Volunteer Fire Assistance Grants Awarded to 104 Communities
Posted: 11/08/2011

More than 100 rural Iowa fire departments received $240,000 grants to help protect Iowans and their property from wildfires. The grants offer valuable funding assistance for wildfire suppression equipment, personal protective equipment and communications equipment.

The grants were awarded by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources Forestry Bureau, in cooperation with US Forest Service - State and Private Forestry.

The following fire departments were awarded Volunteer Fire Assistance Grants for 2011.

Afton, Anamosa, Andrew, Battle Creek, Blencoe, Breda, Bridgewater, Britt, Buffalo Center, Camanche, Casey, Castalia, Chariton, Creston, Decorah, Delhi, Dike, Eddyville Community, Elberon, Eldora, Elgin, Elliott, Epworth, Farnhamville, Floyd Community, Fort Atkinson, Frankville, Garber, Garnavillo, Glidden, Greeley and Guthrie Center. 

Hampton, Harlan, Harpers Ferry, Hartwick, Holland, Hospers, Humeston, Inwood, Ionia, Janesville, Key West, Kiron, Knoxville Township, La Motte, Lake Mills, Lake View, Lamont, Lidderdale, Littleport, Lohrville, Lone Rock, Manchester, Manson, Mapleton, Maurice, Maxwell, McGregor, Milford, Millersburg, Missouri Valley, Montezuma, Montour, Moorhead, Morley, Mount Ayr and Mount Vernon.

Nashua, New Hampton, New London, Northwood, Oran, Oxford Junction, Pacific Junction, Postville, Randolph, Rockford, Rockwell City, Rolfe, Ryan, Saint Lucas, Sidney, Sigourney, Springbrook, Stacyville, Steamboat Rock, Story City, Strawberry Point, Sumner, Tama, Tiffin, Tipton, Toledo, Urbana-Polk Township, Villisca, Wapello County, Washta, Waterville, Waukon, Webb, West Bend, West Burlington and Williamsburg.