Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Boating Registration

Motor Boat

The owner of a boat required to be numbered in Iowa must register it every 3 years through the County Recorder, in the county of residence.

  • All registrations expire April 30 of the 3 year cycle.  A $5.00 penalty is added to the renewal cost for an expired registration.  There is no grace period.
  • The registration is required to be carried in the boat when it is being operated.

Boat Dealer or Manufacturer Special Certificates Application (Form #542-0488)
Boat Dealer or Manufacturer Special Certificates Application (Form #542-0488)

Application for Boats, Snowmobiles, ATVs and ORVs  (Form #542-8067) 
 (Registration, Title, Lien, Subsequent Security, and Bonding)

Boating: Affidavit to Store Registered Vessel (Form #542-8048)

Instructions for Bonding Boats, Snowmobile, ATVs and ORVs    
Affidavit for Unregistered or Untitled (Form #542-8074)
 (All-Terrain Vehicles, Off Road Utility Vehicles, Snowmobiles or Vessels)

List of Iowa Boat Dealers

Menu