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This is a SUMMARY of rules and regulations you need to fish in Iowa. It is not 
a complete list of all fishing regulations nor is it a legal document. For more 
information, visit www.iowadnr.gov or contact the DNR Central Office in Des 
Moines at 515-725-8200.



2 Let's Go Fishing

License and Permit Fees 
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Hook a memory - don’t let go!  
No matter where you live, you’re just a few minutes away from a relaxing time with friends and 

family. With hundreds of Iowa lakes, thousands of miles of rivers or a nearby pond – you are never far 
from great fishing.

Many of Iowa’s largest cities’ parks and residential areas have public fishing ponds – perfect for 
busy families to “hook” memories in a fun setting close to home. Quickly find a fishing hot spot near 
you with our interactive community fishing atlas on our website at www.iowadnr.gov/fishlocal.

Enticing a fish to bite your hook is fun for all ages. Fishing is a great way to celebrate birthdays 
and other special family occasions. Make lasting memories together and put your worries behind you. 

About 50,000 Iowans buy their first fishing license each year. Over half of these new anglers don’t 
feel comfortable going fishing by themselves. Help ensure Iowa’s great fishing legacy will continue for 
generations to come – invite a kid, friend or neighbor to go fishing with you. Fishing license sales help 
protect and enhance quality fish populations and opportunities for all Iowans. 

Joe G. Larscheid, Chief of Fisheries

License/Permit Resident 
On Sale Dec. 15, 2019

Nonresident 
On Sale Jan. 1, 2020

Annual 16 years old and older $22.00 $48.00
3-Year $62.00 Not Available
7-Day $15.50 $37.50
3-Day Not Available $20.50
1-Day $10.50 $12.00
Annual Third Line Fishing Permit   $14.00 $14.00
Trout Fee $14.50 $17.50
Lifetime (65 years old and older) $61.50 Not Available
Boundary Water Sport Trotline $26.00 $49.50
Fishing Tournament Permit $25.00 $25.00
Fishing, Hunting, Habitat Fee Combo  $55.00 Not Available
Paddlefish Fishing License & Tag $25.50 $49.00

What’s New? 
•	 New licensing system and mobile app 

- buy, store, and auto-renew your fishing 
license with our Go Outdoors Iowa licens-
ing system at www.iowadnr.gov/GoOut-
doorsIowa. 

•	 Logan’s Law - you can register to be an  
organ, eye and tissue donor when you 
buy your Iowa fishing and hunting licens-
es. (p. 3).

•	 New crayfish harvest regulation at 
Storm Lake - crayfish collected for bait 
from Storm Lake for personal use can 
only be used in Storm Lake. Licensed bait 
dealers cannot harvest any crayfish from 
Storm Lake (p. 5). 
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Be a Responsible Angler
•	 Be considerate of anglers with special physical 

needs when fishing universally accessible facili-
ties.

•	 Clean up any litter you bring with you and pick 
up trash, even if you didn’t leave it.

•	 Recycle used fishing line and bait containers.
•	 Do not spill gas, oil or other pollutants on land or 

into the water.
•	 Take precautions not to spread invasive plants 

or animals (see p. 18).
•	 Report fishing and boating violations at 1-800-

532-2020.
•	 Obey all fishing regulations.
•	 Be courteous and respectful to all anglers and 

boaters.
•	 Sinkers, including split shots, are now made 

from steel, tin, bismuth and tungsten for anglers 
concerned about using lead tackle.

License and Permit Requirements
You can take fish, mussels, turtles, frogs and bait 

with a sport fishing license according to the regula-
tions listed in this booklet. You cannot buy or sell, 
dead or live, a fish, mussel, turtle, frog or bait 
with a sport fishing license. 

Who Needs a Fishing License
Iowa residents and nonresidents 16 years and 

older must have a valid fishing license on their per-
son while fishing, and have paid all applicable fees. 

License Exceptions: You do not need a fish-
ing license if...
 You are a resident or nonresident under 16 years 
old.
 You are a minor pupil of the state school for the 
deaf, or minor inmate of other state institutions un-
der the Department of Human Services (not includ-
ing inmates in state penal institutions).
 You are a patient of a substance abuse facility 
and supervised by an employee of the facility while 
fishing, and the facility has been issued a permit 
from the DNR. A person supervising a group may 
fish with the group and is not required to have a 
fishing license.
 You are on active duty with the Armed Forces of 
the U.S., on authorized leave from a duty station 
outside of Iowa and qualify as an Iowa resident. You 
must carry your leave papers and a copy of your 
current earnings statement showing a tax deduction 
for Iowa income taxes while fishing. In lieu of the 

earnings statement, you may claim residency by be-
ing registered to vote in Iowa. 
 You are a resident or nonresident landowner or 
tenant fishing on your land. Your children under age 
18 can also fish without a license on your land.

Buying a License
The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is 

required to collect social security numbers from 
anyone getting a hunting, fishing or other recre-
ational license under section 252J.8 of the Code of 
Iowa and 42 U.S. Code 666(a)(13). Your social se-
curity number is your principal identification number 
to determine if you are eligible for licenses. It will 
be provided to enforcement agencies to establish, 
modify and enforce child support and tax obliga-
tions. It WILL NOT appear on your hunting or fishing 
license. 

Logan’s Law, named after Logan Luft, was 
enacted in 2019. You can now register to be an 
organ, eye and tissue donor when you buy your 
Iowa fishing and hunting licenses, similar to when 
you get or renew your driver’s license. For more 
information, visit www.iowadnr.gov/loganslaw.

Requirements to Buy Resident 
Licenses

A nonresident does not live in Iowa. NOTE: 
Iowa residents who have previously hunted, fished 
and/or trapped as nonresidents should plan ahead 
to get license privileges as soon as possible. The 
electronic licensing system for hunting, fishing and 
trapping automatically identifies people who have 
previously bought licenses as nonresidents. This 
law change was made to identify a growing problem 
in Iowa of nonresidents falsifying records to illegally 
get (invalid) resident licenses. If you previously 
bought a nonresident Iowa license, but are now 
eligible for resident licenses, you must fill out and 
return a form available at www.iowadnr.gov/fish-
ing. License vendors CANNOT make this change 
at the point of sale and it cannot be done over the 
phone. Contact the local conservation officer for 
more information (p. 23).

A resident must meet one of the following crite-
ria. 

1. Iowa has been your principal and main resi-
dence or domicile for at least 90 consecutive days 
immediately before you apply for or buy a resident 
license and you have an Iowa driver’s license or 
non-operator’s ID. Factors to determine your domi-
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cile include, but are not limited to, place of employ-
ment, mailing (street) address, utility records, real 
estate records, vehicle registrations and addresses 
listed on your state and federal income tax records.

You are not considered a resident under this 
paragraph if you live in Iowa only for a special or 
temporary purpose including, but not limited to, 
hunting, fishing or trapping. 

2. You are a full-time student at an accredited 
educational institution in Iowa and live in Iowa while 
attending the educational institution, or are a full-
time student under 25 years of age at an accredited 
educational institution outside the state as long as 
at least one parent or legal guardian maintains a 
principal and main residence in Iowa. 

3. You are a student who qualifies as a resident 
pursuant to the above paragraph only to buy any 
resident license specified in section 483A.1 or 
484A.2.

4. You are a nonresident under 18 years of age 
with a parent who is a legal resident of Iowa.

5. You are a member of the Armed Forces of the 
United States who is serving on active duty, claims 
residency in Iowa, and has filed a state individual 
income tax return for the preceding year, or is sta-
tioned in Iowa. 

Dual Residency Not Permitted: Unless you 
qualify under 2, 3, 4 or 5 in the previous section, 
you cannot buy or apply for any resident license or 
permit if you have claimed residency in any other 
state or country. 

Special Licenses for Residents
Applications for and help with these special 

licenses are available at the DNR central office by 
calling 515-725-8200, or DNR offices (p. 20) that 
sell hunting and fishing licenses.

1) Free Annual Fishing or Combination Hunting 
and Fishing licenses - Available to low-income Iowa 
residents 65 years or older, or low-income perma-
nently disabled residents.

2) Disabled Veteran’s License - Available to Iowa 
residents who served for a minimum aggregate of 
90 days of active federal service and who have a 
service-connected disability, or were a prisoner of 
war during their military service. 

Trout Fee
Iowa residents and nonresidents who are re-

quired to have a fishing license must pay the Trout 
Fee to fish for or possess trout. Exception: Iowa 

residents and nonresidents under 16 years old may 
possess or fish for trout without having paid the 
Trout Fee if they fish with a properly licensed adult 
who has paid the Trout Fee and together they limit 
their catch to the one person daily limit of five trout. 
Children under 16 can buy their own trout privilege, 
which lets them fish without a properly licensed 
adult and keep their own daily limit (5).

Littering Public Waters
You cannot throw or deposit cans, bottles, gar-

bage, rubbish or other debris, onto or in any Iowa 
waters, ice or land.

