Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

Eastern Iowa Minor Source Air Emission Inventories due May 15

  • 1/20/2022 2:08:00 PM
  • View Count 316
  • Return

Minor source facilities located in the eastern third of Iowa (counties listed below) must submit their Minor Source Emission Inventory (MSEI) for calendar year 2021 emissions by May 15, 2022. If your facility is required to complete this year’s report, you will receive a letter from DNR.

A complete air pollutant inventory is required by Iowa Administrative Code (567) sub rule IAC 21.1(3). DNR uses the data collected from an emissions inventory to identify emission levels and trends throughout the state, track Iowa's progress towards meeting national air quality standards, and develop control and maintenance strategies required by the federal Clean Air Act.

DNR recommends that you report 2021 emissions electronically using the State and Local Emissions Inventory System (SLEIS). This online system increases the efficiency of and simplifies the emissions reporting requirement. The DNR offers several resources to assist facilities with emission inventories:

  • SLEIS (State and Local Emissions Inventory System) - Online emissions reporting tool:
  • Instructions, forms and example calculations: gov/minorsourceforms
  • Emissions estimate tools (including spreadsheets for many processes): gov/eetools
  • Exemptions, FAQs and tips to complete the inventory: gov/minorsources
  • Facilities with less than 100 employees may also contact the Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program (IAEAP) at the University of Northern Iowa for free training. For more information, please visit

For questions related to the emissions inventory, please contact:


Below is a list of Eastern Iowa counties included in the 2021 Minor Source Emissions Inventory:

In northeast Iowa, DNR Field Office 1 region:  Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard, Jackson, Jones, Linn and Winneshiek.

In southeast Iowa, DNR Field Office 6 region:  Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jefferson, Johnson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Wapello and Washington.