## **Iowa Department of Natural Resources**

# **CHANGES TO THE BOTTLE BILL**

### **Frequently Asked Questions**

Governor Kim Reynolds signed <u>SF2378</u> on June 17, 2022. The legislation amends certain provisions in Iowa Code 455C (the Bottle Bill). As of **January 1, 2023** the following changes will be effective:

#### FOR IOWANS SEEKING TO REDEEM CONTAINERS:

- The deposit remains 5 cents, charged at the time of purchase of the container and reimbursed when the container is returned.
- Containers can be redeemed at redemption centers and at stores that opt into the redemption program.
- lowans may see a change as to where they can redeem their containers. As explained below, some stores
  may now opt out of redeeming containers depending on whether there is a redemption center nearby or if
  certain other criteria are met. If a store will not redeem your containers, they must tell you where an existing
  approved redemption center is located where you can take the containers. You may wish to call the store first
  before trying to redeem.
- Additionally, some Iowa residents may see mobile redemption systems in their communities. These are smaller, self-serve redemption locations operated by redemption centers.
- While most redemption is anticipated to occur upon drop-off of the containers, the statute now allows the redeeming facility up to 10 days to return the deposit.
- Containers can still be rejected if they contain liquid or other foreign materials, if they are not intact, or if the deposit information is not legible. Note that mini liquor bottles are now exempt from labeling but are still covered by the law. As such, a label won't be visible, but they are eligible for redemption.

#### ARE STORES STILL REQUIRED TO REDEEM CONTAINERS?

Stores that sell containers must still charge the 5-cent deposit. Some may now refuse to accept the containers for reimbursement so long as the criteria outlined by the legislature are met.

Those criteria are:

- Stores in counties with a population of 30,000 or greater can opt out of redemption activities if an approved
  redemption center is within 10 miles. Stores in counties with a population less than 30,000 can opt out if an
  approved redemption center is within 15 miles. Stores with an agreement with an approved redemption center
  for the operation of a mobile redemption system can opt out of redemption activities.
- Stores that hold food establishment licenses, have a US-FDA certified food protection manager, and sell food that is time/temperature controlled for safety can opt out of redemption activities regardless of how far away an approved redemption center is.
- Stores that opt out of redeeming containers for any of these reasons must clearly display on their front door a notice that provides the location of the nearest approved redemption center.

#### **HOW IS THE BOTTLE BILL ENFORCED?**

 Beginning January 1, 2023, the DNR will have enforcement authority via the issuance of administrative orders, administrative penalties and referral to the Attorney General for civil enforcement. Non-compliance with certain provisions also remain a criminal misdemeanor.

E-mail **bottlebill@dnr.iowa.gov** with any questions.

