Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Recognition Ceremony: Governor's Iowa Environmental Excellence Awards
Posted: 06/25/2012
When: 10:00 a.m., Thursday, June 28

Where: Wallace Building Auditorium, 502 E. 9th St., Des Moines, Iowa 50319

What: Governor Terry E. Branstad will be honoring twelve Iowa businesses and organizations for their outstanding contributions to the environment. The awards are the premier environmental honors in Iowa, recognizing leadership and innovation in the protection of Iowa’s natural resources. The prestigious Environmental Excellence Award honors organizations with comprehensive environmental ethics and commitment, while special project awards recognize specific environmental improvements.
Featured Speakers:
Governor Terry E. Branstad
Bruce Trautman, Deputy Director of the DNR

Winners Recognized:
Environmental Excellence Award:
City of Perry
Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids
The Quaker Oats Company, a division of PepsiCo, Cedar Rapids
The ReWall Company, LLC, Des Moines

Special Recognition in Water Quality:
Ajinomoto Heartland, Inc., Eddyville
Orange Elementary School, Waterloo

Special Recognition in Waste Management:
Kirkwood Community College, Cedar Rapids

Special Recognition in Habitat Restoration/Development:
Diamond Conservation Fund, Dubuque
National Wild Turkey Federation, Woodburn

Special Recognition in Energy Efficiency/Renewable Energy:
Buchanan County Conservation Board, Hazelton
Des Moines Public Schools
Trees Forever, Marion

Special Recognition in Environmental Education:
Lowell Elementary Expanded Learning Program, Waterloo