
Turn In Poachers

1-800-532-2020 or
www.iowadnr.gov/tip

Donating $2 to the TIP  
program when buying 
a license helps put fish 
and wildlife poachers  

out of business

Donating $2 to the TIP  
program when buying 
a license helps put fish 
and wildlife poachers  

out of business

This booklet contains rules and regulations most likely 
needed for hunting in Iowa. However, it is not a complete 
list of all hunting regulations or laws, nor is it a legal 
document. For more information, go to www.iowadnr.gov 
or contact the DNR Central Office in Des Moines at  
515-725-8200.

This booklet contains rules and regulations most likely 
needed for hunting in Iowa. However, it is not a complete 
list of all hunting regulations or laws, nor is it a legal 
document. For more information, go to www.iowadnr.gov 
or contact the DNR Central Office in Des Moines at  
515-725-8200.

2025-26 
Iowa Hunting, Trapping & 
Migratory Game Bird Regulations
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Register for HIP Through the App!
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Iowa celebrates a century of hunting pheasants

Generations of Iowans have connected over the pursuit of ring-necked pheasants, and this 
fall, we’re marking 100 years of pheasant hunting in the state. Many of us enjoy this annual fall 
tradition, hearing the cackle of roosters from frost covered tall grass fields at sunrise, just waiting 
for the eight o’clock hour.

Iowa’s countryside of fields with small grains, pastures and hay was seemingly made for 
pheasants, when a wind storm released the colorful bird from a Cedar Falls game breeder in 
1901. The survival and release of additional birds eventually grew the population to the point 
where farmers from 13 counties in northcentral Iowa petitioned the Iowa Conservation Commis-
sion to open a season. 

So, in 1925, Iowa held its first pheasant season, open for three days, beginning at noon each 
day. An estimated 75,000 Iowans participated. Pheasants flourished in the early 1900s because 
of habitat and habitat remains important today. 

Our native wildlife, especially butterflies, bees, insects and other grassland dependent spe-
cies, benefit from native grasses and flowers. Native prairie provides nesting and brood rearing 
for pheasants and supports other species of ground nesting birds, including quail and turkeys.

Hunters, trappers and anglers have been leaders in conservation and passing along our out-
door heritage is an important way to continue leading the way. To mark this anniversary, we are 
encouraging hunters to invite someone new to come share in our annual fall tradition. 

Kayla Lyon
Director, Iowa Department of Natural Resources

Free Language Assistance- If you speak a non-English language, we offer you language  
assistance services free of charge. Call (515) 725-8200.
Asistencia lingüística gratuita - Si habla un idioma que no sea el inglés, los servicios de  
asistencia lingüística están disponibles de forma gratuita. Llame al (515) 725-8200.
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Hunting Age 16 & Older $22.00
Habitat Fee (Age 16-64) $15.00
Hunting & Habitat Fee Combo $35.00
Hunting 3-Year with Habitat Fee $101.00
Migratory Game Bird Fee $11.50
Federal Duck Stamp $29.00
Apprentice (includes Hunting & Habitat) $35.00
Furharvester Age 16 & Older  $26.00
Furharvester Under 16 $7.50
Hunting, Fishing, Habitat Fee Combo $55.00
Furharvester & Habitat Fee Combo $39.00
Veterans Hunting & Fishing Combo $7.00
Hunting Preserve $7.00
Lifetime Hunting (Age 65 & Older) $61.50
Lifetime Furharvester (Age 65 & Older) $61.50
Disabled Vet Lifetime Furharvester $61.50
DEER & TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Deer Licenses
 General Deer $33.00
 Anterless-only, First License $28.50
 Anterless-only Second & All Others $15.00
Paid Wild Turkey $28.50
Landowner-Tenant - Farm Unit Only
 General Deer $2.00
 Antlerless-only $2.00
 Reduced Fee Antlerless-only $15.00
 Wild Turkey $1.00

Hunting 18 years & older $131.00
**Hunting 16 - 17 years old  $32.00 
*Hunting 5-day 18 years & older $77.00
Habitat Fee $15.00
Hunting & Habitat Fee Combo 
18 & Older $144.00
Migratory Game Bird Fee $11.50
Federal Duck Stamp $29.00
*Apprentice (includes hunting & habitat) $144.00
Furharvester & Habitat Fee Combo $247.00

*May not be used for deer or turkey hunting.
**Nonresidents under age 16, see p. 12.

LICENSES are available online at 
www.iowadnr.gov or at any of the 
retail outlets across the state
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Nonresident licenses for 2026 are on sale Jan. 1, 2026. 
2025 nonresident licenses expire Jan. 10, 2026.
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DISCLAIMER: Reference in this booklet to any 
specific commercial product, process, or service, 
or the use of any trade, firm or corporation name is 
for the information and convenience of the public, 
and does not constitute endorsement, recom-
mendation, or favoring by the Iowa Department of 
Natural Resources.
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1License not required for youth under 16 if accompanied by a licensed adult (18 years or older). See p. 12. 2Lifetime hunting or 
furharvester license available to residents who qualify. Deer and Turkey licenses, Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee and Federal 
Waterfowl Stamp must be purchased annually. 3License not required for qualifying resident and nonresident landowners or 
tenants or their juvenile children when hunting or trapping on their own land. See p. 13. 4Unless under 16 years old. 5Required 
for hunting and trapping all furbearers, however; coyote and groundhog may be hunted with a hunting or a fur harvester 
license. 6Except those under 16 or 65 and older. See wildlife habitat fee on p. 12. 7Needed to hunt ducks, geese, gallinule, rails, 
snipe and woodcock. 8See p. 12 and 13. 9Hunting license and habitat fee required for all nonresidents hunting deer and turkey. 
10Residents issued a disabled veteran lifetime hunting license are exempt from the habitat fee. 11HIP registration required.

HIGHLIGHTS & CHANGES

MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTERS
HIP - All licensed hunters pursuing migratory 
game birds are required to register for HIP  
annually, either through the Go Outdoors Iowa 
app on their smartphone or through a link at 
www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl. Nonlicensed youth 
hunters are not required. Migratory game birds 
include doves, ducks, geese, coots, woodcock 
and snipe. See p. 20.
Special September Teal Season will be  
reduced to nine days and will begin on  
Saturday, Sept. 6, 2025. Mourning Dove Season 
opening day remains Sept. 1. See p. 9.
The daily bag limit on pintails will increase to 
three. See p. 9.

n

n

Regulations changes that occur after publication of this document will be reflected in the digital version 
at www.iowadnr.gov or on the Go Outdoors Iowa app. 

Hunting
  R    NR

Furharvester3,5
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Deer

 R    NR
Turkey

 R    NR
Habitat Fee6

   R       NR
Fed. Migratory
   R         NR

Iowa Migratory11

    R          NR
Under 16 1 1

Age 16 - 64
65 and Older 2 2

Disabled Veteran 2 2 10

Apprentice 
Landowner or Tenant 3 3,9 3 3 9 4 4 4 4

Small Game 7 7

Waterfowl11

Dove11

Turkey
Furbearer
Deer
Military Stationed in Iowa
Military Personnel on Leave 8 8 8 8
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You need the resident or nonresident licenses and stamps listed below to hunt or trap in Iowa. All licenses, 
fees and stamps must be carried on your person while hunting or trapping. 

R = Resident  NR = Nonresident    = License or fee required  Blank = Not required  a
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DEER 
Providing measurement of main beam length 
of bucks was added to harvest report. See p. 
43. 
County antlerless quotas have changed, see 
p. 8 for current quotas. 
Population Management January Antlerless 
Season will be available in Allamakee, Win-
neshiek, Decatur, Appanoose, Monroe, Lucas 
and Wayne counties if the number of unsold 
antlerless licenses on the third Monday in 
December exceeds 100. See p. 41. 

n

ATTENTION HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS - Give us your thoughts & feedback on your hunting and trapping expe-
riences at the annual public meetings in late winter. Go to www.iowadnr.gov/hunting for dates, time & locations. 

HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS: MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD
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SPECIES SEASON SHOOTING HOURS  BAG LIMITS
   DAILY  POSSESSION
Rooster Pheasant (Youth)1 Oct. 18-19 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 1  2
Rooster Pheasant Oct. 25 - Jan. 10, 2026 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 3  12
Bobwhite Quail Oct. 25 - Jan. 31, 2026 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 8  16
Gray Partridge Oct. 11 - Jan. 31, 2026 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 8  16
Ruffed Grouse   Oct. 4 - Jan. 31, 2026 Sunrise to Sunset 3  6
Rabbit (Cottontail) Aug. 30 - Feb. 28, 2026 Sunrise to Sunset 10  20
Rabbit (Jack) CLOSED  0  0
Squirrel (Fox and Gray) Aug. 30 - Jan. 31, 2026 No Restrictions 6  12
Groundhog2 Continuous Open Season No Restrictions No Limit  No Limit
Crow Oct. 15 - Nov. 30 and No Restrictions No Limit  No Limit
 Jan. 14 - March 31, 2026    
Pigeon  Continuous Open Season No Restrictions No Limit  No Limit
Coyote2, 3 Continuous Open Season No Restrictions No Limit  No Limit
1 Residents age 15 or younger. See p. 14 for complete requirements 
2 May be hunted on either a hunting or furharvester license.  3See p. 32 for trapping information.  

2026 SPRING TURKEY HUNTING  SEASON DATES
COMBINATION GUN/BOW LICENSES
Youth Season (Residents Only) April 10-12
Season 1 April 13-16
Season 2  April 17-21
Season 3 April 22-28
Season 4 April 29-May 17
RESIDENT ARCHERY-ONLY LICENSES:  April 13-May 17

BAG LIMIT: Daily bag and season possession limit is one bearded or male wild turkey for 
each valid license and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 
SHOOTING HOURS: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset.
See p. 47 for Spring Turkey regulations.

The pheasant population survey is available in early September at www.iowadnr.gov/pheasantsurvey
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The NONRESIDENT spring turkey application period is Jan. 1 to the last Sunday in January.  
The application is available in December at www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Nonresident-Hunting

The Ruffed Grouse hunting zone is that por-
tion of northeast Iowa bordered by U.S. High-
ways 63, 20 and 151, and Iowa Highways 13 
and 64. Ruffed Grouse hunters are  
required to wear blaze orange. See p. 14. 

RUFFED GROUSE HUNTING ZONE

**HUNTERS -- Just a reminder, annual licenses, stamps and fees expire on January 10. As the  
opportunity to hunt extends later into January, be sure to replace those that have expired.

HUNTING SEASONS AND LIMITS
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POPULATION MANAGEMENT ZONES
Population management zones are used to reduce or maintain deer numbers. Each zone has its own license 

quota, season dates, license restrictions and proficiency requirements. Most licenses are Antlerless-only. 
Management zone hunts are listed online at  https://www.iowadnr.gov/things-do/hunting-trapping/types-

hunting-trapping/deer-hunting/deer-management-hunts Licenses for these hunts will not count in determining 
the number of licenses an individual may have, or against the county quota for Antlerless-only Licenses.

DEER

SEASONS SEASON DATES LICENSE ON-SALE DATES
Youth5 Sept. 20-Oct. 5 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Disabled Hunter1 Sept. 20-Oct. 5 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Archery6  
 Early Split Oct. 1-Dec. 5 Aug. 15 - End of Season
 Late Split Dec. 22 - Jan. 10, 2026 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Early Muzzleloader2, 5 Oct. 11-19 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Late Muzzleloader Dec. 22 - Jan. 10, 2026 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Shotgun 1 Dec. 6-10 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Shotgun 2 Dec. 13-21 Aug. 15 - End of Season
Nonresident Holiday3,4  Dec. 24 - Jan. 2, 2026 Dec. 15 - End of Season
Population Mgmt January Antlerless7  Jan. 11 - 25, 2026 Dec. 15 - End of Season
Excess Tag January Antlerless7 Jan. 11 - 25, 2026 Jan. 11 - End of Season
1 Requires permit to acquire from DNR. See p. 41.  2 Purchase until quota (7,500) is reached.
3 Purchase until nonresident antlerless quota is reached. 4 Nonresident deer zone maps are available online at 
www.iowadnr.gov/nonresidenthunting.  5 Residents only, see p. 41 for details.  6 Includes senior antlerless-only 
licenses, see p. 41 for details. 7 In participating counties only, if antlerless licenses remain.

ANTLERLESS QUOTAS AND ANTLERED ONLY COUNTIES FOR RESIDENT HUNTERS

Licenses are available from the sales date through the end of the season, or until quota fills. A  
current hunting license and habitat fee is also required. See p. 40 for resident deer license options. 
Shooting hours for all deer seasons are half-hour before sunrise to half-hour after sunset.

2025 DEER HUNTING SEASONS & QUOTAS
S
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The nonresident deer application period is the first Saturday in May through the first Sunday in June. The 
application is available in December at www.iowadnr.gov/Hunting/Nonresident-Hunting
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COUNTIES  
IN RED:  
Antlered deer only 
during first shotgun 
season.  
The restriction  
does not apply to  
Landowner- 
Tenant licenses.

COUNTIES IN GRAY: 
Each county is eligible 
for Population  
Management January 
antlerless season only 
if the number of unsold 
county antlerless-deer-
only licenses exceeds 
100 on the third Monday 
in December. See p. 41. 
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2025-2026 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS SEASONS & LIMITS
SHOOTING HOURS: 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset for all species except woodcock and the  
September teal season which is sunrise to sunset. 

SEASON NORTH ZONE           CENTRAL ZONE          SOUTH ZONE
YOUTH WATERFOWL    Sept. 20-21 Sept. 27-28 Oct. 4-5

DUCKS, MERGANSERS & COOTS    Sept. 27-Oct. 3 & Oct. 4-10 &       Oct. 11-17 &
   Oct. 11-Dec. 2   Oct. 18-Dec. 9    Oct. 25-Dec. 16

BAG LIMITS: 
DUCKS: Daily limit 6, including no more than 4 mallards (of which no more than 2 may be female), 
3 wood ducks, 3 pintail, 2 redheads, 2 black ducks, and 2 canvasback. Scaup bag limit: 1 for first 
15 days of the season, 2 for the remaining 45 days. The two bird daily bag limit begins Oct. 19 in the 
North Zone, Oct. 26 in the Central Zone, and Nov. 2 in the South Zone.
MERGANSERS: Daily limit 5, including no more than 2 hooded mergansers. 
COOTS: Daily limit 15. 
YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING DAYS: Shooting hours and daily bag limits will conform to those set 
for the regular waterfowl seasons.

SEASON NORTH ZONE           CENTRAL ZONE         SOUTH ZONE
DARK GEESE & LIGHT GEESE Sept. 20-Oct 5 & Sept. 27-Oct. 12 & Oct. 4-19 & 
BEGIN 3 CANADA GOOSE BAG LIMIT Oct. 11-Dec. 2 & Oct. 18-Dec. 9 & Oct. 25-Dec. 16 &
 Dec. 13-Jan. 10, 2026 Dec. 20-Jan. 17, 2026 Dec. 27-Jan. 24, 2026

BAG LIMITS: 
DARK GEESE: The daily bag limit for Canada geese, white-fronted geese, brant and any other 
geese that are not light geese is 5 and may include no more than 2 Canada geese during the first 
segment of the statewide season and no more than 3 Canada geese beginning with second segment 
of the statewide season until the end of the season. 
LIGHT GEESE: The daily bag limit for white and blue-phase snow geese and Ross’ geese is 20. 

STATEWIDE
SPECIAL SEPTEMBER TEAL Sept. 6-14 Daily limit is 6
(Blue-winged, Green-winged & Cinnamon only) 
DOVES (Mourning & Eurasian Collared) Sept. 1-Nov. 29 Daily limit is 15 
SNIPE Sept. 6-Nov. 30 Daily limit is 8 
RAIL (Sora & Virginia) Sept. 6-Nov. 14 Daily limit is 12
WOODCOCK Oct. 4-Nov. 17 Daily limit is 3 

METRO CANADA GOOSE SEASONS 
Only in designated areas around Des Moines, Cedar Rapids/Iowa City and Cedar Falls/Waterloo. 
Special regulations apply. See Special September Canada Goose Season maps at select license 
agents in hunt zones and online at www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl 
CANADA GEESE Sept. 13-21 Daily limit is 5

LIGHT GEESE CONSERVATION ORDER (additional regulations apply. See p. 21)
White & blue phase snow geese & Ross’ geese Jan. 25-May 1, 2026 

POSSESSION LIMITS: 
Possession limits are three times the daily bag limit for all migratory birds, except light geese for 
which there is no possession limit. 
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MIGRATORY GAME BIRD HUNTERS: 
Don’t forget to register with the Harvest Information Program (HIP). See p. 11 or p. 20.
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2025 FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING INFORMATION
NONRESIDENTS are not eligible for fall turkey hunting licenses.
LICENSE TYPE SEASON DATES SHOOTING HOURS
Gun/Bow1 Oct. 13-Dec. 5 Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset
Archery Only2 Oct. 1 - Dec. 5 & Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset
  Dec. 22 - Jan. 10, 2026
1 Sold until quotas are filled. 
2 Sold until last day of the season. No quota. 

GUN/BOW  
 Zone  Quota
 4 1,500
 5 650
 6 1,400
 7 250
 8 200
 9 200

Hunters may purchase up 
to two licenses beginning 
Aug. 15. See p. 46 for 
more information. 

FALL TURKEY ZONES

Sioux City
Waterloo

Ft. Dodge

Des Moines

Iowa City

68

7
5

4 4

69

20

80

63

63
80

9

59
20

59
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FALL TURKEY HUNTING

FURBEARER SEASONS AND LIMITS

SPECIES SEASON TRAPPING HOURS DAILY POSSESSION
Coyote, Mink3, Muskrat3,  Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit
Weasel, Striped Skunk, 
Badger, Opossum, Fox
(Red and Gray) 
Beaver3 Nov. 1 - April 15, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit
Otter1, 3, Bobcat2 Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day see p. 33-34 see p. 33-34
Raccoon-private land4  Continuous Open  No Restrictions No Limit No Limit
Raccoon-public land Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit

TRAPPING INFORMATION

1Only three otters are allowed per licensed furharvester, whether hunted or trapped. See p. 34. 2A total of up to three 
bobcats are allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. The bag limit is based on the zone 
where the bobcat was taken. Additional requirements & zone map on p. 33. 3Taking by shotgun or spear is prohibited. 
4Outside the furharvester season, only cage traps or dog-proof traps are legal methods of take on private land only. Dur-
ing the furharvester season, trappers may use other lawful traps normally allowed during the trapping season.

A furharvester license is required to hunt or trap furbearers (including raccoons). Coyote or groundhog 
may be hunted on a hunting or furharvester license.

