Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

EPC Agenda Includes Using Manure Nutrients on Soybean Ground
Posted: 10/04/2012
DES MOINES – The Iowa Environmental Protection Commission must decide whether to ban liquid manure application to soybean crops at its Oct. 16 meeting in Windsor Heights.

Liquid manure application on soybean fields has been limited to 100 pounds per acre since 2008. The EPC initiated the limit because soybeans naturally produce or “fix” nitrogen along with the concern that added nitrogen will leach and affect water quality. The 2008 limit could become a ban or the commissioners may take alternative action after considering the latest scientific research.

Commissioners have received several research papers to review. They will also hear a presentation from Iowa State University staff at 11 a.m. during the meeting.

In other action, the EPC will be asked to approve multi-year monitoring contracts with the State Hygienic Laboratory.

The meeting is scheduled for 10 a.m. at the DNR’s Air Quality building, 7900 Hickman Road. Public comments are scheduled for 10:30 a.m. Appointments are scheduled for 11 a.m. with Iowa State University and for 1 p.m.

The complete agenda follows:
  • Agenda Topics
  • Approval of Agenda
  • Approval of  Minutes
  • Director’s Remarks
  • Contract Amendment – Gresham, Smith and Partners (GS&P) – Solid Waste Environmental Systems Program Consultant
  • Pending ban of liquid manure application to soybeans on May 14, 2013 – EPC review of scientific evidence
  • Referral to AG – Vern Van Beek (Lyon County) – Animal Feeding Operations
  • Multi-Year Contracts with the State Hygienic Laboratory
  • 2013 EPC Dates
  • Monthly Reports
  • General Discussion
  • EPC Annual Report
  • Items for Next Month’s Meeting
    • Nov. 20 – Windsor Heights
    • Dec. 18 – Windsor Heights
Find more information on the EPC agenda items:

The members of the commission are David Petty, Eldora, Chair; John Glenn, Centerville, Vice-Chair; Mary Boote, Des Moines, Secretary; Dee Bruemmer, Davenport; Nancy Couser, Nevada; Cindy Greiman, Garner; Brent Rastetter, Ames; and Max Smith, Knoxville. The director of the DNR is Chuck Gipp.