Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Search for a News Release

Press/Media inquiries:

DNR News Releases

January antlerless deer season begins Friday in four counties

  • 1/10/2019 8:24:00 AM
  • View Count 7903
  • Return

The special January antlerless deer season will open in Allamakee, Clayton, Wayne and Appanoose counties this Friday.  Of those four counties, only Allamakee County has licenses remaining – the other three have sold out.

Hunters may use a bow, muzzleloader, handgun, shotgun, straight wall cartridges or centerfire rifles shooting .24 caliber or larger in this season.

The January antlerless deer season is January 11-27, and is only open in Allamakee, Clayton, Wayne and Appanoose counties. Deer hunting for all other counties ends Jan. 10.