HUNTING INFORMATION
SPECIES SEASONS SHOOTING HOURS DAILY POSSESSION
Opossum, Badger, Mink3, Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit 
Striped Skunk, Muskrat3,
Fox (Red and Gray), Weasel    
Beaver3 Nov. 1 - April 15, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit  
Bobcats1, Otter2, 3 Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day see p. 33-34  see p. 33-34 
Coyote Continuous Open No Restrictions No Limit No Limit
Raccoon-private land  Continuous Open  No Restrictions No Limit No Limit
Raccoon-public land Nov. 1 - Feb. 28, 2026 8 a.m. on First Day No Limit No Limit
1A total of up to three bobcats are allowed per season per licensed furharvester, either hunted or trapped. Bag limit is 
based on the zone where the bobcat was taken. Additional requirements & zone map on p. 33. 2Only three otters are al-
lowed per licensed furharvester, whether hunted or trapped. See p. 34. 3Taking by shotgun or spear is prohibited. 

BAG LIMIT: Daily Bag & Season Possession Limit 
is one wild turkey of either sex for each valid li-
cense and transportation tag issued to the hunter. 

CONTINUOUS CLOSED SEASON: Gray Wolf, Civet Cat (Spotted Skunk)
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HUNTER EDUCATION
Resident and nonresident hunters born after Jan. 

1, 1972, must satisfactorily complete a hunter edu-
cation course in order to obtain a hunting license. 
A person who is 11 years-old or older may enroll 
in a course, but those who are 11 and successfully 
complete the course shall be issued a certificate of 
completion, which becomes valid on that person’s 
12th birthday. Residents under the age of 12 can 
be issued deer and turkey licenses, but the youth 
hunter must be accompanied by, and under the 
immediate control of, or direct supervision of, a 
licensed adult hunter.

For class dates and locations, call  
515-725-8200 or go to www.iowadnr.gov/hunt-
ered 

Alternative. A hunter education certificate is-
sued by another state or certain foreign nations will 
meet the above requirement. Proof of completion 
is required when purchasing your first Iowa hunting 
license.

PURCHASING A LICENSE
The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is 

required to collect social security numbers from all 
persons obtaining a hunting, fishing or other rec-
reational license under section 252J.8 of the Code 
of Iowa and 42 U.S. Code 666(a)(13). Your social 
security number will serve as your principal iden-
tification number to determine your eligibility for 
licenses. It will be provided to enforcement agencies 
to establish, modify and enforce child support and 
tax obligations. It WILL NOT appear on your hunting 
or fishing license.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
ALL licensed hunters pursuing migratory game bird 

are required to register for HIP annually either through 
the Go Outdoors Iowa app on their smartphone or 
through a link at www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl. Once 
registered, hunters will need to write their confirmation 
number on their license, print an updated copy of their 
license or take a screenshot of their confirmation on 
their phone to show proof. Conservation officers will 
be enforcing this requirement. Youth hunters who are 
not required to have a hunting license are not required 
to register for HIP.

Migratory game birds mean more than ducks and 
geese. Migratory game birds in Iowa include mourn-
ing doves, ducks, geese, coots, woodcock, rails, and 
snipe. See p. 20 for more information.

HUNTING LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

REQUIREMENTS FOR PURCHASING  
RESIDENT LICENSES 

A NONRESIDENT is a person who is not a resi-
dent of Iowa. NOTE: Iowa residents who have previ-
ously hunted, fished and/or trapped as nonresidents 
are urged to plan ahead to obtain license privileges. 
The electronic licensing system for hunting, fishing 
and trapping automatically identifies people who 
have previously obtained licenses as nonresidents. 
This law change was made to identify a growing 
problem in Iowa of nonresidents falsifying records to 
illegally obtain (invalid) resident licenses. Hunters, 
anglers and trappers who previously held a nonresi-
dent Iowa license but are now eligible for resident 
licenses need to fill out and return a form that can 
be accessed at https://www.iowadnr.gov/programs-
services/forms-applications then click on Search Our 
Full Listing of Downloadable Forms & Applications 
link. Former nonresidents are encouraged to do 
this as soon as possible as changes may take up to 
two weeks. License vendors CANNOT make this change at 
the point of sale and it cannot be done over the phone. For 
questions, contact the local conservation officer.

RESIDENT means a person who meets one of 
the following criteria. 

1. Has physically resided in this state as the per-
son’s principal and primary residence or domicile for 
a period of not less than 90 consecutive days imme-
diately before applying for or purchasing a resident 
license, and has an Iowa driver’s license or non-op-
erators ID. Factors to determine the domicile include, 
but are not limited to: place of employment, mailing 
(street) address, utility records, real estate records, 
vehicle registrations.

A person is not considered a resident under this 
paragraph if the person is residing in the state only 
for a special or temporary purpose including, but not 
limited to; engaging in hunting, fishing or trapping. 

2. Is a full-time student at an accredited educa-
tional institution in Iowa and resides in Iowa while 
attending the educational institution, or is a full-time 
student under 25 years of age at an accredited edu-
cational institution outside the state as long as at least 
one parent or legal guardian maintains a principal and 
primary residence in Iowa. 
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SPECIAL LICENSES FOR RESIDENTS
Iowa offers free annual hunting and fishing 

licenses and veteran lifetime hunting and fishing 
licenses to qualifying residents. For qualifications 
and special license applications, contact the DNR 
at 515-725-8200.
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3. Is a nonresident under 18 years of age with a 
parent who is a legal resident of Iowa.

4. Is a member of the armed forces of the United 
States who is serving on active duty and meets any 
of the following qualifications: 

(1) Claims residency in this state and has filed 
a state individual income tax return as a resident 
pursuant to chapter 422, division II, for the preceding 
tax year.

(2) Is stationed at a federal military installation in 
this state, or at a federal military installation contigu-
ous to a county in this state, and is domiciled within 
this state.

(3) Is stationed at and resides or is domiciled 
within a federal military installation located contigu-
ous to a county in this state.

Dual Residency Not Permitted: Unless you 
qualify under 2, 3 or 4 in the previous paragraph, a 
person shall not purchase or apply for any resident 
license or permit if that person has claimed residency 
in any other state or country. 

LICENSES, FEES & STAMPS REQUIRED
All residents and nonresidents 16 years of age and 

older are required to have a valid Hunting License on 
their person, and have paid all applicable fees and 
possess all required stamps while hunting game or 
participating in the hunt. See p. 6. Participation in a 
hunt includes, but is not limited to: handling firearms 
or ammunition during the hunt; trying to attract game, 
driving, flushing, or locating game; and working dogs.

WILDLIFE HABITAT FEE - Iowa residents age 
16 to 64, and nonresidents age 16 and older, who 
are required to have a hunting or furharvester license 
must pay the wildlife habitat fee to hunt or trap.  

IOWA MIGRATORY GAME BIRD FEE - All 
residents and nonresidents 16 years of age and 
older must pay the Iowa Migratory Game Bird Fee to 
hunt wild geese, brant, ducks, snipe, rail, woodcock, 
gallinule or coot. The fee must be paid even if a 
Hunting License is not required.

FEDERAL MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTING & 
CONSERVATION STAMP - The law requires that 
each waterfowl hunter 16 years of age and older 
must carry on his person a Migratory Bird Hunting 
and Conservation Stamp (Federal Duck Stamp) that 
is validated by the hunter signing the stamp in ink 
across the face of the stamp. The Stamp is required 
even if a Hunting License is not required. 

E-Stamp: The E-Stamp is valid for the entire hunt-
ing season. The physical stamp will be mailed to the 
address on file. Hunters are responsible to make 
sure their address on file is current. 

DEER & TURKEY HUNTERS - Residents and 
nonresidents who hunt deer or wild turkey must have 
a valid resident or nonresident Deer or Wild Turkey 

License on their person while hunting. Residents 
must also have a valid resident Hunting License 
and have paid the Habitat Fee if normally required 
to have them to hunt.  All nonresidents must have a 
valid nonresident Hunting License and have paid the 
Habitat Fee.  

FURHARVESTERS - All residents and 
nonresidents age 16 and older must have a 
Furharvester License to trap or hunt furbearing 
animals. Residents and nonresidents age 16 to 
64 must also have paid the Habitat Fee. A Hunting 
License is not needed to hunt furbearers. A person 
under age 16 years is not required to have a 
Furharvester License to trap fur-bearing animals 
if accompanied by an adult who possess a valid 
Furharvester License while trapping furbearing 
animals. There must be one licensed adult for 
each person under 16 years of age. Coyote 
and groundhog may be hunted with either a 
Furharvester License or a Hunting License. 
Nonresident furharvesters wanting to purchase an 
Iowa nonresident Furharvester License may do so 
only if their state of residence also sells a nonresident 
Furharvester/Trapping License to Iowa residents. 

APPRENTICE LICENSE - Allows the apprentice 
age 16 and older to hunt under the direct supervision 
of a mentor (age 18 or older) who has a current 
hunting license and habitat fee, without completing a 
hunter education course. Apprentice licenses may be 
purchased twice in a lifetime. The hunter must then 
satisfactorily complete a hunter education course to 
obtain a Hunting License. Apprentices must have paid 
all applicable fees and possess all required stamps 
while hunting game or participating in the hunt.

THE FOLLOWING DO NOT NEED A HUNTING 
LICENSE AND/OR PAY CERTAIN FEES:

1a) Residents and nonresidents under 16 
years old who hunt under the direct supervision 
of their properly licensed parent, guardian, or other 
competent adult with the consent of the parent or 
guardian do not need a Hunting License or pay the 
Habitat or Migratory Game Bird fee. One properly 
licensed adult must accompany each unlicensed 
hunter under 16 years old.

1b) Residents 12 to 15 years old may hunt 
without adult supervision, but must have a Hunting 
License and must have passed a hunter education 
course (see p. 11 for hunter education training 
requirements). 
Persons exempted under 1a) or 1b) must have 
a Deer & Turkey Hunting License to hunt deer 
& turkey  

2) Military personnel that qualify as a 
resident of Iowa, that are on active duty with 
the armed forces of the United States, and are 
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on authorized leave from a duty station outside 
of Iowa, do not need a Hunting License, Deer 
License, Wild Turkey License, or pay the Habitat 
Fee. They must possess a Federal Migratory 
Waterfowl Stamp and pay the Iowa Migratory 
Game Bird Fee to hunt migratory game birds. 
They must carry their leave papers on their 
person while hunting and a copy of their current 
earnings statement showing a tax deduction for 
Iowa income taxes for the previous year. They 
may claim residency in lieu of their earnings 
statement by being registered to vote in Iowa. 
If a deer or wild turkey is taken, a conservation 
officer must be contacted immediately to obtain a 
transportation tag for the animal. They are allowed 
only one turkey and one deer per calendar year. 
Conservation officer cell phone numbers are listed 
on p. 53.

3) Persons with a dog entered in a 
licensed field trial may participate in the event 
and train their dog on the same area where the 
field trial will be held during the 24-hour period 
immediately preceding the trial. 

HUNTING LICENSES FOR  
LANDOWNERS & TENANTS THAT  
FARM AGRICULTURAL LAND

1) Small game and furbearers. Resident 
and nonresident owners and tenants that farm 
agricultural land in Iowa and their juvenile children 
(see below) do not need licenses to hunt and trap 
on such lands and may shoot by lawful means 

ground squirrels, gophers, and woodchucks upon 
adjacent roads. Deer and Wild Turkey Licenses are 
required to hunt deer and wild turkey. Nonresidents 
hunting deer or wild turkey must also have a Hunting 
License and pay the Habitat Fee. A valid Federal 
Migratory Waterfowl Stamp and an Iowa Migratory 
Game Bird Fee is required to hunt waterfowl and 
other migratory game birds if they are 16 years old 
or older. 

2) Deer and Wild Turkey. Iowa residents 
who are owners of agricultural land or tenants that 
farm agricultural land, or are a spouse or child of 
the owner or tenant that reside with the owner or 
tenant, are eligible for Landowner-Tenant Deer and 
Wild Turkey Hunting Licenses, commonly called 
landowner-tenant licenses. Owning land in Iowa 
does not confer residency. Nonresident landowners 
and tenants are not eligible for these licenses. See 
p. 11 for residency requirements.

Landowner-Tenant deer and turkey licenses 
are valid for taking the appropriate species, but 
only on the farm unit of the owner or tenant. 
Land registration is required. To register, or for 
more information, go to https://www.iowadnr.gov/
programs-services/wildlife-landowner-assistance/
landowner-tenant-registration. The qualifying 
landowner or tenant does not have to reside on the 
farm, but must qualify under the definitions below.  
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LANDOWNER OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must have legal ownership in qualifying land, be  
a resident of Iowa, and meet one or more of the fol-
lowing:
l Operator on the farm unit.
l Make annual decisions about the farm operation.
l Raise specialty crops.
l Land is enrolled in a conservation reserve  
program.
l Rent entire farm to an adult child who operates 
the farm unit.

TENANT OPERATION QUALIFICATIONS
Must be a resident of Iowa and rents and actively 
farms agricultural land owned by another person. 
Rental includes cash rent or share crop arrange-
ments.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR FAMILY MEMBERS
Spouse or child (under 18 years old or 18 or 19 and in 
high school or a general equivalency degree program) 
who resides with owner or tenant.

DEER TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l One General Deer Tag, valid until filled, using 
method of take for the season
l One Antlerless Deer Tag, valid until filled, using 
method of take for the season
l Two paid Antlerless Deer Tags, specified by  
season

TURKEY TAGS AVAILABLE PER FARM UNIT
l One Spring Turkey Tag, valid until filled
l One Fall Turkey Tag, valid until filled

LANDOWNER/TENANT QUALIFICATION OVERVIEW
Two or more contiguous acres operated as a farm unit for agricultural purposes.
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SMALL GAME HUNTING 
Hunters - you will be asked three questions 
when purchasing a hunting license to identify 
those who pursue small game, which will im-
prove the quality of data used to estimate pheas-
ant, rabbit, squirrel, quail and ruffed grouse 
harvest. There is no fee or requirement to write 
verification number on the license.

License Requirements and Fees
See p. 6 and 12. 

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIRED
To hunt pheasant, quail, gray partridge and 

ruffed grouse you must wear at least one of 
the following articles of visible, external ap-
parel with at least 50 percent of its surface area 
solid blaze orange in color: hat, cap, vest, coat, 
jacket, sweatshirt, shirt or coveralls. 

TRANSPORTING PHEASANTS
A foot, fully feathered wing, or fully feathered 

head must remain attached to any pheasant 
transported within the state. The bird may be 
field dressed, but the carcass must remain 
intact.

YOUTH PHEASANT SEASON
Resident hunters ages 15 or younger may 

hunt rooster (male) pheasants during the Youth 
Pheasant Season without having a Hunting 
License, paying the Habitat Fee, or passing a 
hunter education course. The youth hunter must 
be accompanied by an adult 18 years old or 
older who has a valid Hunting License and has 
paid the Habitat Fee if normally required to do 
so to hunt. Only the youth may shoot pheas-
ants. The adult may shoot other game if sea-
sons are open. All other regulations in effect for 
the regular pheasant season apply during the 
youth hunt. 

HUNTING ACCIDENTS MUST BE REPORTED
Anyone involved in a hunting accident involving 

a firearm, or a fall that allows a person to hunt from 
an elevated position, which results in a personal 
injury or property damage exceeding $100, must 
report the accident within 12 hours to the sheriff’s 
office in the county where the accident occurred, to 
the local conservation officer, or if neither are avail-
able and it is between 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. M-F, to the 
DNR in Des Moines at 515-725-8200.

GENERAL HUNTING REGULATIONS
DEFINITIONS
Please read the definitions of these terms, 
commonly used in the hunting regulations 
summary, before referring to the rest of the 
text.

“Hunting,” means any pursuing, hunting, 
killing, trapping, snaring, netting, searching 
for or shooting at, stalking or lying in wait for 
any game, animal, bird or fish protected by the 
state laws or rules adopted by the commission 
whether or not such animal is captured, killed or 
injured. 

“Limits” Daily Bag Limit or Possession Limit 
is the number of a species permitted to be taken 
or held in a specified time. 

“Physically handicapped person,” when 
used in reference to crossbow permits for deer 
and turkey hunting, means a person having a 
physical impairment of the upper extremities 
that makes a person physically incapable of 
shooting a bow and arrow. This includes diffi-
culty in lifting and reaching with arms as well as 
difficulty in handling and fingering a bow.

“Severely disabled person,” when used 
in reference to the Disabled Hunter deer sea-
son, means a person that qualifies as severely 
disabled under Iowa Code Chapter 321L.1.8, 
including those who have difficulty walking due 
to lung or heart disease or an arthritic, neuro-
logical or orthopedic condition.

“Trespass” means entering property without 
the express permission of the owner, lessee or 
person in lawful possession, with the intent to 
commit a public offense; to use, remove there-
from, alter, damage, harass, or place anything 
animate or inanimate, or to hunt, fish or trap on 
the property, including the act of taking or at-
tempting to take a deer which is on or in the 
property by a person who is outside the property. 
The term trespass does not mean entering the 
right-of-way of a public road or highway. Railroad 
right-of-ways are considered private property.

This paragraph does not prohibit the  
individual unarmed shooter (not entire party) 
from taking the most direct route in pursuit of 
game or furbearing animals lawfully injured or 
killed that come to rest on, or escape to, the 
property of another. 
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TREE STANDS
You may not construct a permanent tree stand 

on game management areas. Tree stands used 
for deer or turkey hunting may be left on a game 
management area from 7 days prior to the start of 
deer or turkey hunting season until 7 days after the 
final day of that open season.

Tree stands left on Federal Waterfowl Produc-
tion Areas must be clearly marked with your Iowa 
hunting license number. 
DECOYS 

A decoy is a likeness of a bird or animal used 
to lure game within shooting range. Decoys are 
prohibited on all game management areas from 
one-half hour after sunset until midnight of each 
day. Decoys are considered removed from an area 
if they are in a boat or other container at an ap-
proved access site. Decoys cannot be left unat-
tended for more than 30 minutes between midnight 
and one-half hour after sunset. 

Motorized or mechanical decoys are legal for 
waterfowl hunting. 
DRONES

Drones are considered aircraft by the U.S. Fed-
eral Government. The use of drones while hunting 
is not allowed.

USE OF EQUIPMENT ON PUBLIC LANDS
You may not drive or in any other way place 

any nail, spike, pin, or any other metal object 
into a tree on game management areas to con-
struct a blind or to provide hunting access to a 
location above the ground.
BLINDS

A blind can be a constructed place of conceal-
ment for hunting, observing or photographing 
wildlife, either portable or stationary. You may 
construct a blind using only the natural vegetation 
found in the area, except that no trees or parts of 
trees other than willows can be cut for that pur-
pose. The use of all blinds on game management 
areas is on a first-come, first-served basis regard-
less of type or construction. 

Portable, or pop-up, blinds are prohibited on 
game management areas from one hour after 
sunset until midnight each day. Portable blinds 
left unattended during permissible hours do not 
guarantee the owner exclusive use of the blind,  
or exclusive use of the site. 