Threatened & Endangered Species
You cannot take, possess, transport, im-

port, export, process, sell or offer for sale, buy 
or offer to buy, nor can a common or contract 
carrier transport or receive for shipment any 
of the following species of fish, frogs, turtles, 
mussels or salamanders:
Fish: Lake Sturgeon, Pallid Sturgeon, Pug-
nose Shiner, Weed Shiner, Pearl Dace, Freck-
led Madtom, Bluntnose Darter, Least Darter, 
American Brook Lamprey, Chestnut Lamprey, 
Grass Pickerel, Blacknose Shiner, Western 
Sand Darter, Black Redhorse, Burbot, Oran-
gethroat Darter, Topeka Shiner
Frogs: Crawfish Frog 
Turtles: Yellow Mud Turtle, Wood Turtle, Or-
nate Box Turtle, Common Musk Turtle, Bland-
ing’s Turtle 
Mussels: Spectacle Case, Slippershell, 
Buckhorn, Ozark Pigtoe, Bullhead, Ohio River 
Pigtoe, Slough Sandshell, Yellow Sandshell, 
Cylinder, Strange Floater, Creek Heelsplitter, 
Purple Pimpleback, Butterfly, Ellipse and the 
Higgin’s Eye Pearly Mussel 
Salamanders: Blue-spotted Salamander, 
Central Newt and the Mudpuppy.
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General Fishing Regulations
Artificial Light

You may use artificial light to take any fish except 
species listed as threatened or endangered (p. 4).

Bait Definitions
“Bait” includes, but is not limited to, minnows, 

Green Sunfish, Orange-spotted Sunfish, live or 
dead Gizzard Shad, frogs, crayfish, salamanders 
and mussels. “Minnows” are chubs, shiners, suck-
ers, dace, stonerollers, mudminnows, redhorse, 
Bluntnose and Fathead Minnows. You can only take 
live mussels from the Mississippi River and its con-
nected backwaters. The daily and possession limit 
is 24 live mussels (p. 10). You cannot possess 
live Gizzard Shad at any lake.

Bait Collection
You need a valid sport fishing license to collect 

bait for individual use. You can use minnow traps 
not more than 3 feet long. Each trap, when in use, 
must have a metal tag attached plainly labeled 
with the owner’s name and address. You can use 
a minnow dip net not larger than 4 feet in diameter, 
a cast net not larger than 10 feet in diameter and a 
minnow seine not longer than 20 feet with mesh not 
smaller than one-quarter inch bar measure.

Crayfish collected from Storm Lake for per-
sonal use can only be used in Storm Lake and 
cannot be transported live from the lake. 

You cannot take or try to take bait for commercial 
purposes from any Iowa waters, or transport min-
nows without a bait dealer’s license. “Commercial 
purposes” are selling, giving or furnishing to others. 
Bait dealers must notify their DNR conservation offi-
cer before operating. The licensee must be present 
with license in hand when bait is collected. Licensed 
bait dealers may use minnow seines not longer than 
50 feet. Licensed bait dealers cannot harvest 
any crayfish species from Storm Lake.

Bait Dumping
It is against the law to dump bait in Iowa lakes, 

rivers or streams. Throw away unwanted bait in the 
trash. If keeping bait, you must exchange water 
in the bait buckets with tap or bottled water before 
you leave any waterbody to prevent the spread of 
aquatic invasive species (p. 18). 

Boundary Water Sport Trotline
You can use a maximum of four trotlines with  

200 hooks with a boundary water sport trotline 
license in the Mississippi, Missouri and Big Sioux 
Rivers. All boundary water sport trotlines must have 
the owner’s name and address on a metal tag at-
tached above the waterline. You cannot sell fish 
with a boundary water sport trotline license. 

Definition of “Limits”
“Daily bag limit” is the number of fish you may 

harvest in a day. “Possession limit” is the number 
of fish you can store in your possession until con-
sumed. Fish immediately released unharmed are 
not part of either limit.

Any fish taken into possession by holding in a 
live well, on a stringer, or in other fish holding de-
vices is part of the daily bag limit. Once you reach 
the daily bag limit of a species, you can still fish for 
that species, but you must immediately release all 
fish caught.

Culling or Sorting
You cannot sort, cull, high-grade or replace any 

fish already in your possession. Participants in 
DNR-permitted Black Bass and catfish (five fish per 
boat restriction) tournaments are exempted. Orga-
nizers of DNR-permitted catch and release Black 
Bass (Largemouth, Smallmouth or Spotted) fishing 
tournaments can request exemption to the daily bag 
and size limit regulations, so participants of these 
tournaments can possess up to five bass of any 
length.

Fishing Tournament Permits
You need a permit issued by the DNR to conduct 

a fishing tournament on public waters under the ju-
risdiction of the state. Fishing clinics and youth fish-
ing days are excluded. “Fishing tournament” means 
any organized fishing event, except for department-
sponsored fishing events held for educational pur-
poses, involving any of the following: (1) six or more 
boats or 12 or more participants, except for water 
of the Mississippi River, where the number of boats 
is 20 or more and the number of participants is 40 
or more; (2) an entry fee is charged; and (3) prizes 
or other inducement are awarded. You must submit 
your application via the centralized special events 
application system at www.iowadnr.gov/fishing 
more than 30 days before the event. 

A tournament held on a boundary water (p. 16) 
must be permitted by the Iowa DNR for anglers to 
legally fish Iowa water, regardless in which state the 
tournament is based.
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Fishing Private Waters
Much fishing in Iowa is done on private waters 

with permission from the property owner. Iowa 
residents and nonresidents 16 years old and 
older must have a valid Iowa fishing license to 
fish private ponds and lakes, and trout streams. 
Only owners or tenants of land and their children 
under 18 may fish on such lands without a license. 
All anglers on private waters must obey rules and 
regulations governing fishing, including bag limits, 
except there is no daily bag limit for bluegill or crap-
pie on private waters. Statewide length limits do not 
apply on private waters.

Just because the DNR stocked a pond, does 
not open that pond to public fishing. When fishing 
privately owned waters, ask the property owner for 
permission to fish, do not block lanes and drive-
ways, close any gates opened, do not damage 
fences and leave the area clean and litter free.

Frogs - Catching & Selling
You cannot use any device, net, barrier or fence 

which stops frogs from having free access to and 
from the water. You cannot transport any frogs 
taken in Iowa across state lines. You can buy, sell or 
possess frogs or any portion of their carcasses that 
have been taken legally and shipped in from outside 
the state with a bait dealer’s license. Frogs may be 
used for food or bait. You can catch frogs on your 
own land for your own private use. 

Hooks
When fishing by hook-and-line, you cannot use 

more than two lines or more than two hooks on 
each line when still fishing or trolling. When fly fish-
ing, you cannot use more than two flies on one line. 
When you are trolling and bait casting, you cannot 
use more than two trolling spoons or artificial baits 
on one line. You can use a third line if you have a 
valid third line fishing permit. You cannot leave fish-
ing line or lines with hooks in the water unattended 
by being out of visual sight of the lines. One hook 
is a single, double or treble-pointed hook, and all 
hooks attached as a part of an artificial bait or lure 
are counted as one hook. An Alabama (umbrella) 
rig is not an artificial bait or lure.

Ice Fishing Shelters
Ice fishing shelters left unattended on land or 

water under the jurisdiction of the state, must have 
the owner’s name, street address and city in 4-inch 
or larger block letters (in a color contrasting to 
their background) on all sides, but do not need to 
be registered. Attach reflectors to all sides of any 
shelter left on the ice after sundown. Keep shelters 
unlocked while in use. Remove shelters from all 
state-owned lands and waters by Feb. 20 or ice 
melt, whichever comes first, unless the deadline is 
extended.

Identification of Catch
You cannot transport or possess fish on any 

waters of the state unless: a) the species can be 
identified easily by a portion of the skin (at least one 
square inch) including the scales left on each fish 
or fillet, and b) the length of fish can be determined 
when length limits apply. “Any waters of the state” 
includes from the bank or shoreline in addition to 
wading and by boat.

Jug Fishing
You cannot use more than two jugs or more than 

two hooks on each jug. You cannot leave the jugs 
in the water unattended by being out of visual sight 
of the jugs. You can fish with one pole with line and 
one jug or two jugs and no pole with line. You can 
fish a third line or jug if you have a valid third line 
fishing permit.

Mussel Taking
See p. 10 for possession limit. Licensed anglers 

and children younger than 16 years of age may 
lawfully take and possess mussel species other 
than those listed as threatened or endangered 
(p. 4). Zebra mussels (p. 18) shall not be taken or 
possessed. Native mussels in the Mississippi River 
often have zebra mussels attached to them. Re-
move zebra mussels by scrubbing with a stiff brush 
before any native mussels are transported. 

