Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Governor's Environmental Excellence Award Winners Honored
Posted: 06/28/2012
DES MOINES – Governor Terry E. Branstad honored twelve Iowa businesses and organizations for their outstanding contributions to the environment in a ceremony today at the Wallace Building.

The Governor’s Iowa Environmental Excellence Awards are the premier environmental honors in Iowa, recognizing leadership and innovation in the protection of Iowa’s natural resources.

The prestigious Environmental Excellence Award honors organizations with comprehensive environmental ethics and commitment, while special project awards recognize specific environmental improvements.

The winners included:
Environmental Excellence Award:
City of Perry
Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids
The Quaker Oats Company, a division of PepsiCo, Cedar Rapids
The ReWall Company, LLC, Des Moines

Special Recognition in Water Quality:
Ajinomoto Heartland, Inc., Eddyville
Orange Elementary School, Waterloo

Special Recognition in Waste Management:
Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids

Special Recognition in Habitat Restoration/Development:
Diamond Conservation Fund, Dubuque
National Wild Turkey Federation, Woodburn

Special Recognition in Energy Efficiency/Renewable Energy:
Buchanan County Conservation Board, Hazelton
Des Moines Public Schools
Trees Forever, Marion

Special Recognition in Environmental Education:
Lowell Elementary Expanded Learning Program, Waterloo

Complete details about each award winner’s project and the awards program are available at:

Photos of each winner receiving their award from Governor Branstad can be viewed and downloaded for media purposes at

The awards are sponsored by the Governor’s Office, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, the Iowa Partnership for Economic Progress, the Iowa Department of Education, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Iowa Waste Reduction Center.