**IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES** 



GOVERNOR KIM REYNOLDS LT. GOVERNOR ADAM GREGG

ACTING DIRECTOR BRUCE TRAUTMAN

June 19, 2018

James B. Gulliford Regional Administrator US EPA, Region 7 11201 Renner Blvd Lenexa, KS 66219

Dear Administrator Gulliford:

The lowa Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is submitting the annual report required pursuant to the sulfur dioxide ( $SO_2$ ) Data Requirements Rule (DRR, 80 FR 51051, August 21, 2015). Under the DRR, a report must be submitted to the EPA Regional Administrator by July 1 that documents the annual  $SO_2$  emissions of each applicable source in each area where modeling of actual emissions served as the basis for designating that area attainment.

The enclosed report documents the annual SO<sub>2</sub> emissions from the applicable sources in Des Moines and Wapello Counties. These counties were designated unclassifiable/attainment (81 FR 45039, July 12, 2016) for the 2010 1-hour SO<sub>2</sub> national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) based on modeling of actual emissions. The DNR concludes that these areas continue to attain the 1-hour SO<sub>2</sub> NAAQS. No other areas in Iowa are yet subject to the DRR's ongoing reporting requirements.

To determine if criteria that will eliminate the need to conduct future DRR reviews in these areas would be satisfied, the DNR conducted new dispersion modeling of the affected sources in Des Moines and Wapello Counties. The results indicate that future DRR reviews are not necessary. DNR requests that EPA approve the modeling demonstration for Des Moines county, pursuant to 40 CFR 51.1205(b)(2). Sources in Wapello County were modeled using federally enforceable maximum allowable permitted emission limits and the results satisfy the provisions of 40 CFR 51.1205(c).

The DNR provided a 34-day public comment period for the report. The comment period began May 16, 2018, and ended June 18, 2018. The report was posted to the DNR's website and notice was provided through the air quality listserve, which reaches over 10,000 subscribers. No public comments were received.

Sincerely,

Catharine Fitzsimmons Chief, Air Quality Bureau Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Enclosure