Prohibited Stocking
You cannot stock or introduce any live fish, 

except for hooked bait (see Bait Definitions on p. 
5), into public waters without the permission of the 
director of the DNR. Unauthorized stocking leads 
to the introduction of undesirable fish species such 
as Gizzard Shad, Yellow Bass, Common Carp and 
Asian Carp. When these species are stocked they 

Stay Connected - Catch Our Emails
Get the weekly fishing report and tips and hot spots 

delivered to your email inbox. 
www.iowadnr.gov/fishing/Fishing-Tips-How-Tos 



7www.iowadnr.gov/fishing

cause ecological and economic harm by displacing 
beneficial native plants and animals, and destroying 
the quality of the fishery resource. You cannot pos-
sess live Gizzard Shad at any lake. This does not 
apply to privately owned ponds and lakes.

Showing License & Catch to Officer
When requested, you must show your license 

and any required fee to any conservation or law en-
forcement officer or to the owner or person in legal 
control of the land or water you are fishing. You also 
must show your catch to the conservation officer if 
asked. 

Tip-Up Fishing Device
A “tip-up” is an ice fishing device with an attached 

flag or signal to show fishing action, used to hold 
fishing line and a hook. You may fish a combination 
of one tip-up and one additional line, or two tip-ups 
and no additional lines. You can use an additional 
line or tip-up if you have a third line fishing permit.

When fishing the Mississippi, Missouri and Big 
Sioux Rivers and their connected backwaters, the 
following regulations apply: you can use up to three 
tip-up fishing devices. You can use two or three 
hooks on the same line, but the total number of 
hooks each person uses cannot exceed three. Each 
tip-up fishing device must have a tag attached, 
plainly labeled with the owner’s name and address. 
You cannot use a tip-up fishing device within 300 
feet of a dam or spillway or in a part of the river 
which is closed or posted against use of the device. 
Three tip-up fishing devices may be used in addition 
to two lines with no more than two hooks per line.

Trotlines
“Trotlines” as used in this section refers to lines 

commonly called “tagged lines,” “throw lines,” 
“banklines,” “ditty lines,” “ditty poles” and other 
names.

You can use trotlines in all Iowa rivers and 
streams, except those in Mitchell, Howard, Win-
neshiek, Allamakee, Fayette, Clayton, Delaware, 
Dubuque and Jackson counties. Trotlines may be 
used in the above nine counties only in the follow-
ing stream sections: Mississippi River; Maquoketa 
River, mouth to Backbone State Park dam; North 
Fork Maquoketa River, mouth to Jones-Dubuque 
county line; Turkey River, mouth to Elkader dam; 
and Upper Iowa River, mouth to the first dam up-
stream in Winneshiek County.

You cannot use more than five trotlines with 
a valid sport fishing license. These trotlines can-
not have more than 15 hooks total. Each separate 
line must have a tag attached, plainly labeled with 
the owner’s name and address. You must check 
the line at least once every 24 hours. Remove all 
trotlines and parts from the shore if they are not be-
ing actively fished. A trotline is considered actively 
fished if at least once daily the trotline is left with at 
least one baited hook in the water. You cannot use 
trotlines in a stocked lake or within 300 feet of a 
dam or spillway, or in a stream or portion of stream 
which is closed or posted against its use. One end 
of the line must be set from the shore and visible 
above the shore waterline. You cannot set the line 
entirely across a stream or body of water. Any con-
servation officer can remove untagged or unlawful 
lines.

Turtles
You can take and possess a maximum of 100 

pounds of live turtles or 50 pounds of dressed 
turtles with a valid sport fishing license. It is illegal 
to sell turtles taken on a sport fishing license. You 
must have a commercial turtle license to sell turtles, 
including parts and eggs. You cannot take turtle 
eggs from the wild.

Nonresidents can only take common snapping 
turtles, spiny softshells, smooth softshells and paint-
ed turtles from the Missouri, Mississippi and Big 
Sioux Rivers. Nonresidents cannot take any other 
turtles or crayfish anywhere else in the state. 	

Residents can take common snapping turtles, 
spiny softshells, smooth softshells and painted 
turtles. 

See p. 12 for turtle season dates and catch lim-
its.

Turtles can only be taken by hand, turtle hook, 
turtle trap or hook-and-line. You cannot sort, cull, 
high-grade or replace any turtle in your possession.
Turtle traps must have no more than one throat or 
funneling device. All turtle traps must have a func-
tional escape hole with a minimum diameter in all 
directions of 7-1/2 inches to let fish and small turtles 
pass through. The 7-1/2 inch escape hole on hoop 
style traps must be in the last hoop to the tail-line. 
Any unattended gear used to take turtles must have 
an all-weather gear tag with the owner’s name and 
address. All turtle traps must be lifted and emptied 
of their catch at least once every 72 hours.
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Unlawful Means
You can use gaff hooks or landing nets to help 

you land fish. You cannot use any grab hook, snag-
hook, any kind of net, seine, trap, firearm, dynamite 
or other explosives, or poisonous or stupefying 
substances, lime, ashes, electricity or hand fishing 
to take or try to take any fish. 

You must return to the water immediately all 
game fish not hooked in the mouth, except Paddle-
fish, with as little injury as possible.

Bow Fishing & Spearing
You can take rough fish and frogs by bow and 

arrow and spear with a valid sport fishing license. 
Bow fishing and spearing are allowed on public 
lakes, reservoirs and rivers, private ponds with 
permission and border waters described on p. 16. 
Some state parks, federal refuges and lakes con-
trolled by city and county governments may have 
additional regulations specific to bow fishing and 
spearing.

Bow Fishing, Spearing & Snagging
A valid sport fishing license lets you take Com-

mon Carp, Bighead Carp, 
Silver Carp, Grass Carp, 
Black Carp, Bigmouth Buf-
falo, Smallmouth Buffalo, 
Black Buffalo, Quillback, 
Highfin Carpsucker, River 
Carpsucker, Spotted Suck-
er, White Sucker, Short-
head Redhorse, Golden 
Redhorse, Silver Red-
horse, Freshwater Drum, 
Shortnose Gar, Longnose 
Gar, Bowfin, Gizzard Shad 
and Goldfish by snagging, bow fishing and spearing 
and Paddlefish (p. 11) by snagging. You cannot use 
a hook larger than a 5/0 treble hook or measuring 
more than 1 ¼ inches long when two of the hook 
points are placed on a ruler.

 Snagging is not permitted in the following 
areas: 1. Des Moines River from directly below 
Saylorville Dam to Southeast 14th St. bridge in 
Des Moines; 2. Cedar River in Cedar Rapids from 
directly below the 5 in 1 Dam under I-380 to the 1st 
Ave. bridge; 3. Cedar River in Cedar Rapids from 
directly below the “C” St. Roller Dam to 300 yards 
downstream; 4. Iowa River from directly below the 
Coralville Dam to 300 yards downstream; 5. Chari-

ton River from directly below Lake Rathbun Dam 
to 300 yards downstream; 6. Spillway area from 
directly below the Spirit Lake outlet to the conflu-
ence at East Okoboji Lake; 7. Northeast bank of the 
Des Moines River from directly below the Ottumwa 
Dam, including the catwalk, to the Jefferson St. 
bridge. Snagging from the South Market St. bridge 
is also prohibited; 8. Missouri River, any Missouri 
River tributary beginning at its confluence and 
extending below its Interstate 29 bridge and the Big 
Sioux River from the Interstate 29 bridge to the con-
fluence with the Missouri River with the exception of 
snagging Paddlefish and rough fish during the open 
season; 9. Des Moines River from directly below 
the hydroelectric dam (Big Dam) to the Hawkeye 
Avenue bridge in Fort Dodge; 10. Des Moines River 
from directly below the Little Dam to the Union Pa-
cific Railroad bridge in Fort Dodge; 11. Skunk River, 
from directly below the Oakland Mills Dam to the 
downstream end of the 253rd Street boat ramp. 

Snagging, bow and arrow fishing and spear-
ing is not permitted in the following areas: 
1. From the Ventura Grade roadway, jetties and 
bridges of Clear Lake and Ventura Marsh; 2. Within 
300 feet of the concrete culvert and metal fish bar-
rier of Lost Island Lake Inlet; 3. Within 300 feet of 
the outlet and metal fish barrier of Lost Island Lake 
Outlet; 4. Within 300 feet of the outlet and metal fish 
barrier of Barringer Slough; 5. Beginning at 230th 
Avenue and extending downstream to the signed 
Iowa Great Lakes Sanitary District property line of 
Lower Gar Lake outlet.

Health Benefits of Eating Fish
Most Iowa fish are low in saturated fats, have 

high quality protein, and important vitamins and 
minerals needed for a healthy diet for all ages. 
Some fish can also have omega-3 fatty acids 
that help keep your heart healthy and develop a 
child’s brain. 

The American Heart Association recommends 
that you enjoy at least two servings of baked or 
grilled fish each week, especially oily fish. 

Eating fish may protect against many diseases 
and illnesses in adults, such as cancer, heart 
disease, dementia, diabetes, depression, rheu-
matoid arthritis, psoriasis, prostate cancer, stroke 
and autoimmune disease.

