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REPORTING PETROLEUM RELEASES FROM UST SYSTEMS 

Reporting Promptly Protects the Public and the Environment 
 

Suspected and Confirmed Releases and Reporting Requirements 

Iowa law requires owners and operators of UST systems to report a confirmed or suspected release of  "regulated 
substances," which includes petroleum, to the DNR within 24 hours or within 6 hours if a hazardous condition exists [567 Iowa 
Administrative Code (IAC)—135.6 & Iowa Code section 455B.386]. Always report a suspected or confirmed release to your 
insurance company to file a claim and preserve coverage. 
 

Suspected Release 

Even though there is no obvious visual or olfactory evidence of a release—such as stained soils or a strong hydrocarbon 
odor—the presence of other indicators may suggest a release has occurred from the UST system.   Below are examples of 
conditions qualifying as a “suspected release”: 

 Vapor or product is detected in vapor monitoring or groundwater monitoring wells used for leak detection 
 Inventory control discrepancies indicate that a release may have occurred (a gain or loss of product greater than 

130 gallons + 1% of throughput) 
 Alarms from automatic tank gauging (ATG) systems, interstitial monitors, sump sensors, automatic line leak 

detector, etc., indicate that a release may have occurred 
 Statistical inventory reconciliation (SIR) results indicate either a Fail or two consecutive Inconclusive 
 Unexplained loss of product 
 Unexplained presence of water in the tank or sump 
 Product dispensing equipment does not dispense product or dispenses product at a greatly reduced rate 
 Internal tank (periodic) inspection results reveal perforations, corrosion holes, weld failures, or other similar 

defects 
 

Suspected Release Investigation 

Owners and operators must immediately investigate and confirm suspected releases. Make sure the monitoring device that 
declared a release is not defective and giving false indications of a release. If it is defective, get it recalibrated, repaired or 
replaced immediately and make sure subsequent monitoring shows no release. Your petroleum equipment service company is 
able to help you diagnose whether there is a problem with your monitoring equipment and whether the suspected release 
can be confirmed. 
 
If the monitoring equipment is found to be operating properly, the suspected release or confirmed release must be reported 
to the DNR by phone or fax within 24 hours. Make sure to contact the DNR Spill Reporting line if the release creates a 
hazardous condition (see What is a Hazardous Condition Requiring Reporting within 6 Hours? below). You should also contact 
your UST insurance company to inform them you have a suspected or confirmed release. 
 

 Shut down the submersible pump for the product line if you suspect a release from the product piping (slow flow, 
failed test results, positive shutoff, alarm, etc.) 

 Shut down the submersible pump and empty the tank if a sudden loss of product occurs from the tank or if test 
results indicate a “Fail” 

 If there is a suspected release that cannot be explained due to defective monitoring equipment or the source of the 
release is unknown or uncertain, regulations require you to test your UST system to confirm if a leak has occurred. 
You must proceed with system tightness testing, which can detect a release at least as small as 0.1 gph in the tanks 
and/or product lines 

 If the precision test results are “Fail,” a site investigation may be necessary. The DNR will issue a letter requiring a 
site check. You must repair or replace defective equipment if the test indicates a leak has occurred in the system. 
Submit documentation of the repair or replacement to the DNR (e.g., invoice, 148 form, and installation checklist if 
necessary) 
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Confirmed Release and Reporting Requirements 

A release can be confirmed when based on visual and olfactory observations it is evident that petroleum or other regulated 
substances have breached the UST system or come in contact with the surface material (concrete/asphalt), backfill material, 
soil, groundwater or surface water or the system monitoring has confirmed a leak in the UST system that cannot be observed. 
 
The owner or operator must report the release to the DNR within 24 hours or six hours if a hazardous condition exists (see 
What is a Hazardous Condition Requiring Reporting within 6 Hours? below).   Environmental evidence of a confirmed release 
includes:  

 Soil or groundwater sample analytical results for any petroleum constituent exceed the DNR’s action levels [567—
135.14] 

 There is a spill or overfill from the UST system 
 There is an affected receptor (e.g., petroleum discovered in a utility trench, which can be attributed to the UST 

facility or the UST facility cannot be ruled out as a source) 
 Drinking water supplies are contaminated, which can be attributed to the UST facility or the UST facility cannot be 

ruled out as a source 
 Vapors are observed in buildings or structures which can be attributed to the UST facility or the UST facility cannot 

be ruled out as a source 
 Free product is observed in the environment or in monitoring well used for release detection or LUST monitoring 
 Stained soil is observed 
 A sheen is observed on surface water 

 

Exceptions 

An aboveground release of petroleum from a UST facility does not need to be reported to DNR if it is less than 
25 gallons, does not create a hazardous condition, does not reach soil, groundwater or surface water, and is 
cleaned up within 24 hours and the facility retains records of the incident. 
 

