Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Central Iowa Minor Source Emission Inventory Reports Due May 15
Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Minor source facilities located in the central third of Iowa (counties listed below) must submit their Minor Source Emission Inventory (MSEI) for calendar year 2013 emissions to the Iowa Department of Natural Resources (IDNR) Air Quality Bureau by May 15, 2014.


Letters have been sent to facilities required to complete this year’s report. A complete air pollutant inventory is required by Iowa Administrative Code (567) sub rule IAC 21.1(3). The data collected is used to track Iowa's progress towards meeting national air quality standards, perform regional and local air pollution dispersion modeling, develop control and maintenance strategies required by the Clean Air Act, and identify emission levels and trends throughout the state. 


Reporting forms and updated instructions can be downloaded from


Example calculations and worksheets, industry-specific emission factors, and reference material is available at


Facilities with less than 100 employees may also contact the Iowa Air Emissions Assistance Program (IAEAP) at the University of Northern Iowa for free training in order to complete their Minor Source Emissions Inventory. For more information regarding free training through the IAEAP, please visit


The DNR supports electronic reporting of emission inventories through SPARS. Information regarding accessing SPARS, instructions, and training material is available at:


For questions, please contact Nick Page at (515) 725-9544 or




Below is a list of central Iowa counties included in the 2013 Minor Source Emissions Inventory:


DNR Field Office 2: Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Webster, Winnebago, Worth, and Wright.


DNR Field Office 5: Appanoose, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, Warren, and Wayne. 

This list serve article is intended for consultants, industries, environmental groups, general public, and other entities regulated under the Clean Air Act. It was written by the DNR Air Quality Bureau to share regulatory news, program updates and technical guidance.