Portable blinds which are built on, or are part 
of, a boat, shall be considered removed from 
an area when the boat and blind are tied up or 
moored at an approved access site. No boat shall 
be anchored away from shore and left unattended 
unless it is attached to a legal buoy. 

See p. 37 for deer blinds.

SHOWING LICENSE TO OFFICER
Upon request, you must show your license, cer-

tificate or permit to any peace officer or the owner 
or person in lawful control of the land or water on 
which you are hunting or trapping. You must have 
in your possession either in license form or elec-
tronically, your license, certificate or permit.

USE OF CB, MOBILE TRANSMITTER, CELL 
PHONE 

You cannot use a one or two-way mobile radio 
transmitter, including cell phones and cellular 
trail cameras capable of sending images or video 
while actively hunting, to communicate the loca-
tion or direction of game or furbearing animals, or 
to coordinate the movement of other hunters.

Exceptions: Coyote hunters may use two-
way radios, except during the two shotgun deer 
seasons. A falconer may use a one-way mobile 
transmitter to recover a free-flying bird of prey 
that is properly banded and covered on a falconry 
permit. Hunters with dogs may use a one-way 
mobile transmitter to track or aid in the recovery of 
the dog. 

UNLAWFUL TRANSPORTATION 
You cannot ship, carry or transport, in any one 

day, game, fish, birds or animals (except furbear-
ing animals) in excess of the number legally 
permitted to be possessed, unless authorized by a 
special license such as a Taxidermy License.

GAME BROUGHT INTO THE STATE 
You may possess game that has been lawfully 

taken outside the state and lawfully brought into 
the state, but you must be able to prove it was 
legally killed and legally transported into the state. 
See p. 39 for big game exceptions. 

RETRIEVAL & WASTE OF GAME
While taking or attempting to take game or 

furbearing animals, you cannot abandon the 
injured animal without making a reasonable effort 
to retrieve it from the field. You cannot leave a 
usable portion of the game or furbearing animal in 
the field. “Usable portion” in this instance means 
the following: 1) for game, that part of an animal 
that is customarily processed for consumption; 
and 2) for furbearing animals, the fur or hide of 
the animal.
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POSSESSION & STORAGE 
A person having lawful possession of game 

or furbearing animals or pelts taken with a valid 
license by that person, may hold, possess or 
store the game or furbearing animals or pelts in 
an amount that does not exceed the possession 
limit until the day before the first day of the next 
open season for that game or furbearing animal. 
Any person may possess up to 25 pounds of 
deer venison if the deer was lawfully obtained.  

OBSTRUCTION OF HUNTING OR TRAPPING
A person shall not interfere with the lawful 

hunting or trapping activities of another person 
where hunting or trapping is authorized by a cus-
todian of public property or an owner or lessee 
of private property. Acts that could be considered 
as interfering, obstructing or harassing include, 
but are not limited to:
l intentionally placing oneself in a location 
where human presence may affect the behavior 
of a furbearing animal, game bird or other game 
or the feasibility of killing or taking a furbearing 
animal, game bird or other game; 
l intentionally creating a visual, audio, olfactory 
or physical stimulus for the purpose of affecting 
the behavior of a furbearing animal, game bird 
or other game;
l intentionally affecting the condition or altering 
the placement of personal property used for the 
purpose of taking furbearing animals, birds or 
other game.

This rule does not prohibit a landowner, ten-
ant or an employee of the landowner or tenant 
from performing normal agricultural operations 
or a law enforcement officer from performing of-
ficial duties.

SELLING GAME 
You cannot buy or sell, dead or alive, a bird 

or animal, including fish, or any part of one that 
is protected. This does not apply to furbearing 
animals and the skins, plumage and antlers of 
legally taken game. You cannot purchase, sell, 
barter or offer to purchase, sell or barter migra-
tory game birds; and for millinery or ornamental 
use, the same applies to the feathers of migra-
tory game birds.  

TRANSPORTING FIREARMS
A person, except as permitted by law, shall not 

have or carry a gun in or on a vehicle on a public 

highway, unless the gun is taken apart or broken 
down or totally contained in a securely fastened 
case, and its barrels and attached magazines are 
unloaded. Muzzleloaders must be cased but will 
be considered unloaded if the cap is removed 
from the nipple or the priming charge is removed 
from the pan. 

PROHIBITED HUNTING NEAR BUILDINGS 
You cannot discharge a firearm, or shoot 

or attempt to shoot, a game or furbearing ani-
mal within 200 yards of a building inhabited by 
people or domestic livestock or a feedlot unless 
the owner or tenant has given consent to do so. 
Feedlot means a lot, yard or corral where live-
stock is confined for the purpose of feeding and 
growth prior to slaughter. Pastures, hayfields or 
cropfields where animals are allowed to graze 
are not considered feedlots.

PROTECTION OF PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS 
If a public hunting area was in place prior to 

the construction of an adjacent feedlot or building 
inhabited by people or livestock and such con-
struction occurred on or after May 14, 2004, then 
consent is not required to shoot on the public 
hunting area or within 200 yards of the feedlot or 
building. This act protects existing uses of public 
hunting areas from infringements caused by new 
construction and development.

As used in this subsection, “public hunting 
area” means public lands or waters available for 
hunting by the public and identified as a public 
hunting area by the city, county, state or federal 
government. 

ARTIFICIAL LIGHT & LASER SIGHTS
Sights that project a light beam, including laser 

sights, are not legal for hunting. You cannot cast 
the rays of a spotlight, headlight or other artificial 
light on a highway or in a field, woodland or for-
est for the purpose of spotting, locating, taking 
or attempting to take or hunt an animal, while 
having in possession or control, either singly or 
as one of a group of persons, any firearm, bow or 
other device capable of killing or taking a bird or 
animal. This rule does not apply to hunting rac-
coons or other furbearing animals when they are 
treed with the aid of dogs.

A person may use an infrared light source to 
hunt coyotes as long as the infrared light source 
is mounted to the method of take or to a scope 
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Ditch

Roadway
(includes
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mounted on the method of take. HOWEVER, no 
person shall use an infrared light source to hunt 
coyotes during any established muzzleloader, 
bow, or shotgun deer hunting season.

SHOOTING RIFLE OVER WATER  
OR HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any of 
the public highways, regardless of surface type, 
or waters of the state or any railroad right-of-way. 
You cannot discharge a shotgun shooting a slug, 
pistol or revolver on or over a public roadway 
(see diagram below). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a 
handgun from a highway; or discharge a shotgun 
shooting slugs from a highway north of U.S. High-
way 30, while deer hunting.

“Roadway” means the portion of the highway 
improved, designed or ordinarily used for vehicu-
lar travel, including the shoulder.

“Highway” means the entire width between 
property lines, from fenceline to fenceline (in-
cludes the ditches). 

HUNTING FROM AIRCRAFT OR  
SNOWMOBILES PROHIBITED
 A person shall not intentionally kill or wound, 
attempt to kill or wound, or pursue any animal, 
fowl, or fish from or with an aircraft or drone in 
flight, or from or with any vehicles commonly 
known as snowmobiles. Drones are considered 
aircraft by the U.S. Federal Government. 

MOTOR VEHICLE RESTRICTIONS 
The use of motor vehicles on all game  

management areas is restricted.
Motor vehicle means any self-propelled  

vehicle, including ATVs, snowmobiles and E-
bikes 750 watts or more. 

Roads and parking lots. Motor vehicles are 
prohibited on a game management areas except 

on constructed and designated roads and parking 
lots unless specifically permitted.

Mobility disabled persons. Any person who 
has a physical (or mental) impairment that sub-
stantially limits their ability to walk, stand, bend, or 
lift may access game management areas with a 
manually-operated or power-driven wheelchair or 
scooter if the device is designed primarily for use 
by a individual with a mobility disability for either 
indoor or outdoor locomotion. Mobility disabled 
persons who wish to use some other power-driven 
device for mobility assistance, such as an ATV or 
golf cart, must contact the manager (p. 52) prior to 
accessing any game management area.  

LIQUIDATED DAMAGES
In addition to penalties assessed by the court, a 

person convicted of unlawfully selling, taking, catching, 
killing, injuring, destroying or having in their possession 
any animal, shall reimburse the state for the value of the 
animal as follows:
• Antlered deer 150 gross inches or less (Boone & 

Crockett scoring system): $2,000-$5,000 plus 80 
hours of community service; without community ser-
vice, $4,000-$10,000, as deemed by the court

• Antlered deer more than 150 gross inches (Boone 
& Crockett): $5,000-$10,000 plus 80 hours of com-
munity service; without community service, $10,000-
$20,000 as deemed by the court

• For each antlerless deer: $750
• For each bobcat, wild turkey, beaver, mink,  

otter, red fox, gray fox or raccoon: $200
• For each animal or bird or the raw pelt or plumage of 

such animal or bird for which  
damages are not otherwise prescribed: $50

• For each reptile, mussel or amphibian: $15
• For each animal classified by the Natural Resource 

Commission as an endangered or threatened species: 
$1,000

• For each wild elk, antelope, buffalo or  
moose: $2,500

• For each swan or crane: $1,500
• For each conviction of unlawfully harvesting ginseng, 

the state will be reimbursed 150 percent of the market 
value as determined by the department.
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The DNR has designated portions of some wildlife management areas as “wildlife  
refuges” or “waterfowl refuges.” 
WILDLIFE REFUGES
Restrictions: It shall be unlawful to hunt, pursue, kill, trap, or take any wild animal, 
bird, or game on Wildlife Refuges at any time, and no one shall carry firearms thereon, 
except where and when specifically authorized by the DNR. It shall also be unlawful to 
trespass in any manner on the following areas, where posted, during the dates posted, 
both dates inclusive, except that DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may 
enter the area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the super-
vision of department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

WATERFOWL REFUGES
Restrictions. It shall be unlawful to hunt ducks and geese on the following areas, 
where posted, at any time during the year. After the final day of the duck season, entry 
into the Waterfowl Refuge is allowed to hunt non-waterfowl species for which there is an 
open season (i.e. pheasant, rabbit, deer, squirrel, etc.) and trapping is allowed. Hunt-
ers must be aware that some Waterfowl Refuges are also located within zones closed 
to Canada Goose hunting. DNR personnel and law enforcement officials may enter the 
area at any time in performance of their duties, and hunters, under the supervision of 
department staff, may enter when specifically authorized by the DNR.

AREA .................................. COUNTY
South Twin Lake ....................Calhoun
Ventura Marsh ................ Cerro Gordo
Allen Green Refuge ......... Des Moines
Henderson ...........................Dickinson
Ingham Lake ............................Emmet
Crystal Hills ........................... Hancock

AREA .................................. COUNTY
Colyn Area .................................Lucas
Gladys Black Eagle Refuge ..... Marion
Five Island Lake ................... Palo Alto
Polk City Refuge .......................... Polk
Smith Area ....................Pottawattamie
Green Valley Lake .....................Union

AREA ...................................................COUNTY
Lake Icaria ................................................Adams
Pool Slough Wildlife Area ................... Allamakee
Rathbun Area........................ Appanoose, Lucas, 
 Wayne
Sedan Bottoms ..................................Appanoose
Sweet Marsh............................................ Bremer
Big Marsh ...................................................Butler
Union Hills ....................................... Cerro Gordo
Round Lake ..................................................Clay
Jemmerson Slough Complex .............. Dickinson
Forney Lake............................................Fremont
Riverton Area ..........................................Fremont
Dunbar Slough......................................... Greene
Bays Branch ............................................ Guthrie

AREA ...................................................COUNTY 
Eagle Flats............................................. Hancock
Eagle Lake............................................. Hancock
Green Island Area...................................Jackson
Hawkeye Wildlife Area ........................... Johnson 
Muskrat Slough.......................................... Jones
Red Rock Area .................. Marion, Polk, Warren
Chichaqua Area ............................................ Polk
McCausland.................................................Scott
Princeton Area .............................................Scott
Otter Creek Marsh ...................................... Tama
Rice Lake Area ..................................Winnebago
Snyder Bend Lake ...............................Woodbury
Elk Creek Marsh .........................................Worth

IOWA REFUGES

RESTRICTED AREA
In addition, portions of some wildlife areas may be posted as “restricted areas.” It is 
unlawful to trespass in any manner within the posted boundaries of restricted areas, 
except department personnel and law enforcement officials may enter these areas 
at any time in performance of their duties.
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NONTOXIC SHOT ON STATE AND FEDERAL AREAS
• LEAD BULLETS are allowed for deer hunting on all areas
• NONTOXIC SHOT is required for hunting (including WILD 

TURKEY) on Federal Waterfowl Production Areas (WPA)
• NONTOXIC SHOT requirements for hunting on state and 

federal areas are listed in the table below 

AREAS UP T
BENTON CO. 
Iowa River Corridor X
BOONE CO. 
Harrier Marsh 
All Federal WPAs

X
X X

BUENA VISTA CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land
All Federal WPAs

X
X
X X

CALHOUN CO. 
South Twin Lake

 
X

CERRO GORDO CO.
All IHAP land
All State land
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X
X

 
 

X
CLAY CO. 
All IHAP land
All State land
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

DICKINSON CO. 
All IHAP land
All State land
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

EMMET CO. 
All State land
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X

 
 
X

FRANKLIN CO. 
All State land

 
X

AREAS UP T
GREENE CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land3 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

HAMILTON CO. 
Little Wall Lake 
Gordon Marsh 
Bayer Slough

 
X 
X 
X

HANCOCK CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

HUMBOLDT CO.  
All State land

 
X

IOWA CO. 
Iowa River Corridor

 
X

JASPER CO. 
Chichaqua

 
X

KOSSUTH CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

O’BRIEN CO. 
Northern Tallgrass  
Prairie - Thompson 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
 
X

 
X 
 
X

OSCEOLA CO. 
All State land

 
X

PALO ALTO CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

UP=Upland Game  T=Wild Turkey

1Except Ocheyedan target shooting area
2Except Spring Run target shooting area
3Except Rippey Access & North Raccoon
4Except Kalsow Prairie
5Except White Horse Access & Sac City 
Access

AREAS UP T
POCAHONTAS CO. 
All State land4 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X

 
 
X

POLK CO. 
Chichaqua Bottoms 
Paul Errington Marsh

 
X 
X

 
 
X

SAC CO. 
All State lands5 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X

 
 
X

STORY CO. 
Colo Bog 
Hendrickson Marsh

 
X 
X

TAMA CO. 
All IHAP land 
Iowa River Corridor

 
X 
X

WINNEBAGO CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X

WORTH CO. 
All State land 
All Federal WPAs

 
X 
X

 
 
X

WRIGHT CO. 
All IHAP land 
All State land 
All Federal land

 
X 
X 
X

 
 
 
X
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DUCK & GOOSE HUNTING ZONES

For the fall 2021 through 
spring 2026 seasons, the 
North Zone is that part of 
Iowa north of a line beginning 
on the South Dakota-Iowa 
border at Interstate 29, south-
east along Interstate 29 to 
State Highway 20 to the Iowa-
Illinois border.  
The South Zone is that part 
of Iowa west of Interstate 29 
and south of State Highway 
92 east to the Iowa-Illinois 
border.  
The Central Zone is the re-
mainder of the state.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD SEASONS & LIMITS
See p. 9.   

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
See p. 6 and 12.

SHOOTING HOURS 
See p. 9. 

SPECIAL HUNTING REGULATIONS 
THAT APPLY TO MIGRATORY GAME BIRD 
HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also apply to 
Migratory Game Bird hunters. See p. 14.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRD REGULATIONS
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North Zone

Central Zone

South Zone

South Zone includes all
areas west of I-29 and 
south of Highway 92.

§̈¦29

§̈¦29

£¤02

(!29

The Harvest Information Program (HIP) 
is a partnership between the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service and state wildlife agencies to 
collect information on the nation’s migratory 
game bird hunters and their harvest of migra-
tory game birds. All licensed migratory game 
bird hunters are required to register with HIP 
prior to hunting. Registration consists of a brief 
questionnaire. Hunters can register with HIP 

through the Go Outdoors Iowa 
app OR the Go Outdoors Iowa 
website (gooutdoorsiowa.com). 
Instructions and links are avail-
able by scanning the QR code. 
Youth hunters who are not re-

quired to have a hunting license are not required 
to register for HIP.

DON’T 
SKIP 
HIP

South Zone 
includes all areas 
west of I-29 and 
south of Hwy. 92
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SPECIAL HUNTS
METRO CANADA GOOSE SEASONS

Metro Canada goose seasons are open for 
a nine day period in September (see p. 9) in 
the Des Moines, Cedar Rapids-Iowa City, and 
Waterloo-Cedar Falls zones. The daily bag limit 
in these zones is 5 Canada geese. The zone 
boundary maps are available on the DNR’s web 
site at www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl

SPECIAL SEPTEMBER TEAL SEASON
The Special September teal season allows 

hunters additional days to pursue teal. Hunt-
ers must be aware that only teal are legal and 
the shooting hours are sunrise to sunset. All 
general migratory game bird hunting regulations 
apply. More information is available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/teal

YOUTH WATERFOWL HUNTING DAYS
Resident hunters ages 15 or younger may 

hunt waterfowl on Youth Waterfowl Hunting 
Days without purchasing a hunting license, or 
federal duck stamp, or paying the Iowa habi-
tat or migratory game bird fees. Each youth 
hunter must be accompanied by an adult 
18 years old or older. The adult must have a 
hunting license and have paid the Iowa wildlife 
habitat and migratory game bird fees, if normally 
required to do so to hunt waterfowl. Only the 
youth may hunt ducks, geese, mergansers and 

RESTRICTED AREAS
Some parts of wildlife management areas may be posted as “restricted areas.” It is unlawful to 

trespass in any manner on areas posted as restricted areas, except that DNR personnel, law  
enforcement officials and anyone specifically authorized by the DNR may enter the area at any time 
in performance of their duties.

NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGES
Some parts of the National Wildlife Refuges under the management of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 

Service in Iowa are closed to hunting. In addition, there may be other regulations that limit the species 
that can be hunted on these national wildlife refuge properties, as well as when and how they can be 
hunted.  

For more details on hunting on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service National Wild-
life Refuge lands scan the QR code then click on the refuge for which you want 
information. Or, write to: Regional Director, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 5600 
American Boulevard West, Suite 990, Bloomington, MN  55437-1458.

For questions about interpretations of Federal regulations call 515-442-6370 
or send questions to 1306 North 14th Street, Indianola, IA 50125 or by FAX 
515-961-5429.

coots. The accompanying adult may hunt any 
game that is in season, including other migratory 
game birds that may be in season, provided he/
she possesses a federal duck stamp. The daily 
bag and possession limit for ducks, geese,  
mergansers and coots for the youth season are 
the same as for the regular season. All other 
regulations in effect for the regular waterfowl 
seasons apply during the youth hunt.

