Iowa Ozone Monitoring Locations and Design Values for Ozone

2001-2003

A design value is a tool that can be used to understand pollution levels at a specific location. A design value may be set for any pollutant. The U.S. EPA's official definition is explained this way: "a design value is the mathematically determined pollutant concentration at a particular site that must be reduced to, or maintained at or below the National Ambient Air Quality Standard to assume attainment." The design value number tells us how a particular site or area compares with the National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).

Iowa ozone monitor location and information is detailed on the following pages. The EPA design value for 8-hour ozone is equal to the average of the 4th highest annual daily maximum 8-hour value for the most recent three years. A monitoring site must have a design value less than 85 parts per billion to be considered "in attainment" with the ozone NAAQS. All monitoring sites in Iowa are in attainment with the 8-hour ozone NAAQS.

Iowa Ozone Monitoring Site Locations 2003



Ozone Monitors

Site	Name	City	County	Site Label
190170011	Waverly Airport	Waverly	Bremer	Waverly, Airport
190450021	Rainbow Park	Clinton	Clinton	Clinton, Rainbow Park
190851101	Highway Maintenance Shed	Pisgah	Harrison	Pisgah, Highway Maintenance
191130028	Kirkwood College	Cedar Rapids	Linn	Cedar Rapids, Kirkwood Coll.
191130033	Coggon	Cedar Rapids	Linn	Cedar Rapids, Coggon
191370002	Viking Lake State Park		Montgomery	Viking Lake State Park*
191471002	Iowa Lakes College	Emmetsburg	Palo Alto	Emmetsburg, Iowa Lakes Coll.
191530058	Phillips School	Des Moines	Polk	Des Moines, Phillips Sch.
191630014	Scott County Park	Davenport	Scott	Scott County Park
191632011	Highway Maintenance Shed	Argo	Scott	Argo, Highway Maintenance
191690011	Slater Elementary	Slater	Story	Slater, Slater Sch.
191770005	Lake Sugema State Park		Van Buren	Lake Sugema State Park
191810022	Lake Ahquabi State Park		Warren	Lake Ahquabi State Park

(Three Year Averages Greater Than 85 ppb Indicate Non-Attainment with the NAAQS)									
County	City	EPA Monitor Id	Year	4th Highest Daily Maximum 8hr Ozone Concentration (ppb)	3-year Average (ppb) of 4th Highest	Year: Averag			
Bremer	Waverly	190170011442011	2001	69					
			2002	69					
			2003	70	69	01-0			
Clinton	Clinton	190450021442011	2001	79					
			2002	80					
			2003	75	78	01-0			
Harrison	Pisgah	190851101442011	2001	78					
			2002	78					
			2003	74	76	01-0			
Linn	Cedar Rapids	191130028442011	2001	68					
			2002	72					
			2003	66 67	68 69	01-0			
Linn	Coggon	191130033442011	2001	69					
			2002	70					
			2003	68	69	01-0			
Montgomery	Red Oak	191370002442010	2002	74					
	(Viking Lake)		2003	70	*				
Palo Alto	Emmetsburg	191471002442011	2001	63					
	-		2002	65					
			2003	63	63	01-0			
Polk	Des Moines	191530058442011	2001	60					
			2002	59					
			2003	51	56	01-0			
Scott	Davenport	191630014442011	2001	79					
			2002	82					
			2003	76	79	01-0			
Scott	Argo	191632011442011	2001	77					
			2002	80					
			2003	73	76	01-0			
Story	Slater	191690011442011	2001	58					
			2002	64					
			2003	58	63 60	01-0			
Van Buren	Keosauqua	191770005442011	2001	71					
	(Lake Sugema)		2002	80					
			2003	73	70 74	01-0			
Warren	Indianola	191810022442011	2001	58					
			2002	61					
			2003	61	63 60	01-0			