Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Governor's Awards Honor Environmental Leaders
Posted: 06/26/2014
DES MOINES — Fourteen Iowa organizations and businesses will receive Environmental Excellence awards from Gov. Terry E. Branstad this summer. The awards are the premier environmental honors in Iowa.

“The innovations that have been made by the award recipients to benefit Iowa’s citizens both economically and environmentally are to be commended. They showcase the commitment being made to make Iowa a better state now and into the future,” said Branstad.

Gov. Branstad will present awards to the recipients at a recognition ceremony at 3 p.m. on July 15 in the Wallace Building auditorium, located at 502 East Ninth St. in Des Moines. The public is invited to attend.

The winners include:

Environmental Excellence Award:
AgriReNew, Stockton
Cerro Gordo County Department of Public Health, Mason City
DuPont Pioneer, Johnston
Iowa Recycling Association, Cedar Rapids

Special Recognition in Water Quality:
Cerro Gordo County Department of Public Health, Mason City
General Electric Company, West Burlington
Rathbun Land and Water Alliance, Centerville

Special Recognition in Waste Management:
American Packaging Corporation, Story City
Collis, Inc., Clinton
Unity Point Health, Des Moines

Special Recognition in Energy Efficiency/Renewable Energy:
AgriReNew, Stockton
Cedar Rapids/Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Marion
DuPont Pioneer, Johnston

Special Recognition in Air Quality:
Whirlpool Corporation, Amana

Special Recognition in Habitat Restoration:
G. Allen Heston Estate, Colfax
Monsanto Company, Muscatine

Special Recognition in Environmental Education:
Cedar Rapids/Linn County Solid Waste Agency, Marion
J. Lawrence Hanson, Linn-Mar High School, Marion
Rathbun Land and Water Alliance, Centerville

For more information about the Governor’s Iowa Environmental Excellence Awards, go to   

The awards are sponsored by the Governor’s Office, the Iowa Department of Natural Resources, the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, the Iowa Department of Economic Development, the Iowa Department of Education, the Iowa Department of Public Health and the Iowa Waste Reduction Center.