LIGHT GOOSE CONSERVATION ORDER
Only light geese (white- and blue-phase snow 

geese and Ross’ geese) can legally be taken 
during the Light Goose Conservation Order.  
Hunters must have a valid resident or nonresi-
dent hunting license and have paid the current 
Iowa wildlife habitat and migratory game bird 
fees and registered with HIP, if required. A fed-
eral duck stamp is not required.

Shooting hours are 1/2-hour before sunrise 
until 1/2-hour after sunset each day. There is 
no daily bag or possession limit during the Light 
Goose Conservation Order. Hunters may use 
electronic callers and unplugged shotguns  
during the Light Goose Conservation Order.

www.iowadnr.gov/teal
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1. Emmet County; Regional Office in Spirit Lake 
and Prairie Lakes Wildlife Unit near Wallingford.
2. Clay/Palo Alto counties; Regional Office in 
Spirit Lake and Prairie Lakes Wildlife Unit near 
Ruthven.
4. Worth/Winnebago counties; Regional Office in 
Spirit Lake and Clear Lake Wildlife Unit in Ven-
tura.
7. Guthrie County; Regional Office in Lewis and 
Saylorville Wildlife Unit near Panora.
8. Adams County; Regional Office in Lewis and 
Grand River Wildlife Unit near Mt. Ayr.
9. Monona/Woodbury counties; Regional Office 
in Lewis and Missouri River Wildlife Unit near 
Onawa.  

11. Jackson County; Regional Office in Manchester and Maquoketa Wildlife Unit near 
Green Island.
14. Bremer County; Regional Office in Manchester and Cedar-Wapsi Wildlife Unit near Tripoli.
16. Union County; Regional Office in Lewis and Grand River Wildlife Unit near Mt. Ayr.

Canada goose hunting is closed in posted portions of 12 counties. Maps of the closed areas are online 
at www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl and available from local conservation officers or DNR facilities near the 
Canada goose closed areas.

AREAS CLOSED TO CANADA GOOSE HUNTING

LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH

SIOUX O'BRIEN CLAY PALO ALTO HANCOCK CERRO GORDO

PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

1 4

7

8

9

2

11

14

16

AREAS CLOSED TO  
WATERFOWL HUNTING
The entire state is open to waterfowl hunting 
except for the following areas and the refuges 
identified on p. 18:  
l Allamakee County: within 150 feet of the Army 

Road from New Albin to the boat ramp;
l Fremont County: the east-road adjacent to  

Forney Lake;
l Harrison County: three miles of U.S. Highway 

30 adjacent to Desoto National Wildlife Refuge;
l Kossuth County: road rights of way adjacent to 

Union Slough National Wildlife Refuge;
l Louisa County: on marked county roads near 

Port Louisa National Wildlife Refuge;
l Tama County: posted dikes at Otter Creek  

Wildlife Management Area;
l Union County: portions of Summit Lake
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TRUMPETER SWAN ID 

Be Sure of Your Target BEFORE You Shoot
Trumpeter and tundra swans are protected by 

state law and cannot be shot in Iowa. Shooting 
a swan will result in a fine and a liquidated dam-
age fee of $1,500. 

Trumpeter swans differ from snow geese 
and Canada geese. Trumpeter swans weigh up 
to 35 pounds, have 8-foot wingspans and are 
completely white, including their wing feathers 
(gray if they are immature swans). Snow geese 
weigh only 6 pounds, have 4-foot wingspans 
and the tips of their wing feathers are black.

Trumpeter Swan

Tundra Swan

Canada Goose

Snow Goose

White-fronted Goose

NEW - Available Online - Waterfowl Hunting Map Book - includes maps of waterfowl hunting zones 
Metropolitan goose hunting zones, areas closed to Canada goose hunting, and areas closed to 
waterfowl hunting at www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl 
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NO PERSONS SHALL TAKE MIGRATORY 
GAME BIRDS:
l  With a trap, snare, net, crossbow, rifle, pistol, 
swivel gun, shotgun larger than 10 gauge, punt 
gun, battery gun, machine gun, fish hook, poi-
son, drug, explosive, or stupefying substance.
l  With a shotgun capable of holding more than 
three shells, unless it is plugged with a one-
piece filler that is incapable of being removed 
without disassembling the gun.
l  From a sinkbox or any other type of low float-
ing device having a depression affording the 
hunter a means of concealment beneath the 
surface of the water.
l  From or with the aid or use of any motor  
vehicle or other motor-driven land conveyance 
or aircraft of any kind, except that paraplegics 
and persons missing one or both legs may take 
from any stationary motor-driven land convey-
ance.
l  From or by means of any motorboat or other 
craft having a motor attached, or any sailboat, 
unless the motor has been completely shut off 
and/or the sails furled, and its progress there 
from has ceased. 
l  By the use or aid of live birds as decoys. It 
shall be unlawful to take migratory waterfowl 
on an area where tame or captive live ducks or 
geese are present unless such birds have been 
confined within an enclosure that substantially 
reduces the audibility of their calls and totally 
conceals such birds from the sight of migratory 
waterfowl for a period of 10 consecutive days 
prior to such taking.
l  By the use or aid of recorded or electrically 
amplified bird calls or sounds, or recorded or 
electrically amplified imitations of bird calls or 
sounds. This restriction does not apply dur-
ing the Conservation Order for light geese (i.e. 
greater and lesser snow and Ross’s geese).
l  By means or aid of any motor-driven land, 
water, or air conveyance, or any sailboat used 
for the purpose of concentrating, driving, rally-

GENERAL MIGRATORY GAME BIRD HUNTING REGULATIONS

ing, or stirring up any migratory bird.
l  By the aid of baiting, or on or over any baited 
area, where a person knows or reasonably 
should know that the area is or has been baited. 
A baited area is any area on which salt, grain, or 
other feed has been placed, exposed, deposited, 
distributed, or scattered, if that salt, grain, or 
other feed could serve as a lure or attraction for  
migratory game birds to areas where hunters 
are attempting to take them. Any such area will 
remain a baited area for ten days following the 
complete removal of all such salt, grain, or other 
feed. 

It is legal to take migratory game birds,  
including waterfowl and coots, on or over the 
following areas that are not otherwise baited:
l  Standing crops or flooded standing crops  
(including aquatics).
l  Standing, flooded, or manipulated natural 
vegetation; flooded harvested croplands; or 
lands or areas where seeds or grains have been 
scattered solely as the result of a normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest manipula-
tion or normal soil stabilization practices.
l  From a blind or other place of concealment 
camouflaged with natural vegetation.
l  From a blind or other place of concealment 
camouflaged with vegetation from agricultural 
crops, as long as such camouflaging does not 
result in the exposing, depositing, distributing or 
scattering of grain or other feed; or
l  Standing or flooded standing agricultural 
crops where grain is inadvertently scattered 
solely as a result of a hunter entering or exit-
ing a hunting area, placing decoys, or retrieving 
downed birds.
For more information on  
federal baiting regulations, 
scan the QR code 

FEDERAL REGULATIONS SUMMARY
A more detailed synopsis of the federal regulations governing the hunting of migratory game 

birds can be found at: www.iowadnr.gov/huntingregs 
A complete version of all the federal regulations governing the hunting of migratory game birds 

can be accessed at www.ecfr.gov/current/title-50/chapter-I/subchapter-B/part-20

www.iowadnr.gov/huntingregs
http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?tpl=/ecfrbrowse/Title50/50cfr20_main_02.tpl
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BAITING RULES FOR MOURNING DOVES
Federal regulations governing baiting for 

doves are different in some respects than those 
governing baiting for waterfowl. You may hunt 
doves on, over or from:
l  Lands or areas where seeds or grains have 
been scattered solely as the result of normal 
agricultural operations, which include normal 
agricultural harvestings, normal agricultural post-
harvest manipulations, or normal agricultural 
practices. 
l  Lands planted by means of top-sowing or 
aerial seeding where seeds have been scattered 
solely as the result of a normal agricultural plant-
ing, a planting for agricultural soil erosion control, 
or a planting for post-mining land reclamation. 
l  Lands or areas where grain or feed has been 
distributed or scattered solely as the result of the 
manipulation of an agricultural crop or other feed 
on the land where grown. 
l  Standing crops. 
l  Lands planted as wildlife food plots, provided 
the seed is planted in a manner consistent with 
Cooperative State Research, Education, and 
Extension Service recommendations for the 
planting of wildlife food plots. In states without 
Cooperative Extension Service recommenda-
tions for the planting of food plots, the seed must 
be planted in accordance with Extension Service 
guidelines for producing a crop. 
l  Lands planted as pasture improvements or 
for the purpose of grazing livestock. (The Fish 
and Wildlife Service will not make a distinc-
tion between agricultural fields planted with the 
intent to gather a crop and those planted without 
such intent provided the planting is carried out in 
a manner consistent with the recommendations 
of State Extension Specialists). 
l  Standing or manipulated natural vegetation. 
l  A blind or other place of concealment camou-
flaged with natural vegetation. 
l  A blind or other place of concealment camou-
flaged with vegetation from agricultural crops, 
provided your use of such vegetation does not 
expose, deposit, distribute or scatter grain or 
other feed.  You should be aware that seeds 
or grains from such vegetation could create a 
baited area. 
For more information on the federal regulations 
that govern baiting for doves, go to:  
www.fws.gov/story/2021-12/information-dove-
hunters 

WANTON WASTE OF MIGRATORY GAME 
BIRDS  

No person shall kill or cripple any migratory 
game bird without making a reasonable effort to re-
trieve the bird, and retain it in his/her actual custo-
dy, at the place where taken or between that place 
and either (a) his/her vehicle or principal means of 
land transportation; or (b) his/her personal abode 
or temporary or transient place of lodging; or (c) a 
migratory bird preservation facility; or (d) a post of-
fice; or (e) a common carrier facility.

NONTOXIC SHOT  
No person may take ducks, 

geese (including brant), rails, 
snipe, or coots while possess-
ing shot (either in shotshells or 
as loose shot for muzzleloading) 
other than approved nontoxic 
shot. For a list of approved non-
toxic shot, scan the QR code 

DOVES 
Dove hunters are required to have a plug in their 

gun limiting them to three shells. They must also 
register with HIP either through the Go Outdoors 
Iowa app on their smartphone or through a link at 
www.iowadnr.gov/waterfowl. Once registered, hunt-
ers will need to write their confirmation number on 
their license, print an updated copy of their license or 
take a screenshot of their confirmation on their phone 
to show proof. Conservation officers will be enforcing 
this requirement. 

Hunters may use lead shot to hunt doves, except 
on the wildlife areas listed on p. 19. 

DEFINITIONS: 
DAILY BAG LIMIT: The maximum number of 
migratory game birds of a single species or combi-
nation (aggregate) of species permitted to be taken 
by one person in any one day during the open sea-
son in any one specified geographic area for which 
a daily bag limit is prescribed.

AGGREGATE DAILY BAG LIMIT:The maxi-
mum number of migratory game birds permitted 
to be taken by one person in any one day during 
the open season when such person hunts in more 
than one specified geographic area and/or for more 
than one species for which a combined daily bag 
limit is prescribed. The aggregate daily bag limit is 
equal to, but shall not exceed, the largest daily bag 
limit prescribed for any one species or for any one 
specified geographic area in which taking occurs.
 

M
IG

R
A

TO
R

Y
 

G
A

M
E

 B
IR

D
S

 



25

M
IG

R
A

TO
R

Y
 

G
A

M
E

 B
IR

D
S

 

FIELD POSSESSION LIMIT  
No person shall possess, have in custody, or 

transport more than the daily bag limit or  
aggregate daily bag limit, whichever applies, of 
migratory game birds, tagged or not tagged, at 
or between the place where taken and either (a) 
his vehicle or principal means of land transporta-
tion; or (b) his personal abode or temporary or 
transient place of lodging; or (c) a migratory bird 
preservation facility; or (d) a post office; or (e) a 
common carrier facility.

POSSESSION LIMIT 
The maximum number of migratory game 

birds of a single species or a combination of 
species permitted to be possessed by any one 
person when lawfully taken in the United States 
in any one specified geographic area for which a 
possession limit is prescribed.

AGGREGATE POSSESSION LIMIT 
The maximum number of migratory game 

birds of a single species or combination of spe-
cies taken in the United States permitted to be 
possessed by any one person when taking and 
possession occurs in more than one specified 
geographic area for which a possession limit 
is prescribed. The aggregate possession limit 
is equal to, but shall not exceed, the largest 
possession limit prescribed for any one of the 
species or specified geographic areas in which 
taking and possession occurs.

PERSONAL ABODE 
One’s principal or ordinary home or dwelling 

place, as distinguished from one’s temporary 
or transient place of abode or dwelling such as 
a hunting club, or any club house, cabin, tent 
or trailer house used as a hunting club, or any 
hotel, motel or rooming house used during a 
hunting, pleasure or business trip.

SPECIES IDENTIFICATION  
REQUIREMENT FOR TRANSPORTATION  

No person shall transport within the United 
States any migratory game birds, except doves 
and band-tailed pigeons, unless the head or one 
fully feathered wing remains attached to each 
such bird at all times while being transported 
from the place where taken until they have ar-
rived at the personal abode of the possessor or 
a migratory bird preservation facility.

TRANSPORTATION OF BIRDS  
OF ANOTHER HUNTER

No person shall transport migratory game 
birds belonging to another person unless such 
birds are properly tagged.

TAGGING REQUIREMENT  
No person shall put or leave any migratory 

game birds at any place (other than at his per-
sonal abode), or in the custody of another per-
son for picking, cleaning, processing, shipping, 
transportation, or storage (including temporary 
storage), or for the purpose of having taxidermy 
services performed, unless such birds have a 
tag attached, signed by the hunter, stating his 
address, the total number and species of birds, 
and the date such birds were killed. Migratory 
game birds being transported in any vehicle as 
the personal baggage of the possessor shall not 
be considered as being in storage or temporary 
storage.

CUSTODY OF BIRDS OF ANOTHER  
No person shall receive or have in custody 

any migratory game birds belonging to another 
person unless such birds are properly tagged.

GIFT OF MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS  
No person may receive, possess, or give to  

another, any freshly killed migratory game birds 
as a gift, except at the personal abodes of the 
donor or donee, unless such birds have a tag  
attached, signed by the hunter who took the 
birds, stating such hunter’s address, the total 
number and species of birds and the date such 
birds were taken.

REPORT BANDED BIRDS
www.reportband.gov 

Reporting the harvest of banded waterfowl 
provides valuable information which helps 
sustain waterfowl populations and hunting for 
the future. 

Questions should be directed to  
bandreports@usgs.gov or to Orrin Jones at  
Orrin.Jones@dnr.iowa.gov. 

Thank you for helping manage migratory 
birds!

www.reportband.gov
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BLINDS
A blind is a constructed place of concealment 

for hunting, observing or photographing wildlife. 
You may construct a blind on a game manage-
ment area using only the natural vegetation 
found on the area, except that no trees or parts 
of trees other than willows can be cut for that 
purpose. The use of such blinds is on a first-
come, first-served basis whether or not you con-
structed the blind. You cannot drive or otherwise 
place any nail, spike, pin or any other object, 
metal or otherwise, into any tree on a game 
management area to construct a blind or to 
make access to a blind or to a hunting location 
above the ground. Portable blinds are prohib-
ited on game management areas from one hour 
after sunset until midnight of each day. Portable 
blinds which are built on, or are part of, a boat 
shall be considered as removed from an area 
when the boat and blind are tied up or moored 
at an approved access site. No boat may be 
anchored away from shore and left unattended 
unless it is attached to a legal buoy. Special 
regulations regarding the use and construction 
of blinds on parts of the Mississippi River are 
described below.

DECOYS
A “decoy” is a likeness of a bird or animal 

used to lure game within shooting range. De-
coys are prohibited on all game management ar-
eas from one hour after sunset until midnight of 
each day. Decoys are considered removed from 
an area if they are in a boat or other container at 
an approved access site. Decoys cannot be left 
unattended for more than 30 minutes between 
midnight and one-half hour after sunset. Special 
regulations regarding the use of decoys on parts 
of the Mississippi River are described below.

STATIONARY BLINDS & USE OF DE-
COYS ON MISSISSIPPI RIVER POOLS 
14-18 

Hunters wishing to build a stationary blind on 
Pool 14 downstream of Upper Mississippi River 
National Wildlife and Fish Refuge River Mile 
502, near Princeton, Iowa, and Pools 15, 16, 
17 and 18 of the Mississippi River must register 

IOWA REGULATIONS SUMMARY
their blind site with the Department of Natural Re-
sources by completing a registration card and des-
ignating the blind’s location on a map. Registration 
is held in August at a site publicly announced by 
the Department. Registration is for a five-year 
period and requires a fee of $100. The blind 
registration number must be visibly posted at the 
blind’s entrance. Blinds must be at least four feet 
by eight feet in size, but cannot have a floor space 
larger than 500-square feet, not including a boat 
hide. Blinds must be constructed of biodegradable 
materials. Treated lumber, treated plywood, woven 
wire, chicken wire, cattle panels, tin and sheet 
metal, vinyl and plastic, and other non-biodegrad-
able materials are not allowed unless they are  
removed within three days after the close of the 
waterfowl season. The use of metal and nylon 
fasteners including but not limited to nails, screws, 
lag bolts, staples and ties is allowed. No brush or 
trees, other than willows, may be removed around 
the blind. Blind registrants must occupy their blind 
by the opening of shooting time each day to claim 
the blind for that day. After this time, unoccupied 
blinds will be available to any other hunters. No 
person will claim or attempt to claim a blind that is 
legally occupied and no person will harass, in any 
manner, the occupants of a blind that has been le-
gally occupied. Blinds may not be locked. Decoys 
may be left out for the entire waterfowl season but 
must be picked up and removed from the area 
within three days after the close of the waterfowl 
season. All jugs and other floating devices used to 
attract waterfowl are considered decoys.

POSSESSION OF LIVE BIRDS
Wounded birds reduced to possession must be 

immediately killed and included in the daily bag 
limit.

SHOOTING OR HAWKING HOURS
You cannot take migratory game birds except 

during the hours open to shooting and hawking. 
For complete falconry information, visit the Iowa 
DNR’s web site at  
www.iowadnr.gov/huntingregs.
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MULTIPLE OFFENDER PROGRAM FOR 
FISH AND WILDLIFE VIOLATORS 

Convictions are assigned point values as deter-
mined by the Iowa Administrative Code. Licenses 
will be suspended or revoked for a specific period 
as determined by the number of points accumu-
lated. 

WILDLIFE VIOLATOR COMPACT is an agree-
ment between participating states that prohibits 
a person whose hunting or fishing privileges are 
suspended in one state from participating in those 
activities in another state (see Iowa Courts On-
line).  

Hawaii is in the process of becoming a member. 
All other states are members of the compact. 

