Iowa DNR's Twitter Iowa DNR's Flicker Iowa DNR's YouTube Iowa DNR's Pinterest Iowa DNR's Facebook | Iowa Outdoors Magazine | News | Contact Us

Site Search  search button

Boating Handbook 2014

Iowa Boating Laws and Responsibilities
This official Iowa boater safety handbook introduces you to laws governing boating and provides general information about safe operation on Iowa waters. Also available as a web-version and an eBook.

Wear It Iowa LogoThe “Wear It Iowa” program is part of a national campaign designed to educate boaters on the importance of wearing a lifejacket while recreating on or near the water. At least 84% of fatalities nationwide involved individuals who were not wearing a life jacket. The Boating Education program is committed to providing Iowans with important resources and messages that save lives.



Going Boating in Missouri?

Any person born after January 1,1984 is required to carry proof of boater education while boating in Missouri. For a fee of $5.00, a duplicate education certification can be obtained by calling Iowa DNR at 515.725-8200

 Boater Education Classes Available:

When: February 28th & March 14th, 2015, 8-3 pm

Where: Council Bluffs Fish and Game Club, 531 Comanche St, Council Bluffs, IA, 51501

Register by calling: Julie Bowen @ 402/575-1136

*participants will bring their own lunch & the class will have a working lunch.          

YouTube Logo
Duck Hunting & Boating Safety (PSA) (0:30)
YouTube Logo
.08 Boating While Intoxicated PSA, Iowa DNR (PSA) (0:30)
YouTube Logo
.08 Don't Go Overboard, Iowa DNR (PSA) (0:31)
YouTube Logo
Boating Safety Equipment, Iowa DNR (0:31)
YouTube Logo
Boating and Lifejackets, Iowa DNR (0:31)
YouTube Logo
Boat Ramp Etiquette, Iowa DNR (0:31)
YouTube Logo
Boating and Alcohol Don't Mix, Iowa DNR (0:31)
YouTube Logo
Safe Boat Operation, Iowa DNR (0:31)
2015 Recreational Boating Incidents
Personal Injuries 0
Property Damage 0
Fatalities 0
Last Updated: 2/6/2015

Special Event Permits
A permit is required for regattas, motorboat or other boat races, marine parades, tournaments, or exhibitions etc. to be held on Iowa state waters. Permits must be received by the event organizer at least 30 days in advance of the event. If the event is being held on federally controlled waters, a permit from the U.S. Coast Guard is required.

Menu