Treble Hook

How to measure
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Fishing Seasons and Limits
Black Bass Largemouth, Smallmouth, Spotted bass combined
Season: All waters - Continuous
Daily Bag & Possession Limit: All Inland Waters and Interior Streams and River Impoundments 
- combined daily 3 and possession of 6. See p. 16 for boundary lakes.
Inland Waters1

Length Limits - public lakes, including Coralville, Rathbun, Saylorville and Red Rock reservoirs - 15-inch 
minimum except as otherwise posted; special regulations are posted at:
A. 16-inch minimum at Swan Lake (Carroll)
B. 18-inch minimum at lakes Ada Hayden (Story); Ahquabi, Hooper (Warren); Big Creek, Thomas 
Mitchell, Yellow Banks (Polk); Casey (Tama); Cold Springs (Cass); Green Valley (Union); Hendricks 
(Howard); Krumm (Jasper); Little Wall (Hamilton); Lost Grove (Scott); Mill Creek (O’Brien); Pleasant 
Creek (Linn); Smith (Kossuth); and South Prairie (Black Hawk) 
C. Catch and release only at lakes Brown (Jackson) and Wapello (Davis)
D. All 12 to 16-inch fish must be immediately released at Lake Hawthorn (Mahaska)

E. All 12 to 18-inch fish must be immediately released at Lake Sugema (Van Buren)
Interior Streams & River Impoundments
Length Limits - 12-inch minimum except all Black Bass caught from the following stream segments must be 
released alive immediately:
A. Cedar River (Mitchell) extending downstream from below the Otranto Dam as posted to the bridge on county 
road T26 south of St. Ansgar
B. Maquoketa River (Delaware) extending downstream from below Lake Delhi Dam as posted to the first county 
gravel road bridge
C. Middle Raccoon River (Guthrie) extending downstream from below Lennon Mills Dam as posted to the 
dam at Redfield
D. Upper Iowa River (Winneshiek) extending downstream from the Fifth Street bridge in Decorah as posted to 
the upper dam.
Boundary Rivers2

Daily Bag & Possession Limit: Boundary Rivers - combined daily 5 and possession of 10
Length Limits - 14-inch minimum on the Mississippi River and 12-inch minimum length limit on the Mis-
souri River. Associated chutes and backwaters of the border rivers are included where intermittent or 
constant flow occur. No length limit on the Big Sioux River. Browns Lake Mississippi River (Jackson) is 
catch and release only.

Bluegill, Crappie & Pumpkinseed
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limits: All waters - None
Daily Bag and Possession Limits 
Inland waters1 - 25 daily for Bluegill and 25 daily for crappie on public waters and no possession limit for 
either. No daily limit for Bluegill or crappie on private waters. See p. 16 for boundary lakes.
Boundary rivers2 - Missouri and Big Sioux Rivers - None. Mississippi River and connected backwaters; 
daily bag limit of 25 and possession limit of 50 for each of the following: Bluegill and Pumpkinseed com-
bined, and crappie.

Iowa is part of the agreement between participating states that prohibits a person whose hunting or fishing 
privileges are suspended in one state from participating in those activities in another state.

Wildlife Violator Compact
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Catfish Channel, Blue, Flathead Catfish combined & bullhead
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limits: All waters - None
Catfish Daily Bag & Possession Limits
Inland lakes - Catfish combined daily 8 and possession 30, except for Iowa boundary lakes listed on p. 16. 
No limit for bullheads.
Inland streams, Coralville, Rathbun, Red Rock and Saylorville Reservoirs - Catfish combined daily 15 
and combined possession 30. No limit for bullheads.
Boundary rivers2 same as streams except no bag or possession limit on the Mississippi River.

Muskellunge including Hybrids (Tiger) (Identification p. 14)
Season: All waters - Continuous except there is an open season on West Okoboji, East Okoboji and 
Spirit Lakes (Dickinson County) and on Iowa-Minnesota boundary lakes from May 21 through Nov. 30, 
each year.
Length Limits: All waters - 40 inches minimum length limit
Daily Bag & Possession Limits: All waters - Daily and possession of 1.

Frogs, except for the endangered crawfish frog
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limits: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limits: All waters - All frogs except bullfrogs and crawfish frogs combined 
daily: 48 and possession: 96. Bullfrogs combined daily and possession: 12. Crawfish frogs are protected as 
an endangered species. See p. 4.

Mussels All mussels except for those listed as threatened or endangered (p. 4) and the Zebra Mussel (p. 
18). The angler is responsible for the identification of the mussel species in possession.
Season: All waters - Continuous but the taking of mussels is restricted to the hours between sunrise and 
sunset.
Length Limit: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limit: Inland waters1, Missouri River and Big Sioux River - Only dead 
shells may be harvested. Mississippi River and connected backwaters, live and dead shells may be har-
vested. The possession limit for all waters is 24 whole mussels or 48 shell halves. See p. 6 “Mussel Tak-
ing.”

Northern Pike (Identification p. 14)
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limit: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limit
Inland waters1 - Daily of 3 and possession of 6. For boundary lakes, see p. 16.
Boundary rivers2 - Daily of 5 and possession of 10 on the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers and a daily of 6 
and possession of 12 on the Big Sioux River. 

Every angler should be prepared to release some of their catch. Whether you are practicing catch and re-
lease by choice or to comply with regulations, it is necessary to release the fish quickly. Find simple tips to 
give the fish you release the best chance for survival on the DNR website at www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/
Fishing-Tips-How-Tos/Catch-and-Release.

Catch and Release Tips
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Correct Measurement

Paddlefish
Season: Continuous open season on all interior waters, except you cannot snag in areas closed to snagging 
(p. 8). The open season on the Mississippi River is March 1 through April 15. Snagging for Paddlefish on the 
Mississippi River is restricted to the area within 500 yards below the navigation dams and their spillways. The 
open season on the Missouri and Big Sioux Rivers is Feb. 4 through April 30. The open area is limited to Iowa 
waters only on the Missouri River and the portion of the Big Sioux River along the Iowa and South Dakota bor-
der, starting at the Big Sioux River below the I-29 bridge to the Big Sioux River’s confluence with the Missouri 
River and in the Missouri River, including all backwater and sloughs and any Missouri River tributary starting 
at its confluence and extending below its I-29 bridge, starting at the Big Sioux River confluence and extending 
to the Hamburg Landing boat ramp. Snagging hours on the Big Sioux and Missouri Rivers is sunrise to sun-
set. You cannot use hooks larger than 5/0 treble or measuring more than 1-1/4 inch long when two of the hook 
points are placed on a ruler (p. 8). 
Length Limits: None, except for the Mississippi River where there is a 33-inch maximum length limit; and on 
the Big Sioux and Missouri Rivers, there is a 35-45-inch protected slot limit. You must immediately release alive 
all fish measuring 33 inches or more on the Mississippi River and 35-45 inches on the Big Sioux and Missouri 
Rivers. Measure the length of a Paddlefish from the front of the eye to the natural unaltered fork of the tail. (See 
illustration below). Use a flexible tape to measure along and over the center line contour of the fish while it is 
lying flat. You must immediately release alive all fish you do not take into possession. 
Daily Bag & Possession Limit: All waters - daily of 2 and possession of 4 except on the Big Sioux 
River, Missouri River and any Missouri River tributary to its I-29 bridge where you can buy up to 2 paddle-
fish tags each year. You can take 1 paddlefish with each paddlefish tag.
Big Sioux & Missouri Rivers Special License and Regulations:  
You must have a valid resident or nonresident fishing license in addition to the Paddlefish fishing license 
with unused tag(s) to fish for Paddlefish in the Big Sioux and Missouri Rivers. Residents and nonresidents 
under 16 years of age must have a Paddlefish fishing license and unused tag(s) to fish for Paddlefish. 
Licenses are available first come, first served - 950 resident licenses and 50 nonresident licenses are avail-
able each year. You can buy up to two tags per year - one from Dec. 15 to Dec. 31 and an additional tag 
from Jan. 1 to Jan. 7, or two tags if you didn’t buy one in December. To buy a license, go to www.iowadnr.
gov/fishing. Anglers with a Paddlefish fishing license and unused tag(s) can snag fish to catch Paddlefish 
and rough fish (see p. 8 for list). You cannot use a gaffe hook or other penetrating device to help land a 
snagged fish. Once you have caught and tagged a Paddlefish, you must stop snagging. Immediately upon 
taking into possession a legal Paddlefish, attach the valid current year transportation tag issued with the 
license to the fish’s lower jaw in a way that it cannot be removed without mutilating or destroying it. A dam-
aged tag or closed tag not attached to a Paddlefish is no longer valid. You cannot possess a Paddlefish 
fishing license or transportation tag issued to another angler, or tag a Paddlefish with a transportation tag 
issued to another angler. The transportation tag must be attached before you can move the carcass from 
the place of harvest and remain attached to the Paddlefish until it is processed for consumption. The Pad-
dlefish must remain intact except for the snout in front of the eye until the fish reaches the final processing 
place. The “final processing place” is defined as the angler’s residence or the location where consumption 
occurs. The transportation tag is proof of possession of the carcass by the licensee. 