POACHING IS A CRIME!

If you observe or know of 
a fish or wildlife violation, 
report it to TIP as soon 
as possible by calling 
1-800-532-2020. Provide 
as much information as 
possible when you call, 
such as a description of the individual, vehicle 
and time and location of the violation.

A conservation officer will be dispatched to 
investigate. Since the TIP program began in 
1985, about $290,000 has been approved in 
reward payments.

TURN IN POACHERS
1-800-532-2020

or online at www.iowadnr.gov
You can remain anonymous!

ATTENTION HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS - Give us your thoughts & feedback on your hunting and trapping expe-
riences at the annual public meetings in late winter. Go to www.iowadnr.gov/hunting for dates, time & locations. 

HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS : MAKE YOUR VOICE HEARD

Sounds above 85 db are 
harmful to your hearing

Rifles & pistols can be 140-175 db

Your hearing is 
our priority!
Nationally Board Certified 
Hearing Instrument Specialist
Eric Smargiasso, NBC-HIS

Call 515-493-0928 to schedule your  
FREE HEARING SCREENING  

or visit us online at AudioNova.com

Receive 10% OFF all hearing protection!
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HUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORYHUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORY
GUIDES / OUTFITTERS GUIDES / OUTFITTERS

WILD HOG HUNTS
Oklahoma’s most popular hog
and exo�c ou�i�er. Just 45 min
south of OKC. Featuring a 10,000
sq. foot lodge. Puurcell, Oklahoma

405.464.9453 Book Online

PPrreemmiieerr NNoorrtthheeaasstt MMiissssoouurrii

Brad Wittstock
Family-Owned & Operated

RRiiflflee,, AArrcchheerryy,, MMuuzzzzlleellooaaddeerr
WWhhiitteettaaiill OOuuttfifitttteerr

Archery Elk Hunts
Ranch only Elk Hunts
Rifle/Muzzleloader Elk Hunts

HUNT NEW MEXICO
Veteran-Owned
Fully-Guided

legacyoutdoorsnm@gmail.com
Ernie Nevarez: 575.649.5608

IOWA LAND COMPANY
REAL ESTATE

• LAND EXPERTS

• HUNTING EXPERTS

• SERVICING IOWA

• LOCAL AGENTS

• QUALIFIED BUYERS

• FAMILY OWNED

• LAND LISTINGS

• LAND AUCTIONS

• NATIONAL MARKETING

IOWALANDCOMPANY.COM
VIEW FARMS515-962-5048

MMuullee SShhooee OOuuttffiitttteerrss

Pinedale, WY

SS SSppeecciiaalliizziinngg iinn:: MMoouunnttaaiinn LLiioonn
EEllkk && BBiigghhoorrnn SShheeeepp

888-803-7316

Northwestern Minnesota
“No Quota” Permit
Trophy Black Bear

Over 7,000 Square Feet of Merchandise

NO LIMITS OUTDOORS

212 11th St. SW Plaza • Spencer , IA

WHERE THEREARE NO LIMITS

FIREARMS

ARCHERY

FISHING

AMMO

Chama
New Mexico•Elk

•Deer
•Antelope
•Fishing

Elk, Deer, Turkey
Black Bear, Cougar

Family-Owned Big Game
Hunting & Fishing Adventures
in Idaho’s Majestic Wilderness

Small Mouth Bass

SUPPLIES / SERVICES
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HUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORYHUNTING GUIDE & SERVICE DIRECTORY
GUNS / SHOOTING GUNS / SHOOTING

Elkader, Iowa

BUY SELL TRADE

Bondurant

515-528-2775

Iowa

Whole Carcass or bone-out
meat/grinder-ready deer.
HUSH Program Participant.

No co-mingle. You get your deer back!

Over 60 Years

1267A 240th Street

GUNS, AMMO, FISHING, HUNTING
SCOPES, GUN RENTAL

Experience
Buy~Sell~Trade

State Center, IA 50247

INDOOR & OUTDOOR RANGES

224 Main St.
Collins, IA 50055 The meat YOU bring in is the meat YOU get back!

DDaahhllssLLoocckkeerr..ccoomm 664411..442277..55771133

CUSTOMMEAT PROCESSING
•BEEF •PORK •LAMB •CHICKEN •DEER •ELK •MOOSE

No Comingling | Quick Turnarounds

Exercise your 2nd Amendment!
Buy • Sell • Consign • Trade

jlmshooterssupply@gmail.com
515.331.1577

All Types of
Firearms,
Ammo,
Targets &
Accessories

6931 DOUGLAS AVE. | URBANDALE, IOWA

Be ready to defend your home!

• Handguns
• Rifles
• Shotguns
• Ammo

Sticks • Summer Sausage
Bratwurst • Ring Bologna
Jerky • Smoked Sausage

lliinnddyyssgguunnss..ccoomm
Locally Owned
& Operated
Since 1975

Buy, Sell & Trade

551155..443322..22221199

The 2ndAmendment

817 11th St.

GUN SHOP

• Hand Guns
• Ammo
• Rifles
• Accessories
• Firearm Training

11002233 MMaaiinn SStt..
HHaammbbuurrgg,, IIoowwaa

CCuussttoomm MMeeaatt LLoocckkeerr
BBeeeeff,, PPoorrkk,, DDeeeerr,,
GGooaatt,, WWiilldd HHooggss,,

BBuuffffaalloo aanndd mmuucchh mmoorree!!

YOU GET YOUR
DEER BACK!

HAMBURG LOCKER

MEAT PROCESSORS
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One hunt can be all it takes 
to create a new hunter for 
life. With your help, we can 
recruit the next genera  on 
of hunters and grow Iowa's 
hun  ng heritage like never 
before. Next  me you go 
out, invite someone new to 
share your passion with!

If you already 
enjoy hun  ng and 
want to introduce 
someone, or if 
YOU are new 
to hun  ng and 
looking to get 
started, check out 

IOWADNR.GOV/LETSGOHUNTING

LEARN TO HUNT
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Gray Wolves are Protected - The 
gray wolf population in the Great 
Lakes Region of Minnesota, Wiscon-
sin and Michigan, is stable to increas-
ing. These wolves are capable of 
traveling hundreds of miles, so the 
odds of a wolf dispersing from that 
region to Iowa have increased slightly 
over the past few years. DNA tests 
from gray wolves found in Iowa over 
the past 10 years have consistently 
matched with those found in the 
Great Lake Region. 

When hunting coyotes, day or night, 
be sure to identify your target before 
pulling the trigger - it is up to you to 
know the difference. Gray wolves are twice the size of coyotes. An adult coyote in Iowa 
typically weighs between 25 - 40 pounds, whereas gray wolves from the Great Lakes Re-
gion typically weigh between 70 - 110 pounds. 
There is not a breeding population of gray wolves in Iowa; however, it is important to know 
a wolf will occasionally disperse to Iowa from an established population elsewhere. 

While coyotes are legal to hunt and trap in Iowa, gray wolves are protected. 

ATTENTION COYOTE HUNTERS: KNOW YOUR TARGET

25-40 70-110

Photo courtesy of the Wisconsin DNR.
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FURHARVESTER LICENSE
Hunters and trappers must have a furharvester 

license and have paid the habitat fee (see p. 6) 
to hunt all furbearers, except coyote and ground-
hog, and to trap any furbearing animal. A person 
under age 16 years is not required to have a 
Furharvester License to trap fur-bearing animals 
if accompanied by an adult who possess a valid 
Furharvester License while trapping furbearing 
animals. There must be one licensed adult for 
each person under 16 years of age. A hunting 
license is not needed when hunting furbearers. 
Landowners and their minor children hunting on 
their own property do not need a furharvester li-
cense or habitat fee. Coyote and groundhog may 
be hunted with a hunting or furharvester license. 
Shotgun and spear are not legal methods of take 
for otter or beaver. 

LICENSED FUR DEALERS
A current list of licensed fur dealers is  

available  
www.iowadnr.gov/things-do/hunting-trapping/types-
hunting-trapping/trapping-fur-harvesting 

PERMIT TO HOLD HIDES (see p. 16).

DISTURBING DENS 
You cannot molest or disturb, in any manner, 

any den, lodge or house of a furbearing animal or 
beaver dam except by written permission of an 
officer appointed by the director of the DNR. You 
cannot use any chemical, explosive, smoking 
device, mechanical ferret, wire, tool, instrument 
or water to remove furbearing animals from their 
dens. 

BOX TRAPS  
A person shall not use or attempt to use colony 

traps in taking, capturing, trapping or killing any 
game or furbearing animals except muskrats. A 
valid hunting license is required for box trapping 
cottontail rabbits and squirrels. 

REMOVAL OF ANIMALS FROM TRAPS & 
SNARES 

All animals or animal carcasses caught in 
any type of trap or snare, except those that are 
placed entirely under water and designed to 
drown the animal immediately, must be removed 
from the trap or snare by the trap or snare user 
immediately upon discovery and within 24 hours 
of the time the animal is caught.

SNARES 
For the purpose of law enforcement, snares 

are considered to be traps. 
No person shall set or maintain any snare 

in any public road right-of-way so the snare, 
when fully extended, can touch any fence. A 
snare set on private land other than roadsides 
within 30 yards of a pond, lake, creek, drainage 
ditch, stream or river must have a loop size of 
11 inches or less in horizontal measurement. All 
other snares must have a loop size of 8 inches 
or less in horizontal measurement, except for 
snares with at least one-half of the loop under 
water. Snares cannot be attached to a drag. All 
snares must have a functional deer lock which 
will not allow the snare loop to close smaller than 
2 1/2 inches. 

MECHANICAL SNARES 
It is illegal to set any mechanically-powered 

snare designed to capture an animal by the neck 
or body unless the snare is placed completely 
under water. 

BODY-GRIPPING TRAPS
You cannot set or maintain any body-gripping 

trap on any public road right-of-way within 5 feet 
of any fence. 

Humane traps, 
or traps designed 
to kill instantly, 
with a jaw spread 
as originally 
manufactured 
with an outside 
measurement 
that exceeds 8 inches, are unlawful to use except 
when placed entirely under water.

DOG-PROOF TRAPS
Foot-encapsulating 

devices generally have a 
reach-in pull-trigger that re-
leases a small rod or plate 
that secures the animal’s 
foot against and inside a plastic or metal trap 
housing designed to protect the captured limb 
from torsion or self-directed biting. A few models 
have triggers that activate using either a push 
or pull trigger design. Foot-encapsulating traps 
were designed by trappers to selectively capture 
raccoons with minimal injury.
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HUNTING AND TRAPPING FURBEARERS
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PUBLIC ROADSIDE LIMITATIONS 
You cannot set or maintain any snare or body-

gripping-type trap within any public road right-
of-way within 200 yards of the entry to a private 
drive serving a residence or buildings inhabited 
by humans unless a resident of the dwelling 
adjacent to the public road right-of-way has 
given permission, or unless the body-gripping 
or conibear-type trap is completely under wa-
ter or at least one-half of the loop of the snare 
is under water. This does not limit the use of 
foothold traps, box-type live traps or dog proof 
traps in public road right-of-ways. A person 
may not place a trap, stake or non-indigenous 
set making material upon any public road 
right-of-way except during a period of time 
that begins two weeks before the trapping 
season opens and ends on the last day of 
the season.

FOOTHOLD TRAPS 
You cannot set or maintain, on land, 

any foothold trap with metal serrated jaws, 
metal-toothed jaws or a spread inside the 
set jaws greater than 7 inches as measured 
to the outside edge. 

TRAP TAG REQUIREMENTS 
All traps and snares, whether set or not, 

possessed by a person who can reason-
ably be presumed to be trapping must have 
a metal tag attached, plainly labeled with the 
user’s name and address. Officers appointed by 
the DNR can confiscate such traps and snares 
when not properly labeled or checked. 

EXPOSED BAIT 
You cannot set or maintain any foothold or 

body-gripping trap or snare within 20 feet of 
exposed bait on land anywhere in the state, or 
over water in the following areas:

a) MISSISSIPPI RIVER CORRIDOR - Allama-
kee, Clayton, Dubuque, Jackson, Clinton, Scott, 
Muscatine, Louisa, Des Moines and Lee coun-
ties.

b) MISSOURI RIVER CORRIDOR - Portions 
of Woodbury, Monona, Harrison, Pottawattamie, 
Mills and Fremont counties west of Interstate 29. 

c) DES MOINES RIVER CORRIDOR - 
Boone, Dallas, Polk, Marion, Mahaska, Wapello 
and Van Buren counties. 

“Exposed bait” means meat or viscera of any 

animal, bird, fish, amphibian or reptile with or 
without skin, hide or feathers that is visible to 
soaring birds.

TRAPPING ON GAME MANAGEMENT 
AREAS MARKING TRAP SITES 

You cannot place on any game management 
area any trap, stake, flag, marker or any other 
item or device to trap furbearers, or to mark 
or otherwise claim any site to trap furbearers, 
except during the open season for trapping 
furbearers.

BOBCAT HUNTING & TRAPPING
Hunters and trappers must have a furhar-

vester license and pay the habitat fee to har-
vest bobcats, if normally required to have them 
to trap. A regular Hunting License will not be 
adequate.

SEASON LIMIT: No more than 3 bobcats total 
can be legally harvested by a furharvester in 
a season. 

The season bag limit for bobcats either hunted 
or trapped in Audubon, Boone, Cedar, Chero-
kee, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Guth-
rie, Harrison, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, 
Jones, Lyon, Monona, Muscatine, Plymouth, 
Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Webster 
and Woodbury County (counties shaded gray) is 
1 bobcat per person, per county.  

The season bag limit for bobcats, either hunted 
or trapped, in Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Cass, 
Clarke, Davis, Decatur, Des Moines, Fremont, 

BOBCAT SEASON IN SHADED COUNTIES ONLY 
LYON DICKINSON EMMET KOSSUTH WINNEBAGO WORTH

SIOUX O'BRIEN CLAY PALO ALTO HANCOCK CERRO GORDO

PLYMOUTH CHEROKEE BUENA VISTA POCAHONTAS HUMBOLDT WRIGHT

WEBSTER

HAMILTON

FRANKLIN

HARDIN

MONONA CRAWFORD CARROLL GREENE BOONE STORY

POLK JASPERDALLAS

MITCHELL HOWARD WINNESHIEK ALLAMAKEE

BUTLER BREMER

BLACK HAWK

FAYETTE CLAYTON

BUCHANAN DELAWARE DUBUQUE

FLOYD CHICKASAW

GRUNDY

MARSHALL

POWESHIEK

CLINTON

LOUISA

POTTAWATTAMIE CASS ADAIR MADISON MARIONWARREN MAHASKA KEOKUK WASHINGTON

MUSCATINE

JACKSONTAMA BENTON LINN JONES

MILLS MONTGOMERY ADAMS UNION CLARKE LUCAS MONROE WAPELLO JEFFERSON HENRY

DES MOINES

FREMONT PAGE TAYLOR RINGGOLD DECATUR DAVISAPPANOOSEWAYNE

LEE

VAN BUREN

WOODBURY IDA SAC CALHOUN

JOHNSON

CEDAR

SCOTT

GUTHRIEHARRISON SHELBY AUDUBON

OSCEOLA

IOWA

Closed  Closed
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Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, 
Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, Monroe, Mont-
gomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Taylor, 
Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington 
and Wayne County (counties shaded red) is up 
to 3 bobcats per person, per county.

RIVER OTTER TRAPPING
Trappers must have a furharvester license 

and pay the habitat fee to trap otter, if normally 
required to have them to trap.

Season Limit: 3 otters per licensed furhar-
vester.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Furharvesters must contact a Conservation 

Officer within seven days of taking an otter or 
bobcat to receive a CITES tag. The CITES 
tag must remain with the animal until it is sold. 
Animals kept for taxidermy or other display or 
educational purposes must have the CITES tag 
retained at all times.
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32,000 ACRES

For maps and details: 
www.iowadnr.gov/ihap 
Iowa Habitat and Access Program (IHAP)

THANK YOU to Iowa 
landowners for opening private 

land for public hunting

WALK-IN 
HUNTING AREAS

Walk-in hunting only, all other activies are prohibited

Otters and bobcats accidentally captured after 
the season has closed and bobcats accidentally 
captured in an area of the state closed to bob-
cat harvesting, should be immediately released 
alive, if possible, or must be turned over to the 
DNR, without penalty, if dead. 
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The Iowa DNR is committed to fighting the spread of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD).  A harvested infected 
deer can no longer make direct contact with other deer, helping slow the disease. CWD is 100 percent fatal to 
infected deer. Infected deer may not display symptoms, and testing is the only way to know if a deer is infected. 

HUNTERS: Help Fight Chronic Wasting Disease

1. GET  YOUR DEER TESTED. The DNR, in partnership with Iowa State University, has created a 
pathway for hunters to submit their own tissue samples for testing as part of the effort to track the disease. 
Log on to www.iowadnr.gov/cwd and click on the CWD Interactive Dashboard link in the middle of the page. 
Once there, click on the hunter submission system pathway button and follow the instructions. Submitting a 
sample through the hunter submission system comes with a fee of $25. 
2. STOP THE SPREAD. Do not use feed or salt-mineral licks to attract deer. High concentrations of 
deer can lead to the spread of the disease. 
3. PROPERLY TRANSPORT AND DISPOSE. Disposal with residential waste is permissible. Contact 
your local waste hauler for requirements. If that’s not possible, then leave the deer carcass on the property 
where it was harvested. Make absolutely sure not to transport and dump carcasses outside of the area where 
the deer was shot, as this will spread the disease to new areas. 

Three ways you can fight CWD:

HUNTERS: Help Fight Chronic Wasting Disease

Information on individual management zones, license options, tissue sample require-
ments, carcass disposal, and more is available in a new Chronic Wasting Disease 
guide available at www.iowadnr.gov/cwd, through the Go Outdoors Iowa app, and at 
select license sales vendors within the CWD zones.
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2025 DEER HUNTING INFORMATION
DEER SEASONS, LICENSE PURCHASE 
DATES, ANTLERLESS QUOTAS & ANTLERED 
RESTRICTIONS

See p. 8.   

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
See p. 6 and 12.

SPECIAL HUNTING REGULATIONS 
THAT APPLY TO DEER HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also apply to 
deer hunters. See p. 14.

SHOOTING HOURS 
Shooting hours for all deer seasons are half-

hour before sunrise to half-hour after sunset.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The head and antlers (if any) must remain at-

tached to the carcass until it is processed for con-
sumption. Hunters in the Youth, Disabled Hunter, 
Bow, Early Muzzleloader, and Late Muzzleloader 
seasons and all Nonresidents, must shoot their 
own deer and tag only the deer they shoot.  

Party Hunting: During the first and second 
regular gun seasons, and the January antlerless 
deer-only seasons, any Iowa resident present in the 
hunting party may tag a deer with a tag issued in 
that person’s name. 

