Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Articles Detail

Natural Resource Commission to Meet May 9 in Dubuque
Posted: 05/02/2013
DUBUQUE – The Natural Resource Commission (NRC) of the Iowa Department of Natural Resources will meet 8:30 a.m., May 9, at the Mines of Spain/EB Lyons Interpretive Center, 8991 Bellevue Heights, in Dubuque. 

The NRC will meet at noon on May 8, from the EB Lyons Interpretive Center, for a tour of the area. The meeting and tour is open to the public.

Members of the NRC are Kim Francisco, Dennis Schemmel, Margo Underwood, Conrad Clement, Dr. Sally Prickett, Marcus Branstad and Phyllis Reimer.  The Director of the DNR is Chuck Gipp.

The following is the agenda for the May meeting.
  • Oath of Office for New Commissioners
  • Introduction of NRC Commissioners
  • Approve Agenda
  • Consent Agenda
    • Hottes Lake Wildlife Management Area (WMA), Dickinson County – Maser
    • Three Mile Lake, Union County – Southern Iowa Rural Water Association (SIRWA)
    • Burk WMA, Lee County – Lee County Conservation Board
  • Election of Natural Resource Commission Officers
  • Approve Minutes of April 11 Meeting
  • Director Remarks
  • Honey Creek Resort State Park Update
  • Construction Projects
    • Cold Springs State Park, Southwest Regional Office Addition and Remodel
    • Maquoketa/Green Island WMA, Channel Clean-out
    • Chariton Research Station at Red Hawk State Park, Parking Lot
    • Iowa State Fairgrounds, Iowa DNR Building – Reroof and Renovation
    • Green Valley State Park, Recreational Trail
  • Springbrook State Park Shower Building – Change Order 1
  • Small Construction Projects
  • Land Acquisition Projects
    • Iowa Lake Marsh WMA, Kossuth County – Morrall
    • Hottes Lake WMA, Dickinson County – Maser
    • Gladfelter Marsh WMA, Hancock County – Iowa Natural Heritage Foundation (INHF)
    • Waterman Creek Prairie WMA, O’Brien County – INHF
    • Goodale Conservation Area, Chickasaw County – INHF
    • West Fork WMA, Butler County - INHF
  • Land Management Projects
    • Pioneer State Park, Mitchell County – Mitchell County Conservation Board
    • Three Mile Lake, Union County – Southern Iowa Rural Water Association (SIRWA)
    • Burk WMA, Lee County – Lee County Conservation Board
  • Cultural Resource Survey Contract with University of Iowa – Amendment 5
  • Contract with Conservation By Design for State Park Interpretive Panel Design and Fabrication
  • Land and Water Conservation Fund – City and County Grant Recommendations
  • Chapter 28, Snowmobile and All-Terrain Vehicle Registration Revenue Cost-Share Program and Chapter 47, Snowmobiles
  • Brass Bluegill Award
  • Contract with Polk County Conservation Board
  • Contract with Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship for the Easter Lake Water Quality Improvement Project
  • Contract with Smith-Root, Inc., for Lost Island Lake Electric Fish Barrier
  • Division Administrator Comments
  • General Discussion
    • New Commissioner Training
    • October 2013 NRC Meeting and Tour Location
  • Upcoming NRC Dates
    • June 13, in Des Moines

For a complete agenda: