Learn to Hunt
Report Your Harvest
Quick and easy access to recreational privileges in Iowa, including hunting, fishing, and specialty licenses:
Purchase Your Licenses Online
Iowa's natural resources plates include the state bird and flower, pheasant, eagle, buck and a Brook trout. Support conservation in Iowa by buying a natural resource plate for your vehicle.
Natural Resource Plates
Experience Iowa's natural beauty and all the fun our state parks offer. Make your online reservation for state park cabins, camping sites, shelters and lodges.
Support conservation in Iowa by buying a natural resource plate for your vehicle.
Natural Resource Plates
Iowa DNR Customer Service
Mon - Fri, 8:00am - 4:30pm CST
Submit Online Inquiry
Information / Records Requests
Contact Information by County
Iowa's time of transfer septic system inspection law (SF261) was passed by the Iowa legislature in April of 2008 and took effect July 1, 2009. The new law requires that every home/building served by a septic system have that septic system inspected prior to the sale or deed transfer for the home/building. The purpose of the law is to eliminate sub-standard or polluting septic systems. A sub-standard septic system is one that has no treatment (secondary treatment) following the septic tank or has a secondary treatment system that has failed. These sub-standard septic systems pose an environmental and public health hazard and require repair. If you have a septic system with a septic tank AND a secondary treatment system such as a seepage (leach) field, sand filter or other approved device, and it is not creating a public health or environmental hazard, it does not have to meet current code. All inspections must be conducted by an inspector that has been certified by the department.
Certified Time of Transfer Inspectors
To become a certified time of transfer inspector, you must fill out the Certified Time of Transfer Inspector Application (see below), Form 542-0192, and submit it to the DNR. To qualify for the time of transfer inspector training you must have one of the following:
Once your application is approved, you must sign up for and complete the time of transfer inspector training offered by Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC)/Onsite Wastewater Training Center of Iowa and pass the test given at the end of the training. The cost for the Time of Transfer Inspector class is $300, payable to DMACC. Sign up for the Inspector Training class at the Onsite Wastewater Training Center of Iowa website or by calling DMACC at 515-256-4920.
Once you have completed the training and the test, you will be notified of the test results and billed for the test fee ($50) and the certification fee ($300), payable to IDNR, if you pass. Pay the invoice and you will receive your certification. An outline of the certification process is available in a downloadable flowchart.
If you have questions about time of transfer inspections or the requirements to become certified please call Daniel Olson, IDNR, at 515-725-8404 or e-mail at Daniel.firstname.lastname@example.org.