Shovelnose Sturgeon (Identification p. 15)
Season: All waters - Continuous except no harvest allowed in Big Sioux River.
Length Limit: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limits: All waters - None, except the daily bag limit is 10 and possession 
limit is 20 in the Missouri River. You cannot sell eggs with a sport fishing license.

Measuring a Paddlefish
Measure from the front of the eye to the unaltered fork 
in the tail.
Measuring a Shovelnose Sturgeon
Measure from the tip of the snout to the unaltered fork in the tail. 

Measuring a Paddlefish and Shovelnose Sturgeon
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Threatened and Endangered Species (p. 4) 
Season: All waters - Closed

Trout Brook, Brown and Rainbow (Identification p. 15)
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limits: None, except a 14-inch minimum length limit for all trout in Spring Branch (Delaware), 
from the spring source to County Hwy. D5X as posted, and on Brown Trout only in portions of Bloody Run 
Creek (Clayton) where posted.  
Daily Bag & Possession: All waters - Combined daily of 5 and possession of 10.
Catch & Release Only:  You must release alive immediately all trout caught from the posted por-
tion of Hewett and Ensign Creeks; McLoud Run, South Pine Creek; and Waterloo Creek; and Brown 
Trout caught from French Creek and West Fork of French Creek; and Brook Trout caught from Casey 
Springs, Falcon Springs and Pine Spring Creek.
Artificial Lure Only: You can only use artificial lures in the posted areas of Bloody Run Creek, Ensign 
Creek and Hewett Creek (Ensign Hollow), French Creek, McLoud Run, South Pine Creek, Spring 
Branch, Waterloo Creek, Casey Springs, Falcon Springs and Pine Spring Creek. Artificial lures don’t 
contain or have added to them natural or human-made substances made to attract fish by taste or smell.

Walleye, Sauger & Saugeye (Identification p. 14)
Inland Waters
Season: Continuous except on West Okoboji Lake, East Okoboji Lake and Spirit Lake (Dickinson). The 
open season on West Okoboji Lake, East Okoboji Lake and Spirit Lake is from May 2, 2020 through Feb. 
14, 2021. 
Length Limit: None except for the special lakes which are posted or published below.
Daily Bag & Possession Limit: Combined daily 5 and combined possession limit of 10, except for 
special lakes listed below and boundary lakes listed on p. 16.
Special Walleye Restrictions: The lakes listed below have a daily bag limit of 3 and possession limit 
of 6 in addition to special length restrictions. 
Big Creek Lake (Polk) 15-inch minimum length limit, and no more than one Walleye longer than 20-inches 
may be taken per day; 
Clear Lake (Cerro Gordo) 14-inch minimum, and no more than one Walleye longer than 22-inches may be 
taken per day; 
Storm Lake (Buena Vista) and West Okoboji Lake, East Okoboji Lake, Spirit Lake, Upper Gar, Min-
newashta, Lower Gar (Dickinson) immediately release alive all 17 to 22-inch Walleyes; no more than one 
Walleye longer than 22 inches may be taken per day.
Boundary Rivers2

Season: Continuous 
Length Limit: A 15-inch minimum length limit applies to Walleye on all pools of the Mississippi River. In 
addition, you must immediately release alive all walleye from 20 to 27-inches caught from below Lock and 
Dam 11 at Dubuque to the Missouri state line, and no more than one Walleye above 27-inches may be 
taken per day on these pools.
DAILY BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT: Mississippi River combined daily 6 and combined possession of 12. 
Big Sioux and Missouri rivers - combined daily of 4 and possession of 8.   

Turtles Common Snapping, Spiny Softshell, Smooth Softshell and Painted
Season: All waters - Continuous for common snapping turtles; Open season for spiny softshell, smooth 
softshell and painted turtles is from July 16, 2020 to May 14, 2021.
Length Limits: None
Daily Bag & Possession: Daily of 4 common snapping, 1 spiny softshell or smooth softshell, 1 painted 
and possession of a maximum of 100 pounds of live turtles or 50 pounds of dressed turtles; the daily catch 
limit cannot exceed the possession limit.
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Yellow Bass, White Bass, Rock Bass & Hybrid (Wiper)
Season: All waters1 - Continuous
Length Limit: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limits:
Inland waters1 - None
Boundary rivers2 Missouri and Big Sioux Rivers - None. Mississippi River and connected backwaters; 
daily bag limit of 25 and possession limit of 50 for each of the following: White and Yellow bass combined, 
and Rock Bass. 

1 Inland waters of the state include all interior lakes and streams including: Green Island Lake and Slough 
(Jackson), Middle and Upper Sabula (Jackson) and Lake Odessa (Louisa).
2 Boundary rivers of the state include the Mississippi, Missouri, Des Moines (Van Buren and Lee) and Big 
Sioux and their backwater lakes and sloughs.

Visit the DNR fisheries website at www.iowadnr.gov/fishing to find out more about Iowa fish and fishing. 
Looking for information on hunting, boating and camping? Go to www.iowadnr.gov.

All Other Fish
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limits: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limits: All waters - None

Yellow Perch
Season: All waters - Continuous
Length Limit: All waters - None
Daily Bag & Possession Limits: All waters - Daily of 25 and possession of 50 except there is no 
daily or possession limit on the Missouri River. For Boundary lakes, see p. 16.
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Fish Identification
Walleye & Sauger
You need to know the difference between Walleye and Sauger due to differences in length limits. 

Sauger
Sauger do not have a white tip on 
the lower tail fin; back is crossed with 
several darker saddles or blotches 
extending down on both sides; dis-
tinct black spots on the forward 
(spiny) portion of the dorsal fin are 
aligned in rows.

Walleye 
Walleye have a white tip on the lower 
tail fin; do not have distinct blotches or 
mottling on the sides; forward (spiny) 
portion of the dorsal fin has dark 
streaks or blotches instead of distinct 
black spots.

Photo courtesy of Jim Negus, www.tnfish.org

Photo courtesy of Jim Negus, www.tnfish.org

Lakes and streams may contain muskie and Northern Pike. It is important to know the difference 
among members of the pike family to obey appropriate size, catch and possession limits.

Normally a bluish-green to gray on the back with ir-
regular rows of light-colored horizontal bean-shaped 
spots on the sides. There are five or fewer pores on 
each side of the lower jaw. The entire cheek and up-
per half of the gill cover is scaled.

Northern Pike

Iowa’s Pike Family

Usually are olive to dark gray with 
tiger-like vertical markings on the 
side. They have 6 to 8 pores on each 
side of the lower jaw. Only the upper 
half of both the cheek and gill cover 
is scaled.

Muskellunge

Muskie 6 to 8 pores per side Pike up to 5 pores per side
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Trout
Rainbow Trout

Brown Trout

Brook Trout 

Olive to greenish-blue above and silvery 
below with a prominent horizontal red band 
on the side. There are many small, dark 
spots on the body, dorsal fin and tail.

Olive to greenish-brown. The large black 
and reddish-orange spots on the sides 
of the fish have a pale border. The lower 
portions of the fish are yellow, fading to 
gray or white beneath. Browns have few or 
no spots on the tail fin.

Vivid white markings on the front edges of 
the lower fins. They also have light “worm-
like” markings on the back. General color: 
olive to gray-green.

Sturgeon images are courtesy of the Missouri Department of Conservation.

Sturgeon

Pallid Sturgeon
Endangered: If caught, release 
immediately, unharmed.
l Outer barbels twice as long as inner 
barbels
l Base of barbels “U” shaped, inner 
two set out in front
l Smooth belly

Lake Sturgeon
Endangered: If caught, release 
immediately, unharmed.
l Short snout turns up at end 
l Barbels are not fringed

Shovelnose Sturgeon
l Barbels all the same length
l Barbels straight across
l Rarely exceeds 4 pounds
l Belly is scaled
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A resident or nonresident with a 
valid Iowa fishing license 

Mississippi River Missouri River
Nebraska

Big Sioux River
South Dakota

Des Moines 
River Missouri3

Border Lakes 
MinnesotaWisconsin1 Illinois

May hook and line fish only X X
May hook and line fish, spear 
and archery fish

X X X4

May hook and line fish, spear 
and take minnows and crayfish 
for such fishing

X

May fish all sloughs and back-
waters connected with the main 
channel

X X X2 X3

May fish from a boat or the 
bank of either state

X X X X

May not fish from or attach any 
device or equipment to the main 
bank of the state where you are 
not licensed, cannot fish any 
tributary

X X

Must comply with the regula-
tions of the state in which you 
are fishing

X

When fishing in water in which 
you are not licensed you must 
comply with the state having the 
more restrictive regulations.

