Hazardous Waste Fee Collection

Instructions for Completing The Hazardous Waste Fee Collection Form

Section 455B.424 of the Iowa Code requires small and large quantity generators and anyone that treats, stores, disposes of or transports hazardous waste in Iowa to complete the enclosed Hazardous Waste Fee Form and pay the appropriate fee. A facility would receive this form because the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulates the facility under the Hazardous Waste Management section of the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA).

Fees entered on the form are based on data provided by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Contact James Terry of the EPA at 913-551-7958 or Terry.James@epa.gov to make corrections related to addresses, ownership or operating status. James can also answer questions about your EPA Hazardous Waste ID Number.

Technical questions, please contact:
Payment questions, please contact:
 Matt Culp
 Angie Clark
 515-725-8337  515-725-8301
 Matt.Culp@dnr.iowa.gov  Angie.Clark@dnr.iowa.gov

Fees are due if the facility operated for any portion of the previous calendar year. The form must be completed, signed, and returned with any fee due by April 15 of each year. A 15% penalty will apply to all fees received after the April 15 deadline.

If wanting to pay via credit card (Visa, Mastercard or Discover), please email the completed form to Angie.Clark@dnr.iowa.gov and she will call the facility designated person for the credit card information.  Please DO NOT include the credit card information in the email.

Hazardous Waste Generator Fee

Generators: a person (to include a business/corporate entity) whose act or process produces hazardous waste identified or listed in 40 C.F.R. Part 261. Every site that generates hazardous waste must have an EPA registration number. If a generator keeps hazardous waste on site for more than 90 days, they becomes an “operator” of a storage facility (see Section 2 below). This section is for those facilities who have been determined by EPA to be a generator of hazardous waste.  There is no exemption for this generator fee.  The fees are broken down into the categories listed below.  The generator fee will automatically be pre-printed in the appropriate field on the form per information received from the EPA.

  • Small Quantity Generators - $25.00 (facilities generating between 220 and 2200 pounds in any calendar month)
  • Large Quantity Generators - $250.00 (facilities generating greater than 2200 pounds in any calendar month)
  • Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generators - not required to report activities or pay a generator fee(facilities generating less than 220 pounds in all months in a calendar year).

In fields 1a, 1b, and 1c, tonnage fees are assessed and determined by the disposition of the hazardous waste generated.  If no tonnage fees are recorded in fields 1a, 1b, or 1c, you must have the qualifying exemption(s) marked in Section 4 to waive those tonnage fees for your facility.

IAC Chapter 567—149.3(455B) contains a list of exemptions from hazardous waste fees.   Click on the link to see if your facility qualifies for an exemption from the payment of hazardous fees for generating, transporting, treatment and disposal of hazardous waste.

Hazardous Waste Manifest System

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised the Hazardous Waste Manifest Form used to track hazardous waste from a generator's site to the site of its disposition.  Handlers of waste will obtain new forms from any source that has registered with EPA to print and distribute the form.  Please note the new Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest Forms must be used starting September 5, 2006. Copies of your Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest are not required by the State of Iowa.

Questions regarding Iowa manifest requirements may contact  Matt Culp at 515-725-8337 or Matt.Culp@dnr.iowa.gov

Additional Resources