the investigation to the commission. 

b. A disciplinary action may be prosecuted by the department. 
c. Written notice shall be given to an operator against whom disciplinary action is being considered, 

and as appropriate, to the responsible official of the permitted solid waste incinerator. The notice shall state 
the informal and formal procedures available for determining the matter. The operator shall be given 20 
days to present any relevant facts and indicate the operator’s position in the matter and to indicate whether 
informal resolution of the matter may be reached. 

d. An operator who receives notice shall communicate in writing or in person with the department, 
and efforts shall be made to clarify the respective positions of the operator and department. 

e. The applicant’s failure to communicate facts and positions relevant to the matter by the required 
date may be considered when appropriate disciplinary action is determined. 
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f. If agreement as to appropriate disciplinary sanction, if any, can be reached with the operator and 
the commission concurs, a written stipulation and settlement between the department and the operator shall 
be entered into. The stipulation and settlement shall recite the basic facts and violations alleged, any facts 
brought forth by the operator, and the reasons for the particular sanctions imposed. 

g. If an agreement as to appropriate disciplinary action, if any, cannot be reached, the department may 
initiate formal hearing procedures. Notice and formal hearing shall be in accordance with 561—Chapter 7 
related to contested and certain other cases pertaining to licensee discipline. 

101.503(4) Revocation of certification. Upon revocation of a certificate, application for certification 
may be allowed after two years from the date of revocation. Any such applicant must successfully complete 
the examination and be certified in the same manner as a new applicant. 

 
567—101.504(455B) Temporary operator designation. A temporary operator of a solid waste incinerator 
may be designated for a period of six months when an existing certified operator is no longer available to 
the facility. The facility must make application to the department, explain why a temporary certification is 
needed, identify the temporary operator, and identify the efforts that will be made to obtain a certified 
operator. A temporary operator designation shall not be approved for greater than a six-month period except 
for extenuating circumstances. In any event, not more than one six-month extension to the temporary 
operator designation may be granted. Approval of a temporary operator designation may be rescinded for 
cause as set forth in rule 567—101.503(455B). 

 
567—101.505(455B) Waivers. A request for a waiver to this division shall be submitted in writing pursuant 
to 561—Chapter 10. 

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code subsection 455B.304(12). 
 

567—101.506 to 101.599  Reserved. 
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