X X X X X4

1Wisconsin-Iowa - You only can fish in the waters of the Mississippi River lying between the Chi-
cago, Milwaukee and St. Paul railroad tracks on the Iowa side of the river and the Chicago, Burling-
ton and Quincy railroad tracks lying on the Wisconsin side of the river.
2Nebraska-Iowa - Waters of the Missouri River include all oxbows, sloughs, chutes and back-
waters that draw water from the Missouri River proper. Included are any oxbows, chutes and back-
waters separated from the river but through which the Iowa-Nebraska state line passes. In Desoto 
Bend Lake, you must obey federal refuge regulations.
3Missouri-Iowa - Included are any oxbow lakes separated from the river but through which the 
Iowa-Missouri state line passes.
4Minnesota-Iowa boundary lakes include Little Spirit Lake (Dickinson), Iowa Lake (Osceola), 
Burt (Swag) Lake (Kossuth), and Iowa and Tuttle (Okamanpeedan) Lakes (Emmet). The following 
species have a continuous open season with a daily bag and possession limit set forth below: Wall-
eye, Northern Pike and in combination Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass daily bag and possession 
limit three. There is no length limit for bass. Channel Catfish daily bag and possession limit eight. 
Crappie species and sunfish species (Bluegill, Pumpkinseed, Green Sunfish, Orangespotted Sun-
fish, Longear Sunfish, Warmouth and hybrids) in aggregate, bag and possession limit 25. Muskel-
lunge daily bag and possession limit one with an open season beginning May 21 through November 
30 and a 40-inch minimum length limit shall apply on all border lakes. Spearing or archery may be 
used to take carp, buffalo, Bowfin, Sheepshead, gar and Quillback Carpsucker. All species not listed 
above are subject to the inland regulations of the state and have a continuous open season. 

License Agreements with Bordering States
Fish privileges on boundary waters common to Iowa and a bordering state are mutually agreed 

upon by the neighboring states. You can fish boundary waters common to Iowa with a valid fishing 
license, but it is your responsibility to know which state you are fishing in and the regulations for the 
water that you are fishing. (See the following table).
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Health Advisories for Eating Fish
Every year, Iowa DNR biologists collect tissue 

samples of fish for laboratory analyses. Results 
of these analyses show that most fish are safe to 
eat even though trace amounts of chemicals may 
be present in fish tissue. Mercury and polychlori-
nated biphenyls (PCBs) are the chemicals most 
likely to accumulate in fish and exceed Iowa’s 
risk-based advisory levels that are based on guid-
ance provided by the Iowa Department of Public 
Health. 

Fish consumption advisories are issued wher-
ever it is confirmed that Iowa’s advisory levels are 
exceeded. Consumption advisories usually focus 
on predator and bottom-feeding species. Panfish 
(crappie, Bluegill, Yellow Perch) are generally 
safe to eat with almost no risk. 

In 2017, the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency (EPA) and Food and Drug Administra-

Do not eat more than 1 meal/week of, Advisory contaminant
Lake (County) 
Channel Catfish, PCBs
McKinley Lake (Union)
Largemouth Bass, Mercury
Chatfield Lake (Lee), Grade Lake (Clarke), Lake Geode (Henry), Lake Iowa (Iowa), Lake Keomah (Mahaska), 
Lake Miami (Monroe), Lake Wapello (Davis), Little River Lake (Decatur) Mormon Trail Lake (Adair), Nine Eagles 
Lake (Decatur), North Banner Lake (Warren), Pollmiller Park Lake (Lee), Red Haw Lake (Lucas), South Banner 
Lake (Warren), Upper Centerville Reservoir (Appanoose)
Snapping Turtle, Mercury
Pollmiller Park Lake (Lee)

Do not eat more than 1 meal/week of, Advisory contaminant  
River Reaches (County) 
Any Predator Fish, Mercury 
Cedar River from HWY 218 bridge at Floyd (Floyd) to the IA/MN state line (Mitchell), Iowa River from the upper 
end of Coralville Reservoir near Swisher (Johnson) to the dam in Iowa Falls (Hardin); Shell Rock River from the 
West Fork Cedar River confluence near Cedar Falls (Black Hawk) to the Winnebago River confluence near Rockford 
(Floyd); Turkey River from Mississippi River confluence near Millville (Clayton) to the Volga River confluence near 
Garber (Clayton); and West Fork Des Moines River from the East Fork Des Moines River confluence near Dakota 
City (Humboldt) to HWY15 south of West Bend (Humboldt/Pocahontas)
Any Fish, Mercury 
Upper Iowa River from County Road 76 near Dorchester (Allamakee) to County Road W20 (Bluffton Road) near 
Decorah (Winneshiek) 
Common Carp over 20 inches in length, PCBs
Mississippi River (Scott), Pool 15 at Davenport 
Smallmouth Bass, Mercury 
Volga River from Volga (Clayton) to its headwaters near Hawkeye (Fayette) including the Little Volga and North 
Branch Volga Rivers

Safe Eating Guidelines 

tion (FDA) updated the fish consumption advice 
for pregnant and nursing women, those planning 
to become pregnant and children (see www.
fda.gov/Food/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/
ucm534873.htm.) For fish caught in Iowa, the 
people listed above should limit their consumption 
to one meal per week of all larger size predator 
fish (e.g., Walleye and bass). Predator fish are 
more likely to have higher concentrations of mer-
cury; however, consumption of panfish by these 
higher risk individuals is considered safe unless 
otherwise posted.  

Find the most up to date list of consumption 
advisories at: www.iowadnr.gov/Environmen-
tal-Protection/Water-Quality/Water-Monitoring/
Fish-Tissue. New advisories are issued and 
existing advisories are removed, based on results 
of annual fish contaminant monitoring in Iowa. 
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Aquatic Invasive Species
Bighead Carp, Silver Carp, Eurasian watermilfoil, zebra mussels and other nonnative aquatic 

species threaten Iowa waters. These aquatic invaders do not occur naturally in our lakes and riv-
ers. When introduced into them, they can cause ecological and economic harm by displacing native 
plants and animals, damaging water resources and interfering with water-based recreation, includ-
ing fishing.

Eurasian Watermilfoil
Black Hawk, George Wyth Lake Bremer, Sweet Marsh, Martens Lake, Wilson 
Grove Pond Cerro Gordo, Blue Pit, Fin and Feather Lake Fremont, Percival 
Lake, Pinky’s Glen, Scott Lakes Hancock, Crystal Lake Kossuth, Siems Park 
Ponds, St. Benedicts Ponds Mills, Mile Hill Lake, Pony Creek Lake O’Brien, 
Mill Creek Lake Palo Alto, Sportsman’s Lake Polk, Sawgrass Park Pond Pot-
tawattamie, Carter Lake Story, Jennet Pond Tama, Otter Creek Marsh Pond 
Webster, Brushy Creek Lake Winnebago, Pammel Park Pond Worth, Willow 
Creek Multiple Counties, Mississippi River

County, Waterbody

Flowering Rush
Dubuque, Mississippi River Jackson, Mississippi River Polk, Walnut Creek

Zebra Mussels
Appanoose, Lake Rathbun Buena Vista, Storm Lake Cerro Gor-
do, Blue Pit, Bluebill Lake, Clear Lake Dickinson, Center Lake, 
Okoboji/Spirit Chain of Lakes Hancock, Crystal Lake Palo Alto, 
Lost Island Lake Wright, Lake Cornelia Multiple Counties, Mis-
sissippi River; Missouri River; Winnebago, Shell Rock, West Fork 
Cedar, Cedar, Iowa Rivers between Clear Lake and Mississippi 
River; Maquoketa River between Delhi and the Mississippi River

Brittle Naiad
Adair, 	Meadow Lake Benton, Hannen Lake, Rodgers Lake Black Hawk, 
George Wyth Lake Boone, Don Williams Lake Bremer, Martens Lake, 
Plainfield Lake Buchanan, Koutny Pond Carroll, Great Western Park 
Pond Cass, Cocklin Fish Farm Pond Crawford, Nelson Park Pond, Yel-
low Smoke Lake Davis, Lake Wapello Decatur, Nine Eagles Lake, Slip 
Bluff Lake Dubuque, Bergfeld Pond Fayette, Volga Lake Grundy, Grundy 
County Lake Guthrie, Springbrook Lake Hancock, Eldred Sherwood Lake 
Hardin, Lower Pine Lake, Upper Pine Lake, Meier Wildlife Area Lake Harri-
son, Willow Lake Henry, Lake Geode Howard, Lake Hendricks Ida, Craw-
ford Creek Lake, Moorehead Park Pond Iowa, Lake Iowa Johnson, Lake 

Macbride Jones, Central Park Lake Keokuk, Belva Deer Ponds Linn, Mt. Vernon Quarry, Murphy 
Lake, Pleasant Creek Lake Mahaska, White Oak Lake Marshall, Sand Lake Mills, Mile High Lake 
Monroe, Lake Miami O’Brien, Dog Creek Lake Polk, Horizon Park Pond Sac, Black Hawk Lake, 
Black Hawk Slough, Arrowhead Lake Shelby, Prairie Rose Lake Tama, Casey Lake Van Buren, 
Indian Lake, Lacey-Keosauqua Lake, Lake Sugema, Morris Park Pond, Tug Fork West Webster, 
Brushy Creek Lake Winneshiek, Lake Meyer Woodbury, Little Sioux Park Pond, Snyder Bend, 
Southwood Ponds Multiple Counties, Mississippi River
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Silver Carp, Bighead Carp

Silver Carp

Bighead Carp

For more information, call the Iowa DNR Aquatic Invasive Species Program at 515-290-0540 or go to 
www.iowadnr.gov/ais.