No person shall tag a deer with a tag that was pur-
chased after the deer was taken. 

A hunter may not carry a deer license or trans-
portation tag issued to another hunter while deer 
hunting. See p. 43. 

PAID DEER LICENSES see p. 40.
Resident hunters may obtain the following types of 

deer licenses:
General Deer Licenses are valid statewide in the 

season selected by the hunter at the time the license is 
purchased. General deer licenses are valid for taking 
deer of either sex for all counties except those listed 
on the map on p. 8. A hunter may have one General 
deer license for the Bow Season and one General 
deer license for one of the following seasons: Early 
Muzzleloader, Late Muzzleloader, Shotgun Season 1, 
or Shotgun Season 2. Exceptions:
l Youth, Disabled Season hunters see p. 41.
l There is a quota of 7,500 Early Muzzleloader 

Season General deer licenses. These are sold first-
come first-served until the quota is filled or until the 
last day of the Early Muzzleloader Season. 

Paid Antlerless-only Licenses are valid for 
taking only antlerless deer. An antlerless deer 
is a deer with no forked antler. These licenses 
are valid only in the county and season or deer 
population management zone and season selected 
by the hunter at the time the license is purchased.   

Quotas for Antlerless-only Licenses are set for 
each county to direct the additional harvest of does 
to areas with the greatest number of deer. The quota 
is the maximum number of Antlerless-only Licenses 
that will be sold for each county for all deer seasons. 
Licenses are sold first-come first-served until the 
quota is reached. See p. 8.

ALLOWABLE COMBINATIONS  
OF PAID DEER LICENSES

See table on p. 40.

BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT 
For Shotgun Season 1 and Shotgun Season 2 

seasons, the daily bag and possession limit is one 
deer for each unfilled transportation tag issued to a 
hunter who is present in the party.  

For all other deer seasons, the daily bag and 
possession limit is one deer for each license and 
transportation tag issued to the hunter for that 
season.

The annual possession limit is one deer for 
each license and transportation tag obtained by 
the hunter for all seasons.

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS 
Resident and nonresident deer hunters with a 

valid deer hunting license may hunt with and assist 
other deer hunters only in the season specified on 
their license. Party hunting by residents is allowed 
in the Shotgun 1 and Shotgun 2 seasons. Hunters 
must have a valid tag for the county in which they 
are hunting. See tagging requirements on p. 43.

BLOOD TRACKING WOUNDED DEER WITH 
A DOG 

A dog may not be used to hunt deer. However, 
a person having a valid hunting license and a valid 
deer hunting license who has wounded a deer while 
hunting may use a dog to track and retrieve the 
wounded deer. The person must maintain physical 
control of the dog at all times during the search by 
means of a maximum 50-foot lead attached to the 
dog’s collar or harness. The person may dispatch 
the deer using a legal method of take authorized by 
the person’s deer hunting license. A person shall not 
use that method of take to hunt, wound, or kill any 
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animal other than the deer that the hunter is tracking, 
except in self-defense. Using a dog to track a wound-
ed deer on private property is permissible at any hour 
with consent of the property owner. A person using 
a dog to track a wounded deer outside of legal deer 
hunting hours shall not be in possession of a long 
gun, bow or crossbow. An unarmed dog handler as-
sisting in the recovery of a wounded deer is exempt 
from licensing requirements as long as the handler is 
accompanied by the licensed hunter who wounded 
the deer.

BLAZE ORANGE REQUIRED 
To hunt deer with a firearm in any season you must 

wear one of the following articles of external, vis-
ible, solid blaze orange clothing: vest, jacket, coat, 
sweatshirt, sweater, shirt or coveralls. An orange hat 
alone is not sufficient. No person shall use a blind for 
hunting deer during the regular shotgun deer seasons 
unless such blind exhibits a solid blaze orange mark-
ing with a minimum of 144 square inches visible in all 
directions. 

A blind is defined as a place of concealment 
constructed, either wholly or partially from man-made 
materials, which is used for the purpose of hiding a 
person who is hunting from sight. A blind is not a nat-
urally occurring landscape feature or an arrangement 
of natural or agricultural plant material that a hunter 
uses for concealment. In addition to the requirements 
above, hunters using blinds must also satisfy the 
requirements of wearing blaze orange.

TREE STANDS
You may not construct a permanent tree stand on 

state public hunting areas. You may not drive or in 
any other way place any nail, spike, pin, or any other 
metal object into a tree on state public hunting areas 
to construct a blind or to provide hunting access to a 
location above the ground.

Tree stands may be left on a state public hunting 
area from 7 days prior to the start of deer hunting 
season until 7 days after the final day of that open 
season.

PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES 
You may not use domestic animals, bait, radios, 

automobiles, aircraft, drones, electronic calls or 
any mechanical conveyance or device to hunt deer. 
Persons who meet one or more of the following 
conditions would be considered eligible for a non-
ambulatory deer license and able to hunt from a 
stationary motor driven conveyance: paralyzed from 
the waist down; the loss or partial loss of both legs; or 

any other physical affliction which makes it impossible 
to walk from place to place successfully.  

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, hay, 
salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural food materi-
als, commercial products containing natural food ma-
terials, or by-products of such materials transported 
to or placed in an area for the purpose of attracting 
wildlife. Bait does not include livestock feed placed 
during normal agricultural activities.

SHOOTING FIREARMS OVER WATER OR 
HIGHWAY

You cannot shoot any rifle on or over any of the 
public highways or waters of the state or any rail-
road right-of-way. You cannot discharge a shotgun 
shooting a slug, pistol or revolver on or over a 
public roadway (see diagram). 

Additionally, no person shall discharge a rifle, 
including a muzzleloading rifle or musket, or a hand-
gun from a highway; or discharge a shotgun shooting 
slugs from a highway north of U.S. Highway 30, while 
deer hunting. 

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
ARCHERY: Longbows, recurve bows, and 

compound bows shooting broadhead arrows are 
permitted. No explosive or chemical devices may 
be attached to the arrow or broadhead. There are 
no minimum draw weights for bows or minimum 
diameter for broadheads. Arrows must be at least 18 
inches long. 

Crossbows are not legal during the archery season 
except that a physically handicapped person, as 
defined on p. 14, may obtain a permit from the DNR 
to use a crossbow. Applications are available at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting - click on “Resident 
Licenses & Applications,”  and then on “Resident or 
Nonresident Hunting Applications” or by visiting the 
DNR central office or any of the district offices (p. 52), 
or by calling the DNR at 515-725-8200. Residents 65 
and older may obtain one Antlerless-only statewide 
crossbow deer license. See p. 41 for details. 

SHOTGUNS: 10-, 12-, 16-, and 20-gauge shot-
guns shooting single slugs only. 

}
Private Property

Private Property

Highway or
Right-of-Way

Fence

Fence

Ditch

Ditch

Roadway
(includes
shoulder){
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MUZZLELOADERS: Only muzzleloading 
rifles, muzzleloading muskets, muzzleloading 
pistols, and muzzleloading revolvers between .44 
and .775 of an inch shooting a single projectile. 
Muzzleloaders equipped with electronic ignition are 
not allowed. In-line and disk-type muzzleloaders 
are allowed. Riflescopes may also be used.

HANDGUNS: Any pistol or revolver with a 
barrel length of at least four inches and firing 
straight wall or other centerfire ammunition pro-
pelling an expanding-type bullet with a maximum 
diameter of no less than .350 of an inch and no 
larger than .500 of an inch and with a published 
or calculated muzzle energy of 500 foot pounds 
or higher is legal for hunting deer during the pistol 
or revolver seasons.

RIFLES: Rifles firing straight wall or other cen-
terfire ammunition propelling an expanding-type 
bullet with a maximum diameter of no less than 
.350 of an inch and no larger than .500 of an inch 
and with a published or calculated muzzle energy 
of 500 foot pounds or higher is legal for hunting 
deer during the youth and disabled hunting sea-
son and first and second shotgun seasons.

The following is a partial list of allowable car-
tridges that has generated the most questions on 
legality. Cartridges meeting the criteria defined 
above are legal whether listed here or not.

CROSSBOW: A legal weapon for residents 
during the Late Muzzleloader season. A cross-
bow consists of a bow mounted transversely 
on a stock or frame and designed to fire a bolt, 
arrow or quarrel by the release of the bow string, 
which is controlled by a mechanical trigger and 
working safety. Crossbows equipped with pistol 
grips and designed to be fired with one hand are 
illegal for taking or attempting to take deer or 
turkey. All projectiles used in conjunction with a 
crossbow for deer hunting must be equipped with 
a broadhead. 
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CARING FOR DEER AFTER HARVEST
l  Know how the locker wants to receive the meat. 
l  Properly field-dress within 30 minutes of harvest 
with special attention to removing the intestines, 
especially important above 45 degrees.
l  Wear disposable gloves and use clean tools – keep 
the meat clean.
l  ONLY use bags and containers designed for food 
– NOT garbage bags.
l  A link to a guide on proper field-dressing is  
available at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting. 

.35 Whelen

.350 Legend

.358 Winchester

.375 Winchester

.40 S&W

.44 Magnum

.444 Marlin

.45 Long Colt

.45 Raptor

.450 Bushmaster

.450 Marlin

.45-70 Govt

.460 S&W

.500 S&W

TO QUARTER/ BONE OUT/ PACK OUT 
DEER LEGALLY IN IOWA:
1) Deer must first be tagged with hunter’s unfilled 
transportation tag
2) Deer must be then harvest reported & harvest 
report tag placed on animal
3) Deer may then be processed for consumption. 
No usable portion of that deer may be left in the 
field. Useable portion is defined as “that part of an 
animal which is customarily processed for human 
consumption.......i.e. the meat.

The Iowa Elks Association collects deer 
hides for use in the Iowa Veterans Leather 
Program. Veterans learn valuable skills while 
making leather products from the hides. 

Contact your local Elks Lodge for informa-
tion on the deer hides donation program and 
collection location. 

THANK YOU deer hunters for supporting 
Iowa Veterans.

DONATE DEER HIDES
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LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE BY SEASON
      
SEASON Archery Muzzleloader Handgun Shotgun Crossbow Rifle4

Youth/Disabled X X X1 X  X4

Bow3 X  
Early Muzzleloader  X X2   
Late Muzzleloader X X X   
Shotgun 1  X X X  X4

Shotgun 2  X X X  X4

Nonresident Holiday X X X   
Pop Mgmt January Antlerless5  X X X X X X
Excess Tag January Anterless5      X 
1 Youth hunters may only hunt with a handgun while under direct supervision of licensed adult. 2 Muzzleloading 
pistols only. 3 Antlerless Senior (65 years old and older) Statewide Crossbow License during the bow season only.  
4 See p. 38. 5 If licenses are available. 

GOING OUT OF STATE TO HUNT?
DNR regulations prohibit bringing back whole carcasses of deer, elk, moose or caribou into the state from 

areas where CWD has been identified, whether they were taken from wild, free-ranging animals or shot on a 
hunting preserve.

Currently, CWD has been detected in free-ranging or captive populations in Alabama, Arkansas, California, 
Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, 
Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, 
Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, 
Wisconsin, Wyoming, and in Alberta, Manitoba, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Quebec, Canada.

If you take a deer, elk, moose or caribou in a CWD 
endemic area, you may bring back only the boned 
out meat, skin (cape) and antlers. Antlers may be at-
tached only to a clean skull plate from which all brain 
and connective tissue has been removed. Animals 
taken outside of identified CWD areas may be trans-
ported in any manner that is otherwise legal.  

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention 
recommends against consuming meat from known 
CWD positive deer. However, for concerned hunters, 
the best preventive measures are:

l Wear latex or rubber gloves while field dressing 
to reduce the chance of contracting any disease.  

l Bone out the meat from your animal.
l Minimize handling and avoid eating the brain, 

spinal cord, eyes, spleen, tonsils and lymph nodes of 
harvested animals.

l Soak instruments for at least five minutes in 
40 percent bleach solution after field dressing and/or 
butchering is complete. 

Any dead deer that is obviously emaciated or with 
unnatural lesions or growths on the internal organs 
or chest cavity should be reported to a DNR wildlife 
biologist or conservation officer.
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BONUS DEER HUNTS
YOUTH DEER SEASON

Iowa residents who are younger than 16 years 
old on the day they obtain a license are eligible for 
the Youth Season subject to the following restric-
tions:
l While hunting, youth hunters must be under the 

direct supervision of an adult mentor who has a 
valid Hunting License and has paid the Habitat 
Fee, if the adult is normally required to have them 
to hunt. Only one youth hunter may accompany 
each adult mentor.

l Clothing requirements, method of take and all 
other deer hunting regulations in effect during 
the regular deer seasons are in effect during the 
youth season, if hunting deer with a firearm. 

l If a youth hunter turns 16 while utilizing a youth 
license, they must purchase a hunting license 
and habitat fee, if normally required.

Youth hunters may hunt with a bow, shotgun, rifle 
or muzzleloader as defined on p. 37-38.  

UNFILLED YOUTH TAG
Youth hunters with a Youth Deer License who do 

not take a deer during the youth deer hunting sea-
son may use the Youth Deer License and unused 
tag during any following deer season. The youth 
must follow all other rules specified for each sea-
son. Party hunting is not allowed while hunting 
with a youth tag, regardless of the season. The 
deer must be harvested by the youth whose name 
is on the tag. Youth hunters may also obtain deer 
licenses for other seasons like any other hunter. 

 
SEVERELY DISABLED DEER LICENSE

A severely disabled (see p. 14) Iowa resident 
may be issued one General Deer License to hunt 
deer during the Youth/Disabled Season with a bow, 
shotgun, rifle or muzzleloader as defined on p. 38. A 
person obtaining this license may obtain any other 
deer hunting licenses for which they are eligible. 
Applications for a severely disabled deer license 
permit are available at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting - 
click on “Resident Licenses & Applications,” and then 
on “Resident or Nonresident Hunting Applications,” or 
by calling the DNR at 515-725-8200. After approval 
and filing of the permit application with the DNR, 
severely disabled hunters may purchase this special 
license at any license sales agent.  

DISABLED VETERANS DEER LICENSE
An Iowa resident who is a disabled veteran may 

receive one General Deer license to hunt deer dur-
ing any firearm deer season, utilizing the approved 
method of take for that season. Applications are 
available online under the Hunting License link at 
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting

NON-AMBULATORY DEER LICENSE
 A non-ambulatory Iowa resident may be  

issued one General deer license which may be used 
to hunt deer during any established deer hunting 
season using a shotgun, muzzleloading rifle or any 
handgun or rifle described on p. 38 until the license is 
filled. A person obtaining this license may obtain any 
other deer hunting licenses for which they are eligible. 
Applications for a non-ambulatory license permit 
are available at www.iowadnr.gov/hunting - click on 
“Resident Licenses & Applications,”  and then on “Resi-
dent or Nonresident Hunting Applications, or any of the 
regional or district offices listed on p. 52, or by calling 
the DNR at 515-725-8200. After approval and filing of 
the permit application with the DNR, non-ambulatory 
hunters may purchase this special license at any 
license sales agent.  

CROSSBOW LICENSE FOR SENIORS
Resident hunters 65 years old and older may pur-

chase one statewide Antlerless-only License to hunt 
deer with a crossbow. This license is valid during the 
bow season and may be obtained in addition to any 
other deer license. 

POPULATION MANAGEMENT JANUARY 
ANTLERLESS-ONLY SEASON

The Population Management January antlerless-
deer-only season has been conditionally reinstated 
in Allamakee, Appanoose, Decatur, Lucas, Monroe, 
Wayne and Winneshiek counties. The season will 
be reinstated in each county ONLY if the number of 
unsold county antlerless-deer-only licenses exceeds 
100 on the third Monday in December. Licenses will 
be available the same day the season is reinstated. 
Only antlerless deer may be taken during the 
Population Management January Antlerless-only 
season. Hunting is allowed on public land, and 
private land with permission. 

Shotguns, handguns, muzzleloaders, bows, 
crossbows and center-fire rifles .223 caliber to .500 
caliber with a published or calculated muzzle energy 
of 500 foot pounds or higher. 

EXCESS TAG JANUARY  
ANTLERLESS-ONLY SEASON

The Excess Tag January antlerless-deer-only 
season is available in all counties with unsold 
county antlerless tags on Jan. 10. County specific 
antlerless license quota information is available 
in real time online at www.gooutdoorsiowa.com/
RealTimeQuotas.aspx. Licenses will be available 
beginning Jan. 11, until quotas are filled. Due to 
the compressed timeline, these licenses will not 
be available online. Only antlerless deer may be 
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taken during the Excess Tag January Antlerless-only 
season. 

Only centerfire rifles .223 caliber to .500 caliber 
with a published or calculated muzzle energy of 500 
foot pounds or higher are allowed in the Excess Tag 
January Antlerless season.

LANDOWNERS TENANT DEER LICENSES
Landowners, tenants and their eligible family 
members must register with the DNR before 
obtaining Landowner-Tenant Licenses (LOT). See p. 
13 to determine who is eligible.

If there is more than one owner, there is still a 
maximum of four licenses for the farm unit. Licenses 
may be divided among qualifying family members. 
It is illegal to use a LOT deer license to hunt on land 
owned or controlled by another individual.

LOT GENERAL DEER LICENSES - One 
General Deer license, valid until filled, using method 
of take for the season. There is one General Deer 
license available for purchase per farm unit for 
qualifying landowners or their qualifying tenants or 
eligible family members, even if there are multiple 
landowners or tenants registered on the same farm 
unit.

LOT DEER LICENSES FOR A JUVENILE 
CHILD - A child under 18 years of age, or 18 or 
19 and in high school or a general equivalency 
degree program, who resides with and is a 
member of the family of a landowner or tenant, 
is eligible for Landowner-Tenant Deer Licenses. 
If the child is under 16 they may select the youth 
deer season.

LOT ANTLERLESS-ONLY LICENSES- 
Up to three LOT Antlerless-only licenses 
are available for purchase per farm unit for 
qualifying landowners or their qualifying tenants 
or eligible family members, even if there are 
multiple landowners or tenants registered on 
the same farm unit. One Antlerless-only license, 
valid until filled, using method of take for the 
season. A season must be selected for the two 
paid Antlerless-only licenses. One of the three 
LOT antlerless-only licenses is $2 and the other 
two are $15 each.

How many LOT licenses can I buy? The 
landowner, and their eligible family members, 
and/or co-owners of a farm unit must be 
registered on the same land parcel. Landowners 
registered on the same parcel share a 
maximum of four Landowner-Tenant licenses: 
one General deer and three Antlerless-only 
licenses. These licenses may be divided among 
the registered landowners in any way the family 
or co-owners choose. If there is no tenant on 
the property, the maximum number of licenses 
available is still four for the farm unit. 
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DEER DEPREDATION PROGRAM
Iowa’s deer population is primarily managed 

at the county scale, but high deer densities lo-
cally can result in property damage. The Wildlife 
Depredation Program is designed to provide 
guidance and assistance to effectively deal with 
deer damage at this scale. Following a damage 
assessment, depredation staff may provide ad-
ditional harvest opportunities with antlerless-only 
depredation licenses or shooting permits for a 
specific property. These licenses may be used 
by the landowner or individual hunters who have 
permission to hunt on the property. See p. 52 to 
learn more or to contact depredation staff.

