Motor Regulations
A boat equipped with any size motor may be operated at a no-wake speed on artificial lakes under the custody of the Department of Natural Resources of more than 100 acres in size. Lakes included in this regulation are:

Lake, County Lake, County
Ahquabi,Warren Pleasant Creek, Linn
Anita, Cass Prairie Rose, Shelby
Badger Creek, Madison Rock Creek, Jasper
Big Creek, Polk Sugema, Van Buren
Brushy Creek, Webster Swan, Carroll
Darling, Washington Three Mile*, Union
Geode, Henry Twelve Mile, Union
Green Valley*, Union Union Grove, Tama
Hawthorn, Mahaska Viking, Montgomery
Icaria*, Adams Volga, Fayette
Little River, Decatur Wapello, Davis
Miami, Monroe West, Clark

*Special Regulations Exist.  

Other lakes managed by counties and municipalities may be included in the above regulations. Check local regulations for more information. Where special regulations exist, consult the regulations posted at the particular lake.

Lake Macbride, Johnson County, has an additional regulation:
  • A boat with a motor exceeding 10 horsepower may be used only from Sept. 8 through May 20 of each year and operated at no-wake speed.

On artificial lakes under 100 acres, you can operate a motorboat equipped with one or more outboard battery operated electric trolling motors.

There is no motor restriction on natural lakes and federal reservoirs. Some lakes have special exceptions;
Motors of any horsepower operated at no wake speed are allowed on the following lakes:
  • Beaver Lake, Dallas County
  • Beeds Lake, Franklin County
  • Black Hawk Pit, Sac County
  • Crawford Creek Lake, Ida County
  • Deer Creek Lake, Plymouth County
  • Fogle Lake, Ringgold County
  • George Wyth Lake, Blackhawk County
  • Lake Iowa, Iowa County
  • Lake of Three Fires, Taylor County
  • Meadow Lake, Adair County
  • Otter Creek Lake, Tama County
  • Silver Lake, Delaware County
  • Thayer Lake, Union County
  • Williamson Pond, Lucas County
Motors not more than 100 h.p.
  • Loch Ayr, Ringgold County