• CLEAN any plants, animals, or mud from your 
boat and equipment before you leave a water-
body.
• DRAIN water from all equipment (motor, live 
well, bilge, transom well, ballast system) before 
you leave a waterbody. Drain plugs must be 
removed at the water access and remain open 
during transport.
• DRY anything that comes into contact with 
water (boats, trailers, equipment, boots, cloth-
ing, dogs). Before transporting to another wa-
terbody either: Spray your boat and trailer with 
hot, high-pressure water; or Dry your boat and 
equipment for at least five days.
• Never release plants, fish, or animals into a 
waterbody unless they came out of that water-
body. Empty unwanted bait in the trash.

Do your part; help stop the spread of aquatic invasive species.
It’s the Law! 

Photo courtesy of Wildlife Forever

Aquatic Invasive Species Regulations
You cannot possess, introduce, buy, sell or transport aquatic invasive species in Iowa except 

when a species is being removed from watercraft and equipment at a water access, is caught and 
immediately killed or returned to the water from which it came, or is being transported in a sealed 
container for identification purposes. 

Rusty Crayfish

Photo courtesy of Wisconsin DNR

Clay, Elk Lake Dickinson, Okoboji/Spirit Chain of Lakes, Mill Creek Harrison, 
Desoto Bend Palo Alto, Lost Island Lake Wapello, Ottumwa Lagoon Wood-
bury, Snyder Bend Multiple Counties, Mississippi, Chariton, Des Moines, 
Skunk, Iowa, Cedar, Missouri, Big Sioux, Little Sioux, Nishnabotna, Nodaway, 
Maquoketa, Wapisipinicon and Platte rivers	

Buena Vista, Storm Lake
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How to Measure a Fish
Measure total length from the tip of the snout 

to the end of the tail with the fish laid flat, mouth 
closed and tail lobes pressed together. See p. 11 
for Paddlefish and Shovelnose Sturgeon mea-
surement.

Length Limits 
Length limits are an important tool in fish 

management. Length limits are used in Iowa to 
protect important predator species such as bass, 
Walleye, muskie and trout from overharvest.

Length limits are also used to provide larger 
quality size fish to catch. Length limits are not 
the cure-all to better fishing. Improved fishing 
opportunities exist where anglers obey the law 
and return fish outside the length limit un-
harmed to grow and be caught again.

	 Estimate the weight of a released fish with the following formula: sunfish, Walleye, Northern Pike, 
muskie and Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass, take the length in inches and multiply it by itself 3 
times. 
	 Divide that total by the following number for each species: sunfish, divide by 1,200; Walleye, 
divide by 2,700;  Northern Pike and muskie divide by 3,500; Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass, 
divide by 1,600; catfish, divide by 3,300.
	 For example, a 20-inch Largemouth Bass.  
First multiply 20 x 20 x 20 (20 x 20 = 400, 20 x 400 =8,000) then divide 8,000 by 1,600 = 5  
You have just released a 5-pound Largemouth Bass!
	 For trout, multiply the girth (distance around the body) by itself and then multiply that value by the 
fish’s length and divide by 800. 

Fisheries Offices Phone Numbers
DNR Central Office - Des Moines__________ 515-725-8200
Community Fishing Program______________ 515-725-8444
Bellevue Fisheries Station________________ 563-872-4976
Big Spring Hatchery_____________________ 563-245-2446
Black Hawk Station_____________________ 712-657-2638
Boone Research Station_________________ 515-432-1192
Chariton Research Station_ ______________ 641-774-2958
Chuck Gipp Decorah Fish Hatchery________ 563-382-8324
Clear Lake Station______________________ 641-357-3517
Fairport Fish Hatchery___________________ 563-263-5062
Guttenberg Fisheries Station______________ 563-252-1156
Lake Darling Regional Office______________ 319-694-2430
Lake Macbride Station___________________ 319-624-3615
Manchester Fish Hatchery _______________ 563-927-3276
Mississippi Monitoring Station_____________ 563-872-5495
Mount Ayr Fish Hatchery_________________ 641-464-3108
Rathbun Fish Hatchery__________________ 641-647-2406
Southwest Regional Office_ ______________ 712-769-2587
Spirit Lake Fish Hatchery_ _______________ 712-336-1840

Estimate Fish Weight

Poaching is A Crime!
If you see or know 
of a fish or wildlife 
violation, report it 
to TIP as soon as 
possible by calling 
1-800-532-2020. 
Provide as much information as 
possible when you call, such as a 
description of the individual, vehicle 
and the time and location of the 
violation.

A conservation officer will be 
sent to investigate. Since the TIP 
program began in 1985, about 
$260,000 has been approved in 
reward payments.

Turn In Poachers
1-800-532-2020

or online at 
www.iowadnr.gov/tip

You can remain anonymous!
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Become a Master Angler
The Iowa Department of Natural Resources, 

recognizes memorable-sized catches for more 
than 40 fish species in Iowa. A Master Angler 
award certificate and car/boat decal will be sent 
for each qualifying entry. Silver and gold levels 
will also receive a medallion.  

Online applications are available at www.iow-
adnr.gov/masterangler. You can also download 
a Master Angler Award Form with award criteria 
and details on how to apply.

All registrations must include a photo or they 
will be rejected. Photo will be returned. 

Master Angler Award Rules
•	 Fish must meet the minimum species length 

(p. 22).
•	 Length is measured from tip of the snout to 

the tip of the tail (p. 20), except paddlefish, 
which are measured from the front of the eye 
to the fork in the tail and sturgeon which are 
measured from the snout to the fork in the tail 
(p.11). If there is some doubt about species 
identification, contact the nearest DNR per-
sonnel for verification.

•	 A witness must verify fish size; any fish be-
lieved to be a new state record must be veri-
fied by a DNR Fisheries official.

•	 The fish can be released and still qualify for 
an award.

•	 You must have a valid Iowa fishing license 
and fish must be caught by legal methods ac-
cording to Iowa law.

Which Level Will You Achieve?
1. Species Specialist - catch five of the same 
species meeting the minimum length criteria 
listed on p. 22. 
2. Master Angler - catch one fish meeting the 
minimum length criteria listed on p. 22.  
3. Silver Master Angler – catch five different 
species meeting the minimum length criteria 
listed on p. 22.  
4. Gold Master Angler - catch ten different spe-
cies meeting the minimum length criteria listed 
on p. 22.   
	 Your name and Master Angler fish will ap-
pear at the time your registration is processed on 
the Master Angler website at https://programs.
iowadnr.gov/masterangler/. 

Please Note: Only one lifetime award will be 
given for each Silver and Gold Master Angler 
level achieved. Starting in January 2020, once 
you have achieved the Master Angler Species 
Specialist level for a species, you will not receive 
printed certificates or window decals for future 
catches of that species. Your entry will be added 
to your account and Master Angler Ranking 
webpage.

State Record Fish
A new all-time state record will be recognized 

only if the weight of the fish exceeds one ounce or 
more than the weight of the previous state record 
for that species or recognized hybrid. DNR fisheries 
personnel must examine and verify all new state 
record fish. One witness must verify the weight of 
the fish to the nearest ounce on scales legal for 
trade. All-time records are posted until broken. 

Find a list of current state record fish online at 
www.iowadnr.gov/Fishing/Iowa-Fish-Species/
State-Record-Fish.

First Fish Award
First Fish Awards are for budding anglers to remember their first 

catch. If you catch your first fish, the Iowa DNR would like to cel-
ebrate the event with a certificate of your accomplishment. Species, 
size of the fish or age of the angler is not important, only that it be the 
first fish that the angler has successfully landed.  

Online application is available at www.iowadnr.gov/firstfish. You 
can also download the First Fish Entry Form with details on how to 
enter. 
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Bass (Largemouth)	 20”
Bass (Rock)	 8”
Bass (Smallmouth)	 20”
Bass (Spotted)	 15”
Bass (White)	 17”
Bass (Wiper)	 24”
Bass (Yellow)	 10”
Bowfin (Dogfish)	 26”
Buffalo (Bigmouth)	 32” 
Buffalo (Black)	 32”
Buffalo (Smallmouth)	 26”
Bullhead (Species)	 15”
Carp (Common) 	 32”
Catfish (Blue)	 40”
Catfish (Channel)	 30”
Catfish (Flathead)	 35”
Crappie (Black)	 14”
Crappie (White)	 14”
Freshwater Drum	 25”
Gar (Longnose)	 45”
Gar (Shortnose)	 26”
Goldeye/Mooneye	 15”

Muskellunge	      45”
Northern Pike	 35”
Paddlefish	 40”
Perch (Yellow)	 12”
Sauger	 20”
Saugeye	 25”
Sturgeon (Shovelnose)	 26”
Sucker (Blue)	 27”
Sucker (white or spotted)	18”
Sucker (Northern Hog)	 16”
Sucker (Carpsucker)	 22”
Sucker (Redhorse)	 22”
Sunfish (Bluegill)	 10”
Sunfish (Green)	 10”
Sunfish (Pumpkinseed)	 9”
Sunfish (Redear)	 11”
Sunfish (Warmouth)	 7”
Trout (Brook)	 15”
Trout (Brown)	 18”
Trout (Rainbow)	 18”
Walleye	 26”

Master Angler Eligible Species
Minimum Lengths

One fish meeting the minimum requirement

Silver Master Angler
Five different 
qualifying species

Gold Master Angler
Ten different 
qualifying species

Find more information on lengths and species at www.iowadnr.gov/masterangler.

