Snowmobile Education

  Snowmobile Education Program logo

The snowmobile education course is designed to teach students the principles of safe snowmobiling and how snowmobiling affects other people and the environment.

The following age restrictions apply to persons operating a snowmobile on public land, public ice, designated riding trails or designated riding areas in Iowa:

  • Persons under the age of 16 may operate their own snowmobile under the direct supervision of a responsible person of at least 18 years of age experienced in snowmobile operation who possesses a valid driver's license or an education certificate issued or recognized by the DNR.
  • Persons 12 through 17 must have a valid education certificate in their possession when operating.
  • Persons 16 to 17 may operate unsupervised, but must have a valid education certificate. Restrictions on operating a motor vehicle also apply to persons in this age group.
  • Persons 18 and older may operate without an education certificate if their privilege to operate a motor vehicle has not been barred or revoked.

The focus of the DNR Snowmobile Education Program is to provide an education course that reduces the rate of accidents, injuries, property damage, and fatalities, while at the same time promoting the development of environmental stewards by educating our students about environmental concerns, energy conservation and proper maintenance of snowmobiles, and promoting the practice of only riding in legal areas and with landowner permission.

Students can attend an instructor-led class or take a certification course online. Students must complete a written exam with a minimum score of 80% to receive an education certificate. Cost of the instructor-led course is $10 payable at the time of class. The cost of the online course includes the $5 certification fee.

Instructor-led courses:

November 19, 2016
9:00 am – 4 pm
Carqwest, 801 8th Street N, Northwood, Iowa
Bring a sack lunch
Preregister with instructor: Joe at 641-424-8536 or 641-425-8336 
Course fee is $10.00

December 3, 2016
9:00 am – 5:00 pm
UAW, 411 Iowa Avenue West, Marshalltown, Iowa
Pizza lunch provided by Central Iowa Snowmobilers
Preregister with instructors: Darren at 641-750-3016, Angie at 641-485-4021, or Tom at 641-751-4618
Course fee is $10.00

December 3, 2016
8 am – 4pm
ISU Extension Office, 1417 N Franklin St., Manchester, Iowa 52057
Lunch provided by Snow Pioneers snowmobile club
Register with Diane or Larry at 563-927-5934
Course fee is $10.00

December 3, 2016
8 am – 4pm
Hometown Pizza, 103 Main Street, Coulter, Iowa
Lunch provided by Iowa River Riders
Register with Chad at 641-425-6855
Course fee is $10.00

December 3, 2016
8 am – 4pm
Hancock County Courthouse, Law Enforcement Center, 855 State Street, Garner, Iowa
Bring a sack lunch
Preregister with Ross at 641-923-2871
Course Fee is $10.00

December 4, 2016
9:00 am- 5:00 pm
Kuennen’s House of Power, 455 Main St W, Maynard, Iowa
Lunch and snack provided by Trail Blaz-zers Snowmobile Club - $5.00 per student
Class size is limited to 25 students
Preregister with Kate 563-920-3306 or Randy 563-920-5989
Course fee is $10.00

December 10, 2016
8:00 am – 4:00 pm
Northwest Iowa Community College, 603 West Park Street, Sheldon, Iowa
Lunch: Bring a sack lunch
Preregister by calling Evan Bensley at 1-800-352-4907
Course Fee: $10.00

Online courses:
To register for the online certification course, please go to http://www.snowmobilecourse.com/usa/iowa/

For information about classes or the Snowmobile Education Program, please contact DNR Customer Service at Phone: 515-725-8200 or Email: Webmaster@dnr.iowa.gov