Learn to Hunt
Report Your Harvest
Current Fishing Report
Taking Kids Fishing
Iowa's natural resources plates include the state bird and flower, pheasant, eagle, buck and a Brook trout. Support conservation in Iowa by buying a natural resource plate for your vehicle.
Natural Resource Plates
Experience Iowa's natural beauty and all the fun our state parks offer. Make your online reservation for state park cabins, camping sites, shelters and lodges.
Support conservation in Iowa by buying a natural resource plate for your vehicle.
Natural Resource Plates
Iowa DNR Customer Service
Mon - Fri, 8:00am - 4:30pm CST
Submit Online Inquiry
Information / Records Requests
Contact Information by County
ATV riders in the state of Iowa who are ages 12 through 17 are required to have taken and passed an ATV education course and have an education certificate in their possession when riding on public land, public ice, and designated riding areas and trails, if these areas are signed open to ATV use. This also applies to nonresident riders.
The focus of the DNR ATV Education Program is to provide an education course that reduces the rate of accidents, injuries, property damage, and fatalities, while at the same time promoting the development of environmental stewards by educating our students about environmental concerns, energy conservation and proper maintenance of ATVs, and promoting the practice of only riding in legal areas and with landowner permission.
The DNR has collaborated with Fresh Air Educators to make an online certification offering available for the ATV Education Program. The curriculum underwent a thorough review with industry leaders as well as representatives from numerous state agencies responsible for ATV safety education. State-specific information regarding riding opportunities, laws, and regulations is a component of the course.
This is a managed course which features interactive exercises for students as well as narrated content to assist with different learning styles. The study guide is free to all users, as well as Chapter 1 of the course. In order to progress past Chapter 1, students will be required to register for the course. The course fee is $34.95, which includes the $5 DNR fee for the education certificate. Students must pass a chapter quiz in order to progress to the next chapter and must pass a final exam with 80% accuracy to earn their certificate. There is no riding component for this course.
Topics covered by the course include, but are not limited to, parts of the machine and how they work, riding positions and when to use them, safety gear, personal responsibility, and conservation principles.
Upon successful completion of the course, students will be able to download their ATV Education Certificate and be ready to hit the trails. Students must be 12 or older to earn their ATV education certificate through ATVCourse.com.
For information about the program, please contact Rhonda Fowler, ATV Education Coordinator, at 515-725-8490 or Rhonda.Fowler@dnr.iowa.gov.