Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Missouri River Authority to Meet April 27 in Des Moines
Posted: 04/19/2012
DES MOINES – The State Interagency Missouri River Authority (SIMRA) will meet April 27 in Des Moines. The meeting will include a discussion on hydrology expertise within Iowa.

The authority is an interagency, interstate group that makes recommendations on policies affecting the Missouri River.

The group will meet from 9 to 10:30 a.m. at the Iowa Utilities Board office, 1375 E. Court Avenue. The meeting is open to the public.

Also on the agenda: updates from the levee work group, homeland security flood task force, the floodplain management program and the Missouri River Recovery and Implementation Committee.

The complete agenda is available below and on the state public meetings calendar at under DNR:

Welcome and Introductions
  • Approve Agenda
  • Approve Summary from Feb. 3, 2012 Meeting
  • Working group report out on the State Hydrology Expertise – Tim Hall, Iowa DNR
  • Updates:
    • Levee Workgroup – Tom Oswald, Homeland Security Emergency Management Division (HSEMD)
    • Homeland Security Flood Task Force – Tom Oswald, HSEMD
    • Floodplain Management – Lori McDaniel, Iowa DNR
    • COE Activities – Kimberly S. Thomas, Readiness Branch, US Army Corps of Engineers - Omaha District
  • Missouri River Recovery and Implementation Committee (MRRIC) update – Shaun Shouse, Iowa State University Extension
  • Public Comment
  • Next Meeting and Agenda Items
  • Adjourn

Interested people can attend the meeting on a conference call by dialing 866-685-1580. Then, they should follow the prompts, typing in the conference code of 2816326 followed by the pound (#) sign.

The SIMRA includes representatives from the Governor's office; Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship; the Iowa Utilities Board; the Iowa Economic Development Authority, Iowa Department of Natural Resources and Iowa Department of Transportation.