

STATE PARK LODGE/SHELTER RENTAL KEG BEER POLICY AND PROCEDURES

Definitions:

"Beer" is defined in Iowa Code 123.3(7). The alcohol content of beer cannot exceed six and twenty-five hundredths percent by weight.

"Kegger" or "Keg Event" means a gathering of two or more persons at which beer is dispensed from a keg or other container larger than one gallon.

Any person wishing to have a keg event with a lodge/shelter rental should fill out a keg beer permit <u>30 days prior</u> to the rental. The completed keg beer permit must be sent to the appropriate state park office where the rental is taking place. It is recommended that you contact the park office before sending in the permit application to discuss any details involving the rental and keg event.

The following procedure applies:

- 1. A designated agent shall be named who shall sign the keg beer permit/responsibility agreement. <u>Please be sure to write down the reservation confirmation number.</u> (attached)
- 2. The designated agent shall be available for personal contact by Department of Natural Resources park staff at all times while the keg event is being held.
- 3. Lodges/Shelters: The designated agent shall pay a deposit of \$100 per 100 people to the Department of Natural Resources for park staff to hold as a damage deposit for the keg beer permit. The keg beer deposit will be waived in lieu of the damage deposit for the rental facility if it is greater than the keg beer deposit amount. See rental rules regarding when payment should be made.
- 4. The agent shall assume responsibility to assure that all state laws are complied with in the conduct of persons attending the keg event and that the area used for the keg event is left in a clean, unlittered condition and no state property damaged beyond the extent of normal wear and tear.
- 5. Conducting or continuation of the keg event shall be contingent upon the persons involved complying with all applicable state laws including but not limited to Iowa Code section 123.47 and Iowa Code 461A and rules promulgated under those chapters.
- 6. The agent shall inform Department of Natural Resources park staff when the keg event is concluded and attendees have left the area.

DAMAGE DEPOSIT INFORMATION:

The damage deposit shall be refunded in full or on a prorated basis depending upon the condition in which the site is left after the keg event is held. If it is necessary for Department of Natural Resources personnel to clean up the area or repair any damage beyond ordinary wear and tear, a log of the time spent in such clean up or repair shall be kept. The damage deposit refund shall be reduced by an amount equivalent to the applicable hourly wage of the employees for the time necessary to clean the area or repair the damage.

The damage deposit is not to be construed as a limit of liability for damage to state property. The Department of Natural Resources may take any legal action necessary to recover additional damage.

03/2021 cmc DNR Form 542-8163



Responsibility Agreement/ Keg Permit

I/We, the undersigned, being of 21 years of	age or older, and des	siring to entertain our	selves and others	at:
rea: Date:				
agree to leave the site used in the same conduring our stay, within the time period agree area by ourselves or our guests, agree to ensunderage persons, agree not to interfere wit regulations and all laws of this state.	ed to, agree to be res sure compliance with	sponsible for any dam n lowa law respecting	ages done to prop the possession of	perty within the beer by
Dated this day of	20			
Signature of Applicant: (Read reverse side be	efore signing.)			
Identification Information:	<u> </u>			
Applicant's Name & Address	Phone No.	Driver's License No.	Vehicle License	Damage Deposit Amt
Reservation #:	-			
REFUND RECEIPT				
Date	Received of			
for Department of Natural Resources \$	retu	rn of deposit (or porti	on thereof) from a	above agreement.
	Ag	ent		
DEPOSIT RECEIPT				
Date	Received of			
\$ for deposit required by	o Iowa Administrative	e Code Section 571-63	5.5(3).	
	 De	partment of Natural F	Resources	

03/2021 cmc DNR Form 542-8163

Following is Section 123.47 of the Code of Iowa, with which you have agreed to assure compliance:

123.47 Persons under legal age -- penalty.

- 1. A person shall not sell, give, or otherwise supply alcoholic liquor, wine, or beer to any person knowing or having reasonable cause to believe that person to be under legal age.
- 2. A person or persons under legal age shall not purchase or attempt to purchase, or individually or jointly have alcoholic liquor, wine, or beer in their possession or control; except in the case of liquor, wine, or beer given or dispensed to a person under legal age within a private home and with the knowledge, presence, and consent of the parent or guardian, for beverage or medicinal purposes or as administered to the person by either a physician or dentist for medicinal purposes and except to the extent that a person under legal age may handle alcoholic beverages, wine, and beer during the regular course of the person's employment by a liquor control licensee, or wine or beer permittee under this chapter.

You are also reminded of the following state law regarding vehicle operation:

321J.2 Operating while under the influence of alcohol or a drug or while having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more (OWI).

- 1. A person commits the offense of operating while intoxicated if the person operates a motor vehicle in this state in any of the following conditions:
 - a. While under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or other drug or a combination of such substances.
 - b. While having an alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
 - c. While any amount of a controlled substance is present in the person, as measured in the person's blood or urine.

The applicant signing this permit understands and agrees that neither the state of lowa or the Department of Natural Resources will be responsible for any injury to persons or damage to property arising out of or incident to the activities which are the subject of this application. The undersigned applicant agrees by the execution hereof to indemnify and hold harmless the State of Iowa and the Department of Natural Resources against all liabilities, costs, and expenses which may arise in consequence of the granting of this permit.

03/2021 cmc DNR Form 542-8163