Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Storm Water General Permit Changes on Agenda for April 17 EPC Meeting
Posted: 04/06/2012
WINDSOR HEIGHTS – The Environmental Protection Commission will be asked to approve a notice of intended action to reissue storm water general permits 1, 2 and 3. Changes are proposed for construction activities resulting from changes in federal regulations and mandated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

A change in the new federal regulations for construction activities require the provision and maintenance of natural buffers around surface waters, directing storm water to vegetated areas, and preservation of topsoil unless the land use precludes the practice. After soil disturbing activities are completed and final stabilization is achieved for the permitted activity, a minimum of four inches of topsoil depth is proposed to be established. 

Commissioners will be asked to approve recommendations to award four solid waste agencies with grant funding of over $25,000 from the Environmental Management System Program established in 2008 by Legislation House File 2570. Selected applicants are: 1) Cedar Rapids Linn County Solid Waste Agency, $50,000 toward piping for a new landfill gas-to-energy project that will be constructed in 2012; 2) Dubuque Metro Solid Waste Environmental Agency, $49,100 for equipment as part of its continuous improvement efforts; 3) Rathbun Area Solid Waste Agency, $25,450 for several projects furthering its objectives and targets; and 4) Waste Commission of Scott County, $50,000 for a program to increase recycling and waste diversion through targeted messaging and placement of drop-off recycle bins in downtown Davenport for downtown apartment/loft residents and businesses.

A summary of research results concerning sedimentation rates and changes in total phosphorus in  34 of Iowa’s natural lakes from pre-1850 to the last current decade will be shared at 11:30 a.m. The presenter is Dr. John A. Downing, a professor in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Organismal Biology at Iowa State University .

The meeting will begin at 10 a.m. at the DNR Air Quality Conference Room, 7900 Hickman Road. Public participation is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. An optional training for commissioners will be held from 8:30 to 9:30 a.m.

The complete agenda follows:

·         Approval of Agenda

·         Approval of Minutes

·         Director’s Remarks

  • Contract with IDALS-DSC for Nonpoint Source Program Administrative Staffing Assistance
  • Adopted and Filed - Chapter 61, Water Quality Standards, Section 401 Water Quality Certification of the Corps of Engineers’ 2012 Section 404 Nationwide Permits (NWPs)
  • Solid Waste Environmental Management Systems’ Grant Award
  • Notice of Intended Action - Chapter 64, Wastewater Construction and Operation Permits
  • Contract – IT Database Contract Amendment for Wastewater Permits Application (NPDS)
  • Contract Amendment with IDALS Division of Soil Conservation for Basin Coordinator Staffing Assistance
  • Air Quality - Title V Fee Budget Review
  • Contract with State Hygienic Laboratory at the University of Iowa for Environmental Monitoring & Laboratory Services contract
  • Contract with the State Hygienic Laboratory at the University of Iowa for Shallow Lake Monitoring Program
  • Appeal of Proposed Decision Upholding Administrative Order: In the Matter of Keith Durand dba Durand Construction Administrative Order No. 2011-WW-01
  • Appeal of Contested Case Decision: In the Matter of Flying Eagle, Inc. and Will Ibeling
  • Referral to the Attorney General: Alchemist USA, LLC (Early / Sac
  • County) – Underground Storage Tanks

·         Monthly Reports

·         General Discussion

o   May Tour Logistics

·         Items for Next Month’s Meeting

o   May 15, 2012 – Sioux City

o   May 16, 2012 – Educational Tours around Sioux City

o   June 19 – Windsor Heights

Find more information on the EPC agenda items at

The members of the commission are: David Petty, Eldora, Chair; John Glenn, Centerville, Vice Chair; Mary Boote, Des Moines, Secretary; Dee Bruemmer, Davenport; Nancy Couser, Nevada; Dolores Mertz, Algona; Marty Stimson, Cedar Rapids; Brent Rastetter, Ames; and Cindy Greiman, Granger. The director of the DNR is Roger Lande.