Alternative Formats
This information is available in alternative formats upon request by contacting the DNR at 515-725-8200.  
TTY users - Contact Relay Iowa at 800-735-2942.

Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Wallace State Office Building
502 E. 9th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034

Equal Opportunity
Federal and State law prohibits employment and/or public accommodation (such as access to services 
or physical facilities) discrimination on the basis of age, color, creed, disability (mental and/or physical), 
gender identity, national origin, pregnancy, race, religion, sex or sexual orientation. If you believe you have 
been discriminated against in any program, activity or facility as described above, or if you desire further 
information, contact the Iowa Civil Rights Commission at 1-800-457-4416, or: Chief, Public Civil Rights, 
Office of Civil Rights, 1849 C Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20240.

Jobs Information go to www.iowadnr.gov/employment
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County	 Officer	 Cell Phone
Adair	 Grant Gelly................................... 712-250-0303
Adams 	 Andrea Bevington........................ 712-520-0508
Allamakee	 Jared Landt.................................. 563-794-1224
Appanoose	 Adam Arnold................................ 641-777-2164
		  Dallas Davis................................. 641-777-2163
Audubon	 Jeremy King................................. 712-250-0061
Benton	 Brett Reece (west 1/2).................. 641-751-0931
		  Ron Lane (east 1/2)...................... 319-350-2871
Black Hawk	 Vacant........................................... 319-240-5034
Boone 	 Matt Bruner................................... 515-290-0527
		  Brandon Bergquist...................... 515-290-0177
Bremer 	 Vacant........................................... 319-240-5034
		  Chris Jones.................................. 319-939-4448
Buchanan	 Dakota Drish................................. 563-920-0566
Buena Vista	 Brent Koppie................................ 712-260-1010
Butler	 Jordon Hansen............................. 319-240-8033
Calhoun 	 Nathan Haupert............................ 712-330-8462
Carroll 	 Vacant........................................... 515-370-0422
Cass 	 Grant Gelly................................... 712-250-0303
Cedar 	 Eric Wright.................................... 319-530-6121
Cerro Gordo 	 Matt Washburn............................. 641-425-0822
		  Ben Bergman............................... 641-425-0828
Cherokee 	 Brent Koppie (east 1/2)................ 712-260-1010
		  Chad Morrow (west 1/2)............... 712-260-1023
Chickasaw 	 Marc Waterlander......................... 319-240-6662
Clarke 	 Michael Miller............................... 641-414-2174
Clay 	 Joe Yarkosky................................ 712-260-1004
Clayton 	 Jerry Farmer................................. 563-880-0422
		  Burt Walters.................................563-880-0108
Clinton 	 Lucas Webinger...........................563-357-1078
Crawford 	 Gary Sisco.................................... 712-420-1486
Dallas 	 Craig Lonneman.......................... 515-238-5005
		  Dustin Eighmy (north 1/2)............ 515-238-5006
Davis 	 Bob Stuchel.................................. 641-777-2169
		  Matt Rush..................................... 641-777-7805
Decatur 	 Michael Miller............................... 641-414-2174
Delaware 	 Dakota Drish................................. 563-920-5764
Des Moines 	 Paul Kay........................................ 319-759-0751
Dickinson 	 Vacant........................................... 712-260-1017
		  Steve Reighard............................. 712-260-1018
Dubuque 	 Andrew Keil.................................. 563-590-1945
		  Nate Johnson............................... 563-590-1944
Emmet 	 Chris Subbert............................... 712-260-1009
Fayette 	 Chris Jones.................................. 319-939-4448
Floyd 	 Jacob Fulk.................................... 319-240-9174
Franklin 	 Jordon Hansen............................. 319-240-8033
Fremont 	 Marlowe Wilson........................... 712-520-0506
Greene 	 Vacant........................................... 515-370-0422
Grundy 	 Tyson Brown................................ 641-751-5246
Guthrie 	 Jeremy King................................. 712-250-0061
Hamilton 	 Vacant........................................... 515-238-2047
Hancock 	 Ken Lonneman............................. 641-425-0823
Hardin 	 Vacant........................................... 515-238-2047
Harrison 	 Aaron Johnson............................ 712-249-2015
Henry 	 Dan Henderson............................ 319-653-1636
Howard 	 Marc Waterlander......................... 319-240-6662
Humboldt 	 Bill Spece...................................... 515-571-0127
Ida		 Kirby Bragg.................................. 712-661-9237
Iowa 	 Brad Baker................................... 319-430-1630
Jackson 	 Lucas Dever................................. 319-480-0397
		  Andrew Keil.................................. 563-590-1945
Jasper 	 Wil Brickel.................................... 641-521-2003

Conservation Officers 
County	    Officer                               Cell Phone
Jefferson 	 Chris Flynn............................... 641-919-9115
	  	 Dan Henderson........................ 319-653-1636 
Johnson 	 Erika Billerbeck........................ 319-330-9710
		  Brad Baker................................ 319-430-1630
Jones 	 Lucas Dever.............................. 319-480-0397
Keokuk 	 Wesley Gould........................... 641-660-3441
Kossuth 	 Virginia Schulte........................ 712-260-1003
Lee 	 Ben Schlader............................ 319-470-0788
Linn 	 Angela Jansen......................... 319-350-2863
		  Ron Lane................................... 319-350-2871
Louisa 	 Joe Fourdyce........................... 563-260-1225
Lucas 	 Kyle Jensen.............................. 641-414-2175
Lyon 	 Tait Anderson........................... 712-260-1006
Madison 	 Craig Lonneman....................... 515-238-5005
Mahaska 	 John Steinbach........................ 641-660-0741
Marion 	 Eric Hoffman............................. 641-891-2004
		  Ken Kenyon.............................. 641-891-1246
Marshall 	 Tyson Brown............................. 641-751-5246
Mills 	 Richard Price............................ 712-520-0121
Mitchell 	 Jacob Fulk................................ 319-240-9174
Monona 	 Gary Sisco................................ 712-420-1486
Monroe 	 Dallas Davis.............................. 641-777-2163
	 	 Adam Arnold............................. 641-777-2164
Montgomery	 Vacant........................................ 712-520-0507
Muscatine 	 Derrick Slutts............................ 563-260-1223
O’Brien 	 Joe Yarkosky (east 1/2)............ 712-260-1004
		  John Sells (west 1/2)................ 712-260-1019
Osceola 	 Tait Anderson........................... 712-260-1006
Page 	 Vacant.......................................  712-520-0507
Palo Alto 	 Chris Subbert........................... 712-260-1009
Plymouth 	 Chad Morrow............................ 712-260-1023
Pocahontas 	 Nathan Haupert........................ 712-330-8462
Polk 	 Nate Anderson.......................... 515-238-4849
	 	 Dustin Eighmy.......................... 515-238-5006
Pottawattamie 	 Adam Gacke.............................. 712-520-5570
		  Richard Price (west 1/3)........... 712-520-0121
Poweshiek 	 John Steinbach........................ 641-660-0741
Ringgold 	 Corey Carlton........................... 641-414-2173
Sac 	 Kirby Bragg............................... 712-661-9237
Scott 	 Jeff Harrison............................. 563-349-9418
	  	 Travis Graves........................... 563-349-8953
Shelby 	 Aaron Johnson......................... 712-249-2015
Sioux 	 John Sells................................. 712-260-1019
Story 	 Brandon Bergquist................... 515-290-0177
		  Matt Bruner............................... 515-290-0527
Tama 	 Brett Reece............................... 641-751-0931
Taylor 	 Andrea Bevington.................... 712-520-0508
Union	 Corey Carlton........................... 641-414-2173
Van Buren 	 Chris Flynn............................... 641-919-9115
Wapello 	 Bob Stuchel.............................. 641-777-2169
		  Matt Rush.................................. 641-777-7805
Warren 	 Craig Cutts................................ 515-238-4847
		  Nate Anderson (north 1/2)........ 515-238-4849
Washington 	 Wesley Gould........................... 641-660-3441
Wayne 	 Kyle Jensen.............................. 641-414-2175
Webster 	 Bill Spece.................................. 515-571-0127
Winnebago 	 Vacant........................................ 641-425-0821
Winneshiek 	 Brian Roffman.......................... 563-380-0496
Woodbury 	 Stacey Bragg............................ 712-301-6735
		  Steven Griebel.......................... 712-301-4009
Worth 	 Vacant........................................ 641-425-0821
Wright 	 Ken Lonneman......................... 641-425-0823



24 Let's Go Fishing


