Learn about the DNR's COVID-19 response and how the current health emergency is impacting DNR facilities, services and events.
Search for a News Release
DNR News Releases

Governor's Environmental Excellence Award Winners Announced

  • 7/28/2016 11:43:00 AM
  • View Count 4930
  • Return

DES MOINES — Governor Terry E. Branstad will recognize 22 Iowa organizations, businesses and communities at the Iowa Environmental Excellence awards ceremony Aug 2. The awards are the premier environmental honors in Iowa. 

“The vision and initiatives undertaken by the award recipients to benefit Iowa’s citizens both economically and environmentally are recognized and celebrated through these awards. They showcase the commitment being made to make Iowa a better state now and into the future,” said Gov. Branstad. 

Gov. Branstad will present awards to the recipients at a 4 p.m. recognition ceremony in the Capitol Rotunda, located at 1007 East Grand Avenue in Des Moines. Refreshments and networking will follow the ceremony in Room 116 of the Capitol. The public is invited to attend.

Iowa Environmental Excellence Award recipients (listed alphabetically by city within each category) include:

Overall Environmental Excellence Award:

  • Des Moines Metropolitan Wastewater Reclamation Authority, Des Moines
  • Central Community Schools Global Science Class and the Central Green Team (Jacob Jansen, Tom Shirbroun, Blake Rochleau, Brandon Hach and Ben Whittle), Elkader
  • City of Monona
  • Weikert Iron and Metal Recycling, Muscatine
  • Pure Fishing, Spirit Lake
  • Price Creek Watershed Project, Iowa County Soil and Water Conservation District, Williamsburg
  • Walnut Creek Watershed Coalition, Windsor Heights

Special Recognition in Water Quality:

  • City of Clinton
  • City of Donnellson
  • Price Creek Watershed Project, Iowa County Soil and Water Conservation District, Williamsburg

Special Recognition in Waste Management:

  • Quaker Oats, Cedar Rapids
  • Dee Zee, Inc., Des Moines
  • Metro Waste Authority, Des Moines
  • Cedar Rapids/Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Marion
  • Hy-Vee, Inc., West Des Moines

Special Recognition in Air Quality:

  • The Fighting Burrito, Ames

Special Recognition in Energy Efficiency/Renewable Energy:

  • Alcoa, Inc. Davenport Works, Davenport
  • Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines
  • Hedquist Productions, Inc. (Vastu Green Building Studio,  Prosper Companies),  Fairfield

Special Recognition in Habitat Restoration:

  • ITC Midwest, Cedar Rapids
  • City of Davenport Public Works
  • Plant.Grow.Fly. at Blank Park Zoo, Des Moines

Special Recognition in Environmental Education:

  • Water Rocks! Iowa State University, Ames
  • Walnut Creek Watershed Coalition, Windsor Heights

 For more information about the Governor’s Iowa Environmental Excellence Awards, go to www.iowadnr.gov/eeawards.