Working together, landowners and the DNR 
can manage a deer herd that balances the needs 
of all Iowans. Hunters interested in harvesting ad-
ditional antlerless deer are encouraged to register 
online for the Deer Hunter Registry (Hunters for 
Farmers) at  
programs.iowadnr.gov/deerdepredation
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MANDATORY HARVEST REPORTING FOR 
DEER AND WILD TURKEY

 Hunters who harvest a deer or wild turkey 
must report the harvest to the DNR by midnight 
on the day after it is tagged, or before taking it 
to a locker or taxidermist, or before processing it 
for consumption, or before transporting it out-of-
state, whichever occurs first. 

Hunters who harvest an antlered deer are 
required to report the length of the main 
beam of each antler (see diagram). A 7-inch 
ruler is printed on the back of your deer tag 
to measure the beam. 

The hunter whose name is on the 
transportation tag is responsible for making 
the report. If no animal is harvested, no report 
is necessary. Failure to report or reporting 
falsely may result in a misdemeanor citation 
and possible loss of hunting privileges.

There are five options to report the harvest:
 1) Through the Go Outdoors Iowa app. 
 2) By texting your registration number to 

1-800-771-4692 and following the prompts.
 3) Online at www.iowadnr.gov, available 24 

hours a day, 7 days a week. 
 4) By phone at the toll-free phone number 

printed on the harvest report tag, available 24 
hours a day, 7 days a week.  

 5) Through a license vendor during regular 
business hours. 

The Harvest Reporting System will issue a 
confirmation number to the hunter that must be 
written on the Harvest Report Tag and attached 
to the leg of the animal. Failure to do so may 
result in a misdemeanor citation.  

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
Iowa Deer and Turkey tags consist of two por-

tions. The lower portion of the tag is the Trans-
portation Tag and the upper portion is the Harvest 
Report Tag (see p. 44). Each performs different 
functions.

TRANSPORTATION TAG
A Transportation Tag with the date of kill properly 

shown shall be visibly attached to the turkey im-
mediately or the deer within 15 minutes of the time 
it is located after being taken or before the carcass 

Antlerless

Antlered

is moved to be transported by any 
means, whichever occurs first, in a 
manner that the tag cannot be re-
moved without mutilating or destroy-
ing it. However, the carcass may 
be moved away from an obstacle, 
entanglement, waterway, roadway or 
other area if that location would be 
a safety hazard, but only so far as 
necessary to avoid the hazard, then tagged imme-
diately before being moved to 
be transported. 

For antlerless deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag to the 
leg as shown. 

For antlered deer, attach 
the Transportation Tag on 
the main beam between two 
points as shown. 

No person shall tag a deer with 
a Transportation Tag issued to 
another person. 

During the youth season, dis-
abled hunter season, bow sea-
son, early muzzleloader season 
and late muzzleloader season, 
the hunter who killed the deer 
must tag the deer by using the 
Transportation Tag issued in 
that person’s name.  

During the first and second 
regular gun seasons, Iowa 
residents present in the hunting 
party may tag a deer with a tag 
issued in that person’s name. 
Youth hunting with a youth 
tag must shoot and tag their own deer regard-
less of the season. Nonresidents must shoot 
and tag their own deer. 

This tag shall be proof of possession and remain 
affixed to the carcass until the animal is processed 
for consumption. The head, and antlers if any, shall 
remain attached to the deer while being transported 
from the place where taken to the processor or 
commercial preservation facility or until the deer has 
been processed for consumption.
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HARVEST REPORT TAG
The Harvest Report Tag (pictured below), with 

the confirmation number properly recorded, must be 
attached to the leg of the animal after reporting and 
before the reporting deadline. The Harvest Report 
Tag must be attached so that it is easily visible and 
cannot be removed without being mutilated or de-
stroyed and remain attached to the carcass until the 
animal is processed for consumption. 

TIPS ON TAGGING/REPORTING DEER  
AND TURKEYS
1) Remove the Transportation Tag from backing 

and attach to antlers if it is an antlered deer, 

otherwise attach to deer or turkey leg. Press 
halves of the tag together to bond. The hunter’s 
name, registration number and date of harvest 
must be readable. 

2)  Follow instructions on the Harvest Report Tag 
to report the animal. When reporting, you will 
need the harvest registration number from your 
tag and the Iowa county where the animal was 
harvested. For deer, report whether it was a doe, 
button buck, antlered buck, or shed-antler buck. 
For turkeys, report the length of the beard (fall) or 
length of the longest spur (spring).

3) Keep both the Transportation Tag and the 
Harvest Report Tag attached to the animal until it 
is processed for consumption.

NOTE: The actual tag may differ slightly in appearance. 
Harvest Registration 
Number listed here

Harvest Registration 
Number also listed here

Write confirmation 
number here
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RULER ON BACK OF DEER TAG to assist with reporting the main beam antler mea-
surement, added as a requirement in 2023.
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Any hunter may donate any legally taken, 
field-dressed, wild Iowa deer of any sex from any 
season to the HUSH program. A list of lockers 
participating in HUSH is available online at  
https://www.iowadnr.gov/programs-services/
help-us-stop-hunger-hush. Last year, around 
3,022 deer were donated to the HUSH program 
providing about 520,000 meals to Iowans in 
need. Lockers may be added before deer season 
so check the webpage for updates. 

USH
Help Us Stop Hunger
H
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IOWA DEER EXCHANGE 
The Iowa Deer Exchange is a free online 

database at www.iowadnr.gov/deerhunting 
where deer hunters willing to provide venison can 
connect with Iowans who want venison. Hunters 
enter their information into the database, includ-
ing their location. Recipients choose the condition 
they want the meat when they register – boned 
out, whole (field dressed), quartered, frozen, jerky 
/sausage or any, and in what amount. They also 
set the length of time their offer is open and may 
opt out at any time by contacting the Iowa DNR.

The parties work out the details of the transfer. 
Donors are responsible for reporting the harvest 
and encouraged to properly care for the deer from 
the field to the recipient. It is illegal to sell venison 
in Iowa.

The Iowa Deer Exchange does not replace the 
HUSH program but offers another way for Iowans 
to get high quality lean protein. 

PROPERLY CARING FOR DEER 
Take care of your harvest especially if donat-

ing to HUSH or the Deer Exchange - It’s your job 
to keep the meat from spoiling. Every Harvest - 
remove the entrails, reproductive organs, clean out 
the chest cavity, split the pelvis and remove anal 
cavity then rinse the cavity well with water as soon 
as possible and before taking it to the locker or 
recipient. If air temperature is above 45 degrees, 
place bags or blocks of ice, or frozen milk jugs of 
water in the cavity to cool; replace every 24 hours. 
Place deer on garage floor to pull heat from the 
animal. Make arrangements with the locker or 
recipient before dropping off the deer.

2025 Iowa Hunting Regulation Book

Coupon Expires July 31, 2026
® 

Regular Price Of Any One Item In 
Stock With Coupon 

24-P-212

®

Big Names....Low Prices!

Sportsmen Club  
Are you a member of a Sportsmen’s Club 
with 25 or more members?  
www.dunhamssports.com/sportsmen

$avings Coupon

*Excludes Firearms, Ammunition, Nike & Under Armour.  Additional exclusions 
may apply, see www.dunhamssports.com/coupon-exclusions.html for details. Not 
valid for online purchases or Gift Cards. Cannot be used with another offer, 
coupon, current sale, or clearance item. Only one coupon per customer. Not valid 
on previous purchases. Void if copied. Not for resale. Dunham’s Sports reserves 
the right to terminate this coupon/offer/discount at any time, without prior notice. 

15% OFF*

GET IN THE

GAME
®
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LICENSE TYPES, PURCHASE DATES, 
HUNTING ZONES, QUOTAS, SEASON 
DATES, BAG LIMITS & SEX

See p. 10.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS THAT MAY APPLY  
TO FALL TURKEY HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 14.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES 
See p. 6 and 12.

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached to 

the carcass of any wild turkey being transported 
within the state during any wild turkey hunting 
season and the tag must remain attached to the 
carcass until it is processed for consumption. 
See p. 43. 

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters who shoot a turkey must report the 

harvest through the DNR’s Harvest  
Reporting System. Hunters who do not shoot 
a turkey do not need to report. See p. 43 for 
details.

FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING NONRESIDENTS are not eligible 
for fall turkey hunting licenses

FALL TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Combination Gun/Bow Licenses are 

valid only in the zone selected by the hunter 
when the license is purchased.  Paid Gun/Bow 
Licenses are sold first-come first-served until the 
zone quotas are filled or the end of the season, 
whichever comes first. 

Paid Archery-only Licenses are valid 
statewide. There are no quotas and licenses are 
sold until the end of the season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow & Landowner-
Tenant Archery-only Licenses - eligible 
landowners and tenants may obtain one Fall 
Turkey tag, valid until filled. Only one Landowner-
Tenant Turkey License may be obtained per 
landowner family and one per tenant family. 
Landowner-Tenant Licenses are valid only on 
the farm unit of the landowner or tenant. See p. 
13 to determine who is eligible for Landowner-
Tenant fall Turkey Licenses, and how to register 
as a landowner or tenant.

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum of 
two fall turkey hunting licenses: two Combination 
Gun/Bow Licenses, or two Archery-only 
Licenses, or one Combination Gun/Bow License 
and one Archery-only License. One of these 
licenses may be a Landowner-Tenant License if 
the hunter is eligible.  

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun: Half-hour before sunrise to sunset.
Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to half-hour 

after sunset.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE
See p. 47-48.

USE OF DOGS FALL SEASON ONLY 
Dogs may be used to locate, flush and retrieve 

wild turkeys as long as the hunter has a valid 
wild turkey license with an unfilled transportation 
tag in his or her possession. 

Create Habitat 
for Wildlife

The State Forest Nursery has packets designed 

just for turkey, pheasant, quail, and songbirds.

TURKEY 
PACKET 

CREATE-
A-PACKET

QUAIL 
PACKET 

PHEASANT 
PACKET 

ORDER BY PHONE: 800.865.2477 
OR ONLINE: 

iowadnr.gov/Conservation/Forestry

ORDER YOUR 
TREES & SHRUBS TODAY!
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LICENSE TYPES, SEX, BAG LIMITS &  
SEASON DATES

See p. 7.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS THAT APPLY  
TO SPRING TURKEY HUNTING

General Hunting Regulations may also  
apply to turkey hunters. See p. 14.

SHOOTING HOURS
Gun and Bow: Half-hour before sunrise to  

sunset.

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS & FEES
Licenses go on sale Dec. 15.  

See p. 6 and 12.

ALL PAID LICENSES ARE VALID STATEWIDE

TAGGING REQUIREMENTS
The leg that bears the tag must be attached 

to the carcass of any wild turkey being trans-
ported within the state during any wild turkey 
hunting season and the tag must remain at-
tached to the carcass until it is processed for 
consumption. See p. 43.

HARVEST REPORTING
All hunters who shoot a turkey must report 

the harvest through the DNR’s Harvest  
Reporting System. Hunters who do not shoot 
a turkey do not report. See p. 43 for details.

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY LICENSES
Paid Combination Gun/Bow Licenses are 

valid statewide in the season selected by the 
hunter at the time of purchase. Paid Gun/Bow 
Licenses are sold until the end of the season 
selected at the time of purchase. 

Paid Archery-only Licenses are valid 
statewide for all four seasons. There are no 
quotas and licenses are sold until the end of 
the fourth season. 

Landowner-Tenant Gun/Bow licenses 
and Landowner-Tenant Archery-only 
Licenses - eligible landowners and tenants 
may obtain one Spring Turkey tag, valid until 

RESIDENT SPRING TURKEY HUNTING
filled. See p. 13 to determine who is eligible 
for Landowner-Tenant Spring Turkey Licenses 
and how to register as a landowner or tenant. 

The following restrictions apply: Landowner-
Tenant Licenses are valid only on the farm 
unit of the landowner or tenant (see p. 13). 
One Landowner-Tenant Turkey License may 
be obtained per landowner farm unit and one 
per tenant farm unit. 

HOW MANY TURKEY LICENSES MAY I 
HAVE? 

A resident hunter may obtain a maximum 
of two spring turkey hunting licenses. One of 
these may be a Landowner-Tenant License, if 
the hunter is eligible. 

License choices: two Archery-only (or) one 
Archery-only and one Combination Gun/Bow 
Season 4 (or) two Combination Gun/Bow of 
which at least one must be Season 4.

LEGAL METHOD OF TAKE SPRING & FALL
RESIDENT ARCHERY-ONLY LICENSE 

Longbows, recurve bows, and compound 
bows are permitted. No explosive or chemi-
cal devices may be attached to the arrow or 
broadhead. Blunthead arrows with a minimum 
diameter of 9/16-inch may also be used.  Ar-
rows must be at least 18 inches long.  

Crossbows are not legal, except that a 
physically handicapped person incapable of 
shooting a bow may obtain a permit from the 
DNR to use a crossbow (see p. 14).  
Applications are available at www.iowadnr.
gov/hunting - click on “Resident Licenses & Ap-
plications,” and then on “Resident or Nonresident 
Hunting Applications,” or call the DNR at 515-
725-8200.
RESIDENT GUN/BOW LICENSE 

Archery equipment as defined on p. 47, 
and .410, and 28-gauge shotguns shooting 
shot sizes no smaller than 10 shot. 20-, 16-, 
12- and 10-gauge or muzzleloading shotguns 
shooting shot size 10 through 4, lead or non-
toxic. Muzzleloading rifles may not be used 
to hunt turkeys.
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ized vehicles, aircraft, drones, bait, recorded 
or electronically amplified turkey calls or elec-
tronically amplified imitations of turkey calls or 
sounds when hunting turkeys. Persons who 
meet one or more of the following conditions 
would be considered eligible for a non-ambula-
tory license and able to hunt from a stationary 
motor driven conveyance: paralyzed from the 
waist down; the loss or partial loss of both legs; 
or any other physical affliction which makes 
it impossible to walk from place to place suc-
cessfully.  

“Bait” means grain, fruit, vegetables, nuts, 
hay, salt, mineral blocks, or any other natural 
food materials, commercial products containing 
natural food materials, or by-products of such 
materials transported to or placed in an area 
for the purpose of attracting wildlife. Bait does 
not include food placed during normal agricul-
tural activities. 

HELPING OTHER HUNTERS
A resident hunter with a valid spring turkey 

hunting license for any season may assist  
other hunters in any season. A nonresident 
may assist other hunters only in the zone and 
season indicated on his or her license. The 
hunter doing the assisting may not carry a 
shotgun or bow or shoot a turkey unless he or 
she has a valid license and an unfilled  
transportation tag for that zone and season. 

YOUTH TURKEY HUNTING SEASON 
(RESIDENTS ONLY)

Hunters younger than 16 years old on the 
day they purchase a license may participate 
in the Youth Turkey Season. The Youth Wild 
Turkey License will be a Combination Gun/
Bow License valid statewide. If the youth 
turns 16 before the season, the youth will 
need to have a Hunting License and Habitat 
Fee, otherwise, the youth does not have to 
have a Hunting License or have completed 
a hunter education course in order to 
participate. A Youth Season License is 
valid for the Youth Season or if unfilled 
may be used in any other spring season. 

Youth hunters must be under the direct 
supervision of an adult mentor while hunting 
during the Youth Season. The mentor must 
have a valid Wild Turkey License for one of 
the spring seasons, a valid Hunting License, 
and have paid the Habitat Fee if the adult 
is normally required to have them to hunt. 
The mentor must not carry a long gun, 
bow or crossbow and must be in the direct 
company of the youth at all times. There 
may be no more than one youth with each 
properly licensed adult mentor. The youth 
and mentor must comply with all spring 
turkey hunting regulations.

A youth who resides with and is a member 
of a family of a landowner or tenant who is 
eligible for a Landowner-Tenant Wild Turkey 
Hunting License may obtain a Landowner-
Tenant License for the Youth Season. The 
Landowner-Tenant Youth License will 
count as the one Landowner-Tenant Wild 
Turkey Hunting License the landowner or 
tenant family is entitled to for the spring 
turkey seasons.

Youth hunters may obtain one additional 
Gun/Bow License for Season 4, or one 
Archery-only License. Hunters that are 
eligible for the Youth Season, but choose 
not to participate, may obtain two licenses 
for the regular spring turkey seasons like 
any other hunter.
PROHIBITED DEVICES & ACTIVITIES

You may not use live decoys, dogs (except 
in the fall), horses, phones, radios, motor-
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OTHER INFORMATION
FALCONRY

Game may be taken by licensed falcon-
ers. All falconers who pursue game must carry 
a copy of their Iowa Falconry License and 
have a valid resident or nonresident Hunting 
License and pay the Habitat Fee. 

Falconry regulations for hunting, including 
bag and possession limits and the listing of 
permitted game species, can be found at  
www.iowadnr.gov/hunting then scroll down 
and click on Additional Requirements & 
Information and scroll down to Falconry 
Regulations, or by calling 515-725-8200 from 
8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. M-F. The minimum age of 
falconers is 14. 

FALCONRY SEASON
SMALL GAME OPEN CLOSE
Pheasant, Quail, 
Partridge & Grouse Oct. 1 March 31
Rabbit Sept. 1 March 31
WATERFOWL  
Ducks: All Zones Jan. 3 Feb. 7
Geese Same as conventional seasons

HUNTING SHED ANTLERS  
It is permissible for people to hunt for shed 

antlers. Shed antlers are antlers that have 
naturally fallen from a whitetail deer. Shed ant-
lers can be collected on public land including 
state parks. Permission must be granted from 
the landowner on private land. (See trespass 
law on p. 14.) Antlers that are still attached to 
the skull or any other parts of a deer can only 
be possessed with approval and tag from an 
Iowa DNR conservation officer.

CROWS 
A migratory bird stamp is not required to hunt 

crows. 

TAXIDERMY
A taxidermist is a person engaged in the 

business of preserving or mounting game, fish 
or furbearing animals. A license is required for 
anyone to practice taxidermy and the taxider-
mist must contact a DNR conservation officer 
prior to operating. 

A federal permit is required for activities 
involving migratory birds. Obtain the permit by 
contacting the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service at 
612-713-5449. 

PROTECTED NONGAME
Protected nongame species include wild 

birds, fish, bats, reptiles and amphibians or 
their eggs or nests, their dead body or dead 
body parts or a product made from their parts. 
Any bat, with the exception of the Indiana bat, 
that is found within a building occupied by  
humans is not protected.