An overfill caused by a transporter filling a UST does not need to be reported to DNR if the spill is contained in 
the spill bucket of the UST and does not reach the backfill.  A spill (e.g., a customer who overfills the vehicle’s 
gas tank) of less than 25 gallons does not need to be reported if it is cleaned up within 24 hours and does not 
reach soil, groundwater or surface water or create a hazardous condition.  If a spill less than 25 gallons cannot 
be cleaned up within 24 hours, it must be reported. 
 

Confirmed Release Investigation 

After reporting the confirmed release, take immediate action to prevent the spread of the release and danger 
to the public (e.g., fire, vapor and explosion hazards). 

 If the public is in danger from a spill or overfill, immediately contact DNR’s Spill Reporting line and 
the local enforcement authority 

 Shut down the pump for the suspected tank or product line 
 Investigate for free product in sumps and in under dispenser containment (UDC).   Be mindful that 

you are investigating for the presence of flammable or combustible liquids.  Avoid contact with the 
substance, and keep any ignition sources out of the area 

 
 
 

If the source of the release is the tank, contact your petroleum equipment service provider to have the tank 
emptied and to further investigate the problem.   Upon receipt of the Release Report Form, the DNR will 
complete a Preliminary Leaking Underground Storage Tank (LUST) Report, the information will be entered into 
the database, and the owner/operator will receive a letter in the mail requiring a Risk Based Corrective Action 
(RBCA) assessment. 
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What is a Hazardous Condition Requiring Reporting within 6 Hours? 

A hazardous condition is defined in 567 IAC—131.1 and means any situation where a suspected or actual 
release of a hazardous substance, such as petroleum, places the health and safety of the public or the 
environment in danger. 
 
Examples of a hazardous condition are:  

 Product floating on the groundwater in the tank pit or in a monitoring well 
 A sheen of product on a lake, in a stream or a river 
 Product discovered in a sump, a monitoring well, or in the UDC 
 Product spilled onto the ground 
 Vapors or product present in a building, sewer or utility line   

 
In any of these situations, imminent or potential danger exists to the public or the environment and must be 
reported immediately.    
 
An overfill that occurs during product delivery and which is not contained by the spill bucket must be reported 
immediately by the transporter (See 567 IAC—135.6(4) and 567 IAC—131.1).   A release of a hazardous 
substance must be reported within 6 hours.  Ultimately, the owner and operator of the tank system must 
ensure the release is reported. 
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Releases of petroleum from non-regulated sources such as heating oil tanks, aboveground storage tanks, 
and farm and residential tanks must also be reported to DNR within 6 hours if a hazardous condition 
exists.   To report a release, contact DNR Spill Reporting, the field office in the region where the release 
occurred, and the UST Section at the DNR central office.  
 

 Spill Reporting: (24 hour phone) 515.725.8694 eff. July 2015. Or fax 515.281.7229 
 DNR Field Offices:  
     http://www.iowadnr.gov/InsideDNR/DNRStaffOffices/EnvironmentalFieldOffices.aspx  

 

Field Office 

 
Phone Fax Area 

of 
State 

 
 

 
 

1-
Manchester 

563.927.2640 563.927.2075 NE 

2-Mason 
City 

641.424.4073 641.424.9342 NC 

3-Spencer 712.262.4177 712.262.2901 NW 

4-Atlantic 712.243.1934 712.243.6251 SW 

5-Des 
Moines 

515.725.0268 515.725.0218 SC 

6-
Washington 

319.653.2135 319.653.2856 SW 

 
UST Central Office: (work hours phone) 515.725.8200 or fax 515.725.8202. 
 
Use the Release Report Form to fax within 24 hours or 6 hours. Release reporting forms can be found at: 

 

http://www.iowadnr.gov/InsideDNR/RegulatoryLand/UndergroundStorageTanks/USTForms.aspx 
 

It is Good Business to Report: Don’t Make a Release More Expensive or Complicated 

Reporting suspected and confirmed releases promptly as required and as soon as it is known not only 
protects the public and the environment, but can save the owner/operator money and lower cleanup 
costs.   When a release is reported in a timely manner and the release investigation is begun quickly, 
further spread of the contamination can be prevented.   With any hazardous substance release, safety is 
the primary concern.  While it is important to make every effort to stop the release and perform the 
actions discussed earlier, do not delay notification to the fire department. 
 

Report suspected and confirmed releases to your insurance company.  Your pollution liability insurer 
requires you to report a release to them as soon as possible.  Report the release to preserve your 
coverage. 
 

http://www.iowadnr.gov/InsideDNR/DNRStaffOffices/EnvironmentalFieldOffices.aspx
http://www.iowadnr.gov/InsideDNR/RegulatoryLand/UndergroundStorageTanks/USTForms.aspx

