Quick and easy access to recreational privileges in Iowa, including hunting, fishing, and specialty licenses:
Purchase Your Licenses Online
Buy your Hunting and Fishing license online today! We offer multi-year packages and combos for whatever you need to stay licensed.
Support conservation in Iowa by buying a natural resource plate for your vehicle.
Make your online reservation for state park cabins, camping sites and lodges.
Iowa DNR Customer Service
Mon - Fri, 8:00am - 4:30pm CST
Submit Online Inquiry
Information / Records Requests
Contact Information by County
Nonresident Holiday Hunt Tags Available Dec 15Iowa offers a special nonresident holiday deer hunt, Dec. 24 - Jan, 2, 2017. Nonresident hunters who have not purchased a deer tag for the 2016 deer season can buy one antlerless-only tag for the discounted price of $78.00. Legal methods of take for the season include muzzleloader, bow and handgun. Licenses go on sale December 15 and must be purchased at a license retailer rather than the online site.
Nonresident Antlerless Tags Even if you were not able to get tags through Iowa's annual lottery, or if you would like to add an additional tag, some antlerless tags are still available for nonresidents. These are sold on a first-come first-served basis, so we recommend you purchase quickly. Check out available tags by Iowa county. If you purchase an antlerless tag online and it still hasn't arrived before your trip to Iowa, you can purchase a duplicate of that tag at an Iowa license vendor once you arrive for $4.50.
Deer Applications [Closed June 5]
Nonresident Deer Application results have been posted online. To access your results,
log into the online
and check under your customer identification page. Results are not available by phone.
---Preference Points on Sale [Closed June 5] Preference points are sold May 7th-June 5th,
and are now closed. If you have purchased preference points in the past, you
log into your online account to see the number of points on your
Nonresident Turkey Licenses Nonresident turkey tags go on sale January 1, 2017.
This is not a complete set of hunting, fishing and trapping laws but contains the information you are most likely to need to safely participate in these outdoor activities.
2015-16 Hunting and Trapping Regulations
Season Dates, Upland Game Hunting Regulations, Deer Hunting Regulations, Fall Turkey Regulations, Spring Turkey Hunting Regulations, Nonresident Spring Turkey Hunting Information, Sunrise-Sunset Table
List of Recreational Licenses and Fees
Hunting and Trapping, Resident Deer Hunting, Nonresident Deer Hunting, Turkey Hunting, Fishing Licenses, Recreational Vehicle Registrations and Other Licenses and Products
Fishing and Hunting License Vendors
Alphabetical listing by county (and state) of the over 900 hunting and fishing license sales agents for the State of Iowa.
2015-16 Migratory Game Bird Regulations
Fees, Special Hunts, Migratory Game Bird Season Dates, Migratory Game Bird Hunting Regulations, Reporting Banded Ducks and Geese, DNR Wildlife Refuges, Areas Closed to Waterfowl Hunting, National Wildlife Refuges, Areas Closed to Canada Goose Hunting, Sunrise/Sunset Table, Trumpeter Swan Identification, Mourning Doves Information
Falconry Regulations, Chapter 102 (Iowa Administrative Code)
571-102.2 Migratory Bird Regulations
571-102.3 Small Game
The Iowa DNR is excited to announce several new fishing and hunting license options! These licenses will increase convenience, help lessen worry about expiring, save money and give you new opportunities to fish and hunt.
Residents and nonresidents can also now purchase:
Buy your new license today online or at your Local License Retailer.
Establishing residency in the state of Iowa
Were the last licenses or tags you purchased in the state of Iowa nonresident tags? Are you now permanently living in Iowa? Here is what is required to prove eligibility of Iowa Residency. ( for former nonresidents)
Resident License Application Form Changing Your Residency Status FAQ
All hunters hunting licensed hunting preserves must obtain an Iowa small game hunting license and habitat fee, or obtain the hunting preserve hunting license valid only on licensed preserves, and the habitat fee. Resident Iowa youth under the age of 16 are not required to have a license, but must be accompanied by a licensed adult 18 years of age or older. Non-resident youth under the age of 16 are required to possess a non-resident youth preserve license and habitat fee. The non-resident youth under 16 years of age are not required to have completed a hunter safety/education course.
All preserve game birds and game animals harvested on the licensed preserve must be properly tagged with transportation/kill tags as required by law. Hunting preserve operators are responsible for tagging the harvested game bird or animal before it is transported from the licensed preserve.
Populations of large mammals, once native to Iowa, have been gone from the Iowa landscape for 80 to 100 years. Learn more regarding wolves, bears, mountain lions and moose.
More information: Iowa's Occasional Wildlife Visitors
The Iowa DNR is required to authorize a club or individual to hold an organized dog trial (e.g. bird dog, retriever, coon dog, fox hound) within the state, regardless of whether the event is held on public or private ground.
At least 30 days before the scheduled date of the dog trial, an application must be filed with the DNR using the Special Events web-based application found at https://programs.iowadnr.gov/specialevents/.
For more information, contact your local conservation officer, wildlife management biologist, or the Special Events Program Manager for Dog Trials or call 641-357-3517.
If you witness or hear of poaching activity call the TIP HOTLINE (800) 532-2020 or visit our site and report it immediately.