UNPROTECTED NONGAME
The European starling, the house sparrow, 

and the common garter snake are not protect-
ed species. Timber rattlesnakes are protected 
in Allamakee, Clayton, Delaware, Des Moines, 
Dubuque, Fayette, Henry, Jackson, Jones, 
Lee, Madison, Van Buren and Winneshiek 
counties but not including an area of 50 yards 
around houses actively occupied by humans in 
those counties.

OHV USE AND HUNTING
The following regulations apply when using Off-

Highway Vehicles (OHV) for hunting purposes:
l It is illegal to operate an OHV on DNR Wild-
life Management Areas. Physically handicapped 
persons may be eligible for a permit to operate an 
OHV on DNR lands. Permission for access is still 
required. See p. 17.
l A person shall not discharge a firearm while 
on an OHV, except that a nonambulatory person 
may discharge a firearm from an OHV while law-
fully hunting if the person is not operating or riding 
a moving OHV. Refer to a current copy of Iowa’s 
OHV regulations for more details.  

Iowa’s OHV Regulations are available from lo-
cal conservation officers, county recorders, DNR 
offices or online at www.iowadnr.gov.
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DOG RESTRICTIONS
RABIES VACCINATION. Hunters bringing dogs six months of age or older into Iowa must have 

in their possession a health certificate verifying the rabies and other vaccinations of the dog(s).
WHERE RESTRICTED. All dogs are prohibited on all state-owned game management areas be-

tween March 15 and July 15 of each year, except that dog training is permitted on designated training 
areas. Field and retriever meets are restricted to designated sites.

A permit must be obtained from the DNR for field and retriever meets. The permit shall show the 
exact designated site of the meet and all dogs shall be confined to that site.

TRAINING DOGS. Hunters need a valid Hunting License and have paid the Habitat Fee to train 
a bird dog on game birds. An Iowa Migratory Bird Fee and Federal Waterfowl Stamp are required if 
using waterfowl taken from the wild. A valid Furharvester License and Habitat Fee is required to train 
a coon hound, fox hound or trailing dog on any furbearing animals at any time of the year, including 
during the closed season on such birds or animals. The animals, when pursued to a tree or den, shall 
not be further chased or removed in any manner from the tree or den. Hunters must have a Hunting 
License or a Furharvester License and Habitat Fee to train a dog on coyote or groundhog.

Only a pistol, revolver or other gun shooting blank cartridges shall be used while training dogs dur-
ing closed hunting seasons.

If a dog is entered in a licensed field trial the hunter does not need any type of Hunting  
License to participate in the event or to exercise the dog on the area on which the field trial is to be 
held during the 24-hour period preceding the trial. 

Pen-raised game birds of either sex may be used and shot in the training of bird dogs. Before any 
bird is released or used in the training of dogs, the bird must be banded with a band from the DNR. 
Contact the DNR at 515-725-8200.

OTHER INFORMATION

A feral hog is any hog, including Russian and Eu-
ropean wild boar, that is not identified by ear tags or 
other identification and is roaming freely on public 
or private land. 

Feral hogs are not native to Iowa and releasing 
pigs intentionally to hunt is illegal. 

Hunters are encouraged to report feral hog 
sightings while in the field to the Iowa DNR’s forest 
wildlife biologist at 641-774-2958 or the USDA. The 
DNR would like to collect a blood sample if pos-
sible, for disease testing.  

Feral hogs can spread diseases to humans, pets 
and all domestic livestock, especially pigs. These 
animals damage crops and forest lands and com-
pete with native wildlife for food. They eat anything 
they can catch, including reptiles, amphibians, deer 
fawns, bird eggs and newly born livestock.

Photo courtesy of Kenton Lohraff, wildlife biologist, 
Directorate of Public Works Natural Resources Branch, 
Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri.

FERAL HOGS
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OTHER INFORMATION

PRECAUTIONS ABOUT LEAD IN VENISON
Deer shot with bullets containing lead can 

have particles of lead remaining in the meat, 
some too small to see or feel. Although lead can 
be harmful to humans, even in low amounts, 
there is no known evidence that links human 
consumption of venison to lead poisoning. Chil-
dren under 6 years and pregnant women are 
at the greatest risk from lead exposure. Since 
1992, about 500,000 Iowans under 6 years and 
25,000 adults have been tested for lead poison-
ing, and no elevated blood lead levels have 
been attributed to venison or any other wild 
game. 

To minimize potential exposure to lead in 
venison: 
l Remind your meat processor to, or if you 
process your own venison, trim a generous 
distance away from the wound channel and 
discard any meat that is bruised, discolored, or 
contains hair, dirt or bone fragments. 
l Avoid consuming internal organs.
l Practice marksmanship and outdoor skills to 
get closer, cleaner, lethal shots away from major 
muscle areas. (Don’t shoot at running deer.)
l Consider non-lead alternative such as copper 
or others that have high-weight retention.
Call the Iowa Department of Public Health at 
1-800-972-2026 for information Lead Poisoning 
Prevention.
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LET'S GO LET'S GO 
SHOOTINGSHOOTING

Share your passion and invite a friend 
on your next trip to the range. 

FIND A RANGE
Check out Iowa's interac� ve 

range map to discover a public or 
private shoo� ng range near you. 

There’s no limit to the fun you 
can have on the range. 

IOWADNR.GOV/RANGES

SUNRISE/SUNSET
Sunrise / Sunset time is available from the Go Outdoors Iowa app, from most weather apps, 
the local television weather and online at  
https://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/grad/solcalc/sunrise.html 

Iowa law allows lawfully taken game carcasses and waste from home meat processing to be 
disposed with other residential waste, although your solid waste hauler may have some restric-
tions regarding the maximum size or weight of an individual bag. The waste should be sealed in 
plastic bags in lots that are similar in size and weight to a typical bag of residential waste. Con-
tact your local waste hauler or landfill for the specific waste disposal requirements in your area.  

Dumping a game carcass in a road ditch or on other public property creates a nuisance and 
is subject to enforcement under Iowa littering laws.

GAME CARCASS DISPOSAL 
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The Iowa DNR is responsible for managing 
Iowa’s wildlife for all of Iowa’s citizens. One of the 
DNR’s responsibilities is to provide private land-
owners with guidance to reduce wildlife damage.

To get started, scan the QR 
code and contact the local 
Wildlife Depredation Program 
staff who will work with you to 
evaluate the wildlife damage 
and find a solution.

1) BLACK HAWK UNIT _________ 712-661-9726
2) CEDAR-WAPSI UNIT
 Sweet Marsh ______________  319-213-2815
 Big Marsh  ________________ 641-330-2087
3) CLEAR LAKE UNIT __________ 641-425-2814
4) GRAND RIVER UNIT ________ 515-238-5708
5) GREAT LAKES UNIT ________ 712-330-4543
6) IOWA RIVER UNIT
 Coralville  _________________ 319-330-7013 
 Otter Creek  _______________ 641-751-9767
7) MAQUOKETA UNIT _________ 563-219-4148
8) MISSOURI RIVER UNIT ______ 712-420-2437
9) NISHNABOTNA UNIT ________ 712-350-0147
10) ODESSA UNIT ____________ 319-551-8459
11) PRAIRIE LAKES UNIT
 Ruthven __________________ 712-330-2563
 Ingham ___________________ 712-362-1651
12) RATHBUN UNIT ___________ 641-535-6765
13) RED ROCK UNIT __________ 515-238-6936
14) SAYLORVILLE UNIT
 Saylorville  ________________ 712-330-6685 
 Bays Branch  ______________ 712-330-5682
15) SUGEMA UNIT ____________ 641-799-0793
16) UPPER IOWA UNIT ________ 563-379-5725

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT BIOLOGISTS
PHONE NUMBERS

WILDLIFE DEPREDATION STAFF

For information on the following species, 
contact:
NONGAME WILDLIFE, DEER, PHEASANTS,  
QUAIL & RABBITS 
Boone Research Station 
1436 255th St., Boone 50036  
DEER: 515-249-7056
UPLAND: 515-979-0828
NONGAME: 712-330-8461

WILD TURKEY, SQUIRREL  
& RUFFED GROUSE
Chariton Research Station 
24570 US Hwy. 34, Chariton 50049  
641-774-2958 

WATERFOWL & FURBEARERS
Clear Lake Fish & Wildlife Station
1203 N. Shore Dr., Clear Lake 50428  
641-357-3517

DISTRICT OFFICES
(DNR Fish, Wildlife and Law Enforcement)
HEADQUARTERS:  
6200 Park Ave., Suite 200 
Des Moines 50321  
515-725-8200
NORTHWEST: Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery  
122 252nd Ave., Spirit Lake 51360 
712-336-1840
NORTHEAST: Manchester Fish Hatchery 
22693 205th Ave., Manchester 52057 
563-927-3276
SOUTHWEST: Cold Springs State Park 
57744 Lewis Rd., Lewis 51544 
712-769-2587
SOUTHEAST: Lake Darling State Park 
110 Lake Darling Rd., Brighton 52540 
319-694-2430

BLACK HAWK OFFICE 
116 South State Rd., Lake View 51450
712-657-2638

RATHBUN FISH HATCHERY 
15053 Hatchery Pl., Moravia 52571
641-647-2406 
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COUNTY 
ADAIR Adam Gacke ............................712-250-0303
ADAMS  Andrea Bevington ...................712-520-0508
ALLAMAKEE Vacant ......................................563-880-0108
APPANOOSE Adam Arnold ...........................641-777-2164
  Dallas Davis.............................641-777-2163
AUDUBON Jeremy King ............................712-250-0061
BENTON Brett Reece (west 1/2) .............641-751-0931
  Ron Lane (east 1/2) .................319-350-2871
BLACK HAWK Lynn Koch ...............................319-240-5034
BOONE  Jeffrey Barnes .........................515-290-4907
  Brandon Bergquist .................515-290-0177
BREMER  Lynn Koch ...............................319-240-5034
  Chris Jones .............................319-939-4448
BUCHANAN Dakota Drish ............................563-920-0566
BUENA VISTA Brent Koppie ...........................712-260-1010
BUTLER Jordon Hansen ........................319-240-8033
CALHOUN  Nathan Haupert .......................712-330-8462
CARROLL Aron Arthur, .............................515-370-0422
CASS  Adam Gacke ............................712-250-0303
CEDAR  Eric Wright ...............................319-530-6121
CERRO GORDO Matt Washburn ........................641-425-0822
  Ben Schlader ...........................641-425-0828
CHEROKEE  Brent Koppie (east 1/2)  ..........712-260-1010
  Chad Morrow (west 1/2) ..........712-260-1023
CHICKASAW  Marc Waterlander ....................319-240-6662
CLARKE  Hunter McAninch ....................641-414-2174
CLAY  Joe Yarkosky ...........................712-260-1004
CLAYTON  Jerry Farmer ............................563-880-0422
CLINTON  Lucas Webinger ......................563-357-1078
  Terry Nims ...............................563-357-1812
CRAWFORD  Katherine Hoeppner ...............712-420-1486
DALLAS  Dustin Eighmy .........................515-883-0228
DAVIS  Bob Stuchel .............................641-777-2169
  Chad Horn ...............................641-777-7805
DECATUR  Hunter McAninch ....................641-414-2174
DELAWARE  Dakota Drish ............................563-920-0566
DES MOINES  Paul Kay ...................................319-759-0751
DICKINSON  Blake Mills ...............................712-260-1017
  Dan Dirks .................................712-260-1018
DUBUQUE  Andrew Keil .............................563-590-1945
  Nate Johnson ..........................563-590-1944
EMMET  Chris Subbert ..........................712-260-1009
FAYETTE  Chris Jones .............................319-939-4448
FLOYD  Jacob Fulk ...............................319-240-9174
FRANKLIN  Jordon Hansen ........................319-240-8033
FREMONT  Marlowe Wilson .......................712-520-0506
GREENE  Aron Arthur .............................515-370-0422
GRUNDY  Vacant  .....................................641-751-5246
GUTHRIE  Jeremy King ............................712-250-0061
HAMILTON  Nathan Carr .............................515-238-2047
HANCOCK  Ben Bergman ..........................641-425-0823
HARDIN  Nathan Carr .............................515-238-2047
HARRISON  Aaron Johnson .......................712-249-2015
HENRY  Dan Henderson .......................319-653-1636
HOWARD  Marc Waterlander ....................319-240-6662
HUMBOLDT  Bill Spece .................................515-571-0127
IDA  Michael Miller ..........................712-661-9237
IOWA  Brad Baker...............................319-430-1630
JACKSON  Lucas Dever ............................319-480-0397
  Andrew Keil .............................563-590-1945
JASPER  Will Brickel ..............................641-521-2003
JEFFERSON  Chris Flynn ..............................641-919-9115
  Dan Henderson .......................319-653-1636 

COUNTY 
CONSERVATION OFFICERS 

OFFICER CELL PHONE OFFICER CELL PHONE

LAW ENFORCEMENT BUREAU CHIEF
CRAIG CUTTS  515-971-8136LAW ENFORCEMENT 

JOHNSON  Erika Billerbeck ...................319-330-9710
  Brad Baker ...........................319-430-1630 
JONES  Lucas Dever ........................319-480-0397
KEOKUK  Wesley Gould ......................641-660-3441
KOSSUTH  Mitch Anderson ...................712-260-1003
LEE  Andrew Kuckler ..................319-470-0788
LINN  Travis Graves ......................319-350-2863
  Ron Lane .............................319-350-2871
LOUISA  Joe Fourdyce ......................563-260-1225
LUCAS  Kyle Jensen .........................641-414-2175
LYON  Tait Anderson ......................712-260-1006
MADISON  Craig Lonneman .................515-238-5005
MAHASKA  John Steinbach ...................641-660-0741
MARION  Eric Hoffman .......................641-891-2004
  Ken Kenyon .........................641-891-1246
MARSHALL  Vacant  .................................641-751-5246
MILLS  Richard Price .......................712-520-0121
MITCHELL  Jacob Fulk ...........................319-240-9174 
MONONA  Katherine Hoeppner ...........712-420-1486
MONROE  Dallas Davis.........................641-777-2163
  Adam Arnold .......................641-777-2164
MONTGOMERY Todd Carrick ........................712-520-0507
MUSCATINE  Derrick Slutts ......................563-260-1223
O’BRIEN  Joe Yarkosky (east 1/2) .......712-260-1004
  John Sells (west 1/2)  ..........712-260-1019
OSCEOLA  Tait Anderson ......................712-260-1006
PAGE  Todd Carrick ........................712-520-0507
PALO ALTO  Chris Subbert ......................712-260-1009
PLYMOUTH  Chad Morrow .......................712-260-1023
POCAHONTAS  Nathan Haupert ...................712-330-8462
POLK  Nate Anderson ....................515-238-4849
  Austin Durnan .....................515-238-5006
  Will Brickel (east 1/2) ..........641-521-2003
POTTAWATTAMIE  Logan Christofferson .........712-249-2797
  Chris Anunson ....................402-980-0610
  Jacob Schaben ...................712-520-5570
  Richard Price (west 1/3) ......712-520-0121
POWESHIEK  John Steinbach ...................641-660-0741
RINGGOLD  Corey Carlton ......................641-414-2173
SAC  Michael Miller ......................712-661-9237
SCOTT  Nick Rocca ..........................563-349-9418
   Brooks VanDerBeek ...........563-349-8953
SHELBY  Aaron Johnson ...................712-249-2015
SIOUX  John Sells ............................712-260-1019
STORY  Brandon Bergquist .............515-290-0177
  Jeffrey Barnes .....................515-290-4907
TAMA  Brett Reece ..........................641-751-0931
TAYLOR  Andrea Bevington ...............712-520-0508
UNION Corey Carlton ......................641-414-2173
VAN BUREN  Chris Flynn ..........................641-919-9115
WAPELLO  Chad Horn ...........................641-777-7805 
  Bob Stuchel .........................641-777-2169
WARREN  Allen Crouse ........................515-238-4847
WASHINGTON  Wesley Gould ......................641-660-3441
WAYNE  Kyle Jensen .........................641-414-2175
WEBSTER  Bill Spece .............................515-571-0127
WINNEBAGO  Michael Strausser ...............641-425-0821
WINNESHIEK  Brian Roffman .....................563-380-0496
WOODBURY  Steven Griebel .....................712-301-4009
  Kirby Bragg .........................712-870-2791 
  Stacey Bragg .......................712-301-6735
WORTH  Michael Strausser ...............641-425-0821
WRIGHT  Ben Bergman ......................641-425-0823
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Through purchase of licenses, stamps 
and manufacturers’ taxes on firearms, 
ammunition and other outdoor equip-
ment, hunters and trappers continue 
to support the acquisition, develop-
ment and management of Iowa’s 
wildlife areas.

PUBLIC NONDISCRIMINATION & EQUAL OPPORTUNITY 
Federal and State law prohibits discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, mental and/or physical 
disability, gender identity, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex, or sexual orientation in employ-
ment and public accommodation. If you believe you have been discriminated against in any program, ac-
tivity or facility as described above, or if you desire further information, please contact the Iowa Civil Rights 
Commission at 1-800-457-4416 or DNR’s Civil Rights Coordinators at civilrights@dnr.iowa.gov.  

This agency receives Federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, which prohibits 
discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, sex, or disability. If you believe you have 
been discriminated against in any program, activity or facility on these bases, or if you desire further infor-
mation, please contact DNR’s Civil Rights Coordinators at civilrights@dnr.iowa.gov or write to: 
Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Civil Rights
U.S. Department of the Interior
1849 C Street, NW
Washington, D.C. 20240

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATIONS & ALTERNATIVE FORMATS
If you need accommodations to access the DNR’s programs or services because of a disability, re-
quests may be made by contacting your local field office or the department’s ADA coordinator at 515-
725-8200.

This information is available in alternative formats upon request by contacting the DNR at 515-725-
8200. TTY users - Contact Relay Iowa at 800-735-2942.

Iowa Dept of Natural Resources
6200 Park Avenue, Suite 200
Des Moines, Iowa 50321
515-725-8200
www.iowadnr.gov
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Habitat is keyHabitat is key

Download from 
the App Store 

or Google Play Store

Scan to 
download

the app

Download the 
go outdoors iowa app 
and buy yours today

IOWA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

• Wildlife needs quality habitat to survive
• The Habitat Fee provides important funding  
to acquire and develop public wild places

• These places support local and  
migrating wildlife

• Anyone can buy a Habitat Fee
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330 S. Main St | Lidderdale, IA 
|712-822-5780  snareshop.com

Monday-Friday: 8AM-5PM;
Saturday: 9AM-3PM; Closed Sunday.

IOWA’S PREMIER OUTFITTER!

ENJOY OUR IN-STORE EXPERIENCE
OR SHOP ONLINE www.snareshop.com
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