Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Recognition Ceremony: Governor's Iowa Environmental Excellence Awards
Posted: 06/24/2013

When: 1:00 p.m., Thursday, June 27

Where: Wallace Building Auditorium, 502 E. 9th St., Des Moines, Iowa 50319

What: Governor Terry E. Branstad will honor twenty Iowa businesses and organizations for their outstanding contributions to the environment. The awards are the premier environmental honors in Iowa, recognizing leadership and innovation in the protection of Iowa’s natural resources. The prestigious Environmental Excellence Award honors organizations with comprehensive environmental ethics and commitment, while special project awards recognize specific environmental improvements.

The ceremony will last approximately 30 minutes.
Featured Speakers:
Governor Terry E. Branstad
            Chuck Gipp, Director of the DNR
Bruce Trautman, Deputy Director of the DNR

Winners include:
Environmental Excellence Award:
• City of Clinton
• Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines
• Lennox Industries, Inc., Marshalltown
• RDG, Des Moines
• Rathbun Land and Water Alliance, Centerville

Special Recognition in Water Quality:
• Black Hawk Soil and Water Conservation District, Waterloo
• QuikTrip Corporation, Tulsa, OK
• Plymouth County Chapter of Pheasants Forever, LeMars

Special Recognition in Waste Management:
• City of LeMars, Van's Sanitation & Recycling and Plymouth County Solid Waste Agency, LeMars
• West Liberty Foods, L.L.C., West Liberty
• Community Kitchen of North Iowa, Inc., Mason City
• Allied Blending & Ingredients, Keokuk

Special Recognition in Energy Efficiency/Renewable Energy:
• Fairfield’s Hometown Rewards Program, Fairfield
• Luther College, Decorah
• John Deere Dubuque Works, Dubuque

Special Recognition in Air Quality:
• QuikTrip Corporation, Tulsa, OK

Special Recognition in Habitat Restoration:
• Fishers and Farmers Fish Habitat Partnership, Ankeny
• ITC Midwest, LLC, Cedar Rapids

Special Recognition in Environmental Education:
• Linn County Conservation & Partners, Toddville
• Dowling Catholic Environmental Science, Des Moines
• Women, Food and Agriculture Network, Ames