Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

State Preserves Advisory Board meets June 28

  • 6/26/2018 11:46:00 AM
  • View Count 2853
  • Return

The State Preserves Advisory Board of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources will meet at 10 a.m., June 28, in Room 2 North Air Quality in the Wallace State Office Building, 502 East Ninth Street, in Des Moines.

The meeting is open to the public. Any person attending the public meeting and has special requirements such as those related to mobility or hearing impairments should contact the DNR or ADA Coordinator at 515-725-8200, Relay Iowa TTY Service 800-735-7942, or, and advise of specific needs.

Members of the State Preserves Advisory Board are Rebecca Kauten, Tony Caligiuri, Kirk Larsen, Leesa McNeil, Perry Thostenson and Barbara Schroeder. The acting director of the DNR is Bruce Trautman.

The following is the June 28 agenda.

  • Approve Agenda
  • Approve minutes of three previous meetings
  • Recognition of new and departing members
  • Five Ridge Prairie State Preserve hunting regulations– request by the Plymouth County Conservation Board to allow hunting of coyotes during designated seasons on the Five Ridge Prairie Area
  • Starr’s Cave State Preserve trail update
  • Hayden Prairie State Preserve - proposal by Winneshiek County Conservation Board to harvest seed from Hayden Prairie State Preserve to establish new plantings at Chipera Prairie Natural Area and Neste Valley Recreation Area.
  • Strasser Woods State Preserve – proposal by the Des Moines Parks & Recreation Department to build a small diversion trench to redirect water away from the Fourmile Creek Bicycle Trail and into its former course into a natural wetland.
  • Preserve updates
  • Open discussion
  • Election of chair – nomination to replace retiring chair, Leesa McNeil.
  • Select dates for remaining 2018 meetings.

For more information, contact John Pearson at 515-669-7614.